Photos: NDLEA nabs four men attempting to smuggle drugs to Indonesia, China and Qatar | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 November 2016

Photos: NDLEA nabs four men attempting to smuggle drugs to Indonesia, China and Qatar

Officials of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA), on Friday, November 4th, arrested four drug couriers at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA), Lagos, while attempting to take the drugs to China, Indonesia and Qatar.
The spokesman of the anti-narcotics agency, Mr. Mitchell Ofoyeju, gave the names of the suspects as Aniebue Peter Nnamma, 50; Sokpe Zubbye, alias Nzube Chukwudi), 37; Ugwuezumba Hyacinth Arinze, 38; and Obinna James Obi, 30.

Nnamma, who sells clothes at Aswani Market in Lagos, inserted 11 wraps of cocaine weighing 460 grammes into his anus. He blamed his involvement in the crime on financial hardship.
"It was financial hardship that made me smuggle the drug. I was afraid of swallowing the drug, so I inserted eleven wraps of cocaine weighing 460 grammes into my anus. I sell clothes at Aswani Market, but poor patronage and family problems have turned me into a pauper. I regret everything" he lamented.
In his confessional statement, Zubbye, a freight forwarder from Anambra State with a Ghanaian passport, who ingested 955 grammes of cocaine, said he was promised N1 million by sponsors to smuggle the drug abroad.
"I work in China as a freight forwarder and I am married with two children. Due to the recession, I am having difficulty in settling my bills and I was lured into drug trafficking while seeking assistance. They promised me N1 million. Since I live in China, I felt it would be easy for me to go through security checks,  but unfortunately, I was caught," he said in a confessional statement.
Arinze, who sells musical instruments at Alaba International Market in Lagos,  was caught with ingested wraps  of methamphetamine, weighing 570 grammes and 1.560kg of the drug packed in his luggage while on his way to Indonesia. He confessed that he was given the drug along Badagry Expressway and was promised $3,000 by his sponsors.
The fourth suspect, Obi, an aluminium fabricator in Umuahia, Abia State,  who was flying to Doha, Qatar, was caught with 5.2kg of cannabis.  Mr. Ofoyeju  stated that all four suspects are under investigation and will be charged to court soon.
Obi also admitted to investigators that he made a mistake getting involved in drug trafficking.  He explained that the bag he was caught with was given to him by a friend for delivery in Doha, but during a search, NDLEA discovered cannabis inside

Mr Ofoyeju explained that if the suspects had been arrested in these China, Indonesia and Qatar, they would have been executed as Drug trafficking is punishable by death in the these countries.

Reacting on the arrests, the NDLEA Commander at the MMIA, Mr. Ahmadu Garba, said that the agency will continue to ensure that drug couriers are arrested at the country's airports and other points through which they might want to carry out their illicit trade.

The Chief Executive of the NDLEA, Colonel Muhammad Mustapha Abdallah (retd.), expressed worry over the spate of execution of Nigerians abroad for drug trafficking offences and  the number of those on death row.

Colonel Abdallah urged traffickers to see beyond the transient monetary gains of narcotic trafficking and appreciate the fact that they are actually endorsing their own death warrant.

"It is sad that the execution of those caught with drugs in these countries has not deterred them. Many have died prematurely while others are daily counting down to their execution. This development has left their family members and friends in pains," he said.

21 comments:

Bad belle people say no to evil

All of dem get something doing but greed no allow dem to be contented with what dey have. Idiots! Linda take note!

Choi! My people- My people.
This desperation to get rich quick, quite unfortunate.

Th should be thankful they were caught in nigeria and not indonesia....that's death penalty for certain

The one going to Indonesia should be thankful and happy... they cot him in naija wat if he had made it to Indonesia? Death by hangin

They can't outrun the long arm of the law.

Hermitant said...

Felony acts are upgrading in NAIJA more and more. Na wa o...

chukwunonso said...

nwanne ogini na afio, make this money, agba-ego nkiti ona-ezuzuhari

Please my fellow blog visitors assist a sister . I'm in need of your assistance to raise capital to start off a little business to keep me going in life and at least put a smile on my mums face. Please. No amount is small. As I will be very grateful for any help rendered to me. Thank you and God bless you all Amen. You shall never know lack amen. This is my email address angelaa922@yahoo.com

See their faces

Busted!

Looking for Christmas money to flex in the village!!☺️

Rachelosayi@gmail.com said...

Una no dey hear word.did i hear Indonesia? You guys are lucky you were caught here in Nigeria if not RIP

See bobby+figure8....mehn any lady who need my hot services should contact me up 08183165717

Good for them...

haha igbo amaka, good and bad!

empress ojukwu said...

This drug stuff is becoming too much

O Boy! Recession no go kill people oo

Igbo people una no dey tire? Malaysia of all places? When they execute you na, you will now want federal govt to intervene when it was you that deliberately breached their laws. Thank you God that you were caught in Nigeria. This is a last warning from God!

Igbo people una no dey tire? Indonesia of all places? When they execute you na, you will now want federal govt to intervene when it was you that deliberately breached their laws. Thank you God that you were caught in Nigeria. This is a last warning from God!

Igbo again? This is why i dont pity them when they execute them because them no dey hear word