Two Naija 'big boys' arrested for $10million fraud in Canada, two others declared wanted. They used people's money to live lavish lifestyles | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 May 2017

Two Naija 'big boys' arrested for $10million fraud in Canada, two others declared wanted. They used people's money to live lavish lifestyles

Two Nigerians in Canada have been arrested by the Canadian police while two others were declared wanted for identity theft and fraud amounting to over $10 million. Police claim the four suspects used the funds they got from identity theft to fund a lavish lifestyle that included $10,000 crocodile skin shoes and $150,000 watches.
Canadian authorities made this known in a statement released on Tuesday. The identities of the suspects were disclosed to be: Adedayo Ogundana, 45, also known as Oladipupo Ogund; Adekunle Johnson Omitiran, 37; Duro Akintola, 44, of Toronto, who is also known as Michie Noah; and Emmanuel Salako, 47, who is also known as Gee Salaq.

Toronto police arrested Ogundana and Omitiran during an investigation which began in 2016. They executed a search on April 24 at a Yorkville condominium believed to be under the control of Adekunle, there they found evidence. Items seized during the investigation include 37 stolen credit cards, hundreds of pieces of presumably stolen mail, and a number of notebooks containing the personal information of at least 5,000 GTA residents. Police also found $39,000 in cash, $310,000 worth of watches and about $390,000 worth of clothing, jewelry, accessories and liquor.

A warrant was later issued for Akintola and Salako. Salako has also been indicted by the United States Postal Inspection Service in Chicago and is wanted there. Ogundana was arrested on December 13, 2016, and has been charged with two counts of fraud of over $5,000; 10 counts of fraud under $5,000; possession of property obtained by crime over $5,000; and possession of proceeds of crime. Omitiran surrendered to police on April 27. He is charged with fraud of over $5,000; four counts of fraud under $5,000; two counts of identity theft; trafficking identity information; possession of credit cards obtained by crime; possession of proceeds of crime; and failure to comply with probation.

Ogundana will appear in court on Thursday while Omitiran will appear in court on Friday. Police believe that Omitiran had ties to people with “legitimate” access to identity information who sold information to him. They are trying to track down those people.

“Thousands of individuals across the GTA have had their information compromised,” said Det. Const. Mike Kelly.

27 comments:

They should be jailed till eternity. They stole my daughter's hard earned money. Apart from that they keep smearing Nigeria's image.

What's Hushpuppy even doing for a living?

This is just what hushpuppi does for a livin. Credit card scam, they will use innocent people's credit card to shop for expensive things n later sell them off like what hush does. Hand go meet hushpuppy too very soon.

oga shut up! like say nor be man give ur daughter money. fucking puta!

End of the road for them....

Den go leave them ,no be Canada we dey together..Just go hire qualify n brainy Jewish lawyer.Pay them good money out of that money,den go leave them sharperly.No be there we dey!!

Thts Yoruba for you

Dupsy B said...

Yes they should be jailed. Be tarnishing our image. The authority over there will soon put a stiff entry visa for Nigeria. Nonsense

Na wao! Yoruba and crime.

am also cursing and cursing those thieves that will dupe ppl and.lavish the money either in the club or for occasions.nemesis must meet them. the tears of those they dupe must always find them.

You must be mad for saying "thats Yoruba for you" idiot , stupid lunatic . is you tribe clean of crime ? Idiot

N what are their names again?

Segun Adegoke said...

Some Nigerians can just mess up sha!
Invest in Real Estate by buying a furnished three bedroom Bungalow at Magboro for #8.5m or a four year payment plan. Courtesy of Cassavilla Homes. Contact Segun on 08052467442 for details.

Even E-money sef

Na wa o! So Kunle Omitiran (Kunle Chrome by Facebook name) has been a fraudstar? Wonder shall never seize... He has been building different houses at alagbado and forming biggest boy in the area whenever in Nigeria... wears what even Dbanj may not afford.... one day for the owner re oooo. Too sad!!!

I meant Abule egba.... not alagbado sorry!

Thank God is not only igbo that likes money. Fire burn anyone that call igbo people here

clear road for those men...hardwork payed them off....

Agbomen said...

Fake ass niggas!😂😂. Read this story on some other platform, and what really got me, was how much one these criminal spent on a bottle of perfume. You steal pples monis, to spend on frivolities!! Hmm, Vanity upon vanity, all is vanity and a chasing after the wind. Says the Preacher.

If it were not to be for the situation our politicians have put this country into most of this crimes Nigerians comit abroad wouldn't have been happening. Majority of our youths are lavishing abroad and doing all sorts of things to make ends meet.

Don't mind them, Omitiran is innocent

And so what ? Aye nseru e

I wish there was a media awareness like this in the past. The likes of Tinubu,Mr Buruji, Ibori,Obanikoro and many others who have been criminals outside the country won't get a chance to power. Thieves will always be thieves.

If I hear Yoruba and Crime..May Thunder fire you. We all know igbos got no rival when it comes to crime.

Lmao... Dem don leave dem teytey sef.