Commonwealth appoints GEJ to mediate in Zanzibar election stalemate | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 November 2015

Commonwealth appoints GEJ to mediate in Zanzibar election stalemate

Following his highly acclaimed leadership of the Commonwealth Observer Group in last month’s Tanzania general elections, the 53-nation body of former British colonies has given former President Goodluck Jonathan a fresh mandate to lead the charge for the resolution of the political stalemate in the semi-independent island of Zanzibar.

After the October 25 general elections which produced John Magufuli as the new President of Tanzania, the Jonathan-led COG and other international observers had endorsed the polling processes as credible.
However, tension rules on the island of Zanzibar, following the nullification of the presidential election results by the local electoral body, over claims of irregularities. International observers have continued to dispute this decision, on the grounds that both the voting and counting processes were held in an atmosphere of peace.

The Commonwealth which has a history of mediating on the island has kick-started the international efforts towards resolving the current crisis, by appointing Jonathan as its Special representative, in what analysts see as an affirmation of the former President’s towering status as the moral face of democracy and transparent polling in Africa. This development was conveyed to Jonathan last week in a letter sent to him by the Commonwealth Secretary General, MrKamalesh Sharma.

In the letter which Sharma personally signed, the Secretary-General had wrote: “As you are aware, the Zanzibar electoral situation remains unsolved, although recent reports indicating willingness by the main political parties to engage in talking is encouraging. In view of the Commonwealth’s historical role as the moral generator of the Muafaka Accords, it is important that we remain engaged to continue to encourage all concerned to resolve the situation in a peaceful and sustainable manner.
“I am therefore delighted and honoured that you have kindly agreed to be my Special Representative over the coming weeks, in order to remain in contact with key political leaders and to encourage them towards an expeditious resolution of the impasse. I am certain that your personal close interest can play a crucial role in building the necessary political bridges.”

He further commended Jonathan for his successful leadership of the COG, saying that he brought his rare experience to bear on the challenging mission. Sharma said further: “I am writing to thank you once again for rendering the Commonwealth such distinguished service through your generous personal commitment of time and your Leadership of the Commonwealth Observer Group to last week’s elections in the United Republic of Tanzania.

72 comments:

Oh! the observer body he headed claimed the election was free and fair, while the local judiciary cancelled it on the grounds it was marred by irregularities. So he has been appointed to go and complete what he started.

aproko manager said...

Ghen ghen

SomsomGee said...

A good man is a good man...

My president

edDREAMZ said...

What have this man done to achieve all this appointments bcos i really cant think of nothing though....

ric said...

I'm proud of you Oga Jona

My presido, I hail thee

Where is that Otta farmer, who thinks it is his sole right to mediate in such issues. That man that was No 1 on the line when they were distributing shame.

THATS GOOD TO SEE..

AUNTY LINDA....

franka said...

Jonathan my man,my hero any day any time carry go .A prophet is indeed not respected in his home
Nigeria has really let go of a great leader prosperity will prove to all those who yabbed u that they u are a rare gem
Meanwhile I wait impatiently 4 the change apc/buhari used to deceive people time will tell

Issokay seen, congrats to him. Linda take note!

To whom the Lord has blessed

Wen God decides to honour a man!!!

Go GEJ! Bravo!

AMAKA said...

When Jesus says yes, nobody can say no. Carry go my able past President. We are still reaping the fruits of your hard labour in Nigeria while waiting for Baba go slow to pick up some speed. God bless you.

AMAKA said...

When Jesus says yes, nobody can say no. Carry go my able past President. We are still reaping the fruits of your hard labour in Nigeria while waiting for Baba go slow to pick up some speed. God bless you.

Good bless GEJ...

Awww! My hero! May God keep blessing you!

They are really keeping this man busy. All these wouldn't have been possible if he had not peacefully handed over to the GEneral. It pays to listen to ones inner spirit and not people around you who only care about what they are going gain.

It pays to be a good man!

Strong man, u will live long

Darrel tom said...

Good tin
Not some former Yoruba president who they wouldn't even trust him in conducting lagos local government election. #yawns#
Linda Not that ve not being following this blog ooo
Just ve to give it a wide berth, after that ur house palaver, some unknown people were crawling out from nowhere to comment here, some for the end of the year ish or watever, couldn't just stand them abit. Linlin hope u know who is who in this ur blog ooo, hehe. Good tin am back, just one reply they will crawl back to their poverty stricken holes.

Linda's last son

Darrel tom said...

Good tin
Not some former Yoruba president who they wouldn't even trust him in conducting lagos local government election. #yawns#
Linda Not that ve not being following this blog ooo
Just ve to give it a wide berth, after that ur house palaver, some unknown people were crawling out from nowhere to comment here, some for the end of the year ish or watever, couldn't just stand them abit. Linlin hope u know who is who in this ur blog ooo, hehe. Good tin am back, just one reply they will crawl back to their poverty stricken holes.

Linda's last son

No hiding place for the golden fish! Sir your good deeds will speak for you with time! All those who called you names will turn to praise you. Yes cos they have eyes but refused to see with them and are blinded by religious and sectional bad belle!

Let his enemies continue to watch him rise! Look how even the global community who called him government are giving him accolades!

GEJ A MAN OF PEACE MAY GOD CONTINUE TO BLESS YOU AND GRANT YOU WISDOM

Whom God has blessed who can curse? You are a born hero anytime my president

GEJ was always the greater man. I am so proud of Nigeria that we could have such a peaceful person stabilize our democracy even though the Buhari and his ethnic bigots are doing all they can to scuttle it.

Good man. His wife and some greedy people almost pulled him down, but God will continue to lift him up.

They tried to blackmail and tarnish his image internationally using the BBOG..infact to their knowledge they did spoil his name ..guess what ? The international community keeps appreciating this man ...the APC still keep bashing his name locally till now ..Thank God for he is Lord

Jonathan, d election peacemaker. Lol

Produce ice blocks within 4hours, 8hours, 12hours and 24hours. Ice block machines available 08063748505

Nice one.

Good for

Good for him.

congrats GEJ

C HOW D REJECTED STON BECOMES D CHIEF CORNERSTONE......... God is wonderful

A good man is always remembered....

Nice one frm them and I wish GEJ all d best...

Now he has found his calling. Free and fair elections is one thing I'll always remember jonathan for. I just hope Nigeria continues in that path.

COOL

Congratulations sir. An honour it is, and well deserved too.

Hon Oboro Preyor said...

I just simply love you GEJ...... A man of peace and democratic leader

Due nay have found his true calling after all. Everything that has happened prior to may just have been to lead him to this which come naturally to him. Peace maker. Not all that by force presidency. The man is naturally a calm and peaceful person.

Miss Boss said...

Jonathan is a great man... Notn even APC propagandas n buhari's flemsy excuses can eclipse dat. U go sir!

Main man

Gr8 man! Keep soaring! Higher I pray the!!!

Goddy said...

Buhari and APC members will soon hang themselves for this. Goodluck will soon become the another Nelson Mandela of Africa.

Well done GEJ!

God is taking dis dude to places

THE end justify the means ,don't be surprise if a well groom with wisdom JONANTHAN,might come back and rule us again.but get it right this time.

Long Live GEJ
Long Live Peace in Africa
Dialogue resolution onwards.

Congrats sir. (Linda's finest)

Nice 1 GEJ

GEJ all d way, my man 4 LIFE.

PATALEX said...

YES, money, power, fame, influence are all good. but i dare say, nothing surpasses a good name.

PATALEX said...

YES, money, power, fame, influence are all good. but i dare say, nothing surpasses a good name.

A great man

Keeping Jonathan busy Internationally.

This people self yall called on a corrupt slow ass mean to come & do what teach yall what corruption is ?

Blessed are the meek..... bible say so not me

una gej unofficial PR...lol

tony said...

Stop hating

mumu!he headed that of Tanzania, not Zanzibar

Your problem is that you can't think at all!

true talk..

E tire me say bonario only reads to comment and not to understand... Warapity

MY MAN FOR LIFE

Daddy's Girl said...

GEJ, the great man. Bonario the hate you have for him couldn't even let you read the story well before spewing rubbish as usual. Fear God oo. GEJ keep soaring higher..