Days after Banky W's engagement, Niyola shares a very interesting piece on marriage | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 5 May 2017

Days after Banky W's engagement, Niyola shares a very interesting piece on marriage

For a long time, the media, the industry and even fans have constantly paired Banky W with his female singer, Niyola. However, news of his engagement to actress, Adesua Etomi broke the internet a few days back and rumors of relationship with Niyola went with the wind. Niyola has now shared a very interesting and insightful quote on marriage on her Instagram page that partly reads, 'I feel like younger Nigerian women are actually less progressive than even my mother's generation. It's not a question of blaming them, I think it's a product of the society we live in and the messages they are getting. And so people who are 23 are just obsessed with marriage as the end-all and be-all'. Read the full post after the cut...

37 comments:

Her opinion.. not my business!

Niyola... To my own opinion is the most naturally beautiful lady in the nigeria Music Industry. She's just always herself.

Nnamdi said...

in a way she is right, but the message is coming at a wrong time that her boss is getting married.
click here for penis enlargement

pokadot said...

True.... Obsessed with her voice 😍😍😘

BANKY 'S FORMER SIDE CHICK... YIMU SAVE US YOUR SERMON. SHE IS SO UNPRETTY...WITH HER STRONG MANISH FACE.. DOES SHE STILL SING...

That's story

She is ugly look at her face ... Biko u nor get eyes beautiful kor... abeg always speak d truth MBOK

Hmm.
Envy things.
Its aiit tho.
We 'undatand' de whole thing.

She is jealous and badly hurt but it would be better for her to shut up for good. Go and find your bone! Sad but that is the truth! Most Nigerian men are players anyway therefore girls should be smart too in affairs in order not to be used and dumped like a sack of rotten potatoes. Niyola will soon find her crown prince! Wait and see.

ilovejesus said...

Everybody has become a marriage counselor. I hope banky will be faithful to d wife, dis one wey everybody dey advice upandan. All the best to them

Tank u nnamdi, we share d same view.adesua is 29 for heaven sake. Dis her quote doesn't apply to all nigrian ladies .why post dis quote now, all i see is jealousy and envy

yetty k said...

Honestly i actually tot they were dating cos banky even said wen he relocated to naija, the 1st person he liked was niyola but she was with someone else at the time.i actually wanted them to be together cos i rily like niyola but it s too late.banky is with someone else.niyola pls get over it if you truly have feelings for banky.all will be well

She's just jealous.

Niyola banky can't marry you when you keep sleeping around. You were busy sleeping with my friends husband olosho like you

Agbomen said...

I agree totally, as much as she hit d nail on the head, comin at such a time, just seem like the green eyed monster.

Wrong timing

hrm paul said...

This girl is painned very painned was she not dating free style of tribes men way back for close to 4 years d guy use am finish dump am.see her rubbish talk throwing shade at banky

shebido said...

That quote was not right, our mothers got married in their teens, even before they were 20.

Adesua isn't 29, she celebrated her 30th birthday last year and she said it herself that she clocked d big 30 during d celebration last year, which only means she is 31years old. Naija ppl just stay and assumes someone's age. If she was looking older now dey would have claimed she is 37.

Adesua is 31, she was born in 1986. She's like a kid sister to me.

I remember back in 2005/2006 wen I met Niyola, I never knew she would be a singer, I for don add am to my collections. her friend said I shld bring 50k den, dat she would organise niyola wit no long tin and I had d moni oh, our Yahoo moni was very hot den, but I refused i was pricing 30k and she no gree. Banky is wise he can't marry Niyola, she is not different from the rest.

H said...

Everyone wants total happiness and they get married searching for that,there's nothing "less progressive" in that

Banky, every woman's dream...the only man DAT proves theris a God..okay, una never see anything... Niyola take hrt, karma is a bitch

Athena said...

Must you people always read meanings to things? Is Adesua 23? Which one come be jealousy for inside? She is referring to the whole general frenzy about marriage. A 22 year old girl finishes service the next thing people starts singing in her ears is marriage. When the girl hasn't even discovered herself yet or know what she wants in life o. So my dear somethings try to read and understand a post before judging. The whole world doesn't revolve around Banky and Susu.

@ Shebido talk about your own mother, my mum married at 29 because she had to work to send herself through grade 2 and university and she is in her 70s now. So please na your own mama marry before 20

Nnenne George it look you are jobless

she sounds like a scorned Ex.

Please can someone with big brain explain to me what she is actually trying to point out, cox me no too understand

Madam Nnenne do u sleep here u are always here with the negativity of ur heart receive peace u are too bitter...

NNE KEEP CALM, YOUR OWN MAN GO SHOW

Niyola look like a transgender abeg

But her Wikipedia says 1988. Which one should we believe???

It's not a curse to marry before 20. Not everyone's mom went to school, your mom is a strong woman though... don't take it so personal inugo?

Hmmmmm

Dede said...

You too are not different from the rest. A man bargaining for olosho is also an olosho. Simple.

Coming at the right time or not, what she said is so true. It is women who curse women, hound them for marriage like they gave them suitors and they turned them down. It is easy to see this. Every time a successful woman who is in her 30s (including Linda) and unmarried is in the news, check the threads on social media. 80% of the people with the 'Go and marry' 'U are old' 'Ashewo' comments are women. Even if the said woman has achieved great success. The men will be way more sympathetic and even full of praises for the woman. Not women. Only a small fraction will acknowledge her success. Niyola may have suffered other women asking her Jamb questions since the engagement dropped. Marriage is such a beautiful thing. But we women need to know that we all lead different lives. An 'old' unmarried woman may not have met her 'bone'. Should she marry just anyone so the brood can be happy? It is already happening though. And yes,it is worse now. Wayyy worse. Women marry not to be scorned these days. And when they do, they start to degrade those that haven't. It is now the norm. Happens in churches now too. A look at Niyola's comments will show you that a lot of women even married ones understand that women are their own worst enemies. So you can say she is pained which she may be cos we don't know the dynamics of the relationship she had with Banky once upon a time but she spoke the truth. The sad truth.