Idowu Aliyu, female student killed by a cannibal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 June 2012

Idowu Aliyu, female student killed by a cannibal

The suspect, Jimoh Obabu Salau and Idowu Aliyu, the slain girl
On May 2, when Idowu Aliyu decided to embark on a trip from her town, Egayi back to Zamfara where she’s studying in the School of Health Technology, little did she know that will be the last time she would see her family. Apparently, she would have bade them goodbye with smiles on her face but fate lurked in the dark .The day was not only full of evil but she ended up being a victim of the evil.

On every other day that Idowu went to school, she was always dropped at the garage by one of her brothers but on this particular day, the brother was busy and Idowu was in a hurry and couldn’t wait for her brother to return from his busy schedule to drop her at the park as earlier agreed. Even the persuasion of her Uncle who is their custodian to tarry for a while for her brother to come back fell on deaf ears. Idowu was just in hurry.

Saturday Vanguard gathered that the late Idowu got an okada to convey her to the park which was driven by Jimoh Obabu Salau. But unknown to her, Jimoh was an okada man with an ulterior motive.

Saturday Vanguard gathered that midway through the journey, Jimoh Obabu drove into the bush where he took his time to kill her. To achieve his aim, it was gathered Jimoh smashed a stone against the innocent victim and subsequently ensured she breathed her last.

Idowu would have gone to the world unknown without people knowing what killed her but providence presented a farmer who was watching from a close distance where Jimoh had taken the victim for the act. The farmer quickly mobilised people to the place where Jimoh was caught trying to bury the victim. He was apprehended and handed over to the police.

Jimoh confessed being responsible for the death of the 22-year old Idowu but the confession is causing a lot of controversy. Jimoh specialises in using okada to lure victims to the bush where he kills them for meat and sell the remaining part to ritualists.

The police are of the view that Idowu’s death is not only for meat but has a ritual angle to it. Parading the suspect, the state commissioner of Police, Muhammed Katsina said Jimoh Obabu Salau was arrested while trying to bury his victim, Idowu Aliyu, a student of School of Health Technology, Zamfara, aged 22 years.

Kastina revealed that “the suspect was dismissed from the Army while on ECOMOG duties in Liberia after showing cannibalistic behaviour. He was also arrested and sentenced to death in 2003 for killing his wife and two kids; eating their intestine and selling the remaining parts. The suspect was however released from Kaduna prison through the aid of influential, wealthy and highly connected individuals.”

Ever since this revelation , the whole state has been clouded in suspense. While some believe that Jimoh is only looking for ‘meat’, others believe that a popular politician who is seeking election is Jimoh’s sponsor. Those who are alleging political undertones to the murder of Idowu by Jimoh hinged it on the fact that Jimoh had been very close to the politician who is among the top contenders for the SSG office since it was zoned to the area.

Jimoh also appears to be complicating the matter. While not arguing that he is guilty, he is said to be singing a new song. Jimoh, Saturday Vanguard gathered, allegedly claimed the victim was brought to him to kill by two other men from the town rather than the popular assumption that he picked her with his okada. Jimoh has since mentioned more than six names of those who ‘brought’ the lady to him.

Police investigations revealed that the first two persons Jimoh mentioned their names were innocent. When further prompted, Jimoh allegedly mentioned other names which the police discovered were unconnected to the act as well. As at the last count, Jimoh who is now behaving abnormal has implicated eight people as his accomplices in the alleged murder.

Presently, police are in a tight corner over how to unravel the truth behind Idowu’s death. Is it a political or ritual killing or Jimoh’s way of feeding his cannibalistic appetite?

However, the family of late Idowu Aliyu is now calling for justice. They are calling on the federal government and police to ensure that the killer of their daughter did not go unpunished. Head of the family, Mr Aliyu Onuto, who spoke with Saturday Vanguard in his compound in Egayi, Ajaokuta said late Idowu was killed on her way to board a vehicle to Zamfara state where she was schooling.

Mr. Aliyu noted with dismay that although the suspect has been arrested and he has confessed to committing the crime, he is yet to be charged to court for prosecution. “Idowu had dreams but could not live to actualise her dreams due to blood thirsty Jimoh. I understand he killed his wife (a police officer) in 2003 and was let off the hook without punishment. If justice had prevailed that time, this would not have happened. “Today it is Idowu, tomorrow it might be another person. All that we want is for justice to be done,” he said.

Mr. Aliyu, the uncle of the slain victim who revealed that the late Idowu and her siblings lost their parents recently and that he has suffered to take care of her along with her younger siblings wondered why Jimoh could take the life of his innocent niece who was promising and looked as if she would aid the family after graduation.

The state police command is however saying the delay in prosecuting Jimoh Salau is due to the fact that they believed he must have accomplices who buy some of the human parts from him as he could not have been alone in the crime.

The state Police Commissioner, Mohammed Katsina said the cannibal who was dismissed from the Army usually eats the inside of his victims and sells the other parts to ritualists and “so, the command is still investigating to get those buying the human parts from him”.

Culled from Vanguard

36 comments:

Hiannnn! Tufiakwa.... Warisdis? Wat iz dis world turning into? God plz save ur children ooh

Lilspicer said...

U and dis kind long story abeg just dey hilite am me no get time to sleep here...this is the reason why military and police needs counsellin bekus after goin to war dey become heartless..are they heartless?

No am jokin ODE...SUMONE SHULDNT LET DIS EVIL MAN AND HIS SPONSORS GO SCOT FREE (OMO-IWO)SAYS SO........

Lilspicer said...

U and dis kind long story abeg just dey hilite am me no get time to sleep here...this is the reason why military and police needs counsellin bekus after goin to war dey become heartless..are they heartless?

No am jokin ODE...SUMONE SHULDNT LET DIS EVIL MAN AND HIS SPONSORS GO SCOT FREE (OMO-IWO)SAYS SO........

This one is permanently high on salt water.... On a serious note he does have a mental illness I've forgotten what its called .. Its nigeria for u ! Like someone suggested, 'kill them all before sanity is restored'

peter said...

very sad and annoying. wish i had a gun, i would have gone to zamfara and shoot the man. may her soul RIP.

They shud kill d bagger! Accomplice or no accomplice! Msheeww is it until he will finish eatin all d humans in d area b4 their eyez will open?! Why evils?! Na wa oo wonders!

Olusegun said...

Nkan nbe....ђã†̥ is †ђξ world turning †Ơ̴̴͡? Let's all turn †Ơ̴̴͡ ǦØD̶̲̥̅̊. I rest my case.

Aka serial killer.

Furious said...

Make police shine them eye well so that innocent people no go surfer. Haba Mr. Police now when IG don commot una for road make una no go dey make money off innocent citizens o! This one when dt craze man Jimoh just dey look whom im go implicate. But sha true, this thing na ritual sense so oga Police put iron for fire take press against Jimoh blokos e go talk true by force.

IF den no kill am this time his next victims shall be that wealthy, influential and highly connected individual,his wife and children so shall it be.

Furious said...

Canibals, bombers, Plane crashers, Looters of the treasury, maladmistrators etc. Kai, in just one country?

Oh Nigeria, when will the story of this land become bright and sweet. Oh my father's land, how I weep and cry for times that will be sweet smelling and green.

That my eyes will behold the rise of the sun against a cloud filled with promises and good, not clouds dark and ominous. That the child may suckle at her mother's breast and be nurished.

Nigeria our Nigeria how much more blood is your mouth able to drink down. When will you tire from satiating your hunger pangs and quenching your thirst from off your children's blood?

veekey said...

Hw r we evn sure d man z nt supplying d so called politicians/rich pple d human parts? Or y wz he released unpurnised? Nna ehnn,9ja..we can only pray harder.! May d lady's soul RIP

Bloomandgrownaija said...

pls let us kill this man this time. period

sentenced to death in 2003 for cannibalism but released?

no further comment

Tostie said...

Wats with cannibalism these days pls. This is outrageous. Looks like an epidermic

Tostie said...

Wats with cannibalism these days pls. This is outrageous. Looks like an epidermic

I don't know what is going on in the world. People eating human flesh??? Are the goats and cows now extinct?? May God help us all. Whatever the motive, this man is obviously a psychopath for going along with it

Mariaah said...

Blueprint Newspaper also carried this story on the 30th of May 2012Linda. I was going to send you the link but forgot. Here it is: http://blueprintng.com/?p=29075

Dis is a wnda, abi wetin I g0 call am.Ds man shld be killed.

that is too bad, it is a devilish act.
CHECK OUT FOR MORE HRER

Linda....I don't get ur post again on my page...I dnt know wot is happening....

Who told u the incident happened in zamfara? Did u read the story at all?

Honestly, this thing is real. A friend of mine fell victim to the same thing. She traveled for a wedding, got there late and being the first time, the Okada man capitalized on that. Drove her to a forest, battered her and almost killed her. He wanted to rape her but, God intervened. I tell you, it took her a long time to come over the psychological stress. Let's just be careful

Jibz said...

He sounds Schizophrenic to me, but I trust my Nigerian people to see it as the devil, rather than for what it is, a mental illness,

Jibz said...

This man is Schizophrenic, he needs treatment, rather than to be killed.

What is all this cannibalism news I am hearing, turn to Jesus peeps for he said his kingdom is not of this world.

Sweety Nigerians don't understand mental illness. Watch them bite your head off for this comment. Narrow minded people. Everything nah devil, devil sef they try, doesn't do anything but takes the credit. That's y 9ja is still backwards and can't grow, because instead of action, people will say pray for Nigeria. Lmao. Nah 9ja spiritual pass and nah dem get problem pass.

Ds world is full of Evil. Demons re operating everywher. God pls save ur children

A guilty man sentenced to death let loose while innocent souls are perishing in nigerian prisons, how i wish he killed and eat the person who paid the bribe for his release instead of this innocent young woman.

Janded said...

Animal should be killed. sick F**K.

is he sniffing bath salt too like his counterparts in North america? Jeez. lord help us
http://abroadtales.blogspot.ca/

Str8FrmDaHips said...

mentally sick..should be sectioned..9jas sharrap..there's no devil..u knows maybe they hit his head on the ground as a child...he's clearly unbalanced..Politicians and Rituals..didn't someone mention a container of sort at the airport that fell open and was full of human fingers..and was marked down for a certain governor!!..

Allegra said...

What is this new phenom* of man eating man. Aren't there enough animals in the world to feed on!!!

Na bath salt cause am...

Pls i thot cannibalism ended in those days before the missionaries came to africa...God pls save us from evil

maybe by d time d guy chop one of those police pple wey hold am, dem go do wetin dem suppose do.

http://bandsoupblog.blogspot.com/2012/02/orange-grove.html?showComment=1339223543942#c1340319030971635182