Court Remands Former Bayelsa State Governor In EFCC Custody | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 June 2012

Court Remands Former Bayelsa State Governor In EFCC Custody

A Federal High court sitting in Abuja today Tuesday June 5th remanded former Bayelsa State governor, Timiprie Sylva in the custody of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) until Thursday 7 June when the court will decide on his bail application.

Mr Sylva who voluntarily appeared in court even with speculations that he is outside the country is standing trial for alleged corruption and conversion of N6.5 billion belonging to Bayelsa State for personal use.

The former governor took a not guilty plead to the six count corruption charges read to him by the Clark of the court.

He there after asked for bail through his counsel Lateef Fagbemi who told the court that the charges against Mr Sylva are offences that will allow the defendant bail until his guilt or otherwise is proven.

He asked the court to take notice that the accused appeared in the court voluntarily and will continue to do so.

Mr Fagbemi added that the court should also be lenient with the conditions of bail.

Opposing the bail application, counsel to EFCC, Festus Keyamo argued that the accused had evaded service for several months and that such a person cannot be trusted to be available through out the trial.

Mr Keyamo told the court that though the offences for which the former governor is standing trial are bail-able, it is not enough to secure bail as bail still lies at the discretion of the court.

Haven listened to the two lawyers the trial judge, Justice Adamu Bello fixed ruling for Thursday 7 June while remanding the former governor in prison custody.

However, based on the agreement between the prosecuting and defence counsels, the presiding judge change his earlier pronouncement and remanded the former governor in the EFCC custody.

Culled from Channels TV

15 comments:

The EFCC, the Courts and the Defendant are all criminals. They should have been in DANA air on sunday, Mtchewwww. - KC

Das exactly correct. Thief judging thief mtchewwwwww

we have seen this kinda drama severally, what of ette, bankole,etc. pls linda stop wasting our time on dis blog reading injustice. what i know bad things dont last forever....one day, there will be a revolution and all thiefs will die.

No dey wish person death like that na, haba!!!!!!!!!

@ anonymus 5:30 PM..that comment is wrong pin so many ways...no matter how much u hate someone u should never wish that kind of thing on them..what if it happened to u or someone in your family that someone else hated?it affects u the good person
LET them be corrupt and continue..God would show them at his appointed time

Web_evangelist said...

ITT

Lilspicer said...

Oooh thankgod i wish he could go to jail but i no is impossible but make dem disturb am small.NAIJA WE HAIL THEE ...(OMO-IWO)SAYS SO...

Story Kawaai! I bet you nothing more will be heard about this case. All the names that have been brandied since 2002, what has happened to them? The worst that can happen, we end up with a plead bargain.
But wait and see what happens to a man who steals maggi from Ariaria Aba.

Mama Sometee's sister said...

Smart guy. He knows they would soon leave him and he would walk free. Just go and dobale for Aso Rock and stay away from public, lobatan, chikena, ike agwu. No do gra gra like James wen walk into their trap.

@anonymous 6:22pm, it's becos of people like u that Nigeria will not change. Maybe u r part of the people that benefit from corruption .

iamfascinating said...

We condone everything in Nigeria. Is it because of years of military rule or its a spiritual cloud of incompetence. Either way, prayers must not seize from our lips!

Do you have an uneven skintone, acne-prone skin or you just wish to defy the aging process? answers and products are now available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

King said...

its even so shameful my fellows that what you say here hiding under "Anonymous" would mean nothing to the guy across the street selling sachet water not to talk of the authorities or said person and you all are here waging verbal war rather than start massive e-war with your facebook page, blogs or even bb.Pls make ur effortless ideas or contribution worthwile.thanks.

He has nowhere to run. If he had done an Ibori they'd smoke him out. This case will see traction because the Jonathan's have a personal grudge against this guy.

The judge, accused, efcc, defence & prosecuting counsels na thief people. Tomorrow now they go apply the principle of plea bargaining making natural justice to suffer. Or collect money, strick out the case. Na thief people dem be

Desire said...

Is he wearing make up?! *rushestoputonspectacles*