Banke Meshida-Lawal appointed the official Make-up artist to Nigeria's first lady | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 11 June 2011

Banke Meshida-Lawal appointed the official Make-up artist to Nigeria's first lady

TY Bello got the protography job, Banke Meshida Lawal got the Make up Job. Wish they had given me the PR job...lol

It's official. After working with the first family on the ThisDay Style shoot, Banke Meshida, the lovely lady behind BM Pro, has been appointed the official Make up artist to Nigeria's first lady, Patience Jonathan.

Big congrats!

70 comments:

I hope this is coming from private funds.

There is a provision for the President of the Republic, no such thing for the 'first lady'...

ugh! now she's really gonna be unavailable for my wedding

She did a great job on the ThisDay shoot..was the best I've seen Patience look. I would have been surprised if she wasn't appointed as Madam P's official Make-up artist. Thumbs up Banke!

Tara's Big Fan said...

Sincerely wish the job went to Tara!!! That kind of job won't get to Tara's head...

Monkey na Monkey

sakara said...

haba Tara's bf....to whom much s given much s expected..when was d last time u saw Tara making up a client?...she leaves everything to her girls and dat explains y BMpro got d juicy deal...well if t gets into her head that's her cup of tea, who cares...she dey feed us?..na for Aso Rock & her husband house she go dey do gra-gra no be for my compound i begi

Femiluv said...

She's a FAB makeup artist.

Total rubbish!!! women are given birth on the floor of hospitals and Linda you are here telling us about patience's make up artist WHO THE HELL CARES EHH? No light, water, education, health care and even kerosene for the poor masses to cook and people cannot afford a 3 square meal a day and you are telling us about this rubbish abeg next better news please.

One more thing i hope the money is not coming from the nigerian coffers as there is no provision for that hope GEJ is paying for it from his own pocket mschew!!!

MAJOR!

Sorry - Tara's Big fan.

Tara is obviously not good enough for the job.

Tara's Big Fan said...

@Sakara, Tara does makeup exclusively. She's just the most expensive in Naija as she charges 250k per day for Lagos service. As a busy enterpreneur as she's, she's the kind of person who can give the First Lady job to her best employee. Oh yeah, Banke's gragra goes to her clients, husband and fans.

@Anon. 10.40pm, Tara is too preoccupied enriching lives and not 'hungry' to be on the scene for ever!

Ch5335ng said...

I love her work. I want a contract too with the Dame.
Mega money will roll in....

Anon 10:24:Just what i was thinking.There must be something in the water of presidential villas in Africa.People are suffering in naija even those with money.The basic necessities -electricity,water,security,healthcare are lacking.Its surprising that this sort of position is being announced when there are massive problems to tackle in naija. Congrats to Banke

meroh said...

and are we paying for this official make up artist?

screw Patience!!
screw Banke!
Screw GEJ!
this country is going to the dogs and they are using our money for make up?
which private funds?what does Patience do for a living to afford these make up?All those gold Bola Shagaya buy for her are also from private funds abi?
When the coming revolution comes, all these official make up artists and gold sellers will not be pitied.

ugh....banke is rude to regular folks so yeah i m glad she can finally move to Aso rock and leaave Lagos for other equally (if not better) makeup artist

Patience's Even Bigger Fan said...

Tara's Big Fan FYI Tara's small success has gotten into her big head so..........

from what I've seen, Tara's makeup is mediocre at best, and i mean mediocre for someone claiming to be a professional so PLEASE!

Please just out of curiosity, and have been meaning to ask this question for the longest time- biko what is that dark mark on banke's forehead? is it hair or what for goodness sake!

Ohbabypancake said...

Hahahahaha...

Now Patience will look better.

Congrats to Banke, and now her arrogance can multiply a million folds.

But I doubt if she will be with the first lady 24/7, I guess she will do makeup for state house events and other private parties and thorouhly coach her on her makeup.

And if Banke will be there for the next 4 years, then 'greed and envy' in the makeup industry will rest for 4 years!!!

@Anon. 9.58, The dark thing on Banke's forehead is her birthmark, and her hair also extends there.

@Patience Even Bigger Fan and Alicia, your views have no effect on the 19,000 fans Tara has on facebook. Compare that to the 8,000 fans Banke has! Despite Banke's notorious arrogance and professionalism, she doesn't have a wikipedia page.

Tara's makeup is rubbish banke does better maekup but peeps keep complaining that she is rude! is she actually rude? pls share ur experiences!!

Lol @ anonymous 9.58am. It is hair and it's called widow's peak or so...

I saw it coming... Bola Shagaya spear headed Banke's career and she owes everything to this woman. Nigeria is all about who you know ohhh. I'm not hating because I'm desperately searching for a godmother too...

Indifferent Tara and Banke's fan. said...

What's all this comparison between Tara and Banke??? Please stop it and let's not further add to the enmity abeg.

I admire both ladies because they have done well for themselves in their chosen career but please stop the comparison.

Tara is a global entrepreneur and her brand extends beyond makeup application only. What Tara makes as profit in a year, Banke can only dream about it; First Lady Official makeup artist or not.

House of Tara was the official makeup artist for former First Lady Turai so kini big deal?. She's also the official makeup artist to several governor's wife so kini another big deal? Tara is a brand whose company can run without her, I doubt that about Banke.

Banke is busy chasing herself calling every makeup artist that dares to try a photocopy as if she's original. She's constantly alluding to theft of her work or techniques on Facebook. The hatred that stems from you stinks badly. Banks, please build a bridge and get over yourself. I'm your good friend but unfortunately can't say this to your face... There'll be better makeup artists than you, others will have their time to reign, deal with all this and stop making a constant whatever of yourself o...

All the same, goodluck to you o...

Pls Tara fan, av dèalt with both Tara & Banke, i still prefer banke to tara, tara's make up is trashy & ugly. But banke is beta & bayo hastruup is d best.

meeee said...

Gist can fly in Naija o! BM makeup range is ∂ official makeup of the firstlady not Banke herself! I guess its just a way of branding her make up.

Chi said...

@ anon 9:58 AM...yeah i was going to comment on dat but i forgot, i was going to tell her to set some hrs aside to also make-up her face esp her forehead...what a public relations stunt....her forehead s a mark apparently from praying cause she's a muslim...dats not a problem but t shdnt be so glaring..f she cld patch up dame's face...she shd be able to do hers for this shoot...and I can already read some people r saying she's arrogant...heck...what da hell?...who cares..i dey make-up...prush let her go get a blanket i begi

Ms zee said...

yipeee thats whats up :) Good for them :)

Ms zee said...

eerrr the so called mark on her forehead is actually called a widows peak- she has hair there please get on google for more information, it is soo natural :) Good grief guys!!!!

see here for more information - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Widow's_peak

Sisi Alaso said...

@ Indifferent Tara and Banke’s friend, I so much gbadun you. You’ve spoken well-you summed up all of the story.
Banke’s close friend and neighbour is my designer and has the same opinions about her; but can not tell her.
To you Banke, there’s no smoke without fire, and when lots of people come out to call another person arrogant, there’s some truth in it. Search yourself, make amends and know that you can not reign forever.

No wonder! That explains the miracle on the 'inaugural thisday style' Aha!
Now Banke will charge more :-(

I REALLY DONT KNOW THIS TARA..HOWEVER THE PICS I HAVE SEEN OF HER..DOES SHE NOT NEED A MAKEOVER HERSELF??? JUST CHECKIN

chi said...

banke's own s not so sexy:

They can be found on both men and women, as well as vampires and werewolves (you remember Eddie Munster, right?).

Not-So-Sexy Widows' Peaks
If you're reading this article, you probably feel that your widow's peak falls into this category. You're not alone in this -- there are a number of people who get rid of their widow's peaks, and George Clooney is one of them. If you watch Walk the Line, you'll see that Joaquin Phoenix got rid of his for that movie, as it would be hard to do that Johnny Cash pompadour with a widow's peak. I'm sure there are a number of famous women who do the same, but are, perhaps, less open about doing so.

ahahahhahah enough said for banke's supporters

Hmmmmm! E don finish be that. Banke miss so full of myself. She no go let person hear word. Ewu!

lolo uno said...

gosh nijas why r we so spiteful and full of hate.may God continue to bless the works of their hands should wot u pple shld say,whether dem arrogant oo,no sabi make up ooo,pple beta pass dem oooo..at least they are not jumping from bed post to bed, they are working and hustling for a dia money.may God help us to encourage others.

Why can't those who call themselves Banke's "friends" tell her the truth? If you are close friends with her, you should be able to pull her aside and tell her how you trully feel about her attitude instead of coming on Linda's blog to bad mouth someone you claim to call a "friend". Nigerian women never seize to amaze me, ya'll are dangerous. You talk and smile with someone yet go behind their back to spew rubbish! bunch of 2 timing back stabbers! Dangerous snakes! Maybe you should stop hanging around her or being friends with her then since her attitude disgusts you so much....Oh I forgot, she probably buys you yams, rice, beans and palm oil so you can feed your hungry selves. Ever heared the saying "show me your friends and I will tell you who you are?"

Enough said!

Please is Banke really arrogant?
I'm not a rich girl but I can afford to hire for my wedding, hope she will come since I don't have big name attached to me.
She need to watch her weight though.

Why is everyone coming here to talk about Banke being arrogant and rude, if you know her tell it to her face...

Kemiismyrealname said...

We too hate o!!!!!!! Please read your individual responses and see the kindness in your words. Instead of rejoicing with someone, na so, so negativity!!! Haba.

Why would ANYONE bring up the name of another makeup artist when there was no reason for it. A is make up artist to so so and so....why mention B?

I think what you did, Tara's fan is in very poor taste. Should we label you as part of the people who are perpetuating the whole Banke/Tara supposed rivalry thing? There are many other make up artists in Lagos, not to talk of in Nigeria and I do not know why you would make such inappropriate comments.

Please leave these women to run their businesses. Their work speaks for them and so no matter whatever people say about them, or any other makeup artist, if it is God's wish for them to do well, they will do well.

If Banke is rude to her clients which I find hard to understand why she would do so, then hopefully she will improve her human relations - if she reads these comments. But from her fb page it seems like her 'rudeness' has not stopped people patronizing her, sha.

I have met Tara a number of times and initially came across as quite arrogant and proud and I wondered what was up with her. Another time I watched her at a seminar and in getting her point across she was damn arrogant, I however assumed that it was because she was on a panel with many 'Lagos Big Girls' or she was just having a bad day. Since I do not know her personally I cannot proffer an opinion on her - it will not matter anyhow.

Let us be careful how we label people after a chance encounter as we never really know....I guess people in the limelight should also learn to put their best foot forward when they interact with people who are not family and friends.

Banke, Banke, Banke! Change your attitude oh, these negative words of mouth isn't good for your biz. FYI, am not your friend!

OMG!!!!
How many of you people saying Banke is arrogant have actually utilised her service or dealt/spoken to her one on one???

I have used her service a number of times and so have other family members and friends (in my presence) and she has never been arrogant in any way, shape or form. In fact, from my experience, she is very very down to earth.

As usual, a lot of people here have commented based on hearsay, judging people from afar and also the typical bad belle issues! This is such a shame...smh!

@June 12, 2011 8:45 PM you better have a plan b just in case....

@June 12, 2011 8:58 PM they do not need to abi are you not aware that your customers can either make or break your business. Imagine so many negetive comments about her being rude are you saying that everyone is a liar?

I don't know the lady in question from adam and she better bring her head down because people seem to know her with an attitude problem. she seems to forget that there is competition and she might just as well loose her customers if she is not careful and then there would be no business.

From all these comments even if i wanted to use her services previously, i would think twice again otherwise....

Nigerians and their misplaced priorities.When people are dying daily from preventable causes these ones are opening their dirty smelling mouths assigning profession photographer and make up artiste.If dem like they should hire professional ass wiper sef....Fucked up leaders and followers

doll (retired blogger) said...

Banke really did a good job. Big ups to them

Does TAra still do makeup???i never see her credit anywhere, not even on Bella naija weddings?

@Indifferent Tara and Banke's fan. said.
"Stop the comparison" and there you go comparing and worst still in favor of one. Na wa!

Lucia said...

LIB commentators n readers!!!!!! wetin persin no go see and read for this blog. the most interesting part of this blog are the comments. fo pple like us, the commentators give us the detailed part of what we never knew. How i for take know say Banke dey arrogant and greedy? or tara does mediocre make-up, or Dbanj mama dey cry ontop imm head? una try. keep it coming

Mrs Incredible said...

Na wa o. You guys should give Banke a break. She's human just like everyone, we have our good and bad sides, no one is perfect.

That side, Banke watch yourself and work towards your atitude like some say- but remember you can't win it all, not everyone will like your ass. Life it is. You might have friends that can't tell you your wrongs to your face for fear of being cut off. Lol

Bad belles, it is do, give the chic a break.

THIS IS THE SAME WAY YOU GUYS DEEPENED THE ENMITY BETWEEN OMOTOLA AND GENEVIEVE O...

NA WA...

BANKE IS THE NEW PRESIDENTIAL MAKEUP ARTIST, WHAT DOES THAT HAVE TO DO WITH TARA? TARA HARDLY DOES MAKEUP AGAIN SO WHATS THE HULLABALO???(I DON'T KNOW THE MEANING O BT I HAD TO USE THE GRAMMAR AND I DONT FEEL LIKE CHECKING GOOGLE PLS) LOL

Honestly the way people comment on this blog is very shallow and filled with alot of hatred and bitterness. Y'all can keep hating and all but Banke will only keep rising. and those of you who say you are ger friends, why dont you tell her how you feel????? you are all HATERSSSS!!!!!!!! Enemies let her live her life Enemies let her live her ....kilode????

This is someone that gets flown to dubai, london, and exotic destinations for weddings because she is obviously the best makeup artist worth paying good money for right now. Which yeye Tara! Rrrabbishh!. Reigning or not Banke is makeup royalty. Dame has taken a step in the right direction. Instead of being happy with this stylish upgrade by our first lady (even Mrs Obama had help once she became 1st lady) you all are here pointing out how rude and arrogant Banke is. Wake up. Most professionals ARE Rude, obnoxious, arrogant, impatience and never liked. Yet they keep soaring! And get FAT! Hopefully Banke will lose weight. Lol. Thumbs up to BMPRO and her team!next on the agenda for Dame? Speech and Eloquence upgrade. :D

Leo said...

As much as I love to see the First Lady look good, so also I love to listen to her sound good. Goodluck Nigeria.

Allegra said...

As I do not live in 9ja, do not know or care for either ladies mentioned. One thing I must say though is the negativity amongst people. You cannot make comparisons as they would clearly, have different styles. She got the job so why are people hating. Ignore it or congratulate her but not put her down for it. She must be doing something right if most of you are willing to patronise her services despite your claims of her poor customer service.

lol @ foolishness ...

As long as public funds are not being used to pay for Banke's services, then more power to her.

What's this rivalry between Tara and Banke that you guys are talking about, talk less of some foolishness about her having a widow's peak and what not?

SMH

linda's big (table) fan!..lol! said...

Ah -ah!!!!
make una take am easy o!!!
nobody go carry make up go heaven (or hell sef), na 4 inside burial ground e go end! shikinah!!!
4 me, d best make up artist na God. full stop!!!

To the person who talked about Tara's wikipedia page, ANYONE can have a profile on wiki. go there and create one for yourself; it is free.

So dont make it a symbol thing to have a wiki page.

To the one who said Banke gets flown to exotic locations...and so??? She should go and mellow down jare or else she'll fizzle out with her world trips.

Just Passing By said...

Hahahahahhahahaaaaaaaa.... Tara's fan's were the first to comment, then Banke's 'oju-aye friends' and enemies, now Banke's fans are here.
On this blog, only Funke Fowler and Banke have been tagged arrogant. Hmmmm... I kinda believe they truly are!!!

na wa for human beings and their meanness!

does tara still make people up???never see her credits on any of the weddings these days

Pjobaby said...

Am also a big Tara fan but will never condemn other MUAs because of that.
Tara hardly does bridal makeup again. She is now more into training and mentoring upcoming MUAs; empowering women with her products; and makeup consulting for wives of some governors and women in high places.

Kemi said...

hmmmmm - awon aiye. While i'm not close to Banke, i know her personally as we went to sec school and uni together and she also did my make up at my wedding.Arrogant is not a word i'd ascribe to her - but that's my personal experience. I think her work is fabulous! Congrats to her jare.

banke is a christian not a moslem

shes a christian plus thats her hair not a dark mark on her forehead pls leave my cuzzo alone does trying to keep to oneself make someone arrogant o ga gan oo,

riri said...

lol..chai! anyways a big congrats t Banke..at least you will eat out of the national cake..
since our leaders have made a pact with the devil not to improve this country.
imagine the effontry with which they are stealing money and recycling the positions amongst themselves.
Bankole and Tara congrats o jare..for being able to penetrate and eat out of the national cake, i want to be like u when i grow up[and no i am not being sarcastic...]

After all said and done, i think kudos should be given to the little girl who worked for BM Pro, her name is Atinuke Akande she was actually the one who did the First Lady thisday photoshoot make up, we were all in Abuja, we saw everything

We need someone to make up our Dame's tongue,the blunder is too muchhh!!!!

Pls I heard Miss Atinuke Akande has her make up outfit, Crayola makeovers. Pls we need her tel contact, we saw the makeup she did for first lady during the inauguration, in 2011, we were quite impressed. Pls send her telephone pls