Hepatitis B is a silent killer. Go check yourself. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 5 December 2010

Hepatitis B is a silent killer. Go check yourself.

Hepatitis B is a silent killer! It's killed quite a number of people this year. And the scary part is it has no early symptoms until its full stage. Then the liver is inflamed and the condition is almost untreatable. It can be transferred through sebacious glands like spit, sweat, sharing cutlery and cups.The immunisation is available at hospitals in 3 doses-one each month. 1st one should test to find out if you have it so that treatment will begin but if you don't, you'll start the immunisation.

Be aware!

9 comments:

Lollie said...

I love your blog more and more.

Thanks for providing awareness! Great Job.

Glands like spit? What's that? Saliva? Hmmmmmm, I'm thinking of french kissing!

skankmypeaceofmind said...

Have already taken two the final one would be in march

I am really happy to see this post. i am a doctor, and i feel a lot of people havent been well informed about how dangerous hepatitis B is. I am glad Linda is doing this.

To add to what she said, it is also transferred by SEX, blood, and needles!

Thanks for this awareness, but is it curable? Most times Nigerians Doctors do not take it serious when a patient tested positive. I will like the Doctor that commented last to tell us how and where it can be treated and does the people living with it has to do away with some food? Many that are yet to be vaccinated are living with it, because if it can be transmitted through spit, sweat etc then the rate of transmission is high.

posheva@mtnnigeria.blackberry.com said...

Thumbs up gurl!

Domkatbali said...

Fanks..but wich kin tin be dis sef..man no fit enjoy full lenght again nowadays..sickness..wahala...fear..fear..everywhere..God help man pikin!!

De truth be say Hep-B dey real oooo...e no dey sho 4 faze..abeg i no mean''faze'' Kolomental..

Abeg i wan know if peson fit wear kondom 4 tongue kiss jare..?

Jolof Hearts said...

Hi Linda, Kind of happy you brought this up, i am a survival of Acute Hep B, i bled from my mouth and my anus, i could tell from the doctors and nurses faces that they had given up hope, but here i am today, alive and just a carrier, i make sure i do an LFT (Liver Function Test) i drink loads of glucose and water and most importantly tests doesnt show the virus any more. Its deadlier than HIV as you can pick up even at restaurants either by using cups or cutleries not properlu washed, kissing also. You may say you are having protected sex but we all forget that we sweat and body fluids mix in the process of 'sex' making that could also be responsible. A few months before i was diagnosed a friend who works at a hospital advised i take the vaccination and i blatantly refused saying i would never get it. I did eventually and i'm happy to be alive.

Shashi said...

Nice information,more in http://ehealthcom.blogspot.com/2010/12/hepatitis.html