“I am still the president'' - Read Sepp Blatter's strong reaction to 8 year football ban | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 21 December 2015

“I am still the president'' - Read Sepp Blatter's strong reaction to 8 year football ban

Former FIFA president Sepp Blatter has responded to his 8year ban from football by FIFA's Independent Ethics Committee after the committee said he wrongfully paid 2million Swiss francs (£1.35m) to Michel Platini in 2011.

Despite the pair's protests that they did nothing wrong when Blatter paid the former UEFA president the money nine years after both men claimed it was originally due, Blatter was fined 50,000 Swiss francs or £34,000 and Platini 80,000 Swiss francs or £54,000 in addition to being banned.

Speaking at a press conference this morning in Zurich where he spoke German, English, French and Spanish in the space of five minutes, 79 year old Blatter wearing a plaster on his face, claimed that he was a victim, that he remains president of FIFA and that he will take his case to the court of arbitration for sport.
 “To say that it is a good day for me or for FIFA, it would be totally wrong” Blatter said. “You can identify me as an optimist. Together with a Swiss lawyer, we thought that we had convinced the panel, with Mr Eckert in the chair, about the situation with the payment. We thought that we were in a situation that was clear, with a clean sheet. “We had a oral contract, a gentleman’s agreement. This was made in 1998 after the World Cup. What astonished me now when I talk about the decision today is that they deny the existence of such an agreement. This agreement was confirmed by two meetings. We have the proof that this agreement existed. “Therefore the 2m Swiss francs paid to Platini went through the finance committee, the executive committee and was done in good terms. This is a donation. This is a gift. We avoided the issue of corruption. We did this because this arrangement was in the Fifa books. You can have oral contracts. Once again we go to the appeal committee. We go to Cas, the court of arbitration for sport. There might have been an administrative error, but this was nothing to do with the ethics. This cannot be proven. If it cannot be proven, then it cannot be guilty.” Blatter continued to defend himself, making reference to the late Nelson Mandela. “Mr Mandela was talking about humanity. Humanity needs no other significance than to respect each other and I say that to celebrate humanity through football was created by this great humanist. “I will fight,” he added. “I will fight for me and I will fight for Fifa. Suspended for what? I spoke with my lawyer this morning and we were not surprised that the notification was made first to the media. This committee has no right to go against the president of Fifa. The president can only be removed by the congress. Even suspended, I am still the president. I regret, but I am not ashamed. “I’m really sorry. I’m sorry that I am still somewhere a punching ball. As president of Fifa, I’m still this punching ball. I’m sorry for Fifa. I’m sorry for football. I’m also sorry about me. How I am treated in this world. “Human beings needs to be respected. It has created a lot of collateral damage in the families. My family was mocked. I regret I am this punching bag. FIFA is still working well, I congratulate Barcelona to winning the Club World Cup. I am a man of principles. These principles are: never take money that is not earned. Secondly, pay your debts. I’ll be back”

103 comments:

Na by force?

Not interested though

yeancah012 said...

In his dreams

Blatter pack well jor and do d needful

greedy man

we don hear

Bluffing lol... Power is sweet

Delusional.

Kai Oga Sepp Blatter,you've chopped enough na.Allow someone else too to have his own share of the international cake mbok

Delusional

make the man go rest joor

He thinks FIFA is a bloodline reign

make the man go rest joor

waffymercyjohnson said...

not my business

TOMJERRYSWIT said...

DE MAN HAS SPOKEN...TOMJERRYSWIT

Blatter should humbly bow out. He's done his bit for world football. Having to fight now gets me thinking if he's truly innocent. Can't say same for wicked and racist Platini.

success incentives said...

its a pity

Funmi Yusuf said...

Lool baba doesn't want to accept....

u don try oga. Learn from GEJ. go and rest

oga park well jhoo.... enjoy ur forced sabbatical leave

Papa Sepp is it by force ni??? Linda take note!

So this thing is everwhere sef? Corruption..!

This man should go and relax na... he is old terry4realg@gmail.com

He should take a chill seat joor, corrupt man. He should be ban forever sef.

Skies said...

D way dz people re sacking and firing dz football managers dz xmas i wonder o...

Blinkgs said...

That's too much now. KILODE...

HUMM no be small thing

What ever goes around comes around (Linda nwa nke chukwu )

Baba go sleep

Skies said...

D man z strong and willing he said he wil fight til d end...

I thought only Africans love to stay in power for ever na so blattter

He try

Gifted said...

go and rest blatter

ICHAKA said...

Let both men and other indicted FIFA officials go. FIFA as a body needs thorough cleansing.

We didn't expect him to agree that he did anything wrong.
Na there way.

Thanks for congratulation MR. PRESIDENT.. FCB till death

By force

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

TASEHUB said...

hmmmm....i don't even know what to believe again...

Story for d gods in olamide's voice

abdul said...

All na story... u banned aidy! pack ur load(s) nd go om

Ogbeni shutup! if you are not satisfied go to court of arbitration for sport and appeal

Good for him...

Babatunde said...

Is no one dere to punch dz old man hard in d face so he can go retire? Clings to power like intoxcated black presidents.

tosisochukwu said...

Hahahaha! He's jst kidding

So much like sepp blatters I which he will continue to be fifa president.

Raymon said...

Abeg me I no get time for all this jor, make them sort them slf out.

Make una help me tell dis man say that sit no be en papa sit

LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com said...

I love you linda LANRECHUKS@YAHOO.com

Mikkyjanec said...

"i will be back' and we will be waiting Sepp Blatter. Hope it works for you. Didnt really follow the beginning of the bribe thing

stanley said...

I strongly believe Blatter is related to Dasuki.Dasuki will soon mention his name in d arms deal.

Ishiagu and I'm proud

sophieluv said...

He should step down Biko... I watched it not too long.

Can't read o. Under the sun

keke driver said...

You're just completely shameless.

Young president said...

guy u want rule fifa till u die.

This dude needs to give it a rest! 79 years man, he should go carter to his grand kids and enjoy the money he stole.

FYNUCEE said...

Before nko he is still the president lol #Buso4#

Hand of the King.. said...

He is old enough to retire BABA Blatter please retire...At 79 Choi..Linda Much Love..

2m swiss franc a gift? Jesus! Better lies would b be better

linda take note

Moronfolu Kayode said...

Sir Daydreamer

hahahahaha blatter go sit down i need 20k 4 my gbese
TUNDEX SAX SAY SO

End time fifa president

These principles are: never take money that is not earned. Secondly, pay your debts. I’ll be back”... But he took money ..His principles came back at him.. jamesirwin14@gmail.com

Blatter relax joor. Is like he is not yet tired. Fifa mafia

Einstein Jr said...

This old man should go and rest now. Is fifa presidency his inheritance?

Oh you want to fight back, but you done old na abeg try go rest..!

edDREAMZ said...

This nigga be feeling as if na him get FIFA.

Oga presido, well done

edDREAMZ said...

This nigga be feeling as if na him get FIFA.

mr lade said...

Sep blatter shud respect his old age and retire frm football politics
He has made enoff money
before he ges to prisonn.
I am more concerned on our clueless caf president and aacting fifa president
Issa ayyatou
That guyy has no clue on how to move african football forward.

Their problem.. Seen

Dis dude is crazy..#rep 9ja..

Sepp Blatter is simply greedy. He has finally tarnished the image he built for almost several decades. He is no different from African leaders jor if not worst!

Use your hand retire nah ehhh Blatter.you never tier nii??

I AM SELFMADE said...

mr man go rest abeg

I like this old man's spirit but the fact that he doesn't want to let go alone tends to be revealing more skeletons. If I were him I would wash my hands of FIFA. The ovation could still be loud at this time you know?

Ambassadorial sturboness

sheyi's voice said...

Enter your comment...I don't just like d guy...I suspect him #buhari beware

STFU old man! Everyone knew you were corrupt! We needn't no soothsayer of any sort!... your cup don full at last.
Long Live LIB!

seen koyakasumu@gmail.com

Oga! Go and rest la

gozie said...

End of the road for them

Enter your comment...they should drag him by his hair outta that office

loool

I love his guts but it's quite unfortunate dat his guts won't save him from dis mess.

They should not give this man 8 years ban alone, they should make it forever... Linda am watching you.. Oladele Messi

BELLO STEPHEN O. said...

BABA GO AND REST.

blatter, a dreamer.

dapgbemis said...

ok ooo

First LADY. said...

Linda please approve my comment.

did dis man fought Mayweather ?? wats d plaster for ? Nigga

attention seeker #

Hahhaha proud blatter

liz swt 16 said...

Ds old man has bin fifa president since I was in primary sch. Haba even if he did notin wrong, he shud jst step down jor, na only him waka com???

OMG... I'M A WINNER YAAAYY... Ovickyfun@yahoo.com

victOria nwOfOr said...

If it is an african man that's there everybody will be saying africans are power mongers see as latter is rubbishing that assertion

Dear LIBers,
Complements of the season and congratulations to our 2015 winners of the giveaway alongside thanking linda ikeji for her kindness so far as she sure shows some appreciation to her readers and fans which is a good thing.
I'm using this opportunity to unveil my identity as Vivian reginalds, (formerly ~D great anonymous), it's been some what amazing being masked and as such I enjoyed it while it lasted for the 5 years I've been an ardent reader and contributor. But the disadvantages has been the fact that ‎you never really get noticed when the gains flow in.
Fortunately, the fun is still constant with LIB and as such, an addiction comes with it.
Have a happy holiday.
-D great anonymous now Vivian Reginalds.

When is FIFA run as a monachy system of govt ??

passions said...

Ok noted

Snow white said...

Platini take heart

Eyaaa

Corruption kills if you don't kill it, it will kill you.......... Love from Russia federation

Victor Emeka Isaac said...

This old man is just too funny....Biko he should go and rest jare

Also Check Vabadon's Blog

He planned to stay forever ni