How do you know if your child is gay? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 January 2011

How do you know if your child is gay?

He's only fourteen, not necessarily at an age to show interest in the opposite sex, but his interest in boys of his age is alarming. The types of clothes and colours he picks is a source of concern. Also he does not like to watch sports. Now he tells me what colour make-up to wear when I'm going out. For Christmas he bought me a Sleek translucent powder. I hoped that if I ignored the signs, it would just go away. Then I saw him dancing to Keri Hilson's 'pretty girl rock' some days ago and nearly fainted
I'm freaking out, is my son gay?
Please share with your readers. Thanks

Dancing to pretty girl rock and buying powder? Ye, mogbe! Ma'am, he probably is. Me, I'm a woman and I don't even know which one is translucent powder...lol.

But all jokes aside, he's only 14, maybe he's still trying to figure out his sexual identity. He might still grow out of it..
Abi, what do you guys think?

30 comments:

kelly O. said...

his momma shuold buy a GAY-O-METER (meter used to measure gayness)

.... if u ask me, he is gay to the y!!!

skankmypeaceofmind said...

those of you who watch GLEE know the answer to that.

Prism of an Immigrant said...

I don't necessarily think his gay. Maybe he just likes make up

TRENDS by Bukchris said...

Well If he is not managed properly, am afraid he would turn out GAY!!! seriously have you not heard of "princess boy" a 5yr old who displays gay characters. In the case of princess boy his parents have accepted him and the mother has even published a book about him.

Nothing here indicates the child is gay. I dunno about make up, but a lot of the other things applied to me, heck, 'It's raining men' is one of my fav songs, and I've never as much as considered gay anything.

If the dude starts having crushes on men, then she should show concern...

To answer the question, he probably is if his interest in boys has become alarming. But i completely disagree with one of your reasons which is he's not into sports (is that suppose to be a criteria to be gay).

My Bf of 3years is not into sports et' all (like NO) but without giving TMI, i usually beg him to let me be behind close doors, if you know what i mean.....i call him THURAYA

Fiercely!

tayo said...

He could be metrosexual.... cause he is too young to understand his own sexual preference...
but dancing to Keri's song... then i think his momma should come up front and question him...

Amaka said...

No so e dey start o. My people say na from clap dance dey start! She should start asking him questions and trying to talk him into being more masculine and making him realise that certain things are meant for girls and he's not one. He's still young and there's hope for change. Good luck to her cos it's every mother's nightmare!

Pretty wings said...

Those signs should not be ignored at all. That's actually how most gay men started and their mothers overlooked those signs saying they were 'kids' and therefore didnt know much. My brethren, you'll be shocked at how much these dot com children know. Plus, she should watch his friends closely to know if he's being introduced to it by any of them. It's also time for her to double as a counsellor and talk him out of being girlie. She can also buy him masculine games like play station and co. Gradually and hopefully, he'll pick up and also she should add some prayers to it too!

dada said...

so what if he is gay tho....if he turns out to be there is nothing you can do. why not ask him about having a girlfriend... and from his answer you would know whether your son loves men or women... or maybe he is metro-sexual or bisexual.

ummm....he's probably gay....14 yr olds are more mature than u think,try remebering yourself at that age and Linda why have we not seen picture of the governor sleeping with that light dude on ur blog!

Lol @ beging feminine being equal to gay or being masculine being equal to straight...

Alexander the Great was as masculine as they come, conquering the whole known world by the age of 26, yet he was as gay as a firefly dancing in the night...

No one here has chosen to be straight, just like no one here has chosen to be gay.

Sexuality is just something that we have, plain and simple. Yes, some experiment with both sexes to figure themselves out, but even then, that's an experiment for finding out, not an experiment to determine anything.

Lol @ beging feminine being equal to gay or being masculine being equal to straight...

Alexander the Great was as masculine as they come, conquering the whole known world by the age of 26, yet he was as gay as a firefly dancing in the night...

No one here has chosen to be straight, just like no one here has chosen to be gay.

Sexuality is just something that we have, plain and simple. Yes, some experiment with both sexes to figure themselves out, but even then, that's an experiment for finding out, not an experiment to determine anything.

ccLUV said...

I REBUKE IT IN THE NAME OF JESUS!

linda...The boy is gay...cos that is how it started with me also...But i thank God today...The only thing the mother could do is to prevent him from practicing Homosexual...There is Diff btw gay and homosexual...Any body can be gay but people praticing Homo are MSM Men Having sex with Men...Those in Prison have sex with themselves and they are not gays...Most of our footballer,Actors,Musicians,Senators etc...do this kind of a thing not because they are gay...they are MSM thanks...

zebenzki said...

Lord have mercy. most comments here are seriously disturbing. so what if the boy knows make up? big deal. doesn't mean he is this or that. ok so what if he does grow up and prefer men, there aint nothing you can do. no matter how hard u try or how many nights u spend in church praying, it is what it is. besides look at the whole scenario. isnt his dad supposed to talk to him about sutff like this? this over arching mothers influence everyone is suggesting wont help matters. leave the boy be. he is 14 for Gods sake. if he starts hanging out with too many girls now wahala. please jo. hope for the best and let the boy be himself.

zebenzki said...

btw, the husband to the prime minister of australia is a hairdresser by profession. look here he is today. what if his momma had cried out gay when he started playing with hair at 14... what then?

Hmmm!..i dunno...but...the signs???

yeah i dont think these signs point to anything, leave this child to express himself o because even though the song is called pretty girl rocky its catchy and its just what he likes. anyway there is no universal book of rules that determines ones sexuality.

just because he is doing all that does not make him gay, he is just in touch with his feminine side. you don't have to label him gay for chrissake. he may be the dimeji alara or bayo haastrup of 2morrow. gi

just because he is doing all that does not make him gay, he is just in touch with his feminine side. you don't have to label him gay for chrissake. he may be the dimeji alara or bayo haastrup of 2morrow.cut the boy some slack

make dem begin flog am from now. eh go straight pass ruler by force. gay ko gay ni. most of these gay talk nah people wey don spoil or dem no flog well well wen dem small.

think about it though...if the boy knws makeup it could also mean he likes girls cause girls apply makeup. he probably has a fascination with women wearin makeup.. but on the otherhand, if hes gay wat can u do...its not something he pushed himself to and like somebody said the mother should try and ask d lil boy about getting a girlfriend and watever answer he provides.. there u have it!...

NoLimit said...

He is not gay...he is only metrosexual at such a young age ie...he is in touch with his feminine side...
Let's not label him please.

Mazi Nwonwu said...

See what too much E channel have done to Nigerians? Reality check needed. This Lagos aint California jor.

omojesu said...

boy needs a lot of attention,n prayers too...

I guess i will make my own My son or daughter is gay lets do delivarance or shoot him!!!!!

Amaka said...

Metrosexual my black ass! People, that child is on the gay-train and if not de-railed will end up at Gay-ville! I beg, both parents should counsel him period. Most hairdressers and guys who are too into girlie stuff are gay. Look at Jay Manuel for example and take a cue. Act now and fast! Good luck!

Chilling said...

Prayers, fasting and deliverance!