Linda Ikeji and her glass of Lemonade - Written by Joy Isi Bewaji | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 November 2016

Linda Ikeji and her glass of Lemonade - Written by Joy Isi Bewaji

Came across this really nice article (doesn't happen often...lol) written about me by writer, Joy Isi Bewaji, which was shared on www.happenings.com.ng. Please read below...
Schadenfreude. Pleasure derived by someone from another person’s misfortune. There is something about Linda Ikeji that seems to bring out this morbid emotion, even in people you wouldn’t ordinarily consider to be of the morbid sort. Something about the No. 1 blogger in Nigeria, West Africa, Africa that people seem to always expect her to be a constant Freudian slip; a perpetual error of sorts for their entertainment;
a gladiator who upon slaying all adversaries, squelching their ruin beneath his sandaled feet, proceeds in order to meet an insatiable bloodlust, to hack himself to bits to the rousing applause of the constantly cheering crowd.

Her slips are patented, with the keenness of a 90 year old museum director, methodically curated. In a multiverse of bloggers, that contemporary vocation now practiced by hundreds of thousands, Linda Ikeji alone and always, is held to account for the excesses of the trade; scapegoat, saddled with communal sins and driven into the wilderness to perish.

Her moments of oversight, which aren’t any more frequent than any other blogger, are exaggerated, acts of unforgivable heresy that unites, pitchfork flailing around the raging pyre, the cyber-angry, the cyber-frustrated and the cyber-deprived.

Apart from her faithful followers, not too many a favourable word has been written about her in our public spaces, in praise of what is surely one of the most important crafts of our increasingly digital times.

No. Linda is always wrong.

She is wrong because she is rich, her gains gleaned off of peoples misfortunes, and hell and horror, with very little creative effort required on her part. A concept that pulverizes the minds of the sort of people who believe your back must be scarred, your ligaments torn before you can get ahead in life, and even then, we all know the ultimate reward lies for us beyond the grave.

So how dare she have access to riches here?

How dare she squander hers here? On a bag, on a Range, on a House, on her business, on a private jet…

Not in this lifetime and definitely not in a crushing recession will people be able to reconcile their innate schadenfreude – the need to be caught in this collective monsoon where everyone is getting drenched, with Linda’s steadily burgeoning wealth, presence and influence.

They want her to be wrong. They need her to be wrong. To feel a constant guilt set to the sway of their suffering, to be perpetually deferent, and eternally mortified.

So yes, we’re going to call them haters, not necessarily because it is wrong to question the system that throws up these “monopolies”, but because they go about expressing this angst in the most ridiculous ways, like all the other things most Nigerians do; without much thought or a careful consideration.

A hue and cry at the latest outrage, followed by a frenzied cyber lynching, then a momentary consolation that settles for a moment our Linda-angsts, and then a sudden remembrance, the opiates worn off, of a collective and personal lack and desperation. Cue renewed outrage.

Rinse and Repeat.

How can they not see that this necromantic practice is a futile endeavour?

Linda wins. She has been winning for more than four years; slamming the balls thrown at her with the kind of fervour only gods can confer. This fight is done. It is not worth fighting anymore. Your time would best be utilised in finding another pastime to well…pass the time.

The intellectual fraud her detractors perpetually moan about has become commonplace practice even among corporate entities who you’d normally expect to employ a little tact and judgment during creative executions.

Many have called out, too many times, network companies who in broad daylight steal tweets with the hope they will not be discovered. A noodles company was caught a while ago doing that. Monies and lawsuits were flung at them. But it never gets as sensational or as frenzied as when Linda picks up a post or tweet lying around to publish on her blog.

This is in no way meant to excuse the crime, by all means let all who feel aggrieved seek justice in the right quarters, but the now tired and overplayed routine of marinating, frying, dressing and then having Linda for lunch and casting about the cybersphere allusions to her marital status is lazy, unoriginal and really getting quite irksome.

It is impossible to survive the successive waves of cyber lynching the way Linda has. Then again, it shows the impotence of our digital rage; its disappointing flaccidity because Linda might as well be sipping a glass of lemonade whilst her name is dragged around by people who really should be spending their time in creating something – anything in a country that lacks everything.

Enter Lindaikejisocial:

It has become a fashionable thing to hate Linda Ikeji. You would struggle to find more than a handful of people who would publicly declare their love, or admiration for her. There’s an online pseudo-intellectual community that stays “woke” by making pompous assertions of her ingenuousness to wealth and success; like something she tripped over, unplanned, and undeserving.

But Linda is here, with wealth and with success, and with a new project that admits even haters.
If you’ve never been sure what winning looks like. This is it.

She has launched a genius of a platform, a social site that condenses and combines the strengths of Facebook, Blogger, and Ebay. On day one of the launch, the site was stuck by thousands of bees. The rate of signups per second was overwhelming. Shocking? Not really. Hate and love have always worked for good for this woman. Linda, like every smart woman, knows that a tall glass of lemonade is all you need through a rumpus. Don’t even sweat it.

I do not dismiss her offences, just as much as I do not dismiss those of network providers who plagiarise single tweets, or websites who lift entire bodies of art without credit to the creative slave behind its perfection. But I have always questioned the motives of cyber mobs.

There’s no barrier to entry, no fee required – monetary or intellectual, to register oneself in this pack of slathering hounds. It is too much of an unstructured process to mean anything, to drive any meaningful reforms, and is especially absent when a truly dire situation in need of intervention appears; like the rape of a child or the theft of public funds or the monstrous excesses of an unscrupulous religion.

Linda has built her success on the stories of people who cannot keep their mouths shut; and in most cases, she did not need to send a SWAT team to clarify why they couldn’t just keep their mouths shut. I have on occasion stood in judgement of her, but it is time to focus on the social/media empire she is building loan-free that will employ Nigerians, thus giving hope to many families, lend an added voice to social discourse, unveil many young talents, and promote even further the entertainment business.
And that’s even before considering her TV and radio stations getting set to dish new and exciting programmes.

It’s a new season for Linda, and new beginnings for many people just by this singular act of expansion.

It is something worth commending from a woman who sits on a swivel chair, staring at her laptop, TV permanently on CNN, only half interested in anything else around her, with nothing but pure determination, and an unbridled desire to succeed to keep her coming back. Again and again.

122 comments:

dd-dolippi said...

Exactly boss.... Success is sexy

Ohiren Erimiakhena said...

Seen...Very Nice.

With your money self Linda,you no fine at all..
Am not beefing you but just straight from my heart.
You no look good at all,you just there.

This is a beautiful piece

Your dedication, enthusiasm and insight are really inspiring. I wish you many years of great achievements!🙌🏾
LIS : "Abokidawarriboy IV"

Any lady who need my hot services in the other room should contact or whatsapp me up 08183165717, 08179336347

And you expect me to read all these abi... weldone

It's bad writing to use too much complex words when writing. I can barely read the post because I need a dictionary to understand the write up. Please adopt plain language; you would communicate better!

Lovely writeup

Very interesting! Linda you are a super woman 👩
Libers Add me on LIS @ Ogbunambala Eddy

God bless you Linda. I know you have learnt from your mistakes. I was once in your shoes though on a much smaller scale....lol...until I noticed that people just don't want you to be better than them. The moment they see you rise above them, their prayer is to make sure you fall!!!! I also learnt from my mistakes and look at you as a source of inspiration. God bless you and your family and your kanda skin!!!! Muaahhh

Good one...

kate said...

Very nice of her, Linda you have done well for yourself. Am proud of you.

MiSs AnOnYMoUs said...

All I see is the 1st picture,love you loads...Follow me on LIS(Akinseye Titilayo)

Ewoooo..... I have to go to ulo akwukwo again, maka the Englishis too much and it had me skipping many lines. Epp me... Amim

Nikkyto

Dnt hv much to say dan to say u're a blessin to dis generation

Beautiful Linda

Jessy said...

The foot wear and purse must have must have cost a furtune

Biko is ds french...or english

Njaysworld said...

The writup is useless (Linda am not shading you o) but his use of excessive grammer puts me off. Didnt understand one thing.

EARN UP TO $300 FROM YOUR ANDRIOD PHONE HERE IN NIGERIA. CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW TO JOIN ASAP.

http://Youthnize.com/?ref=318302

Anon said...

Great piece mehn!

Dis is truly nice. Linda take note!

I love calling Linda a living goddess, and my adorable queen.

I keep saying this and will forever say it, those beefing and hating Linda exaggerating her little little slips as a human being just like anything person are only BITTER persons who can't stand her successes and how she's impacting her world. Linda has built an empire, Hian, SHE IS JUST STARTING, THIS IS ONE AMONGST HER FEATS COS MANY MORE WILL COME. KEEP HATING WHILE SHE KEEPS SOARING. KUDOS MY MENTOR!

LONG LIVE LIB!!!!!!

I have same thoughts towards you Linda and trust me the sky is your starting point. You are hardworking same with your sister Laura BUT linda you need to tone down on the show-off cos it's not necessary and dats where all the beef emanated from! Wish you all the best and pray God blesses me too.

So very true. Instead of being so negative about someone doing grand things never before done on Nigerian soil, just Shut up and get working. Nigeria needs your intelligence, your talent and your contributions...Get to working...

I need a financially capable man that can assist me with my schooling and weekly allowance. In exchange I will give you my love and loyalty and always be there whenever you need me. I'm 26, very attractive bbw. I will prefer a man that 39years and above. Thanks here's my email okoyechioma1670@yahoo.com

Nkem4ever said...

Great one Joy Isi Bewaji. A voice of reasoning in all the noise and distraction.

I Love your Courage

I love Joy. I want to marry her brain.

Its all praises! Well written, Joy.

Your Mama born u well

Go Linda!! You slay. Don't mind the frustrated haters. We are proud of you and happy for you

U deserve everything good. ~Nwa_Nsukka

Anne said...

Linda sure deserves all her achievements,more grace and Gods protection

Thumbs up to this writer, she sure nailed it about Linda. God bless you Linda and God has used you to bless others.

sunnyboy said...

Pray for real happiness not fame

Hermitant said...

That blogger na one kind grammarian o. Chai, i no fit decode some stunning words there. But, anty Linda, how much you gave her?

wow

Awwww. This is spot on. I had to do voltron for Linda on a certain blog, at the end of the day, they confessed that they have all registered on LIS. Every single one of them. LOL!

LLinda's haters have one case against her, her success. They weep when they see how she's progressing and hate on her so much that they show their frustrations in doing it. Some of them have failed in so many of their endeavours and seeing someone succeeds without much stress and struggle kills them. But one thing that drew me to Linda is her attitude, she ignores them, goes about her blogging passionately while haters and jealous ones are busy talking down on her. While they're busy hating, she will hit a mile stone and another and another. I'm drawn to those who's been bullied for no reason.
Chosengospel.

Linda's haters have one case against her, her success. They weep when they see how she's progressing and hate on her so much that they show their frustrations in doing it. Some of them have failed in so many of their endeavours and seeing someone succeeds without much stress and struggle kills them. But one thing that drew me to Linda is her attitude, she ignores them, goes about her blogging passionately while haters and jealous ones are busy talking down on her. While they're busy hating, she will hit a mile stone and another and another. I'm drawn to those who's been bullied for no reason.
Chosengospel.

Nice! All I see is d beautiful dress and those hand bag kudos.

Nwabuisi Chuks said...

Linda please get down that legs before you spoil that expensive Chair biko...

Nwabuisi Chuks said...

Linda please get down that legs before you spoil that expensive Chair biko...

Well said..LINDA OBSERVE CAREFULLY

Haaaaa all this stories ? For what na

Linda.....you are very beautiful. I should have propose to her before it's too late .pls be expecting my letter .i love you

Deep breath.
A long journey of worthwhile reading. @Joy Isi Bewaji u r indeed an incredible writer... Your write-up was intellectually refreshing. @Linda Ikeji,Joy didn't exaggerate one bit. She called a spade what it is n nailed every line of her write-up. Thank You Joy. Love You Plenty n Proud of you Linda . Keep Your Game Tops.

Time is limited, so don't waste it living
someone else's life. Don't let the noise of others'
opinions drown out your own inner voice. And
most important, have the courage to follow your
heart and intuition." - Steve Jobs Keep winnIng LINDA

dont even understand what this one is writing, or is she looking for a job? linda pls hire her

Linda the slaying queen, haters be hating since 1900.whom God has blessed, no man can curse.

Nobody wants Linda to be wrong. She has good fans and criticisers. That is the price of fame. The truth is many people would like you and some would despise you. That is life. You cannot be liked by everyone. It is the way life is-deal with it! We do not need to read an ass licking article that wants to paint Linda as if she is righteous. Even Kim Kardashian is hated by many but she is rich. but what is Kim Kardashian famous for? Well, you know the answer.
One thing I noticed is Linda would post anything that would bring her money , up to the extent of posting homosexual and explicit pictures, gory pictures of dead people, disabled bodies etc.
At the end of the day, my question to Linda is:
What shall it profit a man if he/she gains the whole world and looses his/her own soul? We can run after all the riches and money in this world. But everything would be turned to ashes when this world ends. Nobody would take a dime to heaven and God would ask each and everyone to give an account to what he/she has done, including me. Think about that.

Nobody wants Linda to be wrong. She has good fans and criticisers. That is the price of fame. The truth is many people would like you and some would despise you. That is life. You cannot be liked by everyone. It is the way life is-deal with it! We do not need to read an ass licking article that wants to paint Linda as if she is righteous. Even Kim Kardashian is hated by many but she is rich. but what is Kim Kardashian famous for? Well, you know the answer.
One thing I noticed is Linda would post anything that would bring her money , up to the extent of posting homosexual and explicit pictures, gory pictures of dead people, disabled bodies etc.
At the end of the day, my question to Linda is:
What shall it profit a man if he/she gains the whole world and looses his/her own soul? We can run after all the riches and money in this world. But everything would be turned to ashes when this world ends. Nobody would take a dime to heaven and God would ask each and everyone to give an account to what he/she has done, including me. Think about that.

Linda, I need 2 get u pregnant

Linda rocks!

sharon said...

tell dem jare haterz my darling Linda lets keep sipping the lemonade and be laughing at dem while dey keep talking and we keep soaring...i still am your num1 fan....love ya plenty plenty...always with you

golden queen.(Contact us for your mouth watery small chops like, samosa, spring rolls, puff-puff, chinchin,bun,stickmeat,gizdodo,etc .you will be glad you did). .08138910391. said...

Linda is vry blesssed by GOD,if they can't deal with it, they shud go hug transformer.

King Maker said...

Lol. The write up is so funny. I am a big fan of Linda, but, this write up is just absurd. Miss Linda has the right to post whatever she wants, but, sometimes she needs to listen to her readers. There are things that some of her readers don't like that she keeps posting, if she ignores there plea, I feel she needs to find a way to tell them that she stands for what she post and the reason. IMO, it will bridge that gap with her haters

King Josh said...

Fantastic write up!

Men, she keeps winning!

I am tired of standing up to these schadenfruedes anytime I hear a negative uninformed comment about Linda. I have come to realize that nothing can stop a determined woman with God on her side. Not even the schadenfruedes. You go Linda girl.

JUST......WOW! I LOVE LINDAIKEJI. GOD BLESS THE WRITER.

I rejoice with Linda Ikeji. Her haters can go and die.

Blogger hottest said...

But really, am I the only one not understanding. The choice of words will not even allow a layman to read real info.
Please biko reduce ya vocabs, I have headache reading it.
Yes, we know Linda is a great woman; !

Modurk said...

Everything nice, it's not bad to flaunt what God has given you, I pray Baba God answer my own call b4 the year runs out.

Exquisite write up

Do u kwn hw many home & career linda have destroyed,gud 4 u Madam.

Beautiful woman

I agree.

I just admire and love this unique lady. May God bless you abundantly (He has already). You inspire both Male n Female alike.....Peace

I know 95% of the people saying nice piece don't know what they just read. But who am I to judge.. Nice piece anyways

Yes also that your penniless account will turn to Ashes when the world ends

ndi e nwero anything to say spotted. she must have paid the writer baa ediat

lol. exactly my thoughts.

Your point is¿
she is loosing her soul?
I have a problem with people sitting down in their house and dishing out what they think are people's intentions.

this comment is spot on. Linda don't ignore this

Highly-Favoured said...

Too much unneccsary big grammar spoilt the beauty of the article

Highly-Favoured said...

Too much unneccsary big grammar spoilt the beauty of the article

Well written Joy Isi Bewaji, kudos. This is my very first comment on LIB. I usually won't do this, but Linda deserves it! The part that got me most was this, " a woman who sits on a swivel chair, staring at her laptop, TV permanently on CNN, only half interested in anything else around her..." Wow, indeed it takes a lot of discipline, hard-work and dedication, plus determination to succeed to do what Linda has been able to do,and still does. LIB has long become a go-to place for correct news and information, hot and juicy gossip etc, sitting by CNN is not something a lot of us can do for a long while. She has succeeded in this field, she is the first, the biggest female blogger in Africa, she has made money from it, she has shown that it is possible, we should celebrate this woman, an Amazon, we are proud of you our very own Made in Nigeria Linda Ikeji.

Kemi write with your name, stop using anonymous ohhh!!!!!! Hahahaha we have heard we have moved beyond it. Join lis

uniquechic said...

@kingmaker ur comment is spot on! linda is talented intelligent doesnt give a fuck!! bla bla bla..but what does linda stand for? we readers does she even give 2 fucks about u guys dat r worshipping her? all u ppl shouting linda haters go hug transformer is success all about how much have uv got, d gucci bags or banan island houses?linda doesnt give a hoot about her readers as long as money is made..ppl r sick and tired of homo, gay, gory pictures etc yet not once has linda stopped posting this.
What talent is there in giving d latest news(sonetimes not real news or outdated posts), grammatical jargons and rubbish posts..Methinks she needa to come down her high horse and listen to her readers...we r d ones making u into a millionaire and esp God.ppl have trillion times talents than u yet they r still struggling.
I only see Gods work in u not talent!.ur like d average person but God singled u out.
keep that in mind.no beef just d plain truth

I'll o yoyo

Shut your mouth! Just because she hasnt bleached like her sister.. Linda is beautiful, in and out.

I agree too.....so boring

Boring article. Joy bewaji please stop boot licking for money from linda. You didn't write this article before now

Secondly all this grammar that makes the article even more boring should be chanelled to your verbal communication skills which is wack. Your spoken english is terrible.

Ifeco said...

For Linda to follow me on LIS , i consider it as an honour

PUPPIES FOR SALE HERE IN UYO
I beg make una help me thank God o!
after a long wait, Deena (German ) has given birth to nine bouncing puppies. Praise God somebody!
In case u need any of the puppies pls contact me with 08189549237 or you can follow me on LIS with CHARLES IFECO to get some wonderful pictures of the puppies. It is a breed of boerboel male and German mixed

@charlesifeco

My dear leave all that story you typed up there. The writer didn't whitewash her all, she just said the truth.i visit other blog beside Linda ikeja blog, on number of occasion I have made my displeasure known here concerning some things she didn't that I didn't agree with her. She is a human and makes mistakes but let me ask you, how many times has stella been called out and butchered concerning the all the dirty personal stories she post about people? She has broken more dirty personal stories of celebrity than any other blogger,how come no one is calling for her head and hating on her for doing the same job? It all boils down to one thing, People hate a success, men hate her for having some much power that comes from wealth she built and business she rins, they wish they could be in her shoes.women hate her for having what they can only dream off.

Same bitter anonymous everywhere lol

U look good baby, the highest price in paying in success is ability to get more, so more blessing

nice one
lovely article
once again nice one
wish u more success linda

Henry said...

Niceone....Linda is phenomenal

You are basically what this article is about

Anaigbo said...

ITS NICE TO SEE THAT LINDA HASN'T JOINED THE BLEACHING GENERATION, CUTE PHOTOS.

Your story is an inspiring one Linda. You have an admirer for sure!

Lizzy Joseph said...

Anon 5:35pm..Show that ugly face of yours, why hiding under anonymous? She's not fine abi just because she's natural? Smh..

Lizzy Joseph said...

Same here, extremely boring with beautiful pictures

Lizzy Joseph said...

Lmao..Too much Grammar

Lol @ the other room!
Hahahaha

Nice One sexy Lindy

chyclany said...

Continue winning linda. May God keep nd protect you.

Pls post your picture,so that we can see how miserable ur are.

Linda your beautiful,black is beautiful dont mind your haters

For those complaining that they didn't understand the write up... sorry to tell you, Joy doesn't write for everyone. You have to be an intellectual to read and understand her, otherwise OYO.

eka said...

Nice article
But it will flow better with less English vocabs
I truly admire Linda's resilient spirit & have noticed people "over-dislike" her 4 any reason(s)
Linda is not entirely blameless ; she has her own shortcomings just like everyone of us. But when she deserves praise; she should be commended & not wish for her downfall / new biz failure
..........my 2cents sha💃🏿!!!

Oh linda!every woman should b proud of u, dear haters our linda will soon be on forbes.can't wait

Nice pics, great lady with great potentials, the sky is not even your limit. When you are at the top what do you expect. you are a celebrity, a big one at that, LOVE YOU SO SO MUCH. and wish I could be a friend.

You are not beefing but you are being bitter and cynical.

Ndudim grace said...

Aunty linda u are a nice lady people must always hate i just love u because u are determined. Aunty linda one more thing I can write an article very well that the world will like pls if u need an article am available pls thanks

I need a financially capable man that can assist me with my schooling and weekly allowance. In exchange I will give you my love and loyalty and always be there whenever you need me. I'm 26, very attractive bbw. I will prefer a man that's 39years and above. Thanks +2348182402676

See mumu. Are you yourself intelligent or am intellectual? I bet you know nothing, coming here to form intellectual

All these defenders are typical hypocrites and boot lickers. It is true, Linda is just there and not attractive. If I am to marry her, it will be for her money, that's all

U don't get it. You yourself is anonymous and u criticising sb for his/her comments. Joker

See u wey fine...Show your face and your success story na.
Linda Defines Success!!

God has indeed Favoured you, Linda.

IFEYINWA contact : ifyatuanya@yahoo.com said...

I think she got these pictures of yours from Instagram. You really look good. Dress more like that, Linda. But 'i daa anu nke mmadu na ekwu, so obaro uru'.

Seen, Linda what about those shortlisted for job in your new company, we haven't heard anything... Double your hustle