University of Lagos Produces 119 First Class Graduates in 09/10 session. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 January 2011

University of Lagos Produces 119 First Class Graduates in 09/10 session.

The University of Lagos has recorded its highest number of students graduating with first class honours in one year.

A total of 119 students bagged first class degrees in the 2009/2010 convocation ceremony, which began at the institution's multi purpose hall yesterday. This year's total number of first class graduands is higher than that of last year by 32. - 234next

Thumbs up Unilag!
Hopefully there will be jobs out there for them after this.
The biggest problem is not going to school and graduating. The biggest problem is finding a job after graduating.
There are hundreds of thousands of graduates sitting at home doing nothing.
Provide jobs for our people abeg...I'm talking to you Goodluck Jonathan.

12 comments:

That's quite a large number of first class students. Unilag should watch it. It can backfire into allegations of 'not stringent enough' standards.

No Linda, the biggest problem is not finding jobs- it is the quality of our graduates that is the problem! They are 'educated illiterates' as Funke Akindele said in the movie, 'Return of the White Hunters' lol

I do not wish to devalue the academic achievements of these impressive first class graduates but UNILAG is no longer the world class institution that it used to be

open minded said...

I don't understand what u guys mean by the number is too much.. If 40 people sit for an exam and all of the pass, shouldn't they be accorded the grades due to them? Is the joy of a teacher not that all the students do well??
I understand that the quality of education obtained is not tip-top but you should not take away the joys of the hard working students who studied and got what they deserved.

How come the majority are women? Men suck dicks, too, and should be awarded their "First Class Honours". Smh.

ugo said...

nawa... this is university-wide?? ... abi just one faculty ... or one department? how many hundreds of thousands of students are in unilag and 119 first-class students is the highest thus far? the nigerian educational system needs a good revamp and those lecturers need to get off those high horses of theirs and give students grades that they deserve.

well, congrats to the students for beating these crazy odds.

Lol. Unilag is no longer a world class institution. I can bet anything that when it comes to competing in a global environment, a person with a 2.0 GPA from State U is prolly more likely to get things done than a 1st class Unilag graduate...

9jalife said...

Lol is it the function of govt to provide work for people?

Since when?

Let govt provide an enabling environment and let the people sort themselves out.

Nigerian Film and TV Addict said...

i believe if u have a first class u will get a job. second class is what most ppl get, so u need to differentiate urself by getting a first class..good luck to those students.

Surprise said...

Congrats to them. I could remember in may days too I made a '1rd' class.

@anon Jan 20 2011 12.56pm.. the pics in the post is not necessarily the pics of the 1st class graduates.

Who are they deceiving? 119 1st class!!! it just shows the rubbish that is going on in that university. It looks as if it is now very easy to make a 1st class compared to years ago. I suggest they think again before they come out and tell the world of the numbers of 1st class students that they produced.

Congratulations!

best of lucks!