Nigerian man allegedly killed by South African police | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 July 2015

Nigerian man allegedly killed by South African police

A 30 year old Nigerian man named Nonso Odo from Amangwu-Nkwerre, Imo state was allegedly tortured to death by South African Police officers on Thursday July 23rd.

According to Mr Emeka Ezinteje, Public Relations Officer of the Nigerian Union in South Africa, Nonso, who worked as a barber, was having an argument with another Nigerian at a barbers shop when the Nigerian flanked the South African police officers. On seeing the policemen, Nonso took to his heels and the policemen pursued him until they caught up with him and allegedly tortured him to death.

South African police are claiming that Nonso was grasping for air as he was running and died when they caught up with him. The Nigerian Union is demanding for a full-scaled investigation as they suspect foul play.

54 comments:

Oh my!

Why are you people still in that useless country?

Zombie huntress said...

... ❤ said...

And to think that in 2015 Nigeria still can't fight for her citizens, dead or alive; home or abroad. RIP to the dead.

God is LIFE!

JST LIKE DAT???DID HE STEAL FROM DEM???TOMJERRYSWIT

Those wicked South Africans. R.I.P

These xenophobic people at it again!
Rip Nonso.

ASHANKA said...

R.I.P

Wetin make am dey run nw..... RIP shah...

WHY WOULD THEY OH NO TOO BAD OF THEM

Such things still happen.

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN ***

The story is quite sketchy, he took to his heels on sighting policemen and he was caught and tortured to death.
May his soul rest in peace.

This is really sad!

Very bad.

What has Nigerians done to all these countries sef?

Arsenal said...

Some SA police still can't stand foreigners.

◇◇◇◇◇◇The main thing is keeping the main thing the main
thing.” –
German Proverb◇◇◇◇◇◇

Why did he take to his heels if he knew he was clean?? Anyway RIP to him

emi nooni said...

I won't blame the police! I will blame the other Nigerian! Who knew maybe he doesn't have proper documentation but yet! Flanked the police just after argument between them. Now I hope u happy he died cos he would av been alive if u don't call the police! Nigerians are enemies of themselves!

tochukwu okuzu said...

U all should shut ur mouth, why would the barber Nonso run away wen he is innocent. Pple should tink before blaming. Who knows if they had a drug deal gone badM

RIP to him and may God comfort his family members. Lord pls save us frm untimely death.

That country tho!

Ukay said...

Too bad

SISI TRANZ4MERS said...

tortured to death as a thief or what bikonu?...why cant SA just be out of the news until the dust from the just ended xenophobia settles!...i dont just gerrit.

South Africa must pay but no they won't because the government of Nigeria dies five a damn bout it's citizens

Mihearty said...

South Africans don't like Nigerians. Why? Is it jealousy or what. U purposely killed this young man and his blood will be on ur head. RIP to him

South Africa must pay but no they won't because the government of Nigeria dies five a damn bout it's citizens

South Afrikans are racist themselves...i can never step my leg in that country..fucking people!

KINGING said...

He must have taken to his heels coz he had no valid visa. The idiot that flagged the police knows that very well. Black can be evil some times

Na me hate these South Africans pass. Useless set of people. Mcheeeeeeew, no be dem fault sha. May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

This is ridiculous Nigeria government should do something about this case.

Dirty Cops everywhere.

Property Arena Ng said...

The brutality of the police is a world wide problem too bad his fellow Nigerian gave him up

I can't believe this sad story that Chino O as we used to call him is no more! He's from my village...somebody tell me is just a movie

Hope this has being brought to the attention of the Nigerian embassy in SA?!

Delex said...

Hmmmm, R.I.P

IWP said...

south africans why ..na ..why all these hatredF www.iwonpopular.com

Linda, he is from your village.

Did you guys read at all,it was the other nigerian guy that called the police for nonso,and may be he knows nonso status in South african and the poor boy ran away because of deportation.I can't stand nigerians at all.very wicked people.

Police can lie....

only the guilty are afraid....am sure he had no papers.....anyway that is not a good excuse to toture him....

That is what you get when you live illegally in another country. The other Nigeria apparently knew Nonso had skeleton in his cupboard and he called the Police on another fellow brother. The evil that men do live with them and after them. Nigerians aboard do not treat their fellow kinsmen well. Why blame the Police?

Why is everybody in the world killing Nigeria, why did other countries hate us,

Useless south africa

Joseph ezekiel jetbaba said......those people wit big head are crazy...I knw dey won't stop d xenophobia tin...its called anoda face of xenophobia....dey shouldn't start wat dey cnt end...cos naija own go worst...we will start from #mtn#..cos S.A citizen re d owner.....R.I.P bro

Justice should please be served

What do u mean by that? Nigerians are the architect of their own misfortunes. Why do u need to run in the first instance and why did the other naija guy had to alert the police when the issue could have been easily resolved no matter how serious it is. Abeg.. SA police no get blame for this matter if we look at it objectively.

This has nothing to do with racism. This tragedy would have been averted if common sense had been applied by both parties. There is no point alerting the police over a matter that can be resolved amicably. If Nigerians can't learn to be their brother's keeper, how then do we expect foreigners to treat us. May his soul RIP

I agree Nigerians are enemies to them selves. at their embassy in Lagos there a boy called BEN took over the embassy, he prints visa, he controls the consular section, this same BEN takes decisions he's the same person who refuse his fellow Nigerians visa. if you bribe him with his madam JULIAN, VISA IS SURE.

I agree Nigerians are enemies to them selves. at their embassy in Lagos, there is a boy called BEN.he as taken over the embassy, he prints visa, he controls the consular section, this same BEN takes decisions he's the same person who refuse his fellow Nigerians visa. if you bribe him & his madam JULIAN, VISA IS SURE.

The question you all fail to ask is, why did he ruunnnnn? Drugs? In d quest for greener pasture, we live Nigeria, go to other countries without d slightest idea what we r going there to do, of course hunger will come knocking n they deceive themselves that they will only sell enough drugs to help them stand on their feet! SA has become 2nd America to Nigerians, it's pathetic!

president ikegwuonu said...

The body of my brother Chinonso Odo from Amangwu-Nkwerre, Imo state who was allegedly tortured to death by South African Police officers on Thursday July 23rd will be put to rest on Wednesday 12th August 2015.

president ikegwuonu said...

The body of my brother Chinonso Odo from Amangwu-Nkwerre, Imo state who was allegedly tortured to death by South African Police officers on Thursday July 23rd will be put to rest on Wednesday 12th August 2015.