Shahkiel Akbar, 25, told U.K. paper the Chronicle, that he purchased the black socks from a Primark store in Newcastle, England, and found a note that was written in Chinese.
Akbar sought to have the contents of the letter translated, eventually relying on a phone app to translate the note into English. Akbar said the note "looked to be an SOS" and the 39-year-old letter writer was forced to make the socks that Akbar purchased.
"I knew it was something sinister when I saw it," Akbar told the paper. "I was really shocked. I do feel responsible now I have found this. I just thought I need to shout it out."A store spokesman told the media that the company believes the letter to be a hoax. A similar note was reportedly found in another pair of socks bought at the retail chain two weeks ago.
"The Primark name is being used to gain publicity for the plight of this individual," a Primark spokesman said to the media. "We think it is likely that the note was added after production and it is feasible it was added in transit or at a port."

62 comments:
Na them sabi! Linda ina kwana...
Hiaaaaan, oh Chim
#it wiLL onLy gEt beTTer
#iT must end iN prAise
I PRY HELP MEET DE PERSN。。TOMJERRYSWIT
Okay,seen
#Hajia Mufliat
The note might means nothing
PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^
Which kind news be this one
Strange world! Linda take note!
Please, just rushed the story, can someone explain to me.
Seen Lindaikeji dis is for u I really think it will be so disappointing and unfair for u to leave me out of dis years lib givway because I have been so consistence in dis blog since from day 1 but I have not received anything from u so pls grant my request by doing dis u have automatic save a soul pls
Dis is just lik giving a dog a bad name just to hang it.
Hmmmmm na wa o
Too many stories these days.. End time tinz
Pls bro don't be so cheap ok!!! Hustle 4 it like Juliet,Aboki,Nnenne Gorge,etc. Lol. Thank me leta.
Thats really unkind of primark
Seen...
Victoreke.blogspot.com
This early morning? Anyway, if only they could reach out to the Chinese person who needs help...
Lol, you are complaining, what about me nko??? Ever since nov/dec 2013 I became a LIB fan, I haven't even loaded #50 airtime free from Linda buh yet I visit her blog daily and even have her App on my phone.
Victoreke.blogspot.com
You sound so desperate and thirsty Fredy Obot. Learn how to fish so you wouldn't have to cry for fish one Linda Ikeji's blog like you're doing right now. Teri be also that you are the first to comment. Get a life man!
Linda,I have been reading your blog since 2011,but like I said,giveaway or not,I won't stop reading lib,because am stuck here,having said that...I need the give away like yesterday lol.
eyah..seen...Linda save his soul @fredy obot..dats wah life z abt
ONLY GOD KNOWS BEST
Don't get a job be waiting for giveaway. Shameless person @ Fred Obot
They should investigate to find out if its real or a hoax!!!
@ fredy Obot... Oga go and find work jo
Everybody be talking about giveaway..... Linda knows who to give
Also Check Vabadon's Blog
Why don't u pray to God for favour instead ?
Hmmmmm....if it true then is modern slavery..... if not is a scam
Lol ok some people want lib giveaway by force ooo linda better take note
Lolz...hahahahahahaha..Lib giveaway oooooo.
All I need is the regular 20k Linda.
Swaagcafe@gmail.com.
Thanks
A hoax or not, these forced labour claims should be investigated...
Ye kpa hahahahaha country hard Oh!!!!!!! this one you're up on Linda's case choi choi choi!!!!!!!!
Fredy can't you work? Abi Linda nah ur mama smh, Some people have turn this give away to something else
@ Fredy obot.. Pls get a real job & quit hustling a struggling sis. Grow up!!!
Its possible they toture workers and they have this kind of case in bandaglesh of treating workers unfairly
Professional beggars, stop it already. Lib readers read blogs more than they read their books or materials that will help them acquire skills. If N100k is your problem in 2015, then what you need is God and the HolySpirit to help direct your path in life. Pray more and you will receive idea on what you're called to do. Linda has paid the price. Pray your way to glorious destiny. Stop spending hours on Internet, pray, pray and pray your way through.
Fresh obot Linda is not obligated to do anything for you..so enough with the guilt trip and get your ass up and go to work. I've never gotten any lib giveaway too and you don't see me bitching about it.
Linda. Pls stop this nonsense. Ppl just come in and post rubbish just for the money. Set up a charity and and do something remarkable with the money than pay nitwits that cluster the comments pages with garbage. Better five sensible followers than fifty ignoramuses
Maybe....
Free promo for Primark. Linda are you sending them an invoice?
@Fred Obot, I want to believe that as you, there are also others who started when Linda started and till date have not won anything. I am not saying your request is out of point but be sensitive about it and stop sounding too desperate. Just believe and you will win even more than the lib giveaway...
U r a man my frnd go n hustle n get money instead of waiting on a woman (linda) to give u money,do u pple wnt to kill her? Tufia
Enter your comment...u don turn fine bara bcos of LIB give away
Hoax or not they should investigate, it wouldn't hurt a thing.
So? #amebo
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Am sure it could be a Publicity stunt. If it is real, may the person and others in same shoes be freed!
Hmmmmm....
#ONE OF A DOPE
Funny post really
Everyone now depends on Linda
Lwkmd
# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
If u don't get money from linda commit suicide ok?
U can commit suicide if you don't get any gift from linda..ok? An sure she will be happy to announce your obituary.
As in eh
Well said!!!
Enter your comment...haha
Its Sad that Ish like Forced labour is still happening.
What's the purpose of the letter
Primarks for once upgrade abeg, I was in ur shop d one in glasgow last September d shoe is already eating up now
This needs to be investigated! Period! http://www.bummyla.com
Na so