Woman shares a story about how a company took back job offer over her refusal to take out her braids | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday, 24 November 2015

Woman shares a story about how a company took back job offer over her refusal to take out her braids

Lara Odoffin shared the post on Facebook, which was accompanied with a letter from the company. Read her story below:
So after being accepted for a position within this company, they have taken back the offer of a position on the grounds that if I do not take my braids out. Naturally I simply cannot work for the company. This type of discrimination should not still be happening in this day and age and any establishment still condoning such practices deserve to be shamed and criticised. Being a black woman means that to have a long term hairstyle that stays neat is always going to be a problem. Having braids that last for 2-4 months and can be packed neatly and styled to however a workplace requires is the solution to this problem. No workplace has any right to forbid you from this. This is discrimination and I am disgusted that I had to be subject to such behaviour in this 21st century. Please share. It is not okay. 

In a second update, she writes:
I thought i'd post a status to save time answering questions.
Firstly I'd like to say thank you to everyone for the support. What I intended to be a vent of my feelings towards the company and maybe be shared a couple of times has exploded and touched/angered a lot of people in way I genuinely could never have imagined.
I am not currently naming the company (as much as i'd like to right now out of indignation and anger) because I do not intend to destroy someones livelihood and business, and I don't really want a lawsuit on my hands either... however it does not deter from the fact now that I have chanced upon an opportunity to correct blatant ignorance and discrimination, and it is a fact that I certainly will keep going until it is put to rest. If it does result in me having no choice but to completely expose the company, I have no problem in doing so.
This policy needs to be eradicated completely, there is no room for such rules in this day and age- across any sector. More than anything it just made me upset. I had the right experience, they were happy to have me... it was just about my hair. Kind of silly really. I will be speaking to a lawyer about this tomorrow and will be contacting the company. As I have now learnt social media is a very powerful thing and I would not want to misuse it!
Again, thank you very much for the surprising but amazing level of support, I will keep you posted.
It has really made a difference so please do keep sharing! xxx

119 comments:

SHE DIDN't WANT TO WORK IN THE FIRST PLACE. END TIME ATTITUDE

Black Belle said...

Sad

Then take it off na, the job no dey you important. Don't even want to read through jor

That vuvuzela P guy

We are looking for a new househelp. She should send her resume

I reserve my comments on dis. Linda take note!

SHUTUP! I have been asked before to cut my hair (when I had afro) just cos of a customer service job. What do you know? Every small thing they will call racism.

Hi Lara,

You r beautiful.... don't mind dem.

Just hit me up.. am giv u a job..

Sincerely Me! :*

You prefer the braids to the job and in life there's always a sacrifice for anything worthy and considered good. So Y complain? Nigerian girls have bcom so fake these day they don't cee any reason to be any atom of real.

You prefer the braids to the job and in life there's always a sacrifice for anything worthy and considered good. So Y complain? Nigerian girls have bcom so fake these days they don't cee any reason to be any atom of real.

ATTENTION SEEER, EVERY JOB HAS IT'S OWN REQUIREMENTS. SAME WAY SOME JOBS DEMAND YOU SHAVE YOUR BEARDS (NPF), KEEP A SHORT HAIR ( AIR HOSTESS) ... Etc

She has never been hungry. Her eye never see "oba" Or, put simply, she has no kids to feed and she has no bills.

It's simple! U either abide by the rules u met on ground or find another job

I wear a beard and would I cry discrimination if I am asked to shave it for a job?! Hell nah, black people should stop making EVERYTHING about race. It ain't!!

Girlfriend,if u come naija where no jobs,u go take that braids off sharp sharp!!!

awww! may God bless her with a better job offer, love disposition towards the issue, she wasn't doing it to get back at the company, but to help other employees take a stand as to what sort of treatment they should accept from their employers.

Hunger never nab you that's why!
If not you for start plait uju ASAP
For this country wey job hard na en you dey show levels?

So sad.

7 powers you didn't know your vagina has

I Have Slept With Too Many Men, I’m Getting Scared

How to be the best daughter-in-law to your husband's mother

For Single Ladies - 3 important factors to consider before dating an unemployed man

White Americans want everything their own way and still our local people will be dying to intimate these white folks. Isn't clear they don't like you as a black person and don't respect you as a human and you still want to be like them. Pleaseeeeee black people let's be ourself and forget about these people. I'm minding my own business

If you love your braids, keep them.

OKORO UPGRADED

Sometimes we have to be objective before taking things to heart,their company rules say they don't want braids,their company,their rules,if you cannot adhere then get another job,I don't see anything discriminating here,is same as when a company doesn't allow pencil pant suits for guys,or bright colored suits for ladies except it's black gray or navy blue,your hair doesn't match their cooperate image finish,I have done a lot of modeling jobs where the client said they wanted my natural hair no weaves or braids,it's what they wanted,it's the image they want to keep,it's like wearing native in the north even though you work in a cooperate environment versus wearing cooperate in the south,don't take it to heart,it's their image,their company,their rules,and they said t to you upon accepting offer before resumption,don't make a mountain out of it,there are 10,000 people looking for workout there who would not mind taking of their braids,so if it bothers you and you're uncomfortable with it,then move on to the next job,that's the problem with a lot of us,we just do solidarity without taking a step back and putting yourself in their shoes,one day you would have your own company,your rules would also sound funny to someone else,but guess what,they will be your rules and your company,save your legal fees and send your Cv all over again tonight. Yolo

she never stay for house.foolish girl

It happens!

Hmmm, every company get policy,code of conduct, dress and colour codes etc...If they are paying u salary,benefits,allowances/whatsoever and they want you to represent them well without you looking like a hooker,then pls take off the goddamnhair!!

If u need de job u better remove de hair unless u don't need it blc if u re hungry u won't remember ur hair

What's wrong with her hair? Still wondering o

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#IT mUsT eNd iN prAise

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Hmmmm...

Definitely dis wasn't in Nigeria and if it was then d lady must come frm a well to do family. Biko wht wil cost her simply to do d needful?

If I get a fat juicy paying job, biko ask for any anytin askable I wil surely see to it as long as u don't ask me to kill another person.

Biko wht d heck is she talking abt if d coy is not comfortable wit wht they noticed they deserve to b respected and d needful carried and if not dat means she can not work there.

BELOVED LINDA&LIBER'S:
Kindly disregard and ignore ANY NEGATIVE&VINDICTIVE COMMENT'S made by IMPOSTOR'S using my ID name/Email address on dis blog.
NB: May d Lord bring judgement upon d person trying to tarnish my personality on dis blog - Amen! Whosoever u r, kindly desist frm dis act!

Ijanyimitch said...

But wait ooo! Does she think she can get away wit any law suit here in 9ja? That won't help

Hey. U need to sharrap n quit whining.
Their company, their rules.

The company have the right to decide what image they want their staff to present for their brand. If they were kind enough to make you an offer to take off your braid which they do not want to be associated with their corporate image, it means that it is you who is choosing between your bunch of artificial hair and a job offer. The question here is ,do you really need a job or you want to be noticed in a controversial circumstance?

Also, your move to speak to a lawyer would do more damage than harm to others.

That company would stay off black applicants.

Not for or against any of the party...

Hmm

madam be like say u be dangote pikin

Very sad indeed.

Among the rules and regulations? OK

So this shrewd rules still exists? Nawah for some people

What is she saying?dats their policy.uniform

Lol...she never start

Lawyer about what ? Fine they discriminated but that's their rule you need to respect that too. Na you build the organization for them? If someone offers you a job and then decides not to again, then how is that wrong? The organization has every right to how they want their workers to be. It's just like working in a bank here in Nigeria, there are certain outfits you can't wear and certain hairstyles you can't do so please, take a chill pill.

Pls young girl , that your artificial wool hair is bushy and did not look nice . Dont be deceived. You do not own the company with them. Your face look small and the hair is something else . You are not going to the club or to a concert. If you need the job, get rid of the hair it is irritating to them.

I dont understand her, what discrimination? I dont see any form of discrimination here, stop making things look like its a black/white issue.A company has a dress code, if you not willingly to stick with it, you move! I work in a company that only accepts colour black, blue and grey outfits, you dont see me wearing yellow and turning it into a black/ white discrimination issue.
Mscheeeew

few seconds ago
Blacks and victim mentality. A company policy is a company policy, if they are not okay by U, then go create ur own company and even go nude if U want. I hope she will fool herself by trolling and revealing the name of the company , and get slammed with lawsuit. Then the crack she smoked will fade from her eyes. Idiot!

Dear Lara, unfortunately you didn't tell us the job you applied for.But get this clear,the employer has the right to withdraw the employment letter if they find out you are not the right person for the job even if after you have been issued a letter of appointment. This is not discrimination as you called it but professional ethics- dress codes.you either agree to work by the rule of that particular job description or u will give way for someone else.No too way about that.We need to do things in moderation and accept the employers details.tks.

Remove the hair period, if you need the job.

...i also lost a job after i had undergone a week training,in which they also asked me to change my hair from dis style u r carrying exactly to something smaller (i obliged n made ghana weaving ) n den i got d letter of appointment which stated dat i will work 7 days a week from 7am-9pm for d next 12 months bfor i get 2 wks leave...my parents n family rejected it...wetin i go do, popsy said except m ready to leave his house n stay on my own...right now m nt even feeling gud bt life has to go on...

A lot of professional organizations dont allow braids like wise police and military. Its against the dress code. There is nothing like in 21st century. You have to get on board. And i agree with that. Braids does not look professional. If she really wanted the job she would hv removed the braids.

stargirl said...

Dos nt seem like u ar really dying 2work 4 them anyway

She doesn't hv a point to me

What is the name of the company so that I will boycott them. What rubbish.

Sue their a*rses girl!
Olly

nunulicious said...

most professionals have a dress code. a doctor for instance going into the wards should not wear her hair long or braids flying loosely. an engineer needs to have shirt tails tucked in with appropriate boots. if the office says no braids, then is it for health and safety reasons? or they have also stated that its cos of their customers so wetin you want again? attention seeker na im you be!

Multistreams said...

Why are you angry about this. Their client comes first and they mentioned that their clients would have reservations about your hair do.
Pls look elsewhere for a job or change your hair style

Nice respond from the girl.

People are taking this liberty/freedom/democracy thing too far , and as a license for indiscipline and stupidity.

Want to make money online,but with little effort? Am here to give you some details,if interested,pls,only gmail subscribers online,the info is free of charge,send a mail to my gmail account :digitaldoryx@gmail.com....am a fresh graduate of uniben.....only gmail only

Braids..wat company's clients won't like that..weird but the company has rights too sha ~ Bane

lami said...

Hmmmmmm, what is wrong with the world today these days..

She should keep shut that may be some of their policy or may be it is not good for that post. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

She doesn't need a job.......

Okay ooooo! I guess it's a one man business .

Companies dont want black women even black men dont want black women. It is a wa oh

YOU ARE NOT READY TO WORK.

she is not yet ready for a job,thats her problem.

Well since you won't name the company enjoy the sharing and attention but it won't make more of a difference LARA.

I believe that you should share the company so they can be shamed and criticized like you wanted

SIGNED MIMI FROM MIAMI said...

Shutup its not discriminatory. Certain professions have their dress codes n u must respect dat. Just like lawyers can wear braids during call 2 bar

The company's policy on braids is xo not right,,,,,, bur babe,,,,,, u sha never find job ...... Acc. Never dry ,,,,

U can't be serious for job.just like what ICE T refer on his message.

Karlsson said...

It's a company rule, if you can't abide by the rules then go start ur own company or work in another company. Nothing discriminatory here pls. Black women like complaining alot pls. It's not ur father's or family company abeg. It's a simple company rule, nobody saw you before they made the rule n they can't just bend it for you just so they don't appear racists. Stupid girl

Ubanagum

Well, although i sympathise with you, but let's look at it this way; A job offer is an offer and acceptance thing. If they say they dont want braids, they must have a reason and if you dont like it, dont accept the job because you cannot dictate to a company on how to run the company since the company is not owned by you. Maybe people steal in the company and keep stolen items inside their braids and they dont want that to happen again. I remember attending a secondary school where i was asked to cut my long hair and wear a low cut hair if i want to attend the school because that is the rule and regulations of the school. You are only allowed to make your hair after u have graduated from the school. I see it as discipline instead of discrimination. Even in the army, new recruits are asked to cut their hair skin-cut. I attended a university where they will tell all female students not to wear braids during exams because of exam malpractice. Some people hide answers to some questions in little papers and hide them in their braids. So the company must have a solid reason. Why not find out the reason first before taking them to court.

What had braids got to do with doing your job uggh Oyinbo sha

So what's the point of all the talking and ranting if she's not going to name the company?? Ode, then just shut up and go to sleep.

That's unacceptable

You are not serious. Working for the company is not by force. As long as what they want is not illegal but a policy choice. Were you made by God with braids? Why are you just creating something out of nothing.

Remi Abioye said...

Sincerely I will say this is your own opinion and you have a right to it. Similarly the company also has its own policy and standard of engagement. It is left for either to compromise its position to accommodate the other. Go ahead with seeking a legal opinion.

Remi Abioye said...

Sincerely I will say this is your own opinion and you have a right to it. Similarly the company also has its own policy and standard of engagement. It is left for either to compromise its position to accommodate the other. Go ahead with seeking a legal opinion.

djusted. She's still enjoying her parents' cash inflow. Perhaps she's thos rich men's children brought up in the western world, trying to apply that freedom cultrue here. Too much freedom is lack of control and the bible has taught us self control. She lacks one. Thos law suits trying to bend business to accept just anybody including gay people as normal won't work in Africa. Go and work where you school which I believe not in Africa cos you don't sound like one that was brought up in Africa. We, in Africa, have values. Farewell! Happy to miss you in Africa. Don't come and currupt our system. Not allowed.

Your a big fool, if u can't abide by the rules then go and open your own company. Goat. You think it's easy

Well is deir policy

Get their ass whooped....

Get a lawyer pls

Strong Mind said...

Go girl!

djusted. She's still enjoying her parents' cash inflow. Perhaps she's thos rich men's children brought up in the western world, trying to apply that freedom cultrue here. Too much freedom is lack of control and the bible has taught us self control. She lacks one. Thos law suits trying to bend business to accept just anybody including gay people as normal won't work in Africa. Go and work where you school which I believe not in Africa cos you don't sound like one that was brought up in Africa. We, in Africa, have values. Farewell! Happy to miss you in Africa. Don't come and currupt our system. Not allowed.

What is the company's name? They need to be called out. Sing india arie'"i am not my hair, i am not my skin" to them racists.

What does braids has to do with the job?

Lara you are not serious! So if the company has its dress standard, then because of you, they will change it abi? If you are better off in your narcissism, then why are you looking for a job; or willing to serve under a boss? Why not be your own boss and wear all the braids in the world, since Braids has become your sole reason to earn a living? Perhaps this company accepts you and decides to relocate you to another town in furtherance of the work, you will still come to the internet to blast them! Some companies thrive on dress code. What of Nigerian Banks? Banks have their dress code: there are some colours you cannot wear as a bank staff. There are some styles of corporate shirts, skirts and gowns you can't wear as a bank staff. So is that maltreatment too? What of the film industry? Ladies abide by the dress sense of the roles they will play in the movie. Some ladies are even asked to cut off their hair for a role in a movie etc. So Lara, what is your stress? You are an ingrate! People like you shouldn't be given any job because you are definitely bigger than company ethics and would cause problems for them. You are fortunate enough to get a job in this recent harsh times and you loose it simply because the company wants you to look smart? For ignorantly exposing your defiance on the internet,you have done yourself a disservice bcos I doubt if any company would want to hire you.

Lara, you are just an idiot. stay home and keep searching maybe one day you will get a job where guys are allowed to sag and ladies are allowed to come topless. its trending isn't it?.

your employer owns d job, knows his goal, knows the kind of image to portray to achieve it, u don't come in and bend the rule of a company that is not yours, my friend give way for people WEY need job abeg!!

You cannot dictate for your employer.

Please name the company so they can be exposed for the closet racists they are.

I prefer u fight for a more rewarding course, u can't n shouldn't 'dictate' for an establishment on how to run... except u r ready to tell the police force to allow its men leave their beard! For peace' sake, it's their code!!! You should fight for #justiceforlily, the girl child sexually abused n murdered by her stepmother. My suggestion though.

As much as I'd like to stand with you Lara, I'm sorry. This could be a stipulated rule in the company and exceptions can't be made for you. Sorry. Everything shouldn't be summed up to discrimination.

I prefer u fight for a more rewarding course, u can't n shouldn't 'dictate' for an establishment on how to run... except u r ready to tell the police force to allow its men leave their beard! For peace' sake, it's their code!!! You should fight for #justiceforlily, the girl child sexually abused n murdered by her stepmother. My suggestion though.

Kponskii said...

She's not ready to work. Make she siddon there dey form James Bond. In a corporate environment, u need to abide to certain ethics. Next plz!

Sweetheart, It seems you are new to gaining employment and not ready for it. Every organization has the right to have ethics and policy that best suits/ represent them. If they believe your dress code does not work for them and does not represent their image, they have every right to withdraw their offer of employment. They were even very nice to ask you to take it out, some Companies wont have even offered you the job. Wake up girl and face reality rather than cry discrimination.

The shame is on you my darling not them. They simply have standards that you don't meet. Why not join Derenle in the entertainment industry, that way, you can keep your lovely braids and no one will disturb you for it.

Whattttt? 7am-9pm for 12 solid months. My dear dat is slavery. Good u didn't take up d job.
Some employers sha - Mean to d core.

Linda...please, this lady in question is just so stupid to be ranting here with a company business policy on dress code. If the company is withdrawing the offer of employment on that grounds, then change the dress code or forget the job...shekinah. You can't dress like an engineer on coverall and walk into the court room to represent a client on trial or walk into the banking hall to assume a role as a cashier.

Dear "braids" lady, it is in this 21st century of terrorism, insurgents, kidnapping and name it that such dress code needs to be enforced in sensitive organizations. Who knows what could be hidden in a packed braids. Who knows the agent of evil in the name of fashion. So please my dear, come of it and abide by the rule of the game.

She should have named the company so I can boycott. Everybody trying to erase black people either from behind the barrel of a gun or by other means. Would a white woman be told that she can't dye her hair blond? A cosmetic choice is not dress code.

baby cee said...

You must think your name is Zendaya.no go comot braids. Can't u just weave your natural hair down.

Niyi, u need to be educated.
We already live in a society where young girls can no longer be proud of who they are. They have to change themselves to conform. Body image issues, insecurities on different levels. And here u are talking about code of blah blah.

Its ppl like u that let this happen. U have got to be a man.
I did a research on 7 year old kids and showed them a pic of a women who looked pale, blad and cachetic as a result of cancer treatment. And then showed them a pic of a woman who was vibrant looking and a little on the heavy side. Prior to showing the pics, the kids were asked if they knew what cancer was and one of them said her grandma died of cancer. But guess which pic they liked better- the pic of the woman with cancer. Because she is slim and thats what they see of better on tv. How sad.

So my dear, diversity is what makes the human race. These days many women look alike with weaves reaching thier boms and eyebrows drawn to their ears.

So keep your talk about company policy. All a company has to care about is cleanliness, geart work ethics and so on. Not my hair style.

The problem with our country. Closed minded, wanna be.

Discrimination is illegal. She ia being discrimated against because she is black. Which other race install braids if not the balck race.

U dont need to expose the tattoo of your body and expect employment from a company and later u call it 21st century, u better follow the norms and ethics of appearance being lay down by the coy. U dont need the job

Mue1 said...

I hate how black folks are fond of playing the race card at every given instance. It's pathetic. The company's policy does not allow braids, it's really that simple. It has nothing to do with the 21st century or your ethnicity. It's a blanket rule. either comply or find another job. Black people take advantage of and abuse everything and that's why our home countries and communities in the diaspora are in disarray.

If your employers feel that their clients will have reservations about your braids then change it or get another job. You are so inconsiderate and selfish

All these stupid young ladies we have nowadays sef .... Mtcheeew.. What is the real essence of this write up? I suspect it's just to gain relevance somehow or to get some publicity.. The name of the company you never mentioned, the job you are not doing , so what do you want us to do about it ... When you go to school to gain knowledge pls try and gain some little wisdom too, no matter how small . If you get a job in the military tell them you want to be wearing your private clothes to work.. I don't know how non acceptance of braids in a work place has become discrimination, cos every org is free to have their own work ethics and dress rules, and if it doesn't suite you then get out and find somewhere else and stop claiming some stupid rights on social media...Ode oshi........

Well said

Thank you on the race card!! Linda why haven't posted my comment like others?

Hunger never wire you. When hunger wire you, you go remove the braids and run collect the job. Abeg give me the job if u no want. I ready to scrap my hair abolo self if thats what they want so that i can put food on my table

Tosin Seyi-Ajibola said...

Uhmmm becos of braids! nawah oo

http://lifeissueswithtosin.blogspot.com.ng/2015/11/bathroom-hot-waterplumbing-warning.html

On point... Good advise for the "braids girl"

Nigerians and their stupidity, it may not be racism but it is discrimination. As long as you are qualified for a job. You are within your merit to get that job. I am sure she is not in naija and trust me she is within her right to sue. Such discriminatory practices should not be condoned. She should sue. And no it is not crying like a big baby. It is called being within your rights. Because naija ppl dey accept any kind of nonsense for work. Dats why such discriminatory practices still continue. If that company doesn't conform, they will be fined. This is definitely a winnable lawsuit and she has my support.

It is because of your hunger in Nigeria you will take anything. I don't blame you it's not your fault. It is our corrupt officials.
She will get another job in less than a month. It's not Nigeria. That's why sometimes I prefer Bella naija because the mentality of people that come here is sjocking