Yesterday, in a hospital in the outskirt of Lagos, a wonderful DPA doctor alerted us in the following message:
"A patient of mine just came with bruises all over her body. Beaten by her husband. ...I will send the pictures. She acousted him after she saw his phone ringing and the caller was stored as "wife" she wondered who might be his wife different from him.
She picked the call and informed the caller she is the wife. She also discovered her own number was no longer stored as wife but with a different name from her. She complained of discovering that he sent about 60k to another lady while she and too children are in hunger."
With that message started a chain of events. The doctor is a wonderful professional. He followed the global best practice in providing treatment to this victim of domestic violence.
Today, before the lady was discharged from the hospital, I made contact with her. We discussed her safety going forward. We discussed her fears about going home to the husband that beat her so badly. DPA had wished that her discharge was delayed till tomorrow to give us more time to find a safe house for her. But her husband had a different plan.
The husband is a leader of a group of touts known as Area Boys in their neighborhood. He led a bunch of violent thugs and he was at the hospital trying to force them to discharge his wife. He had sensed that there was trouble. He was not sure what it was exactly. But he was aware that some people led by one lawyer were trying to get him into trouble. He knew that the longer his wife stayed in the hospital, the more likely he would fall into a trap. So, he was really disturbing the hospital to discharge the lady. The lady was due to be discharge today, anyway. But he wanted that done in the morning and we wanted it done later so that we could do something to him.
In the end, DPA was not ready to take the woman. And the hospital had no choice than to discharge her to her husband by 2pm. I finally spoke to the man. I made it clear to him that I would hold him responsible if anything happens to his wife. Also, I spoke to the woman. She is to call me once every week to assure me she is okay. And I will be sending a DPA probation officer to visit the woman every month to ensure that the man has stopped beating her.
Here are the pictures of the woman and her injuries. We have zero tolerance for domestic violence. If you get to the point of beating your wife, that is the point you declare war against DPA. It is your choice - war or peace. Our goal is to see everybody, every woman safe in her own hous
21 comments:
But wat d hell is going on why d increase in domestic violence men have turned to beast only a pussey man will beat a woman if ur a real man beat ur wife in d bed
Madam pack and go before this man go kill you
Marriage is not by force...
Any man that hits a lady is a fool.
Men r so unpredictable. I tire for their case abeg. You leave ur wife and children hungry while sending money to another woman? Na wa
Long live LIB
Finally! voice for the voiceless and help for the helpless. I have zero tolerance for domestic violence. Good job guys, I celebrate you.
Divorce the fool once and for all....
That woman's life is in danger and something more than this should be done. If possible she should go and stay with her people for some time so that both families can settle things amicably,but I wonder if an area boy can think reasonably not to talk of their leader.
Gbam period
Mtcheees so she's going back there? How many minutes dem dey take kill person ehn I ask? I will be calling her every month to check on her. She will be calling you once a week. Rubbish. So Linda what will you do to help her? Abeg help before the beast kills her because of a bitch.
Na wa o
Some stories you will read and you begin to wonder. Is it that she has no relation at all that she must be discharged to go back to her husband even against her wish. May be I didn't understand the whole story. Am just wondering.
a resounding clap for DPA thank God for intervention...
e
woman u see he is from a thuggish background yet u marry am..will he just change overnite...even d normal looking men r savages ...
I pray u see reason and waka fast before he kills u.Will he be visited every month for d rest of dia lives ..
It's not an increase, it's being exposed more because people didn't have social media or access to help before. These things have been going on for a very long time.
As far as my judgement still working, hmm some worst will happen to this woman even before she can make the calls. Watch out for the next part. Lina might caption it horrific video and picture of....... Someone should tell this woman to pack and leave while she's still alive. Such men are unrepentant ooo
Now I didn't see any hatred world like stupid igba man.
I wonder what this world is turning to....men are now animals..my dear you are not the only one jawe...my hubby used to store my name with Princess...but now nko...my name has turned to our first born name on his phone...what will I do..nothing but to dey look...that's our men for u. .full of deceit...all this violence needs to stop...
nawa for men
No be she go marry area boy, what was she expecting? Did she expect him to behave like prince Charles? Only God knows how she confronted him and only God knows who throw first blow. After all Na she marry area boy
I am absolutely against this. This is terrible and I think the man should be severely dealt with. But wait... What is your wife is the one that inflict injury on you at every little argument? What of she punches you in the eye till your eye gets swollen? What if she bit you so hard around your rib that your skin nearly tears off. What if she does all this knowing that you will never want to retaliate as a man . what if your wife calls her boyfriends right in front of you chatting and laughing happily.Please guys what do we call that? Anyways, it happenes to me and all the people I reported it to didn't see it as a big deal. People find it difficult to believe stories like mine but the reality is that it actually happens to a lot of men. Our world now is all about women! Women! And women! Only caring about themselves.if you all observe closer and deeper, you will discover what I'm saying is true.
Red flag
U're perfectly right