The Dana plane that crashed had history of mechanical problems | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 4 June 2012

The Dana plane that crashed had history of mechanical problems

The Dana Air MC Donnell Douglas MD 83, which crashed in Iju-Ishaga, Lagos, on Sunday, has had a history of mechanical problems even before original owners, US-based Alaska Airlines, sold it to Dana Airlines on February 17, 2009.

The Aviation Safety Network, an exclusive service of the Air Safety Foundation (ASF), in a statement on Monday, revealed that the ill-fated aircraft was acquired by Alaska Airline in November 13, 1990.

Twelve years later, on November 4, 2002, the aircraft developed mechanical faults and had an emergency diversion due to smoke in the cabin area, which engineers said was because light ballast had over heated.
On August 20, 2006, passengers had to be evacuated after landing at Long Beach, California, due to a chaffed wire bundle that discharged and produced smoke in the cabin area again. Subsequently, Alaska Airlines, on August 21, parked the aircraft until September 11 2008 when it carried out maintenance work on it. Five months after repairs where concluded, on February 2009, Alaska Airlines sold the aircraft, as 5N-RAM, to Dana Airlines.

See, Nigeria is a dumping ground. Americans reject the plane, Indians buy it and bring it to Nigeria, playing with people's lives. Hope some people are arrested for this. Continue reading...

This year, unconfirmed sources at the airline have revealed that the plane has experienced minor faults twice.
On May 23, after passengers had boarded the aircraft, it was allegedly delayed from take-off at the Lagos airport as mechanics discovered some faults and changed the hydraulic fluid under the left side under carriage tyre mechanism.

When Dana Airlines was contacted for their reaction, an official of the carrier, who did not want his name published, said that an official statement would be issued by the company.

The MD-83 was manufactured in 1983, announced go-ahead on January 31, 1983 and had first flight on December 17, 1984. It was a longer range development of the basic MD-81/82 with higher weights, more powerful engines, increased fuel capacity and longer range.  It was equipped with slightly more powerful 21,000 1bf Pratt and Whitney JT8D-219s as standard.

The aircraft also had higher operating weights with MTOW increased to 160,000 1b and MLW to 139,500 1b. Typical range for the MD-83 with 155 passengers in around 2,504 nautical miles (4,637km).

Timeline of fatal plane crashes in Nigeria
November 20, 1969 – Nigeria Airways BAC VC10 crashes on landing in Lagos, killing 87 on board.
January 22, 1973 – Royal Jordanian Airlines Flight 707 crashed in Kano. All 171 Nigerians returning from Mecca and 5 crew members died.
March 1, 1978 – Nigeria Airways F28-1000 crashes in Kano, killing 16.
November 28, 1983 – Nigeria Airways F28-1000 crashes on approach in Enugu, killing 53 on board.
July 11, 1991 – Nigeria Airways DC-8-61 crashes in Jeddah, killing 261 on board.
September 26, 1992 – Nigerian Air Force A C-130 plane crashes minutes after take-off from Lagos, killing 200 on board.
June 24, 1995 – Harka Air Services Tupolev 34 crashes on landing in Lagos, killing 16.
November 13, 1995 – Nigeria Airways Boeing 737-2F9 crashes on landing in Kaduna, killing 9.
November 7, 1996 – A Nigerian ADC Airline Boeing 727-231, flying from Port Harcourt to Lagos with 142 passengers and 9 crew members crashed on landing, plunging into a lagoon with all on board killed.
January 31, 1997 – SkyPower Express Airways Embraer 110PIA crashes on landing in Yola, killing 5.
January 5, 2000 – SkyPower Express Airways Bandeirante 110P1A crashes on landing in Abuja, killing 17.
May 4, 2002 – Nigerian EAS Airlines’ BAC 1-11-500, with 105 people on board, crashed and burst into flames in a densely populated suburb of Kano. 76 on board killed, including 72 on the ground bringing it to a total 148 dead.
October 22, 2005 – A Nigerian Bellview Airlines Boeing 737 airliner, with 117 people on board, crashes and disintegrates in flames shortly after take-off from Lagos. All on board were killed.
December 10, 2005 – A Nigerian Sosoliso Airlines DC-9 crashes in Port Harcourt, killing all 103 on board. Most of the victims were schoolchildren going home for Christmas.
September. 17, 2006 – A Nigerian 18-seater Dornier 228 Air Force transport plane, carrying 15 senior army officers and three crew members, crashed in Benue leaving only three survivors that sustained serious injuries.
October 29, 2006 – A Nigerian ADC Airline Boeing, 737 with 104 on board, crashes minutes after take-off from Abuja’s airport during a rain storm. All but 6 perished in the disaster.

Culled from Daily Times

54 comments:

What do you mean 'jinxed'? This was a bad machine that should have been written off. No jinx here, Linda.

bee said...

For everyone of us, there is a day called the last day. It is somewhere there hidden in the calendar of times, unknown to us but known to God. This is a wake up call... Somewhere lurking in our plans and our days is that day when the journey to eternity begins

Linda that's bullshit! D plane was not jinxed. Just had problems like any normal over used product would be. The americans got sick of d plane and dumped it on a 3rd world country (Nigeria) who they knew would obviously buy it. Those indians need too arrested. They should pay compensation to d families of d people on board and d people d plane landed on (d ones in their houses). After all that, they should b hanged and their bodies sent back to india. Fools!!

CHI

Lord, please have mercy on the innocent civilians in our country. The greedy worthless leaders have plundered and lost sight of what they were elected for. Instead, they have put our lives in the hands of incompetent foreigners all for profits sake. they dont care because they all have their private jets!!! May our Lord alone deal with ALL of them!!!!!

Please let us stop blaming the Indians (Dana Mgt)! Try asking our Nigerian regulators what they are doing other than clearly sleeping on d job!!! Sad state of the nation!

It's sad but we hear this all the time. It's about time some people are brought to book. Bring them to book right now.

Jinxed is used correctly by Linda. I'm so angry and sad.

devour said...

hard a bad experience with dana in 2009.was pregnant with mi first son.mi hubby and i bought our ticket at the counter in full view of everyone and funny enuf,wen we joined the queue to buy our tickets,the air fare was abt 18k or so and by the time it got to our turn,the fare was abt 27k or der abt but it was outrageous! we ddnt complain(usual 9ja way)wen we were abt boardin,they started asking for doctors report and it still the stupid chick that sold the ticket to me that was asking for the report.i asked her why she ddnt ask me if i had b4 she sold the ticket to me,she was so rude and i was so livid i told mi hubby am not heading to abuja again,that i will stay in lag and come bck the nxt day.mi hubby pleaded n pleaded so we hard to go to zenith medicaid to get a report that am not too due to fly.i got to zenith medicaid one village girl was asking me some funny questions,i told her to just take mi money and give me a report since she was not even qualified to mop the floor there.we boarded the flight and mi nightmares began which av followed me till today.i was supposed to have mi baby in usa but was trumatised n till today,if i cant go by road,i stay in mi hse.the plane will go up,and come down like gangolova ! mi hubby startdd crying and wishing he left me behind cos we just found out we were having a boy.i was crying and throwing up untill we finally landed in abj.am carrying as i type this this is an accident that could av bin avoided

anon said...

By jinx she wasn't referring to supernatural entities and the implied meaning of jinx is clear from what she wrote. May their souls rest in peace. Amen.

Atobatele said...

What i understand is dat some pple's negligence and "i dont care attitude" claimed so many nigerians lives...Jinx or not...Ds could be averted had it been dere's a proper check.

rajesh said...

let the owners of the airline company and those responsible for regulating the day to day flight operations on behalf of the government be taken to task. an example needs to be set to show that people cannot get away with anything and everything in nigeria.

HEPHZIBAH said...

Jinxed or not jinxed, that's beside the point here. Gosh!!! What nonsense! I've said it o, these Indians and foreigners who come to Nigeria with expired below standard product and services that they'd never carry out in their own countries should be prosecuted or deported!! Instead we 'worship' them, and accord them privileges reserved for the 1st family. If you calculate the number of Nigerians who have lossed their lives to avoidable accidents eh, it's much more that the lives lost in Libya + Syria!!

Linda,as i write ds,my heart bleeds for my motherland.I live abroad and since yesterday,i havent been able to get this incident out of my mind even though i dont know anybody involved but then,its a national loss n tragedy also for Africa as a whole.I wonder when we will rise up to the challenge n stop exposing our country to these people(n by that u know whom am refering to)who come to us as sheep in wolves clothing.These people ave systematically studied us under their 'microscope'n seen that what makes Nigeria 'thrive'is her love for money so yes,we will continue to be a dumping ground untill our leaders stand up to d chanllenge n prove to these people that we ave what it takes to make us stand as a nation both intellectually,economically etc and even if we accept them to come give a helping hand cos i dnt believe in a country without strangers,we do so at our own pace,we call d shots,etc.I ran into some students that came from Djibouti to study here in France and they said they wud all return happily to their country to put what they have learnt to develop their country cos there are jobs waiting for them as the country ensures that.No need to kip saying God help Nigeria,God have mercy..God has given us all it takes already to be one of the most powerful African countries to be reckoned with but alas,we are our own cancer.

please lets us all boycott dana products these kia cars everyone is buying and their aquadana water clearly they do no value human life only making profit

Dr. Okechukwu said...

I blame the Nigerian operators, the station managers, who knew the sorry state of the aircraft yet did not blow the whistle. If we were our brothers keepers, this wont happen. Capitalism is about profit maximization. We are the Government!!! So when we blame the government, we blame ourselves.

so dey knew all this and were waiting for the plane to just crash enroute......they will pay with their lives!

Sorry i meant to say Wolves in sheep clothing.guess am not thinking straight at all..this has been so heart-wrenching!and especially to think that it could have been ell avoided but then,Nigeria spares no lives in her quest for personal aggrandizement.So there!!

Ok because the crash happened,they now know the plane should ve bn flown b4.If the crash did not happen they will continue to fly d plane.

Lilspicer said...

Wetin person no go hear sori to say u guys just lost 80% of ur customers hahaha baba terry go nack una apakao (omo-iwo)

47vids.com said...

That's just crazy, but I know Naija well, lawsuits don't go far when it involves big names unfortunately.
47vids.com

Lilspicer said...

Wetin person no go hear sori to say u guys just lost 80% of ur customers hahaha baba terry go nack una apakao (omo-iwo)

Eme Achanga said...

Thank God that stupid Nigerian airways is now dead,see how many lives they have taken..
As for dana air,u can't blame d mgt,blame d stupid Nigerian officials whose duty it is to inspect the crap brought into this country..so the indians are treating us like we treat ourselves.
Its amazing how the air hostess who called,kept her mouth shut till now,what about the pilot who was on d plane suring d abj_calabar trip? I don't blame them,jobs are hard to find in naija and experience has shown dt when u report such a case,u end up getting fired or killed. Oh my bad! Who do they even report to? Is it d beer filled bellied corrupt officials incharge of certifying these planes or d police ?
I'm waiting for the 1 billion naira committe which shall be setup to investigate d crash..they shall spend 2 million naira a day on breakfast,10 million on paper and 3o million on toothpicks.
What has been d outcome of d youth corpers who were killed in d north? What about d christmas day bombings? Pls let's not waste our breathe and say"hang d indians,bla bla bla"
The worst that can happen is they shut down for a few months.Nigerians won't bycott their airlines,its d nigerian factor..
Afterall,while human beings,dreams,hopes and aspirations were burning yest,planes were still flying past, pple were still taking pics,area boys were still removing spare parts of d plane,and d rescue helicopter was still taking 3hrs to find a spot to land, and d police were chasing goats!
Its Naija,a land where d dead are forgotten..

Shaly said...

So if it was dis easy to get dis history of the plane, y dint they investigate before the plane was approved 4 operations in nigeria in d 1st place? Biko all these na medicine after death. Person wey don die o. Very disheartening.

I weep for my dear country Nigeria, is a shame, no one and no where is safe in this country,moving by road is a nightmare, travelling by air or sea is horror, be in the house, church, hospital etc none is safe. Is so unfortunate that this is where i call home, a country that cannot protect the lives of its citizens.

NUBIAN QUEEN said...

ijust pray that people are held accountable for this and prosecuted...may the souls of the dead rest in peace and may the Lord comfort their families and give them the strength to go through this trying period...

Is so unfortunate that this is where i go call home, a country that cannot protect the lives of its citizens....Is a shame Nigeria, no one and nowhere is safe in this country, land, air, sea, house, church, hospital etc everywhere is danger zone

bee said...

I stil kip havin d conviction dt nt evry1 on dt plane ws supposed to die..tryin to find who to put d blame on...is it d govt?...or rescue operatives dt cudnt gt there on time bcos there were too many pple at d crash scene..is it d onlookers or DANA officials nd their negligence....is it sm supernatural forces or d unquestionable GOD...I still tink if d resue team hd gotten in2 action immediately n strtd evacuation,mayb sm pple wil b at d hospital ward,nt mortuary....lord God dis is too much on ur children.... Too much EVIL in our LAND. Too much ERROR in our NATION. Arise Lord! JUDGE UR ENEMIES. SAVE UR PEOPLE. Purify OUR LAND!

nigeria a dumping zone God help us

d loyola plane crash with children had a survivor oh til 2moro d girl hasnt recovered 80% burns . God help us oh .

WORD!!! WORD!!! WORD!!!!

FAY said...

Word! When a machine is faulty, repair well or replace it. Continuing to use it can only be fatal.

No be jinx matter.

Ruth Richards said...

I think those Indian people at the helm of affairs in Dana air should be arrested and made to face any punishment given to them. This plane was bought by Alaskan airlines in 1990, sold to dana air in 2009. The Alaskan airline used the plane for like 19 years people! I mean the plane shouldn't have been bought or sold in the first place after 19 years, Dana air were careless enough to buy the plan in 2009 and used it for close to 4 years filled with engine trouble and technical issues. Com' on no one would buy a tokunbo car that is 19 years old. So why buy a plane that is that old. Ha! The lives of the people are not important just the money, see what greed, carelessness has caused.

Dear God! I pray that the families will have comfort and peace at this time especially for the children that are orphans. I pray that they would be strengthened in the name of Jesus. Amen.

Nigeria air safety group had all this details about this dumped craft and they still go ahead and have it operated in our land.Thought we have standard and rule for operation in Nigeria, i never knew indian man can bribe people lives out.Keep collecting the bribe and sell out ur own very child or family.To whom it may concern

It's clear that the operators of the airline killed those pple....is a pity things like this happen here in Nigeria, A DUMPING GROUND

pple get familiar with Xeroz He is coming out HUGE
Check this out http://www.playmyjamz.com/share/Do7jNCabms1593

LAMWA said...

For everyone of us, there is a day called the last day. It is somewhere there hidden in the calendar of times, unknown to us but known to God. This is a wake up call... Somewhere lurking in our plans and our days is that day when the journey to eternity begins

SkandikAfrik said...

Simple regulatory procedure, Nigerian authority can not follow. It all bad news about the country and yet they will be wasting millions laudring the image that is NOT there. So sad that lives have to lost before any tangible things has to be done. When you dont treat the lives of your citizen with respect and dignity how would you expect outsider to treat it. Like Achebe said" Things are fallen apart" for the leaders.

Please Linda, its time to step up and do an investigative Report on what happened here. please earn your keep here. we need all the indian managers that approve this plane to fly be brought to justice. i lost a dear friend. please work hard and step up. i will see you next. coming from the states so we can talk more. i am ready to fund the investigation.

Sometimes I bow my head in shame when I think of how corrupt our nation is. Yesterday when the plane crashed, I was thinking about that young girl from the sosoliso aircrafts that crashed year back. She still needed funds for her ongoing medical treatment. I was in shock because I thought the airline was suppose to cover all her medical bills & more. But in Nigerian human beings are seen as shafts, only the wealthy are respected. If it was in America this crash happened in, I am sure the families will be

@devour, June 4, 2012 2:20 PM- please write in plain, simple English that the rest of us reading your comments will understand! Well said Rajesh @2.28PM, both the management and the regulators of the aviation sector in Nigeria need to be held to account but whether lessons would be learned from it remains to be seen.

deekay said...

Why did no one speak out? If I worked somewhere that had such issues I would report to someone about it. It's my responsibility!! Even if I report it and the person I reported to refuses to listen I will make sure someone who can do something about it knows about it, just in case something does happen?? This crash could have been avoided; and that's what pisses me off the most. Don't they have like regulations or something they have to adhere to ? Like a certain condition the aircraft has to be before it can no longer be safe to fly? Where does the Aviation minister come into all this? Why aren't checks being made? Don't they have something similar to MOT for cars? I am so angry!!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

You would even think from a selfish point of view that the Pilot would cherish his own life and refuse to fly...considering the inherent faults..but then Pilots live on the edge!!..
You should commend Linda..was only really aware of the 2005-6 air crashes..but their is pattern and bet all those planes were old cargoes!!..just look at the shamless Nigerian Airways...that must have been at the inception of massive corrupt practices..buying old planes..trains and buses!!

For the Sosoliso crash,I heard there was one survivor,but yesterday was the worst so far.

D pilot is an idiot. Knowing d plane is faulty and still decided to endanger even his own live. Can't he refuse damning d consequences? I wish him and his crew were d only ones dat died.

My sister your mama born u well,na tru talk u talk.

st cathy said...

Nigeria is duming ground because we let them.No one does their duties.We have have hundreds of laws,ministries, agencies, govt parastals, but we''re all sleeping!

Jaja said...

@Emeh Achanga ...... I feel you...... I couldn't have said it better.

There were 2 actually, and d other lady was not badly hurt. Pastor Bimbo Odukoya's P.A.

anon said...

An appropriate caption is "doomed from the start...not jinxed" The operatives knew what they were doing..they chose to gamble with lives that they cannot replace!!! If we dont act asap, my fear is that we might have a repetition. Mr. President, start with grounding all aircrafts that do not meet the standards that apply in the West...this is the right place to be a copycat! God save us ALL!!!

Can anyone recall an incident in 2006/2007 in which the head of the aviation union was assassinated and he was alleged to have been riding with a prostitute, and the case was struck off subsequently as an armed robbery attack? The reality was that the man had been fighting for standard regulations in the aviation industry. My guess was that he was blocking some people's 'food'. We're now seeing the consequencies.

My own is that the nCaa chief d person dat okay aircraft to carry passengers to lagos when he knew that the aircraft was fault should be charged with murder or manslaughter cos this same thingas using a knife to cut off one's head

Menh, you make sense die. I couldn't have said it any better. We are all shouting "indians", meanwhile even †ђξ Nigerian owned airlines are all flying old, refurblished planes. There was № emergency response at †ђξ site Ƒσя good 20 mins, b4 †ђξ aircraft burst into flames...at least, some lives could have been saved. Its a̶̲̥̅ Nigerian problem and †ђξ Indains are just †ђξ unlucky scapegoats as it was their plane that crashed. Just look at how many times Nigerian Airways that was supposed to be †ђξ national carrier crashed..We need to help ourselves first and then these foreign investors won't take us Ƒσя granted. s

You are too much menh....most sensible comment.

Who tell you say, the plane belong to Indian, not be so, it belong to a very powerful Nigeria formal military head of state. You can confirm that, not be Indians, he just used Indian to cover face, that is Nigeria for you.

Sometimes safety is in the non-prοсeԁure.

These eaѕy to use stairlifts offer а handful of ѕafety features
and іmmediate stop options just in сase somеthing is available in front of the elеvator dooг uneхpectedly.