Security coming back to Lagos! Ambode commissions Helicopters, gun boats, Armoured Personel Carriers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 November 2015

Security coming back to Lagos! Ambode commissions Helicopters, gun boats, Armoured Personel Carriers

In a bid to enhance security in the state, the Lagos state governor, Akinwunmi Ambode today commissioned some security apparatus worth N4. 765 billion. Among the items commissioned include 100 4-Door Salon Cars, 55 Ford Ranger Pick-Ups, 10 Toyota Land Cruiser Pick-Ups, 15 BMW Power Bikes/Cycles, 100 Power Bikes, Isuzu Trucks, 3 Helicopters , 2 Gun Boats

5 Armoured Personnel Carriers Revolving Lights, Siren and Public Address System, Vehicular Radio Communicators Security Gadgets, including Bullet Proof Vests, Helmets, Handcuffs, etc Uniforms, Kits, etc; and Improved Insurance and Death Benefit Schemes...

131 comments:

HE TRIED SMALL

Wow

G
O
O
D

N
E
W
S

Long live Ambode

That vuvuzela P guy

Ngene Olivia said...

Nothing spoil

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt bETTer
#IT MuST eNd In PraiSe

EL Chapo said...

Hmm ambos man.. u try oo..

Well done sir...love this effort

Seriously.? Still won't stop an innocent civilian from being robbed dis nyt. Do something fast, u guys are even acting too late.

The Therapist said...

Wow that's great

Finally...Ur head is getting there.

Habibat Idris said...

Pics+Video of a slim Warri babe in hot sexcapade with 3 guys

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Nice one but...

Trustour corrupt and pervert police officer's mostly those in authority to keep some of dis tins for their personal use.

I just pray all dis tins wouldn't b in vain and all those highway crimes wil b a tin of d past in Lagos.

This is lovely. Thank you God for everything. My life is just beautiful.

Nice try. Keep it up.

EP Chapo said...

Wike learn oo... nt to b fight ameachi

Dats aiit,,I pray lagos dey work well

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

Our police men are animals. All these will be wrecked in no time or "stolen" by "robbers". KD

edwardpress said...

THE REAL PLOT?
they are for the delivery of
kpomo,kunu,oogi and dodo

Yes they order that stuff in my part of the country
instagram @edwardpictures

Well done Ambode

Wow! The colour of those cars make sense.The business of security is one that shouldn't be handled with kids glove

3rd war war.

Irresponsible police men shld use it well so they last...nice gesture

SEEN...

Amen o. I hope dey work

AMBOOOOO AMBO......

King HoodBoss said...

Can these be maintained? Nigerian police can drive cars without maintenance because they didn't buy it with their money. Look at most of those trucks use by them... front lights, sides and more damaged. I often see them at night drinking all manners of alcohols and afterwards... they drive and destroy government properties.

Nice move, this will go a long way in stemming the high crime rate in Lagos.

charles JR said...

Mehn this is huge Nigeria should wake up and do things like this, especially south east states

No Name for Haters said...

Ok, so do the haters have to say. ???????? cant hear you. Protect us your excellency. keep the good work going. my votes and financial resources no waste. deliver us a safe state.

Hmmmmmm, nice one there!

Ohci said...

Yeah dear,nice reporting,please put ,(comma)after the Armoured Personal Carriers(APC's),you also forgot to mention the new Rapid Response Squad(RRS) logo launched.
We may have just seen our first 'STATE POLICE'launch in Nigeria in recent times.

Bobby4real said...

Good move!

Hmmmmmm nice one there!

Dis 1 na wen d aircondinoner blow d police dem go sleep forget thief. Wetin convern me sef if u like buy dem James Bond car

Kelvin said...

If only the police will put them to good use and also other state governors should do same.

This is commendable but the problem has always been the maintenance culture..... Successive govt have donated cars & bikes to the police, but they get dilapidated in just 6months!....you will be shocked what they will look like in 6months

Lagos is about to start working again...

Oh Ambode can steal for Africa. lol Lagosians can be dumb. He intentionally allowed crime rate to go up so he can pocket 2bnof the contract sum. lol. Lagosians ha you have laid your beds you must lie on it

Good one. Hope it would be utilized well.

jay3030 said...

Nice nice!!!!!

Whoahhhh!!!!dat's good,hehehehe tough time 4 dese robbers una shld better repent now or else jail awaits u all......

jay3030 said...

Nice nice!!!!!

See money wasting. . Pls secure jobs for the jobless... they are the ones going into robbery..

All these cars will be useless in a months time... Idiots

DPOs don get official cars. Dey ll neva use dse ones to fight crime or maintain it. Or is ds Dubai?

liz swt 16 said...

Lagos state has set d pace!

Buchi Jakes said...

the problem with government procurement in Nigeria has always been in the area of maintenance. Am highly skeptical of the condition of these operational machines say in 4 years time. Very apt right now with the security challenge in Lagos State at the moment.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Watch out!

Ambode is set to become the best governor Lagos ever had!!!!

Excellent stuff

Beautiful this will help fast cars nd shit thief come run make I see lol!

Nice one!
Maintenance is another thing

some people don HAMMA

Wow! Very good.

That's a good move! Inception of better days ahead.

Na by like that? The cops will wreck these in days. What Nigeria needs is competent cops not more equipments. Competent cops then good equipments, cos a good equipment in the hands of a useless cop is rubbish!

Black Poisedon said...

LAPD! Ambode is working!!!

This is quite impressive and commendable. Thumbs up Sir!!

Good job Ambode I hope d toll free number will work. valentino_nero@yahoo.com

I think Ambode is now arriving:-) before he was coming. Now he is close by to the Lagosians

Bull crap...is that the problem...pls do road ant stop tanker n provide jobs....

I rlly hope I get to c one of dos...Make e no be fubu.

all dz reckless officers...they will wreck the cars soon

MISSVEE

Yay! Lagos Police. They will yeye the whole body of the vehicles with their yeye driving :D. Anyway, I sincerely hope all of these will translate into a safer lagos for us all

aproko manager said...

End time lagos ghen ghen

You know what's up jare.

Maximus said...

Wowwww. I hardly comment on this page. But seeing this after waiting for Ambode to arrive. Am feeling the funky freaking governor.
Now let the police wipe the a..es of the robbers away from Lagos.
One more thing, the governor should endeavor to improve on the allowance given to the policemen and other forces involved.
God bless Nigeria

When there's no road where the fast car wan dey speed? Inside traffic??

Only if nigerian police wil use dem well
We truly hv lots of irresponsible & reckless individuals as police officers
Nice one from Ambode
Kudos

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

smiles23 said...

Nothing like tough time jor. Even is helicopter is flying above who will they see when there's no light on the ground? Or is it when road don block with traffic that police will be "speeding" with these new cars?

Na true oh, this is another side of this development. How is this going to solve traffic gridlock in the state?

Do these cars fly..! There is traffic ooooo.!

Do these cars and bike fly..! There is traffic na..!!

police cars no day last. i give them 1month u will nt know this fine cars again

good job

Let's tackle the holes on the roads and whatever else that's causing the horrible traffic in Lagos..then we move to this one.
Unless this ones are for lekki, banana island et all.

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

Oh!

I hope dis wil surely go a long way to curb all d crime activities wehav b experiencing.
Nice one frm Lagos state govt.

Hmmm but won't this just increase Lagos traffic? With these plenty cars .. Lol

Samurai Bengkok said...

It's amazing I Want to drive it : D

Google Kejam said...

Wow! Very good.

Bode said...

I am impressed. This is a step in a right direction, clap.

DAN 1 said...

BUHARI EFFECT ON AMBODE JUST KEEP UP TRYING WE GO VOTE U FOR SECOND TERM

David Daudu said...

Nice one Ambos....
*the Naija photographer*

Bang Zendy said...

nice article i like your post bro : D

smiles23 said...

when some people who knows the benefits of these projects are busy commending the Gov, some fake people here are still saying trash. what would you have done differently if you were to be the governor of the state. this is a great development to the state and Lagos will always be a pace setter. Kudos to you Governor Ambode. ride on!!!!!

Standing up and clapping, this is right step in the right direction, great.

Aguji'egbe said...

The amount expended on these security equipments (very important though), could have empowered many Lagosians in many ways. create many Jobs for the "crime and criminality tended". I bet you that after six months, take an inventory of these assets and some of them will be written off. then talk of police law-less-ness and intimidation of the populace whom they are meant to protect with these vehicles.we are watching.......

smiles23 said...

when some people who knows the benefits of these projects are busy commending the Gov, some fake people here are still saying trash. what would you have done differently if you were to be the governor of the state. this is a very good development in the state and Lagos will always be a pace setter. Kudos to you Governor Ambode. ride on!!!!!

up gov ambode lag will experience good things

Anaigbo said...

One Strategically installed CCTV Camera does a job of 5thousand policemen combined,it doesn't sleep nor blink, Waste of resources. Two years later they will sell those carsto Oko-ashawo them:)

Anaigbo said...

How did France know and traced those terrorists with Toyota cars, Boots and Helicopters?

munachimso said...

After buying all these,will it change d mentality of the police man who will drive this? Dead brain in a nice car

All foreign cars. What a shame. When Nigeria makes cars now. Even the government themselves won't help grow the economy.

Lol. Thank you.

He has been talking amd commisioning since,pls get to work already.

kings11ng said...

Eko for show.. After the photo op we will start looking for this cars months later

Oh lord!! Get ready to be bullied by some power drunk cops Lagos!! *takes cover*

smiles23 said...

when some people who knows the benefits of these projects are busy commending the Gov, some fake people here are still saying trash. what would you have done differently if you were to be the governor of the state. this is a very good development in the state and Lagos will always be a pace setter. Kudos to you Governor Ambode. ride on!!!!!

Your last sentence has said it all. State police. It's about time!

All Dis fine cars for Dis retard Lagos police men?. I give d cars jus 2 Weeks and dey are wrecked.

naijacourtstories said...

God bless Gov Akinwunmi Ambode. This is clearly an eloquent testimony to the fact that Gov Ambode and his team are ready to do the bidding of the citizens at all times. Kudos!

Way nonsense u all are talking about. No body has asked what happened to the old vehicles. I was expecting to see machines/ power bikes so as to escape traffic for immediate rescue. Also can't ya all see d clean fords, way ever happen to peageot built for nija roads. This vehicles can only operate island and few places in mainland

Omotayo said...

Lol. Tresh I wonder oh.

So help us O Lord. Linda take note!

Does this really worth being celebrated, people have made several comments on incessant robbery @ Onikan,

Besides, we just helped some countries by importing these from their economy and drain our own foreign reserve, Mr President, when are we going to start producing these in Nigeria?

Gbam.

In the midst of the traffic? Robbers don vamoose b4 u reach crime scene, abeg sell of some cars nd buy them Skateboard.

Abeg, 90% will be used for escort service

Gov Ambode ,great job on the procurement to elevate the police force ,(I am an APC member ) but my main issue is ...why red carpet and invitation of the presidency to commission cars ,the police need adequate planning and training to use this equipment effectively, almost every top gov leader have traveled out of country to western world why do you spent money on ceremony to commission cars purchased with tax payers money and state revenue ,"I hope you won't invite Obama to commission you next procurement " the lagos state citizens that use WOODEN crossover BRIDGE for their daily activities needs urgent help" some of the bridge was build before tinubu administration, nothing was done about it , life of the masses and poor in lagos matters, I don't live around this locations, but please they need help.

@tresh..why don't u stupid people ever welcome a noble gesture for once..u were all complaining when he did nothing bout the insecurity in Lagos, now that he has done something a human being like u is still against his deed..wtf

We shall see

One step at a time ...What do you knw ape

At least he's doing something brainless fools you are...

This is war! Hope it help though!

Colors should be green white green. Also Nigeria has issues with being consistent. They start something but never finish it

CLASS CAPTAIN said...

ALL I CAN SAY IS AMBODE YOU HAVE TRIED BUT I GIVE THIS GADGETS 1 YEAR AND THEY WOULD BE AS OLD AND DIRTY AS HELL. PLEASE TELL THOSE WHO WOULD USE IT TO DRIVE WITH SENSE. AND FINALLY YOU FORGOT THE MOST IMPORTANT MOUNTING CCTV CAMERAS AROUNG LAGOS. GBAM!!!

Kay said...

Private plate number for police?

Train our police men n provide money for fuel o, cars won't move on their own.

Someone has hammered on this deal :-).

I believe equipping our police should be done, but providing them just equipments is not the only thing they require to police the state/nation properly. They need to be properly trained, re-oriented, properly compensated (cash in hand and other benefits, such as life assurance policy). Their barracks should be renovated etc. I like the comment on CCTV, this is a productivity tool. We do not have the number of policemen required to police lagos state so CCTV would be helpful.

By the way, when were these things ordered for them to have arrived so fast. My theory, "some people had a script, and by deliberately increasing crime rate in Lag, they opened up a pathway for this kind of mega spending for the Lagos state governor". If there was no increase in crime in the last few weeks, we would not be approving this kind of spend when there are other pressing issues with our state and nation at large.

End time boy

Emma Ubah said...

That's if they don't turn it to their private cars

@ anon 8.33, u sound as brainless as the lagosians who voted this club hopper! And yes this is all a way of embezelling funds to his greedy fat head self! All these cars are just waste when we have more pressing issues in the state. One would even be expecting more bikes than cars.

The reckless use of vehicles and equipment by the Nigerian Police Force should be addressed. I dare say that this gesture by ambode will amount to waste. This gesture in my opinion,is not sustainable,as there will be abuse.

Damilare Olatunji said...

Let's see out come...

Egunje will be increased now to fuel car... dee

The only governor that is bold enough to implement what he has seen abroad. Other governors are cheats and corrupt.

With d bad roads in Lagos. Does cars won't last a year. Take a gud look at d brt buses. Some look like dump. Maintenance is Nigeria problem

MAINTENANCE MAINTENANCE should be the priority now,because it is a known fact average Nigerians lack maintenance culture...Kudos to the governor,great job..

Kentomah said...

Bullshit...We already know the vehicles would become official vehicles for the police ogas and their mostly cuddly housewives. Provide jobs. Keep the citizenry busy andcrime will reduce. Did sociologists teach you that there is a correlation between joblessness and crime?If we dig deeper now, we will discover that some billions were stolen as a result of this unnecessary purchase.

O.N. Progeny said...

Kudos. But all these have been put in place before and nothing good came out of it. Asyou put them down, monitor their usage, and ensure you are getting result. You can only know by listening to the beneficiary, which is the masses.

Zeetazia said...

Well said