Joke Silva airs her opinion on the increasing rate of Nigerian celebrity divorce | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 May 2017

Joke Silva airs her opinion on the increasing rate of Nigerian celebrity divorce

Veteran actress, Joke Silva, has voiced her opinion on the increasing rate of celebrity divorces in recent times and gave insight as to why that is so. The actress, who has been married to her actor husband for over three decades, revealed that divorce is not more prevalent among celebrities than it is with couples in other professions who are not so popular.

According to her, celebrities seem to be more hit by divorce only because they are in the public eye therefore whatever happens to them is made public. Read what she wrote after the cut...

“It is because the younger generation are very popular because of social media, and so, whatever happens to them becomes news; forgetting that there are as many divorces, there as many separations in other professions such as medical, financial, legal among others. Name any profession; there are so many separations in those as well,” she told New Telegraph.

The mother-of-two fingered social media as the major challenge facing celebrity marriages and advised celebrities to learn how to manage what they put out for others to see, that way they can still keep the important parts of their lives private and secure.

“There are a lot of challenges that are being faced by artistes of this particular generation; and one of those challenges is the social media, which almost doesn’t allow you your life. People of my age, when we were getting all the attention, and we were feeling like we were the best thing, things were different. You need all the attention anyway. For your work to sell, you need that popularity. It goes with the job, so you need that popularity. But after a while, you also get to learn that it can be a double edge sword. So, it is about managing it, appreciating the audience for appreciating your work, but also giving yourself that limit to what aspect of you they can experience.

“In this age of reality shows where nothing seems to be off limit, the new skill that the entertainer has to learn is how much do you give your audience? More so, because you don’t want to be false; like used to happen in the early years of Hollywood where they would create this incredible image, and then it was almost impossible for the performer to live under that image; and a lot of them used to use all kinds of medications just to fit a particular image that was being built around them. Now, we are in the age of social media, so it is learning how to cope with social media, to do the work that social media does, which is to get your work out there, to get your face out there. But then limit that too so that you do have a life; so that you can have some modicum of emotional privacy. Those are the challenges that I know that the younger generation face.''

29 comments:

Ade said...

she is right in a way, the divorce rate among celebrities is not really that high. it is just because of their life is in the public eye.
click here for penis enlargement

OK...

Actresses pussy too dey hot. Even 3 dicks are not enough for them, marry an actress at your own risk.

Just as if she was in my mind, i said same thing when i saw that mercy Johnson message to her husband earlier. And they won't still stop it and is more or less like a show off to them.

Oghenetega said...

Well said Mama..

Ma..Pls tell dem O they are copying oyinbo to marry us...when Hollywood mess nollywood wants to shit it out...All our females copy nollywood & unknown to them,nollywood copies Hollywood..Pls tell dem...

Daily diet tv said...

Can I hug you ma'am? Brilliantly pieced!

hrm paul said...

I disagree with madam she is just rambling she did not make any concret point there are 3 reasons y celebrity are hit by divorce 1 they lead a fake life esp d ladies they want to meet up and this will affect them wen dey get married if d guy can not provide dey go out and cheat which leads to point 2 cheating both male and female cheat this leads to divorce 3 they are not really prepared for marriage 4 their attitude does not elevate to that of a married man or woman lastly most of these ladies won't understand and realize d silent truth the man is d head ur not d head if u see dem argue with their husbands they raise their voice and act up the man gets fed up this is one reason we have domestic violence a man being a beast in nature will be pushed to re act it takes a man dat is self restrained to not to hit the woman.some of this girls in nollywood juist get married for marriage sake dey are not ready mentallu emotional characterwise wen a woman gets married there are some certain characters and attributes she has to let go.but for nollywood girls they are not ready dey want to remain married and keep their dirty character some just don't want to be submissive if u see some ladies act up u will think dey are not properly trained by their parents some of dem are not just marriage materials wen a girl leads a fake life d guys love it but d day u marry dump dat life be real

Go straight to the point cos I don't understand anytin she said in all dis lengthy post...

cheesy said...

Poor Social Media (SM) to take the blame again for marriage woes
If all alleged was true....
Was it SM that beat up Tonto Dikeh?
Was it SM that beat up Lilian Esoro?
Was it SM that gave Mercy Aigbe her scars and burns
Was it SM that cheated on Toke and had a child with another woman?
Abi SM made Teebillz disrespect his wife and go to edible catering?
Maybe the men are the problem, or maybe there are other issues...dont you think?

You could say there is a corrlelation between female celebrities on SM and failed marriages
You could say their IG pages does not reflect the truuth. But to say SM is at fault is really not logically correct. Why not let us attack the real culprit.. Domestic Violence (DM) since it seems to be the recurring pattern here?

She and her husband Olu Jacobs were not in good terms at some point in there marriage but am glad they worked it out at last..

Less is more. Simple !

nne d thn tire us let everyone kukuma not marry

Well said!

Jesusiscomingsoon. Beware!

Guy u got it ryt.I was going to say dat.this is peculiar to women.little popularity gets dem off d hook.celebrity lifestyle makes dem feel dey are at it.wen a woman starts feelih she do s very important and very beautiful daten can't reject her,she is already heading for doom.WOMEN learn to b submissive to ur husband no matter how poor he is.

If u have brain in ur head u wld knw dat marriage is not one without fight.wen u fight,u settle and move on marriage is not a bed of roses.dey fight to settle,not to fight to separate.

Jeremy said...

it is because celebrities lives are in the limelight that is why we think they divorce more that regular couples.
click here for penis enlargement

sholetoga said...

Hmmmm......its not easy to stay married but those that have no option other than divorce didn't pray for it......

Segun Adegoke said...

Marriage is a practical and divine arrangement,it is not for immature adults that are not ready to pay the price. You can invest in Real Estate by buying a plot of land with C of O at ibeju-lekki for #3m. Courtesy of Pertinence Ltd. Contact Segun on 08052467442 for details.

Chi chi said...

You really made some very good points. However, I still think that good Homs training also reflects how we talk about other people. Saying that Madam Joke was rambling is not acceptable. If you met her face to face you won't say that to her cos she is not just humble. She is a real mum

Chi chi said...

I have been in it for 19 years. Don't be in a hurry to comment, abuse or judge. Enter first

Chi chi said...

I have been in it for 19 years. Don't be in a hurry to comment, abuse or judge. Enter first

Crush said...

She made a few points,but she hasn't addressed the root cause of celebrity marriage and incessant breakups.most celebrities are devoid of any morals and they engage in drugs and other illicit things.nollywood is filled with pimps and prostitutes posing as actors and actresses.most of them are "money for hand back for ground".

Crush said...

Most marry for the wrong reason.love of money is the root of all evil.

Did Lilian tell you that Ubi beat her up? Keep writing rubbish, bla, bla, bla all the time. Their problem is just social media. They're living for social media and that makes them do anything to keep up with the Jones. And social media attracts witches and wizards to their marriages. Guide what you have jealously, else, angry jealous single girls will show you pepper. If you like, come to social media every day and be updating us on what goes on in your home, then don't complain when witches attack.

Bro God bless you for speaking the truth which most of all these followers pretend not to see! Fake lifes after they will start seeking for sympathy on SM and act the victim. I pity for any man who goes after these class of celebrities because of there beauty and fame!!

Marriage is not for showing off. It's hard work and commitment. But marriage is so sweet.

God will bless you and your generation for this. You said it all!