Funke Akindele’s Omo Ghetto. Is it a good movie? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 January 2011

Funke Akindele’s Omo Ghetto. Is it a good movie?

The movie was produced by Funke Akindele and was released in Oct 2010. Since its release, the movie has been getting mixed reviews. Some people think it’s the best movie since Jenifa...many others don't like it.
Have you seen the movie? What would you rate it?

25 comments:

it is a very good movie.kudos to funke akindele.shes tryin to potray life in d ghetto and also to make us understand dat sometin gud can still come out from ghetto life.looking forward to part 2.
i lof funke akindele.she does good movies

muero_ebony said...

The movie bam no be small, i watched it like three times... i love it...the ghetto girls all have their own swaggs especially, NIkky, Lefty and busty

Ms. J said...

love funke, but omo ghetto was a total waste of time, very unrealistic!

Started off well, had a great premise, but somewhere around the middle when it was revealed that

*spoiler alert don't read past here if u don't want to know parts of the plot*

that the girls were twins who were seperated @ birth, when one was sold and the other was kept, the movie went from fun and entertaining to a drag/chore.

Oga Bello played his role perfectly, so did Funke Akindele when she was playing the part of the ghetto twin. Beyond that, two thumbs down...

Ayorinde..
stop shebee...o dun sheleshe, ti nikki ba n kii iya yin lon ki oo." my ppl sum film are not meant 4 u to gain sum lessons such like sunday dagboro etc....omo ghetto is to entertain us and it did entertain."Fileee ko ma lo gan paa o

totally agree with ms.j- this movie was a waste of time! i was looking forward to watching it and when i did i was disappointed.

VERY ENTERTAINING AND MEANINGFUL.............WATCHED IT TWICE WILL WATCH IT AGAIN...........................KIKE

the movie was nothing to write home about and a total waste of time. though i lik funke's works, but omo ghetto wasnt it at all

Iya2 said...

I enjoyed it.
I thought the ghetto scenes were very well done.

As they say ,one man s meat,another man s poison. I love the movie,i ve seen it twice (borrowed) but now i think i need a copy 4 myself,it s called entertainment baby, not all movies r meant to teach us something,and who says we did nt learn anything?wot bout the anger problem dt got her into trouble? Funke rocks!!!!!!! Titi

chinwe said...

it looks razz with all those overweight women on the cover. it's probably funny but razz stopped being cool in 2009 so i wont be watching

trashy movie!!!

han,han nigerians MJ eno go better for U and other way dey say nthe movie no desy interesting...eyin were

The movie was good, New slangs were learnt, Stop Shebe, NI bO, oMO MI, jOR OOO, DAPADA,IYALAYA EEEE LOL,
aNYWAYS, GOOD MOVIE TO WATCH AND ALSO WATCH ONOME AGANGA
AND THEN WATCH OUT FOR JELILI

Ms. J said...

@ anon 11:09 PM..
watch onome aganga? i will rather watch omo ghetto again!

I have watched it thrice. I plan to watch it again. It was an awesome movie and Funke Akindele and all the girls did a SOLID job.

For those who think its unrealistic, if you ever to go Costain bustop, check underneath the bridge and tell me if you still think its unrealistic.

TKB's thoughts said...

A nice movie, the cast and the acting was good, the only problem I had with the story line is that of the twins twist. We've seen enuf of stories round the issue of twins,but the concept was nice-living in the ghetto does not mean being irresponsible, I think if the part 2 is well crafted, it could still be a fantastic one like Jenifa, Aminwo is another fantastic film by Funke Akindele (she no pay me for publicity o)

dat 1 okrika babe said...

its very razz but im waiting patiently for part2 :)

@ms j, I also liked onome aganga thats why i suggested peeps to watch it, so if you dont like ity others might. My 2cents

The movie was the bum it was really interesting except for the fetish areas. I am not sure why there must always be fetish things in yourba movies which is now getting into the english nigerian movies as well.

The anonym who mentioned the movie called sunday dagboro kudos to you as that was a very funny film i would recommend you guys should watch it o boy it is just as funny as omo ghetto.

I 'm from the ghetto, Isaleko, and I'm nothing like those folks...

TRENDS by Bukchris said...

It's a very rubbish movie... waste of time and money. http://bukchris.blogspot.com/2010/12/omo-getto-another-rubbish-movie.html

Nope! i have not watched it...would get it this weekend.

The movie was wow! I loved every part of it especially d ghetto part. Kudos to Funke Akindele. For those of you who have commented negatively about the movie, just walk down d road and hug transformer.

Omo dis film is an award winner........its so wonderful and on point......funke is the bomb........love u funke....anybody wey talk say the film no make sence****make dem go wear pampers for lion*