Woman smashes car window to rescue toddler locked in hot car | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 July 2015

Woman smashes car window to rescue toddler locked in hot car

A mother-of-two in Kansas has told of the dramatic moment she ran out of her work to rescue a toddler that had been left locked in a car with the windows up on a 100-degree day.
Sarah Oropeza, the manager of the Famous Footwear in Merriam, was finishing off a customer sale on Saturday when a co-worker ran into the store screaming for help - she had just found a little girl in a car.
'The windows were totally rolled up, all the doors were locked. She was covered in sweat,'
Oropeza added: 'When I looked in the back window, she was covered in sweat. 
'She had pulled her hair back and sweat was just dripping.'
Oropeza desperately tried to break into the car, but couldn't.

Oropeza said her employee opened her trunk to try and find something to break the driver's side window to get to the 2-year-old girl, but the window didn't crack. Oropeza recalled screaming for help that there is a baby in the car. Oropeza herself is a mother of two.

She said that another woman came with a screw driver to see if that could help, but again, the window did not break. Oropeza was not giving up though. She began whacking the window with a tire iron. She got it to crack. Then another woman came up with a truck hitch and threw it at the window. Oropeza said at least four women stepped up to try and help her get to the toddler.

"Her shoes were wet, her socks were wet. She was so drenched in sweat. I just started crying," Oropeza said.
Finally, the glass cracked, and then another women came up and threw a truck hitch at the window, shattering it.
Once rescued from the car the child was given medical attention by a nurse at the scene. An ambulance arrived and a police officer bought diapers for the toddler, because there was no diaper bag in the car. Paramedics checked the girl's vitals and she was later picked up by her godmother.

It is believed the couple that drove the child to the shopping area left her in the car while they were at a nearby cellphone store. Oropeza said they claimed the toddler was their niece. They came in the shoe store and asked to get the child back.
"No emotion at all, whatsoever. The only question they had for police was if insurance was going to pay to cover the window that we broke," Oropeza said.
Oropeza and an officer told the couple to leave the store. Police ticketed the couple for child endangerment, and the case is going to the Johnson County District Attorney.

Sarah Oropeza posted this Facebook message after the ordeal, thanking people for their support

CBS/Facebook

63 comments:

oyin said...

nawa ooo

oyin said...

nawa oo

Some people are heartless. Kudos to her

Wow some parents thou

That's wickedness not carelessness!

Damilola said...

If only everyone in the world were this involved and committed. We would have no.child abuse

Precious said...

God bless your kind heart!

Some people should not have to deal with kids as they are too insensitive to try

APPLELIPX said...

I guess dat city isn't in d US, I was thinking d people who left d child in d car would b scared of coming to get her wth fear of being charged. It turns out d oda way round

Good woman,some peeps are terrible

Thats nice,Not that foolish woman who dont want to smash her window because she think the BMW Is too expensive lol

Thank God they were able to save her

yvejohn said...

God bless you jare...some people only sabi born but they don't know how to perform the duties of good n responsible parents

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Okay na this one dey reign now...

Wow

AMIJEZ said...

That's nice,for saving the little baby. Some folks just don't have emotions.

Imagine!They were more concerned about the the car!

Good job women..

Meenah_wakil on instagram

Good job women..

Meenah_wakil on instagram

seyi crown said...

Some people r heartless sha, all dat matter now is the broken window not the child...hope dey will rot in jail. oloriburuku

Na wa o.The couple that left the baby must be downright crazy.Cant believe they were asking about the car's insuarance instead of the baby's wellbeing

Sarah may God bless u 4 saving da Lil girl's soul, well done gud job

That's very brave of her

Good did........

Thats nice of her though no doubt....

Nawa for some parents /guadian o.

She did well. God bless her effort.

Hmmm she try

Gabby said...

Nice one, you see some people you help don't even realize the stress you passed through.
They rarely even appreciate it.

BEHIND THE MASK

Tnks ma'am ur children shall receive favours

Life saving skills

Wow! Super woman I wil call her, and she made d best move ever saving dis precious life. God bless her and thumbs up to her.

Brave woman. God bless you

cemalez said...

Great job she did there

Mihearty said...

Please arrest those murderers. They purposely left the little girl to die cos she's not their baby. The heart of men is evil.

Careless couple.

Why didn't they take the child along to the store haba they lock the car and did not leave little space for air to enter, they want to kill the little girl ni hmm!!!

Maslow said...

Sarah Oropeza God bless you for saving a life. The girl is their niece that was why the couple left her in a locked car.

To God be the glory. So much thanks to Oropeze and everyone whom God used to save the life of the child. My shall reward you all. Amen. LINDA: YAW.

GUD OF HER...TOMJERRYSWIT

barbie said...

Is that not Mya in the Promise? The Mexican series.

God bless U for your courage!

The mother should be fined for putting the baby's life at risk. whats to hard taking your child along with you. Thumbs up to the woman who rescued the baby.

Mother's heart, very kind indeed.

Sarah, you're a very kind person...may God reward you.....the police shud lock those two pple up and question them....

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Nice and bold Of her to do.

ckjacob.blogspot.com 4 fction stories

hocee said...

Super hero!!!!! u getin a role in aunty L nxt movie....

No remorse whatsoever ? The world has gone bonkers.

So touching! Made me cry! Why are some parents so carelessness, heartless and wicked?

#Iamwest said...

I like the woman she's beautiful!!! #sigh

That is the spirit of a mother, oropeza thank you for saving that baby

Good Samaritan!God bless you.

I hear u oo

The end of days, I must say... God have mercy

phone shopping???????????????????? how is that worth the life of a child...

Misplaced priorities.

Bulk shoes, bags and accessories for ladies for sale
Email shoewarehousenigeria@gmail.com for inquiries

Ede said...

I live in kansas. And the temperature hasn't gotten to 100 degrees yet. What the fuck is this wo.an talking about

Thank God she was saved....

God bless her