According to Trump, Toyota had made plans to start producing Corolla cars in its Mexico plant for the U.S market, something the president elect clearly doesn't like as he hopes to keep up with his 'jobs jobs' mantra.
Just after Donald Trump threatened to impose huge taxation on Toyota if they don't produce cars in the US, Toyota's shares sharply dropped on the US stock market.
The car manufacturing company took their official website and Twitter to reply Trump.
In 2015 Toyota exported more than 160,000 U.S.-built vehicles to 40
countries, helping to establish the U.S. as a global export hub.
• Our manufacturing facilities in Baja, Mexico, established in 2002, support production at our San Antonio, Texas plant, where 3,300 team members produced over 230,000 Tundras and Tacomas in 2016.
• Recent manufacturing expansions by Toyota in the U.S. include:
◦ $360 million investment in Toyota’s Georgetown, Kentucky plant, adding 750 new jobs
◦ $150 million investment at its Huntsville, Alabama plant
◦ $100 million investment in Toyota’s Princeton, Indiana plant, adding 300 jobs
◦ $90 million investment at its Buffalo, West Virginia plant, adding 80 jobs
• Our manufacturing facilities in Baja, Mexico, established in 2002, support production at our San Antonio, Texas plant, where 3,300 team members produced over 230,000 Tundras and Tacomas in 2016.
• Recent manufacturing expansions by Toyota in the U.S. include:
◦ $360 million investment in Toyota’s Georgetown, Kentucky plant, adding 750 new jobs
◦ $150 million investment at its Huntsville, Alabama plant
◦ $100 million investment in Toyota’s Princeton, Indiana plant, adding 300 jobs
◦ $90 million investment at its Buffalo, West Virginia plant, adding 80 jobs
23 comments:
Donald Trump is clearly getting the results he wants, Toyota just agreed to fall in line behind Trump..God bless President Trump
All i see is dollars every where lol
man money dae this world
Trump is already working before even inauguration
Trump na beg Toyota dey beg oo
Trump is not informed he just goofed
Lol....nwanne buhari
I support Trump on this topic. Why will they go to Mexico to open a plant, create jobs for Mexicans then import the cars into the US for Americans to spend their hard earned money on buying Toyota cars. Be patriotic, build that one more plant in your US and help build your country's economy. If not pay the big border tax, that's what the Nigerian Govt. is doing as well. Placing high import tax on foreign products.
High tax on imported goods will force the foreign manufacturers to change their plans and build factory in the country.Definitely, jobs will be created and rapid development
hmmmmm. Mr donald
Toyota is not an american company they can build anywhere they want for production, if trunp wants to charge them higher border tax then see how the close down 2 of the plants already in america to pay the tax for cars that will still come in. Who is then loosing. Its not about attacking everyone, it is attacking with sense
The man that determines the direction of the wind of the economy
is this a presidnt or a pepsodent
COUPLE TRYING TO GIVE BLOW JOBS AS PART OF A PRE-WEDDING PHOTO SHOOT
Trump's clothing line and that of his daughter is manufactured in China ... until they start making them in the Us, then I will take his tweets seriously....hypocrite !!!!
I know right?
Hello,is Toyota an American company?....Nah!
Their wahala... dee
You just like copying people if not explain what you mean by he is not informed?
Toyota is more interested in their shares..if the company share goes down,the company goes down too... America has GMC motors, plus they have other competitions.. So they either answer to the American government or lose.
Toyota is not giving us epistle. In other words, plant established in Mexico will be a manufacturing and shipping plant. Lol... They know on the long run overall costs will be way lower than the US especially labour. No jobs will be created in the US of they go with Trump's idea compared to increase in more sales and distribution, or export agents to other countries. Like the way Trump is so proactive.
Big mumu. Toyota isn't American and that's not the only country Toyota exports to. So are they supposed to have factories in every country. The donut that is talking doesn't know this policy is to our benefit. Toyota has invested in the US long enough. Let them come and open factory here too na.
True. I have one Ivanka loafer and that's what the box says