Hermes Birkin bag sells for $222,000 in Hong Kong, setting auction record | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 2 June 2015

Hermes Birkin bag sells for $222,000 in Hong Kong, setting auction record

A Hermes designer handbag smashed a world auction record in Hong Kong on Monday June 1 when it was sold for 1.72 million Hong Kong dollars ($222,219) at the Famous Christie's auction house.

A mystery phone bidder bought the crocodile skin Birkin Bag in fuschia with 18 white karat gold and diamond hardware. The previous record was set at a U.S. auction in 2011 for another Birkin Bag, in red crocodile skin, that sold for $203,150.

The Birkin Bag was designed for and named after British actress Jane Birkin. It's famous for having a price tag in the thousands of dollars and a years-long waiting list.

A similar black Birkin Bag was offered for auction but didn't sell after failing to attract the minimum bid of 1 million Hong Kong dollars ($130,000).

56 comments:

Ghhez don't worry Nigerians are coming for that bag.

Was it built of diamond and real snake skin? Mtchew

I dey come

Damilola said...

Cant waste my money on such if I had.....just for a bag? To hell with the diamonds

Imagine the amount? Oh lord I pray to thee, bless me indeed

OK nah

SANDRA said...

Money speakinggg

Anointed said...

Dats gud to knw,whose gonna buy it for me#smile#

tjay'TEE Bello said...

Vanity! And our brothers re still fighting for there lives under the rubbles of Nepal quake... #GodBlessThoseWhollBlessOthers

SANDRA said...

Money speakinggg

Anointed said...

Dats gud to knw,whose gonna buy it for me#smile#

The bag fit pack all my cloth neh.....

Osheee baddest. Not for me

Oh

Hmm.

This is too much mullar....

Se bag rada rada yi na??? Oshisko. Mtshewwww

Wen ONYXX never chop, people dey yeye money like this???

I trust onitsha people.

Save The Children said...

Absolutely vain! What's in a bag?. People who don't know what to do with money yet children are dying of poverty and disease.

Na wa o! For what nah??? Linda take note!

Watin dey inside d bag.??..na wah oo

WOW that is a lot of money

Does d bag take one to heaven?

Wow! Dis is cool, and great. Nice one.

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Ordinary bag!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Na wa ooooooo, am not saying I won't take care of myself but not spending the money this way,,chiaaaa money stop nonsense ,,,,,,,,,when I can use that money to touch lives

Aisha buhari over to u, the extravagance first lady. She is competing with kim k's of this world. If she no get am already. 10million naira wrist watch can send 100kids to school.

I dreamed I bought this bag...pls dnt wake me up.

Will this bag take me to heaven?

So because of ihe a, ka madu ji were tufuo ego ya??!!
Oooh chimuooooh

SEEN

I am Coonett

NO B SMAL THNG...MONEY IS GUD....TOMJERRYSWIT

So Cost.... I will Buy It for My Mom on her birthday

prettiyz said...

All this money just for a handbag

All this money for just a bag, money is good oooo. God punish poverty

Victoria said...

Wait wait wait Hahahhhaha,I have the exact copy that I bought 50 Euro in Italy. I love these china people

People no know what to use money for again. Its well.

Expensive sh!t

No be small tin ooo

Ok.

Bruce Jenner, Schwarzenegger and Rambo once influenced the making of a car. Check www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com

All em bitches carrying fake hermis..including U Linda..preowned goes for $6k n up...

This one is not bag again, will become family heirloom. Ahhhh, if I buy this kind bag, it must last for my great grand children to carry it ooo. Even if they are boyz, they must carry it. Lol

..The doc

The bag nor go spoil?

kdija said...

Our first lady should go and buy dis bag and den her media pple will tell us its a replica and make up anoda website DAT sells it for 123 dollars. Mtchewwwe

N naija women r busy posing with d fake on Instagram n feeling cool.d worst is dey have in diff colours n xpect us to believe TS original......HeheheNhehehe.u know ur selves N,F,Y,M.i must belong!