Pres. Buhari says he won't treat people who didn't vote for him equally with those who voted for him | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 23 July 2015

Pres. Buhari says he won't treat people who didn't vote for him equally with those who voted for him

He did say this during a Q&A in the US yesterday. Asked by a white journalist how he intended to deal with issues in the Niger Delta, particularly Amnesty, bunkering and inclusive development, president Buhari said;
"(Going by election results), constituencies that gave me 97% can not in all honesty be treated, on some issues, with constituencies that gave me 5%. I think these are political realities. While, certainly there will be justice for everybody but the people who voted, and made their votes count, they must feel the government has appreciated the effort they put in putting the government in place. I think this is really fair." Watch the video after the cut...

443 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 443 of 443

Do not get carried away by the highly sentimental/subjective lots giving his statement a non contextual meaning, watch the video to the end with an open mind, then you will fully grasp what he was trying to say.

Money in d bank said...

This man should be reminded that this country belong to us all and more so,the people his planing to victimize are the original owner of the country main stay.Bubu if u no want trouble just pack well or..................................................make i no leak our secrete. Linda be wise.

You bastard keep looking. When Jonathan was there did you complain of his S.S/S.E appointment? Hungry mofo like you

War iz coming

DIPIKUGBE said...

It's unfortunate Linda grossly misrepresented him in her write up. Watch the video. You'll hear for yourself. SMH

I am from the 5 constituencies being spoken of like many of us here. If I understand him well, he simply indicated that it would have been fair enough to provide a few more benefits to the people that had voted for him to make them feel good they had done so which naturally would have been him responding to a stimulus , but because he believes in the constitutional rights of each person or group of persons and had as well prior to his investiture promised to belong to every one and no one, would not marginalize any group, region or constituency for not playing a major part in his victory. Truth be told though, he would have gentlemanly avoided all these hullabaloos by hitting the nail on the head and not digressing from the actual question asked.

Golda Awosika said...

I am wf u on ds 1,ds man is just foolish. E is so predictable, wf his childish brain

Golda Awosika said...

And U re a dsgrace to Nigerian youths, u wud open dat ur stinky mouth to concur to such operations, is ds a change to u? U and ur fada ve lost ur minds, i ask u, is ds ur change. Jus as predicted, a tyrant, heartless n useless

Golda Awosika said...

God wil also curse u n ur generation for cursing Linda, u foul mouthed nitwit

What he said is truly a political reality.. We can all act same but you do not expect a president to say that on national TV that has the world watching.

Angela (UK) said...

hehehe
An we act like we are in a democratic society. Welcome to reality o!

Musbaudeen said...

Ignorance and arrogance. So GEJ that did not develop the SE/SS where he got the highest no of votes, while working to develop the North without their vote was mistaken. in any case we saw it coming, just look at the appointments so far, it is a clear pointer/confirmation to his proclamation.

Are you in Kenya???

Kachi said...

No please. We'll be fine. You'll see.

You want to use our oil money to make ppl that voted for you feel your government? Dont make me hate you Mr President

U mean he should neglect those that gave him 95% and concentrate on the unrepentant 5%. While i wont advise him to abandon any of his citizens ( which he said he will not) it is only wise he let the 97% feel his govt or else he stand to loose their votes in 2019. It's simple political mathematics!!!

Would you rather have an illiterate with honesty n dignity or a literate with embezzlement as a habit????..... I wonder why d irrelevant things matter more to some ppl....

TC said...

If he said that, its very disappoint.
Ooh my African leaders. When will you understand that people vote based on what they think is right. You only confirm what they think by not giving them equal right. That means you shouldn't have won in the first place.

Can some ppl who know nothing about politics shut d hell up...little or no votes u say....let me enlighten ur non-informed mind....the north voted GEJ into power but he disappointed many that is why he lost that support.... PMB may not be d best replacement for GEJ, but people were fed up with the impunity n recklessness of d GEJ administration that they felt anybody but GEJ wld do....get ur facts straight..

Sorry, may be I didn't get you....who are we talking about here again???

Ada ada said...

I love you.

Ada ada said...

I just fell in love.

You no well, even your English shows it. Mtcheew

You don't reason, divide the nation and see where it leads

You are a fool, what happens to unity? And for your information, na your papa go suffer pass because Niger delta will blow up all the oil pipe and there won't be revenue for Nigeria

Buhari should also source for the resources he would use to liberate the north from there. It's time for everyone to eat from what they generate. Just like he said, you cannot generate 5% of total national revenue and earn 97%. We can no longer fold our arms and what resources from SS and SE being used to develop other parts of the country while our future is continously castrated. This declaration portends fatality and maybe the beginning of the end to injustice to SE and SS.

Above all, this statement is an abuse of the tenets of democracy and implies outright voter intimidation even in future elections.

If this is what change is all about then Nigeria's quest for true nationalism, based on equity, fairness and justice is a mirage.

Buhari should retract this statement or better still explain what he meant before it's too late.

I believe Obama will smile and say, "there they go again".

This statement by Buhari only confers a sectional presidency on him.

He's yet to prosrcute the Boko Haram war than he already approved to $2.1b dollar World Bank grant to rebuild the NE. How can you start rebuilding when the war is not yet over.

The apostles of fairness, please confirm if similar gesture has been extended to SE 45 years after the war.

How would you feel in a union where you are so treated???

It will be and would remain one Nigeria if our leaders like Buhari would see justice as indeed truth and fairness.

Absolute after thought!!!
What was his topic sentence?
Please think through the line!!!

The Ekiti appointment is meant for SW region. How many appointments has come from SE, i.e. Imo State, where Okorocha won higher votes for Buhari when compared to Ekiti State?

Common guys watch the video before you comment don't go by what Linda Ikeji has said, she's just doing her job to get you interested in the post.

Did PDP abandon SW because they lost in the region? Let's not support unruly deprivation when it suits us. Buhari is about to set a "corrupt" precedence of divisive leadership that will hurt posterity.

On this one, he got it so wrong and supporting sectionalism instead of collective equality may force the deprived regions to take the law into their hands. At the end, we may be all losers.

We need to be careful! Fairness begets peace and injustice begets violence borne out of survivalism.

It's you and your entire family and lineage that are fools.., retard.

You are a disgrace to your family. Anuofia, aturru,ngbeke

idiot

Vigho said...

PMB is such a wise leader. He intends to use the resources of the 5% vote constituency to reward the 97% vote constituency. Let the people of the ND praise him for this. Besides he is such a good mathematician. I just learnt that 97% + 5% = 100% . Thanks to PMB

Vigho said...

PMB is such a wise leader. He intends to use the resources of the 5% vote constituency to reward the 97% vote constituency. Let the people of the ND praise him for this. Besides he is such a good mathematician. I just learnt that 97% + 5% = 100% . Thanks to PMB

Shebi na 4 years... It's counting already

How would he know does that voted for him & those that did not?

Nigerians should learn to be patient and listen to all details before they comment.
My advise: Listen to the end.

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 443 of 443   Newer› Newest»