Pastor Adeboye retires as General Overseer for RCCG Nigeria, appoints new GO | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 January 2017

Pastor Adeboye retires as General Overseer for RCCG Nigeria, appoints new GO

Pastor Enoch Adejare Adeboye has appointed a General Overseer for the Redeemed Christian Church of God in Nigeria. According to the 74 year old clergyman, Pastor Joseph Obayemi, will oversee the affairs of the church here in Nigeria. Obayemi was deputy in charge of Finance and a member of governing council, before his appointment.

Adeboye made the announcement during the church’s annual thanksgiving held at the 3km new auditorium today 7th January 2017.

Pastor J.F Odesola is now the church's Secretary while Pastor J.A. Adeyokunnu is the new Treasurer. Present at the thanksgiving service were Vice President Yemi Osibajo and other Senior Pastors of the Church.

Pastor Enoch Adeboye was appointed the General Overseer of the Church in 1981, taking over from late Papa Akindayomi.

84 comments:

nice...d church is marching on

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

Hmm....signs of the times.

WOMANENOUGH said...

Will miss u being Daddy GO. Hope God hasn't revealed to him to prepare his household and ministry. Fear Don enter my body o

THE APPOINTMENT IS ONE SIDE,IS IT ONLY YORUBAS THAT ATTENDS RCCG,WHAT ABOUT OTHER TRIBES,

The Church will miss u sir, Nigerian will miss u RCCG will miss u

All glory to God almighty. He chooses and establishes

That nice

It is a Yoruba affairs. So there are no Godly igbos,Hausas,Deltans etc to handle some departments. Politics in the house of God is worse than Nigeria politics.

Really linda!today 7th January 2016!!bravo
Aittyfinest xyz

Wow! Congrats to him. May his reign be successful

Long Live LIB

GOOD TO KNOW THAT THERE ARE STILL PEOPLE IN NIGERIA WHO CAN STEP DOWN FROM A POSITION OF AUTHORITY WITHOUT ANY PRESSURE. WE ARE USED TO BEING FORCED DOWN AND US FIGHTING BACK WITH EVERY DROP OF OUR BLOOD TO KEEP THE POWER. PASTOR ENOCH ADEBOYE WILL ALWAYS REMAIN A RARE GEM AND A CLASS ABOVE HIS PEERS. ENJOY YOUR RETIREMENT SIR.

Its divine

Congrats to him.

Noted

yemak said...

Hmmm, could this be true?

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Congrats.

Eve Pillowtalk said...

Now shame to you unbelievers including Freeze.this is to show you that he wasn't gathering money for himself,he was even incharge of the money but busy building up the church of Christ.he would have comfortably handed over the church to his sons but Jesus is the owner of the church not any man.the private and all other assets belongs to the church.Papa you have broken my heart I will miss you greatly.May the same grace and anointing on you rest on te new G.O

Wow .... He has tried

Woyoooooi!!!!!!!
Is this true?

CREAM-UP said...

LINDA I HAIL UR BLOG OH.U ARE REAL TRYING CAUSE U CARRY 1st CLASS GIST.THAT'S AW WE SAW IT BABA ANNOUNCED TODAY AFTER D MINISTER'S CONFERENCE THANKSGIVING@SIMAWA.THE NEW GO& BOARD OF TRUSTEES.

Typical Nigerian to bring tribe into dis, thats why the country is like dis,....backward thinkin, so digusting

prince said...

Interesting.....best action so far...he's a live to guide his predecessor where need be...am very pleased.congratulations to the two Jesus lieutenants

Happy and sad. I will miss Daddy Adeboye. But because the God of Elijah is the God of Elisha nothing spoil. The church of God is marching on.

Pastor E. A. Adeboye only retired as General Overseer for the RCCG in NIGERIA. The Redeemed Christian Church of God has branches/parishes in 192 countries of the world. Pastor E. A. Adeboye is still General Overseer of the RCCG worldwide.

As to those who only bother with the small snippets the media chooses to feed them, instead of the actual whole picture, I will give just one example regarding the nonsensical statements about only Yorubas being fit to have positions of authority in the RCCG:

"Pastor Agu Irukwu is the Chairman of the Board of Trustees and Head of the Executive Council of the Redeemed Christian Church of God (RCCG) in the United Kingdom (UK). He is also Special Assistant to the RCCG General Overseer, Member of RCCG’s World Advisory Council, Regional Pastor of RCCG England, and Chairman of the RCCG Regional Board in the UK. Pastor Irukwu also serves as Senior Pastor of Jesus House for All the Nations, London, a parish of the RCCG established in April 1994. Pastor Agu also serves as Chairman of the Board of Trustees and Head of the Executive Council of the Redeemed Christian Church of God in the United Kingdom which acts in a supervisory capacity over the 600 parishes located in the United Kingdom. In addition he is Chairman of the Festival of Life organising committee."

Can no other TRIBE become General Overseer of Redeemed. Church. just asking.

Abimbola Abinusawa said...

Baba Adeboye is a man ordained by God. May God Almighty make his retirement a blessing to him and his entire family.

hmm indigenization in the church still...

Exactly my thoughts

9ja Parrot said...

Report to God and not Linda!

Thanks for clarifying. Thought he stepped down as GO worldwide

Long Live LIB

Hahahahahaha. Omo igbo always complaining of marginalization, una no get ur own church for east. Mugu!

Xtains and their wahala of segregation. Una try!

This here is one of the problems in Nigeria.

Enter your comment...in happening in Assembly of God. Yoruba has never hold any meaningful post. Do me and I do u. AG for igbo while redeem is for yoruba.

Issorite! Linda take note!

Omolord said...

He's not the founder of RGC so he can't hand it to any of his children.

@ Anonymous 16:09, actually you are the primitive one, liar and without conscience nor courage to speak truth to power. If RCCG members come from different parts of Naija and their monthly tithes/contributions are not earmarked by tribal ties, why can't the leadership roles of same church reflect the rich diversity of its congregants? Or is righteous living the exclusive preserve of one group barring others? Yeye pipo using religion to bambuzzle "blind bats" who cannot see or think for themselves. No vex me this morning. QED@atm

Thywill Be Done said...

Pastor Adeboye has all the qualities of a true Leader... Congratulations to the new GO RCCG, Nigeria.

Buhari somethings should not concern you!heard a law/bill was passed to law that if uv served more than 20years u should step down.wat concerns government and the church?no wonder go was visiting wike and fayose and hailing dem.one day we go dey nigeria hear sey buhari don sell nigeria.nigeria will be great again

Islamization of nigeria had begun!

Pst Busayo said...

Still on RCCG leadership change, It's the Corporate Affairs Commission incorporation law that called for the change. Pastor Obayemi, the new G.O functions administratively as substantive GO for Nigeria due to the law, but Pastor Adeboye oversees RCCG worldwide in the 192 nations it exists. He still conducts Holy Ghost and Congress. About tribalism Most of the assistants to the G.O. are non yorubas Pst Oyitso, Pst Obunge, Pst Amekienah, Pst Hasstrup Etc

chosengospel said...

This breaks my heart. My church where I grew in faith before I left Nigeria. Oh I will miss you my father in the Lord. May God protect your family and give you longer life. May you live to be a hundred sir.

Iphie Abraham said...

He is truely a man of God. Some would have given the mantle to their children

This is not a political party

Jesseballs said...

@anonymous 14:18 it is not a political office. It is d house of God. Orders are divine!

PJ said...

There's only one tribe, and that's human tribe. Your thinking is luciferious, I guess I can use that word.

Write letter to God.he is only one that can give u the answer

May his day be long on earth. He is rere gem. Daddy G.o. to be care, he step down only in Nigeria. Still G.O worldwide.

£earn $MARTPHONE Repairing (click) said...

May God's will prevail

Dan said...

These appointments must serve as eye-opener to all those Igbo sons and daughters who pour their resources into building and sustaining RCCG Nigeria because no single one of them is found worthy to be in the commanding heights of that organisation. It sad and ungodly that this clear discrimination would be inflicted on over 60% membership of RCCG. The verdict is clear, to wit, Igbos are squatters in RCCG. I hereby call on all Igbos in RCCG to leave it and join Bishop Okonkwo in TREM.

Bless you real good for this

kings11ng said...

Be deceiving yourself oh

Apparently, Pastor Adeboye said the reason he was stepping down was because of a new law passed by the federal government which made it mandatory for all General Overseers of churches to retire by the age of 75. The federal government has NO right o regulate the Body of CHRIST! What about chief imams of mosques and sheikhs and islamic clerics who head islamic organisations and movements/groups? Where is the law for them? At what age must they retire? buhari the rabid, fanatic, fundamentalist islamist has NO right to interfere in and attempt to run and rule in the Church of The Living and Most High GOD! buhari will never succeed!

Linda, are you sure this information is true? Redeemed members are saying it's not true o.

B.

Gov Ayo fayose, defender of d masses... Could dis be a fallout of "polireligion" ahead of 2019 general election.... Hmmmmm

No retirement or succession :

Pastor Adeboye appointed Pastor J.O Obayemi as the Overseer for the Nigerian Church only. Pastor Odesola as the Secretary and Pastor Adeyokunnu as Treasurer.

Pastor Adeboye will still be the GO internationally, and will still be doing his normal/regular duties.

Pastors Obayemi, Odesola and Adeyokunnu, will report to Pastor E.A Adeboye.

God does not care about tribe when appointing his pastors. God uses integrity and competence to appoint. Una Igbo people too like money. If them give una chance, una go empty the church account

Is office of GO a political post? Am almost certain u even not a member of the church!

God doesnt use tribe to appoint. God uses integrity and competence. Go your East go attend Igbo church if you no like watin them do.

ARE YOU REFERRING TO GOVERNOR WIKE HERE?

Ask God. Adeboye did what God asked him to do. We are all God's children. God doesnt care about tribe. He looks at your heart, integrity, diligence and hard work

Adeoba said...

He has tried, go and rest sir

An Igbo man, Pastor Peter Amakhemen is one of the AGOs, another Pastor Agu Irukwu acts as the Head of the Church in UK with over 600 churches & we have so many Igbos heading different segments of the church

I know pastor Agu Irukwu. He preached to us in houston one sunday from UK. He is a dynamic man of God. His wife is Sola Irukwu.

Nigerians ehn. Lol. They must always talk. If the position is given to an Igbo man now, they'll say the man will monetise the church. If it's a Hausa man, they'll say he'll invite Boko Haram. Lol. You people should chill abeg. Which one is 'it's Yoruba-based position?'

IF YOU DO NOT BELIEVE THE PROPHET, YOU WILL MISS THE MIRACLE.

RCCG is actually a Yoruba. In North America all 10 executive council members are Yoruba . Starting Pastor Fadel, Pastor Sanusi, Pastor Aladeniyi etc. So No Righteous men among other ethnic group. God Almighty always divides things among the 12 tribes of Isreal. God help our christianity. Atinuke

neny said...

Igbo's no de get better post for this vast business empire?, despite their strong, qualitative and quantitative presence and contributions to its spread, influence and affluence.

I'm asking, because strong favourable Post in redeem is now a ticket to VeePee in nigeria. If it's truly a moral and ethical concern and not strictly a guised ethnic business place, then the Igbo participants should be properly carried along and should benefit from the well of wealth.

The only thing I know redeem is doing fervently, is finding south west husbands for my igbo sisters.

Nobody can kill the truth.

Daddy G.O is a Man of God, the other G.O's should imitate Him., but I'm in particular will miss you

RCCG is not a political party where leaders are elected by casting votes. It's a church headed by Jesus Christ and leaders are divinely appointed. Daddy G.O himself preached and frowned against Tribalism in the church during August 2016 Convention. So don't poison other peoples mind about the Church!

The wolves and the sheep comments, it is glaring. it better to be silent and pray for the church of God, "Gate of hell will not prevail". God will honor His word.

The wolves and the sheep comments, it is glaring. it is better to be silent and pray for the church of God, "the Gate of hell will not prevail". God will honor His word.

Everything is political. Yes, everything and chew on that 4 a minute you"ll see it's true. Yet, the church of Jesus Christ ought to be different bcos it SHOULD be the salt of the earth. What happens when the salt loses its taste? Oya fill-n-the rest.

Hehe...you can say that again. So true about the couple matching part btw Ibo women and yoruba men. Heard its meant to lessen the divide/distrust btw the two groups which is a good thing 4 the nation @ large. NMTA

Nigerians. No. I am a Kenyan and simply joined a spiritual outfit that together we can make it to heaven. Let's avoid the topic of tribes. What about nations? Its luciferous indeed. May God bless.

In all things we should give God thanks. Tribe or no tribe. Nation or no nation and Continent or no Continent. Dad GO remains our overall spiritual leader. We thank God for his life.

Ileo, ur own na condolence?

kelechi echendu said...

KELECH ECHENDU
Dady when i thought of it tears cirled on my chest and run true my herat Dady there is non like you i love you stay cool and i know you are alredy on the throne may GOD keep upholding you......amen.

it is only a fool dat will bring d matter of tribe to a church, adeboye prayed publicly to God in d last ministers conference ,dat anybody dat wants to introduce tribalism to rccg should die untimely, u may be d 1........u no urself