'Kanye had over 100 producers & I wasn't priority' Don Jazzy on why he returned home | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 June 2012

'Kanye had over 100 producers & I wasn't priority' Don Jazzy on why he returned home

What the ace music producer told City People magazine when asked about his deal with Kanye's label, G.O.O.D Music, where he's signed as a producer
Don Jazzy:
I am still signed to G.O.O.D Music, but in order for me to be able to concentrate on building the artistes that we have here, I wouldn't be able to give my 100% in the work I have to do in NY. In New York, the music and orientation is different. I can sit down there and say I'm trying to make an album for Kanye West, and it takes me longer because the level of music there is different from the one here. Kanye West has like 100 producers lined up at his beck and call, and it is not like I am priority. So I'll be spending a lot of money staying in the States when I can return home and be making money as well as grooming more artistes. And it's very easy these days. I can work here and once I'm done, and feel it's something that would suit Kanye West, I'll just email it to them, and if they want to use it, they'll use it and if they don't, they will tell you to try again.

130 comments:

smartass!unlike dbanj who decided to remain an errand boy

Cynthia said...

Quite reasonable and matured way of thinking.

BonkoINC said...

ofcus nah...u ve got ur record label to cater for! We re in d computer age....n i got sum peepz arguin he dint sign any contract....anyhow sha...don baba j....we ve got ur bck!

Duke Emeka said...

Nice reply without running down someone. Stay in naija and build our artists jor.

Smart move jare Jazzy toh badt. Better to be ur own boss. Keep improving on ur skill and u'll wax even greater. Mavin noni.....

Lilspicer said...

God wuld make a way keep on prayin africas best producer(omo-iwo)says so...

Dbanj should come back home mehn...behaving like house boy for Kanye when he is a king in nigeria

Atobatele said...

Absolutely Right! I share your idea!

Modupsy said...

Makes sense

Lilspicer said...

God wuld make a way keep on prayin africas best producer(omo-iwo)says so...

bluemagic said...

Smart ass.. L♥√ع ur sense like madt

Hairess™ Human Hair said...

Okay dats making little sense.

mature way of thinking....age is just a number people.....

good thinkig my bro...at least a nigerian that reused to be used as an errand boy .u re going to be greater here than u have being ,love u.mate sensible guy.

eji said...

very smart and enterprising guy... good for u dear.

9ice 1 baba..team jazzy all d wey...

Y'all dumb ppl, sleep and put head in same place

Igbo man!! They know how to do business well well some of them oo

Nyc 1 Boss!!!

Nice one bro,Good thoughts.let d beefers go nd die..#team marvin all d way#

smart boy! Good 4 u. All d best.

God bless Don Jazzy.

Son of the soil. You are wise man. You will see the result of this decision, it will pay you big time. You will be a king producer in nigeria. And much more live long. No join them oh! We know where D banj is heading. Watch and see.

stop dick riding Don Jazzy and Bad mouthing Dbanj said...

Y'all riding Don Jazzy's dick way too hard y'all need 2 back off cuz tiwa is already riding it durty so.As a producer its a good move 4 him but as an artist dbanj needs to be there with yeezy.Now fyi dbanj can't be more famous in Africa than he already is,if all of u were given the opportunity u'll do the same thing,there's a level of fame u can't go above,like think Death and birth Rate.like whitney and micheal jackon couldn't be more famous than they were b4 they died u feel me?dbanj wanna taste the Waters until Then Goodluck to them both

Lol,you guys should leave d'banj alone abeg.calling him names doesn't change d fact dat he is richer.nobody truly knows why mohits is no more.its definately money issues.Don jazzy u made the right decision by not. Staying in NY cos u won't be a priority @all.we love u

i fckkkkkkkkkkkkingggg love yur!!!!!

Enough of this story already he's trying too hard.

Jazzy you can't please everybody and you can not possibly dissipate every rumor you hear about you, Let them talk. A gbacha oso a guo mile.

God bless u boo

Oooooossshhheeer, dats what dey call a smart business man. Dis guy need to open a school Of music jare

with this kind of sensibility, why won't mavin records be great?! absolutely no reason...carry on jare

beauty and brains lol!

Don Baba Jay! Igbo man no 1, ♍ǻke moni everywhere you can. Hapu nwata kiri ha na kpo dbanj! God bless ur hustle dear

SEE THIS GUY HAS BRAINS AND KIDNEY. SMART MOVE DON JAZZY. MEANWHILE, DBANJ IS STILL POSING TAKING PICTURES AND MAKING CAMEO APPEARNCES IN VIDEOS. I THOT HE SIGNED UP TO SING. IM STILL WAITING FOR THAT DON JAZZYLESS SONG DBANJ WILL RELEASE. WE ARE WAITING OOOOOOO!

anonymous said...

Nice1...That's the sense of a REAL ibo man (omo nna).... Don Baba Jay!nwanne idi OK! IDJA #teammavin

can i be an intern under don jazzy!? he's just too smart!

smartsy pantsy!

lolu said...

i dont know y some pple feel music industry is all about some1 being a boss and the other a surbordinate,music industry involves division of labour as well as it is a business...you pple shld stop all these daft comparison btw dbanj and don jazzy...they are both artist cum biz men perfoming diff tasks ....one is a producer while the other sings....they both function diffrently and both of them can stand without the other.....that dbanj is signed by kanye or roll with kanye and co doesnt in any way make in any way make him errand boy...they all have their games going..
i feel this is what don jazzy shld have said in the first place instead of all the nagative comments...this is so grown up..... humans really need to stop fueling unnecessary beef btw artist...next they will start comparing omotola and genevive etc....these guys are out there making money while you are forming one loyal fan and am so sure some of the die hard fans have not and will never see the foot print of their shoes
nice one coming from don jazy ...i wish you luck....

don jazzy looks so badass in this pic!cant get over it!

hot!!!!!!1dayyyyyyum

steezz.com said...

This guy makes a lot of sense.

IDJA!!!!!!!!God Bless Him!

Bless him

Don jazzy did good, Dbanj did good. From this story its obvious that dbanj is a risk taker. He is an artist and can afford to take that risk n b int'l. This risk would make him extremely wealthy n famous or extremely broke. I admire his courage. On d other hand, IDJA is a producer n rily does nt nid to be travellin up n down but can stay in his base n stil b intl.

Don jazzy. Ur a genius. U inspired me soo much, God bless u for that. U such an intelligent person. May God bless u n'the mavin crew more n'more

That's quite sensible.... Unlike acting WakaPass in a movie. Kip it up DON BABA.

That's the sound reasoning of a diala, dike-dike, agu! Nwa'ala, God bless you jare.

Angel Ricardo said...

The sound reasoning of a Nwa'ala!

i love his sincerity, if it wer sm ppl d wil sugar coat d jist by boastin dat d didnt jst feel lyk bin wid kayne or def cm up wid sm lies, don j God is wid u nd he wil bless d labour of thy hands

way to go don! MAVINACTIVATED!!!

Don Jazzy is isoko
and not igbo for goodness sake. Y do u people keep saying he is igbo? Get ur facts right.

Is don jazzy full igbo i thought it's his mother that is igbo and his father an itshekiri or isoko man .

hey baby! ;)

Donjazz is scared to take on africa and the rest of. The world, hw will rather sty where he is comfortable..go foor new challenges dude...se what d'bang is already doing inn d k and launching def jamm africa

That's why you are Don Jazzy... Smartaasssss Dude unlike D banj dat was sent to buy agege bread and mistakenly entered kanye's new video @ 5mins 20secs of a 5mins 34secs video...LMAO

awwwwwww......so smart

Dats gud finkin! i trust ibo men.. Whr moni is involv dey dnt dull

mavin boss!!!

What Don Jazzy omitted to say is that HIS production talents are not considered a priority.

Go ask Hit Boy what being Kanye's producer entails...

MAXIMUS™ said...

After forming all the american wonder english, you still ended up saying "TASTE the waters". Last time I checked, it was 'Test waters'. Need is say a dumb-ass case of Blind leading the blind?
tsk tsk tsk

MAXIMUS™ said...

eh? Beauty and Brains to describe a dude? That's it...I give up!

Burn'z said...

dbanj lives according to his musics, right now he's a scape goat for Kanye. Leedon Burn'z say so lol

good for both of them

I love D'banj nd his wit!He is a rare gem!i love u!

In life,u av 2 crawl before u walk...if Dbanj is running errands 4 kanye west,I'm sure he knows what he's doing and as 4 don jazzy,his work in naija,is a done-deal already n he can afford to walk away from the states cos he's making millions here already..deh r two different ppl with different priorities,and I'm very much sure dat they both know what deh are doing!

Chimatara Anyanwu said...

Good move for both Don Jazzy and D,banj

In the end, the fact still remains 'you are always writing epistles'!.....kilode?.If u wanna write an essay,puliz register for jamb or Gmat.#spokesperson

good for both of them

dude has got a lot of brainsssss!!!!!!!!

Greatibaba said...

Actually, d koko remains dat Don Baba J took d right desicion just as Dbanj did. D vision I see is dis, In d long run, Jazzy becomes d greatest African Procucer of all times, and D'banjs current humility pays off by a slight "hand of God" touch and he finds himself on top of US's game.You need not be told wat dat means. Al u hv to do is be supportive of both in gud grace.

IDJA,we love u joor. PLS SMS "NEA #7 DONJAZZY" TO 32051 TO VOTE (DONJAZZY) FOR THE "MUSIC PRODUCER OF THE YEAR" AWARD! PLS VOTE & BROADCAST! THANKS & GOD BLESS

yes so

now is the time to know who's got the money...

LyricalMessiah said...

Matured statement!!!!

Word

Dat de banj na idot, house boi etc, de don correct guy, keep u de good work

Well said don baba j.

Nekky said...

good thinking. IDJA. God will surely bless u and d entire Mavin crew.

Dbanj is the man.he carries the quote INTERNATIONAL ARTISTE now.so what are u haters saying and as for Don jazzy he tweeted it himself saying he was signed for a specific period of time and his contract will soon be over so why did he sound another way around with the city people..its obvious he is always claiming the Holy man and guess what nobody holy pass!

This don jazzy is too smart. Thanks for making the right decision

How convenient, coming out with this statement when BBC's eastenders played dbanjs Oliver twist and had all the teenagers doing those baddd ass move. Nigerians, this your oga slave mentality no go kill you. In jand and Yankee, you can take risks and succeed well without someone constantly saying he is the boss. Men don jazzy grow up... and take risks. Stop running dbanj down. And all you followers....you need deliverance oh! Else typical nigerians will continue to lord over you big time

I just keep wondering.......how do u do it?......comment more than once on a post??

Its kinda amazing to see a lot of stupid comments on here. Don jazzy did what he thought was good for him, d'banj too did the same. D'banj even being the bigger risk taker in this case. I can't imagine how many artists kanye works with but he was one of the ones chosen to make a cameo in the mercy video, he's going to star in Kanye's movie, he sits front row with them at high profile events if that's what you call houseboy, a LOT of artists would gladly be houseboys. Do you guys think if don jazzy had a chance to appear in that video, he won't jump on it?

chillysauce said...

Aw.. he doesn't wanna wash car. how sweet!!

A producer is different from an artiste. Don't compare D'Banj to Jazzy. I wish they didn't split the group, Mo'Hits. Everything happens for a reason.

I support both of their ventures. I wish Jazzy didn't introduce the group with their lazy ass songs so quickly. It shows that The Nigerian audience likes garbage. No new image, style... Just a new visible member and various weak songs that Nigerians are enjoying.

Nigerians are always managing everything from bad network services, no electricity, no water, bad roads, terrible health care and educational systems, terrible movies, no security, corruption, women taking abuse from men.

You can get ur point across without sounding like a bad imitation of a low rate gangster movie..

D'Banj signed up to sing. He will get his shine at the right time. Don't compare the system in Nig to that of the states. People in the states record an album in months/years/ a year so that they put out good music.
Nigerians, on the hand, lack a proper system. Artistes will work on their Gbedu music for 3 weeks and put it out and you fools will be happy. Useless and same old' songs everywhere on the Nigerian radio. I only listen to a few current artistes in Nigeria because they are very talented and they don't follow the same tricks to get hits. Brymo

my experience said...

Why are Nigerians so foolish. Use your heads before you comment. Sorry to say this but I even think those who comment on this blog do not use their brains. They just run their mouths like a tap running. DBanj and DonJazzy have two totally opposite job functions and even description. The step DBanj took is 100% allowable. He is an artist. Expanding his horizon and stepping outside of his comfort zone is something he should be allowed to do without feeling the wrath of you feable minded lot. He stepped into an international industry that does not have too many naija artists.Kanye can actually help to change the face of yankee music somewhat. However DonJazzy produces and most of his artists are fr an African fan base. He has to focus and continue to make magic happen with naija artist first. Once there is a breakthru for African music in yankee, then Don Jaz can try to transition over. Why you all choose to insult Dbanj is beyond me. Dbanj has a little more ability to possibly be accepted in yankee before Don. This is business and easy to understand. Why all these dumb, imbecilic comments about DonJazzy being the smart one?

Great decision,i ve always admired your style and maturrity and you ve never let me dowm

Samson said...

Okay can we be civil and think with our heads for once. DonJazzy has more to lose than Dbanj. They have and play seperate roles. Dbanj can take the risk of trying another planet. It will be harder for Donbaba. He even said it that Kanye had like 100 producers. Can Donbaba produce for americn artists? but he sounds a little stuck up about emailing the songs. i wish them well sha

Errand boy fit do cameo 4 kanye video???!! Otondo

Abidol said...

this is a Man

Where is your blackberry bold 5 you claim to have been commenting from the last few times *raised eyebrows*

This is your first comment that makes small sense..clap for your self

Mag

ahem he was photoshopped to smithereens in this pic sha o cos we know he has something of a pot belly. It looks like it disappeared momentarily in this photo. #jessayin'

Some Nigerians are such a bad people, how can you wish your fellow human being downfall in life,i wish both of the party success in their endeavour.

Awon loma ni ade gun, awon nan la tun ni Ade o gun ma! na true colour of Naija be that. If u want to know the meaning, u can ask google ooooo.

Austin said...

dbanj is not an artist in good music but a partner.same apllies to my brother don jazzy.so their welfare in the states is their personal responibility.

To want to live in u.s and roll with KW WOULD REQUIRE MORE heavy investment in fineries and accomodation.

And they have both not made any appreciable impact'in the entertainment circle in america that would see them make lots of money.

Given time,don jazzy and not 'dbanj would make remarkable success in america. Reason: dbanj is an artist with nothing new to displace the rwigning folks over there.with time this would dawn on him.he cannot hope to achieve half the success he made here before another chaps comes into kanye's radar.
Whereas don jazzy as a producer can relax and allow dbanj to contnue to remix his effort over there until an artist there ask for the name of the original producer and contact him.

Don jazzy can alway send his lastest works to kanye for review who can in turn pass it over to someone.he has the reach,already.

Engr. Maknun said...

Nice move from both of them. I wish both of the m good luck...and I wish myself same.

THIS IS AN IBO MAN TALKING SMART AS THEY COME...TRUST ME ITS A RAT RACE HERE IN YANKEE MAKING IT IN MUSIC IS A DOG EAT DOG GAME...IN NIJA HE HAS MADE HIS NAME AND HAS THE CLOUT...THE SKY IS HIS LIMIT...AND THERE IS MORE MONEY TO BE MADE IN NIJA....LOOK AT DBANJ THE SO CALLED VIDEO HE MADE WITH KANYE...HE DIDNT EVEN FEATURE UNLESS I MISSED SOMETHING....HE WILL COME HERE TO DOBALE AND WORSHIP KANYE, AND KISS HIS BUTT AS THE DAY IS LONG...

the point is dbanj isnt dat good musically to make it here in the states,we have great talents here,dis guy should stop decieving himself,kanye is even going down here,no one listens to his music anymore,his relationship with kim is just to still make him relevant and he will be featuring in the next season,av u seen his new video,the song is senseless and dbanj looks stupid in dat video

What's is he emailing....duh

Don jazzy's wife said...

Okay we have agreed Don Jazzy is the smartest man alive now what I want to know is that person. Say is the special woman in his life

nice one boss, wishin U nd Dbanj d best in ur endeveours.. Xeroz say so

Prince Stan said...

Nice one!! Its better to be a "lion in d jungle" than a "dog in the city". Abeg if you e-mail kanye beat and hm no like am, abeg no vex send am to me. Lol. IDJA! MAVIN forever!!

Janded said...

Hmmm Ok o

Woman of Virtue said...

Nyc one DJ! Wetin concern me wif Dbanj? Wetin be my own wif kanye west?

Don Jazzy is handling the whole thing maturely. Good luck to you.

donatus said...

Nice one don jazy

Renny said...

U r such a fool nd u dnt knw anitin, errand boy! He sings, he doesn't produce dummy, he has 2 work nd push hmself 2 be recognised everywher. F u wher given d opportuniy, u wud wash a toilet, I'm so sure of dat

Shattap!

Oliver twist song was banned in Nigeria but its topping UK & US charts.To each their own, dbanj is not doing bad at all, afterall he is flying our flag high, see him as houseboy or not,which one una dey?

Nonso. A said...

Carry go my brother.....No mind flying monkey ..lol, his a shoe shiner now ...

Don Jazzy na over sense dey worry you. good thinking!

kenny said...

Down to earth.. so humble in everything, i think you the best..

Don J, i like you but you are a PARROT. Cant you just zip it AND do your thing!

That is why the person that shines you shoe in naija is going to set you up and robb you at gun point because you look down on ordinary people in naija. At the moment Oliver twist is hot hot hot in the UK mate.

Some people really need to think before they comment.......u don't need to hurl insults @ any1 ........y call dbanj a houseboy y??he earns more than some of ur folks hv earned in their lifetym so don't hate.........this kind of thinking is y we r still a 3rd world country.........if he decides to stay wit kanye &pursue his dreams it doesnt concern u all......get a life pple.

correct guy

Wise guy, he's in the right direction with mavin. D'banj is doing good too. Don Jazzy is not Igbo, I know it's confusing bcos once someone is not yoruba people automatically say Igbo.

If someone makes sense, you people say they are writing essays or too much grammar. When I see some comments here I understand why Nigeria is becoming worse. You don't want to learn unless it sex, slangs, weave, phones, weddings etc.

anonymous said....... u Don jazzy, u hav 5mins with a king n u cld nt perform..shame man..american system is full competition and this is way diff from naija cos we lack n do nt appreciate creativity here in all our sectors..dats y our beats all sound alike...go and ask dapo of the former group kush how he broke into the system...go and ask INSANE of plaerz entertainment hw he is one of T.I's new producers, go and ask oscar how he started producing for the likes of akon over there...man grow up donjazzy n spread ur wings cos the young producers in nigeria are gonna overtake you man..u cnt be a king forever....#realtalk

Fact!

See mumu talk..This is a man?..No na woman..mtchheeww

Respectfully, it sounds to me like Don Jazzy bowed out for fear of competition. He says "the level of music there is different from the level of music here..." Of course it is Don Jazzy! This would have been a great opportunity for you to improve upon your raw talent, learning from some of the best, while sharing with them what you have to offer.

Why should you worry about how long it takes to get something right? Why should you worry about how many other producers Kanye has, AFTER you have signed the deal? If you have the strength of your convictions, focus and do your thing. Your work, if good, will speak for itself. In the end, its all about making good music, no?

Good luck with your plans for the future.

He is igbo from abia state

Iyaniwura said...

Anon 8.47Pm well written. I love ur comments we( nigerians) need to learn. Thumbs up!

Alot of artists in the states would crave at the chance of starring in a kanye west video.if kanye could have d likes of mr hudson,john legend,big sean nd odas in his label den wat are we talkin about.dbanj is makin history(first naija on uk charts) for dis mould ridden country and we could is to bring him down.not suprised.

We've got a load of deluded and backward set of morons on this blog...still wondering why they are wishing Oski'banj bad when their own personal life is nothing ta write home about..discombobulated cretins always ready ta tribalise anything that involves D'BANJ OR DON JAZZY..basic reason why we ain't moving forward as a state in this confused country..lets see what becomes each of them in 3years ta come..the end will definately justifies the means..BLESS YOU BOTH BRO AS YOU KEEP FLYING THE GREEN AND WHITE FLAG HIGH.

Mama Agba said...

The icing on the cake for D'banj would have been to sing for the Queen at the Mall during the Diamond jubilee celebrations since he's been hanging around London lately.Well for now all he could pull of was airplay on choice fm et al. People in the UK get bored very easily make he ask Craig David ,even Robbie Williams wey be Oyinbo tried yankee it wasn't easy.D'banj is doing what he thinks he shouldbe doing while ..Don Jazzy is doing it the way he should be doing .Goodluck to them

I'm just soo tired of sentimental fools. Don Jazzy wasn't a priority and wasn't needed,,so d beef started. Mudslinging..blackmailing. Made D'banj look like a bad guy.
Many of U peeps don't see beyond ur nose..afta conquering Nigeria and Africa, where else do U expect D'banj to look to venture if not the Int'l community. He has won all awards winnable in Africa, even in Uk and America,,d dude has dreams and U stupid fools expect him to stay home and be a local champion. Call him wat U like, he's flying Nigeria's flag well internationally..
I wish Don Jazzy well cos I like him, but he trying to get sympathy by always going to press is fucked.
Tot he doesnt talk, so all dose talking into D'banj's hears is gone. Ouchhh.
Abeg, him and his Mavin guys shld try harder cos dat deir compilation is crap and trash..no swag, no hook.. We are just managing for old time sake. Tiwa savage sef no try..
Abeg. Free Dbanj.. He's d real biz guy.. Expansion is d koko

A cameo in a video doesn't mean the person is a houseboy, for instance when you have birdman as cameo in Lil wayne or Rick Ross videos,does it mean birdman is a houseboy? Yall need some education seriously. Some mixtape rappers envy dbanj for having a record deal and all you can do is hate.Haters never make it in life,so if you like keep hating.