NNPC to be broken into 30 companies - Kachikwu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 4 March 2016

NNPC to be broken into 30 companies - Kachikwu

Speaking at the Oloibiri Lecture Series and Energy Forum, organized by the Society of Petroleum Explorationists, SPE, Nigeria Council, in Abuja, the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Dr. Ibe Kachikwu, yesterday, revealed that the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC, would become profitable again by July 2016, the corporation's first profits in 15 years.
Kachikwu also said that there would be an overhaul of the NNPC within the next week which would see the NNPC break up into about five companies, while the sub-sets of the NNPC would be broken into 30 companies.
He said:
“I am happy that we are getting the cooperation of everybody within the system, that is the only way we can guarantee work for those who work there and career paths that are sustainable.”
Kachikwu, who is the Group Managing Director of the NNPC, maintained that the expected return to profitability would also mean that the Nigerian Oil Industry will be able to compete effectively in the global oil industry.

He added:
“That is just a tip of the iceberg because by the time these 30 companies are unbundled and the Managing Directors will set programmes, you are going to meet us in an active world. It means we are all going to compete, we are going to make these things work.”
He also said that the overhaul of the NNPC and its subsidiaries, would eliminate titles such as ‘Group Executive Directors’ and replace them with Chief Executive Officers.

Vanguard

36 comments:

Ok oo

Dats a good one! Linda take note!

ProudlyDeltan15 said...

Wondering who will be managing the 30 companies and why 1 company needs to be brokendown to that much number....ProudlyDeltan

Sylvia said...

Hmmmmmmmm..... I'm glad wit dis... It simply means more employment..

Good. So dat more ppl will be employed

Ride on.

San sucre said...

Hmmmmmmmmmmm. Ok ooo

LIB Celebrity

Issorite

It's no news because the plan has been to unbundle nnpc but the previous govt did not have the political will to see it come to fruition.

Are u talking of handing dem over to private individuals?

#LibBadBoy

They haven't made profit in 15 years? So typical of government institutions in nigeria

Hmmmm. Sha mk it work oo. No b by tlk

Hopefully this move will result in more transparency and will be sustainable, not the type that will be reshuffled again after a year. We are watching

Steady said...

I hope it will give birth to jobs opportunities for fresh graduates

Nenyechi said...

Hmmm,OK anyone dat will favour d growth of dis country

princess said...

Whatever rocks their boat

Wharrefa that is.. Next plzzz!!!

linda's bestie said...

Ok seen

Good for them.

chyyy said...

What we do in this country called Nigeria is Talk Talk at d end nonsense. It will even be worst as it is b4, if u people like divide it into 500 put ur brothers & sisters 2 benefit frm d oil wealth.

LIB PIKIN said...

Hope it creates job opportunities

Chuma Anumiri said...

This is just a tip of the iceberg...by the time these 30...managing directors start...blah blah blah. We are tired of our leaders day-dreaming on various madia. We need actions not spoken words, for Christ' sake you guys are poets who go about enticing women with words, work it out and then let your deeds speak all the way. Thank you!

WaitiNg.

Just employ ppl dassol!

Nice move,buh I hope it improves our oil market as claimed. All d best

Na una sabi.

Luciana Chinda said...

Okay naaaaah!

Okay if it will help.

So long as it amelirates d fuel problems faced herein

And like play like play the break up don dey start! I hope they'd still be singing the single account hymn after the break ups?

edo juju said...

Unbundled ...

funny word choice

edojuju1@gmail.com

WHATEVER MEHN.....

..... No fuel no light, with this hot weather..... I reserve my comment....

Wow! Good one. Will create employment#Lindangwanu#

Pesin Pikin said...

Hope this new development works

sanrock said...

Ameliorate...