If Pres Buhari must resign, the interest of his associates that labored to bring him to power must be accomodated- Doyin Okupe | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 5 May 2017

If Pres Buhari must resign, the interest of his associates that labored to bring him to power must be accomodated- Doyin Okupe

In a piece titled "Buhari's Health : Matters Arising" which he shared on his Facebook page, former spokesperson to ex-president Goodluck Jonathan, Doyin Okupe, says that if president Buhari must leave office before the end of his tenure due to his illhealth, then the interest of his political associates who worked tirelessly to bring him into office must be accomodated.

Okupe in his piece advised that the presidential candidates for the 2019 presidential election should come from the North West or the North.

According to Okupe, since 1999 when Nigeria became a democratic government, Southerners have ruled the country for 14 years while Northerners have ruled for only 4 years.

Read his piece below...

I am not a supporter of President Buhari and perhaps never will be one. However in spite of his present situation I believe he meant well for the Nation and perhaps may have achieved more if things were different.

I feel embarrassed when I read what some Nigerians write and say about the sick President. Some outrightly deride him, wish him dead as if they themselves are not human.

Sickness and ill Health many times are not things you can blame individuals for and certainly not deride them about. Both young and old do fall ill and death certainly is not exclusively restricted to the old, or young, or rich, poor or powerful.

Presidents are humans with feelings. They have wives, they are also people's fathers, uncles and relatives. That is why it is gross immorality to wish Public figures and leaders dead publicly.

Asking Buhari to resign may be the ideal but it is neither simple nor straight forward, in a country as complex and convoluted politically as Nigeria.

Since 1999, under our new democratic dispensation and in a space of about 18years the South has been President for approximately
14years and the North only 4years.

This calls for sensitive and careful navigation and negotiation to uphold equity, justice and fairness, if our country must maintain political stability, without which our Nation can hardly make progress.

If President Buhari must exit his associates and allies who have laboured with him to get him to the pinnacle of his career need to be taking into very serious considerations and their Interests which most likely will be based on a shared vision with the ailing President need to be accommodated for the remaining period of his scheduled 4year term.

In 2019, the candidates for the presidency should come from the same zone, that is NorthWest or any other zone in the entire North if that is what is agreeable to the northern geopolitical zones.

This type of political concession is not all together new to our politics. In 1998, because of the perceived injustice to the people of the southwest, the Political class resolved through an unprecedented concessionary arrangement to allow only the southwest to present presidential candidates so that " head and tail" the southwest will produce the President. It was not constitutional but it was also not legislated. It was politically right and expedient and it brought the country together.

We must desist from wrongfully using death and unforeseen happenstance to cheat ourselves politically or administratively.
There are too many things foundationally wrong with our country, it's politics and administration.
Only honesty, sincerity of purpose,genuine love for one another, fairness and equity can make us get to the promised land together and peacefully.

26 comments:

He should take care of his health, Dat's my own...a dead person cannot rule d country, get well soon Mr president

baba said...

Godtakeover

Those wishing death for the President will certainly die before him. Buhari will certainly finish his tenure for the good of Nigeria whether his foes like it or not

Doyin Okupe you are mad and very myopic to say the north have only ruled for 4 years in Nigeria, it is comments like this can cause revolution in Nigeria. What happened before 1999, only the north ruled whether you call it military or democratic government. What about Igbos that have not even ruled for a single day, are they not part of Nigeria? You are advising that 2019 presidential candidate should come from north or northwest. its wrong and means you know nothing about democracy. It is the masses that will decide who they want as their leader by their votes whether Hausa, Igbo or Yoruba. You cannot impose a candidate on Nigerians and that is the reason why we as a country have not moved forward till date because of this zoning nonsense.

Banjo said...

as long as osibanjo is doing good, there is no need for buhari to stress himself. buhari is doing a good job with corruption fight.
click here for penis enlargement

Okupe have started receiving sense.

Daily diet tv said...

Stupid write up

hrm paul said...

Doyin okupe should shut up was he not the one that was insulting buhari bfor d election. Its not his business how buhari settles his loyal members dat helped him.Imagine him saying the south has ruled more than the north Is he forgetting d military rule abi all no b rule

Annoying write up...north has ruled for four years since 1999.did Nigeria gain independence in 1999? Or the military heads didn't gain from Nigerian resources.abi shagari na military too?

Doyin Okupe is a calamitous idiot and an insensitive blockhead for this. Oh, so this is your way of concurring that political power is and should always be about personal interests, shey? How dare you even suggest that power should return to the north in 2019? Talking about the interests of those who laboured to bring him to power, are you even understanding how idiotic you sound right now? This is how you embolden bigots from the north to carry on as though power truly belongs to them. You say since the advent of democracy the south has ruled for 18 years, bla-bla-shove-it-up-ur-ass, pre-democracy nko? You need to find a hole to crawl into and shut that reeking orifice in your face.

Very useless contribution by Doyin Okupe. Anyway I wasn't expecting much from him.

DANNY said...

Let him stay on. Pata pata, he will suddenly die on seat. Nigeria will move on plus forget him. Nonsense and ingredients.

The man should just resign and take a rest with his family, afteral to lead Nigeria no be by force... Even u that is talking have u bother to ask ur self if the south east have been treated fairly when talking about fairness... My dear it's left for Nigerians to chose who becomes their leader not favouring any zone that might have selected someone based on selfish interest. Nigeria remain one and not divided unless u think otherwise.... Less I forget, they should better stop this game of I met with Mr president inside his office/room and we discuss and he is impressed with what we are doing..... Wait oo why dem no dey show us him face again?.. And why him no dey fit attend federal executive meetings again?.. Na una go tire.. We just dey watch.. Leaders indeed.

I don't really comment but this man is so stupid and very inconsistent. Is it the northerners birth right to always be the president? So the ibos that haven't ruled at all nko. Assuming licker

Arrant nonsense!

Okupe is putting false information out there. Nigeria has been independent since 1960. Since then the North has been in power-Murtala Mohammed, Shagari, Buhari twice, IBB, Abacha, Abdulsalami, Yaradua etc. The only 2 presidents from the South are Obasanjo twice and Jonathan.
So why should the North retain the presidency?

AGB said...

So Doyin can be humble like this?

Health first Mr president

ANA AKOYERI

There should not even be an election.

Buhari should just hand over to El Rufai or his brother Magu.

You people have concluded and established that if the North is not in the presidency, there won't be peace in the land.

But,ask yourself, is there peace now that they are in the presidency? No! Either way, the nation is in dire need of heavenly intervention.

You want to be fair to Buhari and the North, but ask yourself, is Buhari fair? He has filled all the important positions in the land with Northerners. He really does not care about other tribes. But you people want to be fair to an unfair man.

Look at DSS recruitment for instance, his brothers have taken over 50 percent of the positions. And you talk of fairness? It makes me laugh!

Thanks for your advice. However I am of the opinion that only qualified candidates should attain political leadership of the country not ethnic or religious inclination. We are in this mess because of the wrong choices of the past.

sholetoga said...

What's Doyin Okupe own in Buhari and APC matter......Mr amebo, tell us if you have joined their party......anumanu somebody

Segun Adegoke said...

My concern and every true Nigerian should be for the well being of our President. Forget deceivers like Okupe who has no political bearing. Invest in Real Estate by buying a plot of land at Agbowa-ikorodu for 700k,courtesy of Pertinence limited. Contact Segun on 08052467442 for details.

The military headed by the Northern dictators ruled Nigeria from 1964 to 1999....even Obasanjo's military rule is to benefit of the Northern military heirechy...this are the crucial moments Nigeria was damaged..the only way forward is restructuring. .. let us get out of the old Bullshits

Okupe wasnt talking any way...he was just vomiting nonsense ...and my own is#Any one that wish my President death,it is their President that will die!!