Tragic last photos of 7yr old Shanay, running barefoot to a shop looking for water - just hours before she was killed by her aunt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 June 2015

Tragic last photos of 7yr old Shanay, running barefoot to a shop looking for water - just hours before she was killed by her aunt

Desperate and thirsty, 7 year old Shanay Walker was captured on CCTV cameras asking a shopkeeper for something to drink just hours before she was found dead at her home. The footage shows her running barefoot into a corner shop the night before her frail bruised body was discovered at the home of her aunt and grandmother.

The child was subjected to months of violent punishment by her 'strict' churchgoing aunt and suffered a 'sustained, vicious and brutal beating' before she died, a jury heard. 

Her aunt, Kay-Ann Morris, 24, and grandmother Juanila Smikle, 54, were today June 5th sentenced to eight years and four years in jail, respectively, after being found guilty of cruelty.

Morris was cleared of murder after the trial at Nottingham Crown Court. 
In the 46-second security clip, Shanay is seen wandering down the aisles in her pyjamas before stopping to speak to the shopkeeper behind the counter shortly before 9pm on 30 July last year.

The following day, her body, covered with more than 50 injuries, was found in her bed at the family home in Bestwood, Nottingham.

Shanay suffered regular punishments at the hands of her aunt and grandmother, who were given care of the child after her mother was forced to give her up following depression, the court heard

The child's death is now the subject of a serious case review by the Local Safeguarding Children Board, who will look at whether any opportunities were missed to protect Shanay.

The court was told how Morris, a Seventh-day Adventist, shoved food in Shanay's mouth and would strike her on the hands with a hairbrush. 

Between July 2012 and July 2014, Morris would punish her niece by dragging her by the hair and stuffing clothes in her mouth. On one occasion, she threw Shanay into a wall after she stole water.

She also forced Shanay to eat food she did not want as a punishment for stealing food, and told the child to run up and down the stairs repeatedly, it was heard.
The court was also told that her grandmother Smikle had cruelty 'in her DNA' and had inflicted similar evil punishments on her own eight children. 

Shanay's aunt, Kay-Ann Morris, 24, left, and grandmother Juanila Smikle, 54, right, were today sentenced to eight years and four years in jail, respectively, after being found guilty of cruelty

Smikle, 54, was found guilty of four counts of cruelty, and jailed for four years. Morris was found guilty of one charge of cruelty against Shanay and sentenced to eight years in prison. 
Morris was also charged with murder but was cleared by the jury. 

Shanay left and right with her biological mum...

Source: UK Daily Mail

104 comments:

Omg this is sad

~album drops 8th June~

Just 8 n 4 years each? WTF???????? No justice. Mscccceeewww

People are just wicked. Lindaobserve

OMG!

Beautifulll gal.. May her soul RIP....

Bosslady said...

I weep, so heart breaking...

'Dassah said...

What a beautiful young girl. R.I.P. little one

Why was she cleared of the murder??? So this poor little gormless won't get justice ba?

Rubylicious said...

This is so sad, she would have been safer with her biological mum afterall.

Hmmmmm, so touching. Wickedness of people hearts is sth else. They deserves higher punishment to b dished out to them.

God punish that her churchgoing aunt...RIP.

The jail term is too small. Dey should get life time with hard labor. Continue to rest in the bosom of the Lord, little girl. Linda take note!

Kia pple can be so wicked n heartless

The jail term is too small. Dey should get life time with hard labor. Continue to rest in the bosom of the Lord, little girl. Linda take note!

Kia pple can be so wicked n heartless

Awww... sad

So sad. May her soul RIP

Too bad

How cruel can a human being be , shame on themm !!!!

Chai...rip cutie

I just wonder how the mother the girl will feel, the aunt and grandmother should have been investigated properly before allowing the child stay with them,maybe she would have been better off with her depressed mother. Rip girl.

This ish jst hurt me n Z's in lotta pains.
Something like a spike pierced through my heart while trolling this tale.
Why did she have 2 suffer like this?
My evening hang out have being ruin cos of the sadness that enveloped my fragile Heart.
I"m kinda feeling like a lost Soul wandering in a deserted Universe.
This is is so SAD.

Philip said...

wickedness in high places... speechless

They deserve life imprisonment with hard labour! See their wicked faces! May the innocent child R.I.P

I can't even read through it all cos am gripped with fear.. God help us in this life.. Wickedness in high places..

Chinko Berry said...

Winches. What a wicked world.

N.P. Michael Jackson- Heal the world.

In peace do rest angel.

Oh noooooooo

ASA said...

CRYING......:)CRYING....:) TEARS.........CHAI! MOM WHERE ARE YOU,PAINFUL DEATH

I cant believe how some people can just be naturally wicked. even to a kid? this story really touched me from within. I can only imagine what the child felt before she passed away. and she is such a beauty

Innocentia Annie said...

And that was how this
Little cuttie died
In the hands of wicked people
called aunt and granny
RIP Pretty Shanay

Hmmm may God help us

OMG!!! Even as a guy, the little girl's story almost got me in tears. Y r human being this wicked??? Infact, they should be killed or jailed for life. #Sadmood

Feel like shedding tears,Only God knows the amount of torture this poor girl went 2ru.Honestly I think the useless aunt and her devilish grandma shld be killed,this is wickedness for God's sake.I just wish this world will come to an end finally.this is becoming unbearable.Bullshit

My prayer for the grandmother/aunty is dat they won't come out of that jail alive,i pray they die there.Amen so shal it be for them,

RIP pretty little one. Wickedness of the highest order. It's well

Not enough punishment oo chai

Chain...my heart goes out to the poor innocent girl...may her pure soul rest in peace. But how come these guys only got 8 &4 yers, they ought to get more than that.

Oh my God, tears and tears run down my eyes...my day is spoilt by this story

What's d meaning of d is rubbish bikonu? Children are so innocent no one should hurt them

Chai wat a wicked world we live in.the aunt and the grandmother shud b sentenced to death

Innocent child....Rip

ALL THESE SO CALLED RELIGIOUS PEOPLE ARE SO OUT OF TOUCH, THEY ARE EVIL MASQUERADE IN DISGUISE

Bear all.....accept all....theirs nothing dat doesn't have reward...whether here on earth or when u leave....read d bk of Math 5:1... Don't b cruel to urself neither to someone else ....it doesn't pay u any better reward....be wise...

exciting lifestyle consult blog said...

Am jst crying. God plz protect d defenceless

Chia!!! Evil everywhere..... what did u gain from killing this innocent child? May God be the Judge. R.I.P little angel

I feel for her! I love Children so much! May God accept her soul. As for her Aunt and grand mom, God will judge them

People should at list care for their children by them self,if you are not ready to care why given birth.the the mother of the child sorry,RIP to the little baby.

Wat a cruel world,may God punish them more,RIP Lil girl

This made me cried. God some people can be so wicked

Wicked world

God! Save us in ds world of wickedness.

Fuck your opinion said...

THIS is so sad. Poor little girl.

Oh my God. I'm in tears right now. See d ugly looking fool of an aunt. May she rest in peace. Oh God!

Oh dear!!! Such an innocent girl, may her soul rest in peace......

Very sad...The story is making me mad and angry. How do u deprive a child of a basic need such as water????

mira cookie said...

Omg dis pretty gurl...how can dey b dat cruel? damn! Ugly killers dat need 2 rot

Awwww...such a beauty!

mary nwa mama said...

what cruelty, how can a grand mother be cruel to her own little grandchild, and even the aunt who should have taken the little girl as her own child, they chose to punish her till death, may they never know peace in their lives,even in that jail room, may their punishments be worst than what they did to that little girl. i wish it was even death sentence they passed on them. 4 and 8 years respectively is too small, it should have been life imprisonment. i am so angry. a lot of women are looking for children, if they were not able to take care of her, why didn't they let the social welfare know about it and may be they would have put her in a care home for children while her mum recovers.

Sad...people can be very wicked o! RIP to her

People are sick. Why take a child from it's biological parent and lead her to her death?

This story is full of holes.

Sheer wickedness! They sure deserve more than that........rest in God's bossom cutie,death has made u their senior now:(

it should have been jail for life ...wicked pple

~make I go take one bottle of star beer~

Rest in peace to her

Oh Lord keep me alive and sound to take care of my kids myself,please

destinysweet said...

Sad world!

Auntylindagoddaughter

umoh Linda said...

Blood of God..wickedness in high places..

andre kelvin said...

Bastards

Oh God look at the cutie that was molested and killed,,why are human beings wicked especially ones family members

Chai! Leenu nwata Mara Nma n'ebughi njo ndi Obi-akpoa zilara ala muo n'ike. #crying

Dis is so heart breaking, and RIP to her.

Golda Awosika said...

Lyk seriously, dey ought to be given life imprisonment, dey just put an end to the life of ds innocent little gal

* little princess * typo error

BadooWaffiBabe said...

Heartbreaking...may her soul rest in peace

Seriously, some of these your comments. Either write a book, pursue a career in song writing, or move off

God should really protect our children whenever were not ard dem...

Dobzi fingers said...

This is just evil, so evil

http://www.dobzifingers.com/?m=1

The Lagos Rebel said...

Why do you use so much space just to comment?

Lord! Ur own blood! Yyyýyyyyyy????

So pathetic,she is a beautiful girl and a beautiful mum

Evil world. May her soul rest in peace.

The evil remains in the grandmother eyes as seen in the picture.
I hope all their prison mates get the information that they killed a 7 year old child, they'll get real justice that way.

Lovey Angel said...

So sad,rest in peace little Angel

kill em both, no remorse...Jungle Justice: Catch, Burn.

KWEEN said...

I'm actually crying. What did this child do to deserve such? Why? Why? Why? Look at their evil faces! They should have been sentenced to death by hanging. May they never know a day of peace till they die. Just look at the beautiful little life they wasted. I'm so sad. May she rest in peace.

Omg!!God will punish them o!their jail term is too small...

Such an innocent beautiful child, a victim of a long running insane tradition of black men fathering children like dogs! Bet the grand mother was a single mother with many baby daddies and same goes for Shanay's mom! Black American communities really need to check this as it is the cause of all their problems! Frustrated women and angry men.

You are only davido's driver oh u r using all this space...only God knows what u will do when u are his P.A........
Her aunt s obviously jealous of the sis and her beautiful mum.....God bless her soul

Leave me alone, will u.

Dats hw pple use Church as an excuse 2punish Lil ones!
Rip bebe

The judge deserves life imprisonment for this miscarriage of justice

Such beauty gone too soon! How i wish they both die by hanging but judgement has been passed already!

blexed samuel said...

dis is wickedness.....some pple are just wicked....GOD will judge them

and this is the kind of Place people want to emigrate to.

Saintk said...

Hmmmmmmm. . .RIP poor little shanay. . .may God welcome yhu in paradise and may yhur soul find peace and joy in d end. . .i don't know yhu dear little one buh i jus loved yhu d second i viewed yhur pics. . .yhu looked so innocent and tender to have suffered dah much in d hands of those yhu called family. . .Rip dear little one.

why all these wickedness?

Ancestral plus household wickedness from one who experienced this personally... wicked and jealous mother and sister got the woman depressed in the first place to kill her and her offspring...

Lmao... U sure got the reply right @ anon 1:51.

Really heartbreaking....rest on shanay

They should both rot in jail

Both of them will rot in jail