57 year old singer, Madonna was bashed and criticized for
wearing a backside-and-breast-baring Givenchy gown to the 2016 Met Gala
in New York. People were appalled at what she wore and dragged her for
always seeking attention in outrageous ways. Madonna has now responded
and she defended herself through a statement she released. Read the statement after the cut...
"We have fought and continue to fight for civil rights and gay rights around the world. When it comes to Women's rights we are still in the dark ages. My dress at the Met Ball was a political statement as well as a fashion statement. The fact that people actually believe a woman is not allowed to express her sexuality and be adventurous past a certain age is proof that we still live in an age-ist and sexist society. I have never thought in a limited way and I'm not going to start. We cannot effect change unless we are willing to take risks By being fearless and By taking the road leas traveled by. Thats how we change history. If you have a problem with the way I dress it is simply a reflection of your prejudice. I'm not afraid to pave the way for all the girls behind me As Nina Simone once said, the definition of freedom is being fearless. I remain Unapologetic and a Rebel in this life and all the others. Join my fight for Gender. Equality!"
45 comments:
liv dem, na jelosi
Ewu America
Biko wat is dis?
She chose to look that way,na her money kill am,make people rest abeg!
Stupid
It's well with her
None of my business
She must be very silly. Bearing your boobs and talking gender equality...rubbish
Ok.
Carry on ma
Mtcheww
U SUPPOSE TO BE ASHEMED OF URSELF. AGADI NA AGWO OFE. TUFIA!
Mad woman dis is hw u fight for gender equality. Ekenekwam ngi..
Their palava
She wore rubbish to Met Gala
Kai nekwanu jigida queen! Opuo na ogbo...
Gender equality u be fool? U be fowl wat does nude dress got 2 do with civilisation and gender equality....yash wey no sexy breast wey dey greet ground...she needs prayer
☆☆☆☆☆
••••••Hey granny!!! Chill jare
This isn't gender equality any sh**.....This is indecent dressing and it's abnormal in our society
so if you can't identify with the norms of the society then It's you that have a PROBLEM not the society....
Let that sink because your mentality is too stiff and no one knows it all....keep learning for it is a continuous process
#IMPERFECTME#
People should stop wasting their time bashing the likes of Kim k,amber rose,Madonna, rihanna,etc
Mtcheeewww.....arrant nonsense. the cloth no even fine sef.
so gender equality is about showing yours boobs and butt, no wonder our senate dismiss the bill, people like her are the reason why people are skeptical about the bill, they always make women worthless and unvalued
did she jst say "for women to express their sexuality"
nobody is talking about any civil right or political purpose.
that dress is a fashion understatement!!!
SCARFACE
I admire her course, but embracing your sexuality is a whole ball game, that dress is hideous! It's not even bout age now or feminism,the dress worwor
hmmmm nakedness.. Endtimes
Agadi nwanyi! Linda take note!
Na her money and her body na she sabi but if she wants to fight for gender equality this is not the best way to go about it how many men did she see half naked
Smilin......God is watching.
No be small money she go pay for this apparel o.
It's an awful and tacky dress.
Political what? Fashion what?. I think lai Mohammed was referring to her when he said y'al can dress masquerade as a profession.
when the devil is your father, he gives you foolish counsel just to carry out his enteprise,,,, i pray she finds JESUS and gets true freedom...
Wharis dis! She no follow abeg
Oh shut up Madonna n put some clothes on. You're 57 for God sake. By now she ought
Agbaya
Now . any small thing dah happen. Is now gender inequality and woman rights. .first. Kim . then Linda. Now Madonna. Esoke. .
Oh shut up Madonna and put some clothes on.. You're 5fucking7 for God's sake. If by now you dunno nudity is not the right way to express sexuality then I'm afraid you're gonn die a dumb blonde
Lame excuse! Take a seat...do something COMMENDABLE...like Michelle Obama...gender equality? How?
i admire her courage but she should remember when she dresses that way that she is not in her room but in the public and so her sheer exposures in a way is an insult to our collective intelligence
This dress has nothing to do with gender equality. I hate it when people use terms like Gay rights, Gender equality, etc to cover up for their stupidity
Stark naked would have spoken louder than this naa
I wonder why people should be so much concerned abt peoples ways of dressing. That should be her Business.
Okay. .
Mtcheeeeewww. Attention seeking asshole. More Instagram followers for you