Father beats his 3 year old son to death over potty training | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 June 2015

Father beats his 3 year old son to death over potty training

A Texas father has been charged with capital murder after his son died following an alleged beating.
Anthony Trakemon Powell appeared in court on Tuesday over allegations that he struck his 3-year-old son Tristan "on the head with an open hand," according to release from the Houston Police Department.

Powell's sister Prosha Land said in court documents that she saw Powell "discipline" her nephew "multiple times" with "his hand and with a belt" for several accidents and "lack of progress" in his son's potty training.

Land said last week she observed Powell strike Tristan in the head after he had an accident, causing the toddler to fall from a standing position to his bottom. Then, Land said in court documents, she said Powell picked up his son, "like a rag doll," and hit him again, in the head. The final strike knocked him over, causing him to again hit his head on the tile floor.
After the incident, Land said Tristan "exhibited unusual behavior," and repeated several times "he was sleepy."
The boy, who usually wanted to be held by Land, only wanted to lie on the floor, his aunt said in court documents. 
The next morning, Powell woke up Land to tell her that Tristan wasn't breathing. Land recalls hearing Tristan wheezing in a manner that sounded like an asthma attack.
She tried to administer a "breathing treatment," she said in court documents, but he was unresponsive, so she called 911.
Doctors said Tristan suffered brain swelling and multiple skull fractures. He died a day later.
A second son, younger than Tristan, was also hospitalized after Powell allegedly scalded him with hot water.

Land, who referred to Tristan as the "boy she never had," has been charged for failing to stop or report the assaults. She is also still in jail on $30,000 bond.
Harris County Judge Catherine Harris set bond Tuesday for Powell at $250,000. According to a spokesman for the district attorney's office, Powell remains jailed.

According to court documents, the boys had been living with his mother in Jasper, Texas, had been staying with his father since May 10. The victim's mother said she allowed her sons to go to Houston with his father so Powell could get to know them better.
According to court documents, Powell admitted to striking Tristan with a belt because he was trying to potty train him, but he denies striking him in the head. Land said she loved Tristan as if he were own child.
Texas Herald.

37 comments:

He deserves to rot in jail

~album drops 8th June~

Poor lad, rip. Justice should be served. Lindaobserve

So sad

Sigh

Let him rot in jail

Hope he rots in jail

This is just too bad

To think my Nephew woke me up 10 times on sat that it was potty time.... guys are heartless

Pidgin Mistress said...

That man is evil Walahi! RIP Tristan

Black People are just evil... that's why we are BLACK

Awesomeness said...

Inhumane.

They shud sentence him for life.

Retard.

The sort of stories we read everyday, God save us o.

#TeamBlessed

Linda dis ur pix show say dat boy pass 3 yrs ooo

Oh my God. I couldn't finish this. I just couldn't. I'm in so much tears right now. For chrissakes why? He would have learnt eventually. Oh no! I can't deal! Lord!

jamal cojo said...

Dust ***far too kind***

Pidgin Mistress said...

The pix there is Anthony Powell (the murder) and the murder's sister Prosha Land

stan said...

Bastard!!! he should rot in jail

Fuck your opinion said...

I am sure he didn't mean to kill him, he just let anger take the best part of him. It's a pity poor little boy gone. Wow!

STOP YOUR FOOLISHNESS!!! ALL BLK FOLK AREN'T ABUSIVE!!!! INDIVIDUALS IN EVERY RACE HAS DYSFUNCTIONAL ISSUES

Darkchildlovethyhair said...

omg that poor poor child.

Want to increase your hair game? Check out these awesome Nigerians with amazing hair on Instagram!

Tins are happening! Somtimes I am scared to read news or watch news cos I wud end seeing things that wud dedestabilise me.rape! Murder etc. Sad!!
We don't fail! We deliver to make u happy! Result Worth every penny u spend! #miracle diet coffee cleanser#no need to gym to lose weight. This is for lazy people who can't lose weight through gym or don't like strict diet rules.its as easy as it Sounds
Find out how and gv it a trial call or whatapp 08096510696.instagram @beebeeltd for testimonials n pics
different types of shapers for arm face shoulder butt available .sex enchantment n toys available on request. Adults only

I love America where the law recognize and respects the rights of children and punishes defaulters and those who are negligent.

Ur so dump child and so u make the stupidest comments. What has being black got to do with this? Let me educate Ur stupid as* a bit. There are more serial killers and paedophiles that any other race. And those are d two of the most wicked acts. Hv u ever heard of racial profiling? Blacks are always put out there cos of their skin color, because they already are considered been guilty before any crime even. In most American states where just 25-30% of the population is black, U'll still find out that 80-90% of the annual stop and check and arrest and those in prison or ongoing investigations are all black. Not because they are that bad but because the white man protects his and the black just like u tears his down. How many white pple have u read was gunned down by the American police? None even when they are armed and unlicensed. But a black is gunned down all d time even when he's naked, disabled and it's obvious he isnt armed. So shut Ur stupid mouth up, pray and fast till God blesses U with some common sense and wisdom. Then u can have something to say.

Fuck your opinion!

Some ppl be mean anyhow

Dey shd serve d useless father d best justice ever. RIP 2 d lil boy

adaobi cynthia said...

Pls dx man isn't suppose 2 b on d loose dats wickedness in high places he ought 2 rot in jail

There is a rite, and right way to correct a child. I feel bad abt dis RIP to d boy.

@Davido driver, if u continue wit dis act of creating unnecessary space on d blog its wickedness to fellow commenter's on d blog.

U r larger than dis creating unnecessary space on d blog. Dis is bad, and unfair.

Pls stop dis foolish act, and hav a change of heart. U r bigger, and larger than dis nonsense.

Grow up! Grow up!! Grow up!!!

He deserves death too

fola said...

@royalpriesthood,davido driver or wot so called is not large abeg!dont make him fill important plz!d guy is insane he needs both psychologist nd psychriatist attention asap!fact#

Jail is his new abode. Linda take note!

Both black and white race all have crazy people. White people also do stupid crazy things too. I read a story where a white man buried his children because he could no longer take care of them because he lost his job

Mrs Power aka MP said...

Plenty sick and angry people every where. I'm sure he regrets his actions now. Oya go n cool off in an isolation ward. By d time d lethal injection gets to u, u go don turn born again.

U sister's words are to powerful to be ignore n pls don't even plea insanity. U r very sane.

Too bad