Dog rescues abandoned infant under a bridge in Ghana | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 June 2012

Dog rescues abandoned infant under a bridge in Ghana

The rescued newborn
A farm dog was hailed a hero after it was discovered that he protected a two-week-old baby abandoned by the mother under a bridge in Winkongo, near Bolgatanga in the Upper East regional capital of Ghana.

Officials say the dog spent the night watching over the child under the bridge. The dog had gone missing for hours and the owner sent out a search party into the forest to find him. The dog was found in the morning under a bridge, near the owner's farm, with the newborn deriving warmth by nuzzling against its fur.

The baby himself is in relatively good health after his adventure. His umbilical cord had not been cut, and had gotten infected, but the infant was otherwise unharmed; he's since had all his vaccinations, and is currently in the custody of a local health directorate until new, non-bridge arrangements can be made for him.

Police are investigating. (Ghana News Agency)

131 comments:

Aww! Smart dog

Good dog. How do they know the baby is 2 weeks old? Is it a talking dog?

SugarBABE said...

People could be so heartless,how can a woman abandon her new born baby?this world is really coming to an end.

A dog owner and dog lover said...

God bless the child and the Dog,dogs are amazing.My dog does that too,she will seat infront or by a baby if the baby is asleep and she won't let anyone touch the baby even the baby's mother until I come its so adorable Dogs are so loyal and caring.my dog even. Saved me from drowning,she is not trained like that.I drank a glass on bailey's and fell asleep in the pool at my house she ran and barked so hard and the people inside my house they followed and came and saved me from the Pool.I'd have drowned and died.Dogs are heros.I love my Dogs and love this dog

sugarbabe said...

How can a woman abandoned her newborn baby,what a heartless,devilish jezebel she is,this world is really coming to an end.

Amazing!

Obie said...

What can I say..mans best friend..have 3 of dem @ home..can be annoying somtimes,but dey are trustworthy(more than I can say for most humans)

Awww! It's S o touching, it made M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ remember τ̲̅ђe boy in τ̲̅ђe jungle book protected by animals.

Awww!!! Thank God.

Wicked mother who carried her for 9 months and then dumped him.

Dr should gv me d chld.

Lilspicer said...

That dog is a hero i wish gej can save us lik dis dog the owner shuld be rewarded unlike this nigerian dogs which are only good eating shit and dustbin mtchhhew(omo-iwo)says so.....

Aaawwww trust me if I was married and childless I would soo adopt children!! Even that baby if possible !

Queen Esta said...

If na naija dogs,na chop dey go chop the pikin.

this was just God in disguise.

Mo'ona said...

Ironyoflife!Whilesomesearchwithnoluck;othersdisposewithnoconscience.GGodwilljudgeusall!

Cool story bro...

God is sure mighty in his ways. That woman shld hang on a live wire, the dog is better off a mother. Heaven hlp us all

Na wah oh,sme pple were born wout a conscience.d dog was indeed an arrangemnt frm heaven.DIS R D KINDA SIGNS WE NEED TO PROVE GODS EXISTENCE N NOT A BABY BORN WITH A KORAN"hilarious"

...and it is marvellous in our sight.

eyya,.,.they have rightfully earned the title man's best friend true true!

Blackknight! said...

Dog!!!There is no better friend than a Dog.I must get meself, a Cute Guard Dog.
Stay beautiful Doggy!Am yet to understand the mystery of your existence...ever so faithful and loyal.If only I can hear what goes on in your mind.....My best friend!

OMG ...he is so cute. God pls protect him.

SocialDela said...

wonders, thank God the dog did not cannibal this cute baby

God always protects his own :)

Truly man's best friend.
http://omoirefo.blogspot.com.au/

To God be the glory. Calabar people stop eating dog meat o.

Thank God! When lots of couples will give everything to have a baby, someone somewhere dumped this cute baby.Sad..

Awwww! This is so touching. This is the 1st time am commenting on ur blog. Normally i jus read other ppl comment 4 fun but dis is so amazing, i shld get a dog

Awww the many wonders of God

Boston Babe said...

This is the BEST NEWS from the African Continent this month.

My God bless the dog and may the dog find God's favour and continue to be of good use to the owner and society.

May God lay it in somebody's heart to pamper the dog by taking it to a spa to have manicure,pedicure,teeth polish and then to the VET to be checked-out and finally a local hero's recognition party be held in the dog's honour with local and international media present and reporting SO THAT WE HUMAN BEINGS CAN TRULY
LEARN TO LOVE ONE ANOTHER AND BE HUMAN.

May God bless the mother of the child for not killing or harming the baby. I pray she gets the help she truly needs and fine peace and forgiveness so she can sleep well.

And finally God bless the boy and I pray he finds a God loving and friendly home. Amen.
God's creations are truly beautiful.

Dogs have more brain power than man.Who would have thought!

MAXIMUS™ said...

which one is "non-bridge arrangements" abeg? I mean I totally understand it in the context it's used. But what's with ghanians and very dodgy english? A simple 'we are making alternative shelter arrangements' will suffice

wow :(

To think dat sm couples r begging God 4 dis blessing and sm pple r busy throwing away theirs...life!

Where my dogs at? I really like dogs alot, they always have a heart when it comes to being with man.No wonder the saying 'A man's best friend'

Wow... Some Dogs really do have the some humanly sense. No wonder people say, the Dog is man's best friend. How I wish I could have that kind as a pet.

What a beautiful baby. Poor cutsie must have been terrified not having any breast milk and loving care. What a shame.

Daniel Wilbert said...

This child will be great or has a very important role in life....for GOD to send a dog to protect it & provide warmth. A dog that would normally eat a carcass? GOD be praised

sarafina said...

God bless that dog but God punish whoever did this to d baby. I suspect all these stupid dogs that won't keep their legs together. Nonsense. Become good adults, they won't hear. Awon omo jatijati

I have always said it dogs have more sence than som human,see woman trow away pikin dog they pity the pikin

Hew!

God bless the child and the dog.

Dog na bingo with difference o!

This little one is a survivor.

The devil has failed to extinguish the life of a destiny's child.

Praise GOD!

Chinedu said...

that dog is an angel...
Thank God d baby is safe

gaga said...

Dts y I dnt joke wit dogs. Dey behave lyk human beings. As for d imbecile dt dumped dt baby dere,ur punishment start here on earth n end in hell.

Correct Bingo.

Some women get mind sha. That Dog must b God sent.

God uses all his creatures. Real life lassie the dog.

GOD IS GREAT AND IS GREATLY TO BE PRAISED!!!

truly like they say, the Dog is Man's best friend

oluwajojo said...

We ll neva hear such gud news in 9ja, na always bad news,,,, God bless d dog and d owner

Jibz said...

I'm glad this story has a happy ending, I wonder why you wouldn't just leave the baby where he/she can be found, if you really don't want it.
Or better still, how about, I dunno, a freaking condom .
Grrrrr

anyday anytime ma Dog will always be ma bestfriend, always there to cheer u up whenever ur down...........

Wat a wicked world we live in. I will give anything to have a baby of mine

Well as they say: dogs are man's best friend. Does this also mean that dogs have the tendency to knw wen a human is helpless?...iv got to get a dog soon!

Aww! That's so sweet of d dog. Shame on d mother

Glory be to God for the wonderful work of his hand! I hope the mother gets help too cos there's nothing normal about dumping a kid you just birthed. Post partum depression maybe? Or stupidity? Either way, Dear Lord help her too. Zip up guys. Or go and marry already!

Job Akpan said...

God works in a mysterious way. May His name be praised for this great miracle.

Alaran Wonder said...

Indeed some animals can be humane than 'animals' in human skin.

phoebe said...

Thank God the little one is alive and safe now..
But this Ghana News Agency sef, which one come be 'until new, NON BRIDGE arrangement' ℓ☺ℓ.. See comedy attempt ooo unto this serious matter..

This Linda self how and where do you get all this gist from ???

Thank you Jesus

God is great, all thanks to GOD 4HIS divine protection over d baby.

I just love dogs. thats all i can say. no other animal shows so much loyalty to human beings. iv watched a documentary where a small kid fell of a pavment in a zoo and landed in the den of a coklony of gorillas. luckily, the alpha female gorilla took it upon herself to nuture and protect the boy from other gorillas until rescuers came to get him. pls linda you for put picture of the heroic dog na

God be praised for the life of this little one

Bamz said...

What a heartless world! Even if you don't have the money to take care of the baby doesnt mean you wanted him dead. May God forgives the woman...

ThatGirl said...

Glory be to God for the wonderful work of his hand! I hope the mother gets help too cos there's nothing normal about dumping a kid you just birthed. Post partum depression maybe? Or stupidity? Either way, Dear Lord help her too. Zip up guys. Or go and marry already!

Such a fine baby. Thank God for that dog oo. I don't like keeping animals that much but if i had such a dog i'll just spoil him with huge pieces of meat right now.

For the person who abandoned the baby, i don't know the reason why but it would have been better to go drop it at some motherless babies' home now

Eva said...

Even dogs r patriotic in Ghana. If na Nija nw, sombody 4 don rape dat baby or use am 4 ritual.

Stresslessqueen said...

Tnk GOD 4 dey dog,he is a GOD sent a hero indeed.Baby u wil do great in life.Amen

God is wonderful

Nekky said...

i hate animals especially dogs buh i'm forced to love dis Godsent dogs. thank u God for d life of this baby.it shall be well with him

Gboza says:

Wonderful!!! A dog watching over a baby abandoned by it's mother reminds me of the truth that God is able to raise up stones to do what men refuse to do.
But linda why didnt you show the picture of the guardian-angel-dog?

Ammie said...

Should i say God bless the dog? lol, but God really protects His own. The owner of that dog should pls take it out today o and get it a favorite meal to say bravo!

But then if na Niaja dog, wetin for happen? i mean the Eke uke type o, those ones u see in Olodi Apapa and Ajegunle side!

All i have to say is 10Q JESUS!

IT IS SO SENSELESS SPRAKING ILL OF UR COUNTRY! UT OF THE ABUNDANCE OF THE HEART THE MOUTH SPEAKETH.....MAY BE NA U GO RAPE THE BABY OR USE AM DO RITUAL....Ugo(Smashing)

Woman of Virtue said...

God will neva cease 2 amaze me! Tnk u God!

God is really wonderful. He can use anything to perfect his plans for his children.

BlonQo said...

Lmao....Someone once said u were full of shit. Na now I believe.

Professor X said...

Dogs are the absolute best. Amazing creatures.

the white enchantress said...
BlonQo said...

*singing* d bells are ringing gbagaun.. gbagaun... gbagaun!!!

michelle said...

That child has a great purpose in this world that's why he w as saved... The mother would regret it later in life cos she would wish she didn't do that

I wonder ow a moda carries a child for 9mths nd den abandons it.naawaa ooo. Dat woman na winch

miss loler said...

God bless d baby and d Dog. Pls d owner shld start pampering dt Dog oo plus Linda can we see d picture of d Dog.

MAXIMUS™ said...

You've finally sent me to my ancestors with this comment!
ROTFLMAO!!!

This maximus ehn, ur comments on Linda & Laduns blog kills me.

=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=))

I guess uv officially taken over from Alicia Says...

This is why i am buying two large dogs when the opportunity arises!

Akanimo Sunday said...

What humans abandon,dogs pamper and provide warmth.God is Great.

victor Mak said...

Thanx to the Dog and calabar people
Pls help us save the lives of these lovely and loyal creatures 'Dogs'..
God pls help watch over the baby!!

True talk. God bless d baby and d dog

Amadi Cynthia said...

The baby is so cute!

Maggie said...

makes me remember my dog Bruno. so loving. i remember when a thief broke into our house, the minute he jumped over the fence Bruno barked so loud and chased him till he flew the fence and escaped. i love dogs, i also miss Rino our first dog who could read our thoughts. i miss them all. (they all died at an old age).

@Maximus. LOoooooooL. Ghana pipu english fit scatter pelsin. And ontop d mata, dem go dey speak pho-ne join

Sorry, too late
I'm first in line!

Olu-omo of d source said...

I know what u mean,i got 5 boerboels and a remote controlled gate so i have no need 4 a security man or maiguard,they roam free all over d compound as they're very well trained.I always feel safe when i have to leave my young son home alone cos i trust they'll rather die than see my boy get hurt.

Pls be very careful of ur døg ,leaving ur dog wit baby is NT å Gud idea , hve u NT read d story of å dog dt åte å two month old baby . Madam i luv my dog nd my dog luvs my baby

Aww!! dis is soo cute<3,+the stupid woman dat dropped the baby must be very heartless!!! when she was making jigijigi she didnt know abi,Anofia!!!

Tbaby said...

Thank You lord, for protecting that baby. i love dogs so much...it hurts to see nigerians treating them like dustbins. giving them left over food. they are meant to eat better food like us.

The baby is so fortunate to have a trained dog come to it, other dogs must have eaten half of it b4 it will be discovered. To God be the glory.

God is wonderful . Sometimes Dogs can be a man's best frnd....

That baby has a lot in stock believe me, dats why God sent even Dog to keep charge over her. For the woman dat abandoned dat baby, when God begins to unfold his wonderful gifts in the baby, the foolish woman will now wake up to make nonsense noise.

People make me laugh sha. Take the dog to a spa, manicure, pedicure, teeth polish???? Hahahhaaha! For dog!

Hope said...

My God works in a mysterious way...cn smbdy shout alleluyah!!

I guess until d dog eats ur baby i wonder if u will still b a dog lover hmmmmm?

mama ifu said...

@ a dog owner and dog lover....you drank baileys and fell in the pool? u need to examine ur life, hon.

@ maggie, ur dog could read ur mind? u need to examine ur life.

@ boston babe, you make the most sense. THank God the mother did not kill the baby and hope she gets the help she needs. She is not to be abused and cursed. Postpartum depression/psychosis anyone?

Yea, it is possible to estimate the age of infants cos they hv different developmental milestones that can be seen at different stages of their growth.

Theo said...

May God have mercy on us all. The greatest gift is the gift of life and how little we value it. I pray that this child grows up and become someone great. Thanks to that great dog, he must be well trained.

Abeg pass the mic

Pass the mic

Ah!... Chill pal. Its just dog.

Hope said...

Our God works in a mysterious way..cn smbdy shout alleluya!!!

(((((GBOA))))

Who will abandon a two week baby, God have mercy on our soul. Thank God, that God used the dog at that moment.

Gbagaun Detector! said...

((((GBOA)))

@BlonQo na very big gbagaun

Hahahahahahahahaha!!! Lmfao! I swear! He'z full of shit. Lmaoooo

LALICIOUS said...

U guys ar smtin else,,,,smone narrated hw he/she was saved by her/his dog nd u sayinn chill,its just A̷̷̴̐͠ dog SMH
Its nt just does hungry road side dogs dat u guys av dat can eat Чυя baby,,,plz give sm credit 2 d dog

Lilspicer ur always making odd comments. I'm glad I'm not d only one who noticed...

LoooooooL!!

@ Anon 6:13 ur too funny- just my thot when I read d comment !

E jo, where is ur space bar!!!

ogu forum said...

hmmm. what a wonderful world

i don't get this life sha...i mean, there are slew of women at various night vigils as we speak and the only thing they are looking for is jsut one child. yes one child pere...yet the same God allows this one child to be born and abandoned. it is well sha...

What sort of mother leaves her young child alone at home?
What if a fire starts?(God forbid).Will d dogs be able to save him?
Or if he chokes on something?
U really are a pathetic excuse for a mother.

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

- olah

The beuty of heaven Ȋ̝̊̅§ in the eyes of a dog, i can't stop crying §ö touching, Τ̣̣ђa̶̲̥̅̊τ̣̣ ♏a̶̲̥̅̊Kƹs it the most wonderful story i read Τ̲̅ђΐƨ year. May God bless the dog, the ƁA̶̲̥̅Ɓy̶̲̥̅̊ Α̲̅ή∂may he forgive the mother too.....amen

peter said...

this dog is an angel. what a good dog. the mother deserves some punishment.

buzz said...

Lol @ talking dog....how smart/dumb can u b?

baileys U̶̲̥̅̊ drink or na ogogoro n milk? No worry, the next time U̶̲̥̅̊ get drunk on that mixture, Ʊ® dog go just D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ look U̶̲̥̅̊. ¶ hope U̶̲̥̅̊ remembered the last person wey € happen τ̅☺. Ologogoro. Abeg break the mic joor!

The sage said...

Did u just write a poem for a dog?

Eya wt a wicked world

You see say Animals come get feelings for Humanbeins pass Human to Human ?If it where a Man that sees that Child,the nest thing is how to use the Innocent Child for Vodu, thank God say na Dog see am.