Nigerian designer, Lanre Da Silva tumbles on stage; featured on Daily Mail UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 16 September 2011

Nigerian designer, Lanre Da Silva tumbles on stage; featured on Daily Mail UK

So she fell on stage, and the international press carried it! I would be flattered if I were her...:-)

Here's how Dailymail reported it...

Did Naomi lend you those shoes? African designer ruins her big moment with a runway tumble at New York Fashion Week 
She says she is not afraid to stand out, but this was probably not the kind of attention she had hoped for. But you couldn't blame up-and-coming designer Lanre Da Silva-Ajayi if she was a little giddy after showcasing her latest collection at New York Fashion Week.
After the Arise Made In Africa showcase, the Nigerian fashionista took to the runway for a triumphant victory lap - and promptly stepped off the side.
 Go to dailymail.co.uk to read the full story...

35 comments:

wanda said...

ROTFLMAO!!!! chaii!!! e pele o.....it happens

@AnnahWithAnH said...

Ehya! Pele dear, ruined moment; by d way linda, y will u be flattered?

Oh No

and im i first? yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Linda Haba na u biko! Ur aproko don see this gist again.
She looked great even with the fall. Proud of her and her designs,LDA. But really, Linda any idea if and where we can view a video of this, it would certainly be more graphic and definately more hilarious.Wetin killer heels go cause ehn!

No such thing as bad publicity. Now the whole knows you.Heck i didn't even know her till now.

@ swiss dats a mumu question! don't u get dat it boosted her popularity? Keep up abeg!@ swiss dats a mumu question! don't u get dat it boosted her popularity? Keep up abeg!

Kemi said...

poor dear, seems the little roses on her sleeve got caught on the dress too as she was waving.

Go gurl!!!!!! Your doing us proud fall or no fall !!! Matter of fact no news is bad news this is massive publicity so work it gurl!!!
PROUD OF YOU!!

Damn she has made it. They actually spelled her name right. That is all that matters. Watch as Lanre earns... chei chei Mega muney

kike said...

awwww, lanre, it don't matter hun. It dont matter how many times you fall, it's how quickly you get up and move on..with this boosted popularity, you can give them a huge come back now :-)..besides whats the big deal if you fall sef??!! mschew..my sister abeg, ride on jare

It wasn't was her fault o! She actually didn't trip over her heels. She stepped onto a black sheet of cloth that was laid over a hole on the side of the stage thinking it was a solid platform and went right through it.

I think she took it quite well and recovered nicely PLUS she got a standing ovation when she got back on stage.

Lots of folks were recording the event so a video vindicating her should surface soon enough.

Wasn't d runway big enough for her to @ least fall in. Dis one way she come fall comot runway.abi na run she use enter. Can't stop laffing.

Ayo Shonaiya said...

As funny as this might sound, this fall will signal the rise of Lanre Da-Silva Ajayi on the world stage. Couldn't have happened to a better person. LDA's designs are great and she's a fantastic hard working human being as well. The Daily Mail is read by over 2 million people in the UK (I'm sure Linda's readers are slightly more than that ;-)) so the publicity is all good.

Magento Freelancer said...

PR stunt no ni o

I love her designs sha.

Thanks for showing this... Daily Mail is a racist newspaper. Didn't you know? If she hadn't fallen off the stage they would not have written anything about her.

Can they say that they don't know how rich Lanre Da Silva is? She can afford any type of shoes and would not take shoes off Naomi.

They love to humiliate black people more than white people. That is news to them. Anybody can fall off a stage, even without high heels.

The good thing is that Lanre Da Silva may now get the British PM's wife buying her clothes to wear. Designers in the UK would hate that. Bad news can lead to good news! Ha ha ha!

'...and the international press CARRIED it'
Linda the press don't CARRY NEW, they PUBLISH NEWS.

you know who who i am don't you?

Joy Akut said...

ouch, just saw it on sky news...embarrassing but then no publicity is bad publicity.

Eme Achanga said...

hmmnn...hope she didn't learn a thing or two from hollywood.You know over there,they fall,cry,even release nude photos just to get attention(it works)not saying that's the case here.She's a fantastic designer,but,just thinking.Good for Public relations..

Toddler said...

ba .... ba .... mama ..... mama...

I think auntie Lanre Da Silva tumbled on stage cos she's too old, but was showing off her new shoes. Why can't she just use her pension and get a £19.99 Zimmer frame (like my grandmother)? Smh.

MY NAIJA LIFESTYLE said...

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!

ehyah, all join sha....dnt knw y bt cant help it...ROTFL!!!!

lmao i saw it on channel 5 and i was trying to figure out if she was the one or not

that fall will get her noticed

CLF said...

I saw it on CNN after midnight. It didn't look like her and when they pronounced her name, it didn't even sound like her. I actually thought it was Lisa.

Good publicity IMO.

she shud be proud sha cuz the designs r very good and i LOVE her own outfit. dailymail r jobless sef for carrying this as news.

Lollie said...

I think its important to note that she "got back up" with the world taking note of her! :-)

Femiluv said...

Good publicity..... embarrassing, but really good for her brand.

Ade_Cool said...

Agree the Daily Mail is a racist paper don't be fooled by its glossy celebs gist...but as someone said might be good news for Lanre-Da Silva..their true intention was to parody a black woman's lack of grace and etiquette

Jennifer Ehidiamen said...

Lanre Da Silva rocks!!

@Ade Cool. you're always talking rubbish, what has the color of (BLACK) of her skin got to do with a fall, it could be anybody? Your views are always stupid.

feel bad for her. But it is exposure either way!

Toyhin said...

linda pls note: lanre Dasilva Ajayi is not up and coming, she has bin in the industry even before u. hehehe.

anyways.. there is no harm in fallin, the most important thing is dat u stand up.

Ade_Cool said...

Hey @Anon September 19, 2011 8:48 AM..stop stalking me...pain u so??...
U got issues and I have a good doctor 4 u..if u feel the need..
O de the high profile ones have always been BLACK!!..yet to see pics of White ones..and bet they must have taken the wrong step @some point..poor sod..I know all this is lost on u..oh well!!
Here's a new one for you try to be EduCreative..capiche!!..

DALTON OSAIKE said...

eeya... wat a pity... her big moment was spoiled... hilarious

DALTON OSAIKE said...

eeya... sori for her... her big moment waz apoiled... i feel for her... hilarious