My father was kidnapped in Nigeria on a Saturday morning in early May. My brother called to tell me, and suddenly there was not enough breathable air in the world. My father is 83 years old. A small, calm, contented man, with a quietly mischievous humor and a luminous faith in God, his beautiful dark skin unlined, his hair in sparse silvery tufts, his life shaped by that stoic, dignified responsibility of being an Igbo first son.
He
got his doctoral degree at Berkeley in the 1960s, on a scholarship from
the United States Agency for International Development; became
Nigeria’s first professor of statistics; raised six children and many
relatives; and taught at the University of Nigeria for 50 years. Now he
makes fun of himself, at how slowly he climbs the stairs, how he forgets
his cellphone. He talks often of his childhood, endearing and rambling
stories, his words tender with wisdom.
Sometimes
I record his Igbo proverbs, his turns of phrase. A disciplined
diabetic, he takes daily walks and is to be found, after each meal,
meticulously recording his carbohydrate grams in a notebook. He spends
hours bent over Sudoku. He swallows a handful of pills everyday. His is a
generation at dusk.
On
the morning he was kidnapped, he had a bag of okpa, apples and bottled
water that my mother had packed for him. He was in the back seat of his
car, his driver at the wheel, on a lonely stretch between Nsukka, the
university town where he lives, and Abba, our ancestral hometown. He was
going to attend a traditional meeting of men from his age group. A
two-hour drive. My mother was planning their late lunch upon his return:
pounded yam and a fresh soup. They always called each other when either
traveled alone. This time, he didn’t call. She called him and his phone
was switched off. They never switched off their phones. Hour after
hour, she called and it remained off. Later, her phone rang, and
although it was my father’s number calling, a stranger said, “We have
your husband.”
Kidnappings
are not uncommon in southeastern Nigeria and, unlike similar incidents
in the Niger Delta, where foreigners are targeted, here it is wealthy or
prominent local residents. Still, the number of abductions has declined
in the past few years, which perhaps is why my reaction, in the
aftermath of my shock, was surprise.
My
close-knit family banded together more tightly and held vigil by our
phones. The kidnappers said they would call back, but they did not. We
waited. The desire to urge time forward numbed and ate my soul. My
mother took her phone with her everywhere, and she heard it ringing when
it wasn’t. The waiting was unbearable. I imagined my father in a
diabetic coma. I imagined his octogenarian heart collapsing.
“How
can they do this violence to a man who would not kill an ant?” my
mother lamented. My sister said, “Daddy will be fine because he is a
righteous man.” Ordinarily, I would never use “righteous” in a
non-pejorative way. But something shifted in my perception of language.
The veneer of irony fell away. It felt true. Later, I repeated it to
myself. My father would be fine because he was a “righteous man.”
I
understood then the hush that surrounds kidnappings in Nigeria, why
families often said little even after it was over. We felt paranoid. We
did not know if going public would jeopardize my father’s life, if the
neighbors were complicit, if another member of the family might be
kidnapped as well.
“Is
my husband alive?” my mother asked, when the kidnappers finally called
back, and her voice broke. “Shut up!” the male voice said. My mother
called him “my son.” Sometimes, she said “sir.” Anything not to
antagonize him while she begged and pleaded, about my father being ill,
about the ransom being too high. How do you bargain for the life of your
husband? How do you speak of your life partner in the deadened tone of a
business transaction?
“If you don’t give us what we want, you will never see his dead body,” the voice said.
My
paternal grandfather died in a refugee camp during the Nigeria-Biafra
war and his anonymous death, his unknown grave, has haunted my father’s
life. Those words — “You will never see his dead body” — shook us all.
Kidnapping’s
ugly psychological melodrama works because it trades on the most
precious of human emotions: love. They put my father on the phone, and
his voice was a low shadow of itself. “Give them what they want,” he
said. “I will not survive if I stay here longer.” My stoic father. It
had been three days but it felt like weeks.
Friends
called to ask for bank-account details so they could donate toward the
ransom. It felt surreal. Did it ever feel real to anybody in such a
situation, I wondered? The scramble to raise the money in one day. The
menacingly heavy bag of cash. My brother dropping it off, through a
circuitous route, in a wooded area.
Late that night, my father was taken to a clearing and set free.
While
his blood sugar and pressure were checked, my father kept reassuring us
that he was fine, thanking us over and over for doing all we could.
This is what he knows how to be — the protector, the father — and he
slipped into his role almost as a defense. But there were cracks in his
spirit. A drag in his gait. A bruise on his back.
“They
asked me to climb into the boot of their car,” he said. “I was going to
do so, but one of them picked me up and threw me inside. Threw. The boot was full of things and I hit my head on something. They drove fast. The road was very bumpy.”
I
imagined this grace-filled man crumpled inside the rear of a rusty car.
My rage overwhelmed my relief — that he suffered such an indignity to
his body and mind.
And
yet he engaged them in conversation. “I tried to reach their human
side,” he said. “I told them I was worried about my wife.”
The next day, my parents were on a flight to the United States, away from the tainted blur that Nigeria had become.
With
my father’s release, we all cried, as though it was over. But one thing
had ended and another begun. I constantly straddled panic; I was
sleepless, unfocused, jumpy, fearful that something else had gone wrong.
And there was my own sad guilt: He was targeted because of me. “Ask
your daughter the writer to bring the money,” the kidnappers told him,
because to appear in newspapers in Nigeria, to be known, is to be
assumed wealthy. The image of my father shut away in the rough darkness
of a car boot haunted me. Who had done this? I needed to know.
But
ours was a dance of disappointment with the authorities. We had
reported the kidnapping immediately, and the first shock soon followed:
State security officials asked us to pay for anti-kidnap tracking
equipment, a large amount, enough to rent a two-bedroom flat in Lagos
for a year. This, despite my being privileged enough to get personal
reassurances from officials at the highest levels.
How,
I wondered, did other families in similar situations cope? Federal
authorities told us they needed authorization from the capital, Abuja,
which was our responsibility to get. We made endless phone calls,
helpless and frustrated. It was as though with my father’s ransomed
release, the crime itself had disappeared. To encounter that underbelly,
to discover the hollowness beneath government proclamations of
security, was jarring.
Now
my father smiles and jokes, even of the kidnapping. But he jerks awake
from his naps at the sound of a blender or a lawn mower, his eyes
darting about. He recounts, in the middle of a meal, apropos of nothing,
a detail about the mosquito-filled room where he was kept or the rough
feel of the blindfold around his eyes. My greatest sadness is that he
will never forget.
118 comments:
Interesting..
She's truly a writer...
Is it a recent occurrence?
Hmmm sad!
Ouch! Sorry Chimamanda, nobody heard wen this happened o.
What's interesting in kidnapping
OK, This is How Ola Ogundipe allegedly Dumped Wife and Children to Marry Lagos Big Girl(SEE HERE)
so sad
Sometimes being famous is a crime on its own!
As In eh...she is a brilliant and great to writer indeed
Wao....I feel bad for her dad cause its traumatic
Supu!
May excruciating misery be the fate of perpetrators of such evil.
Some things are neither better imagined nor experienced. What an ordeal! My heart goes out to every victim of kidnap.
Wow! Nigeria! Hope this boys are caught and hopelessly dealt with and chimamada will also write about it. Its sad. I hope this new govt with its promises kill this unfortunate dent!
Chai! This lady is stuffed with grammatical manipulations. "My brother dropping it off, through a circuitous route, in a wooded area" and more. I imagine this brain. A prove that good writers makes good story out of a mere incident by playing with words. I never stopped while reading this.
How sad. The truth in this piece about our country. The deplorable state of our " so called" security operatives. Why on earth should I pay to have you do your job? Why?
Oh. How touching! Thank God for his life
Yea it is recent occurrence , it happened in May, according to her.
Chai! This lady is stuffed with grammatical manipulations. "My brother dropping it off, through a circuitous route, in a wooded area" and more. I imagine this brain. A prove that good writers makes good story out of a mere incident by playing with words. I never stopped while reading this.
Sorry about your ordeal and happy he was released unhurt! My uncle was kidnapped 2 years ago and till this date we can only wish and hope. In our own case we obeyed the police, wish we hadn't, and paid for the anti tracking device which was the first thing the kidnappers removed from the bag of money b4 taking the whole lot away. Till this day. Nothing has been heard or seen, we haven't been ourselves since that date. But we know we serve a faithful God who would see us through.
Sad..terribly sad at what the love of money and status have turned our youths to. It's not about unemployment, but rather about mentality, greed and the get rich quick syndrome which unfortunately is worshiped by all and sundry. Sorry dear. But also try to investigate. It is someone within your household who is closer than you think. Watch for sudden changes in some people you know
Poor man!! I pray God grants him and the rest of his family.... peace of mind. It is well with Chimamanda's father. As for you, "Davido's driver, you're obviously clueless about everything! Always using words inappropriately! Get an education. Get a life!
Sad..terribly sad at what the love of money and status have turned our youths to. It's not about unemployment, but rather about mentality, greed and the get rich quick syndrome which unfortunately is worshiped by all and sundry. Sorry dear. But also try to investigate. It is someone within your household who is closer than you think. Watch for sudden changes in some people you know
Very SAD!...How much was the ransom?
Here a daughter talks about her father's kidnap, and I'm seeing "she's such a great writer"
People dey oooo.
They must think this is fiction.
A masterpiece.
Z will write like her someday.
What a sad tale. A summary of what my beloved country has become. I rejoice with the Adichie's on the safe release of their father. Nigeria is fast becoming a failed state. But I pray and hope that this present wind of change will bring us good tidings. Amen
A chill ran down my spine as I read thru dis. Nigerian police is useless,but thank God ur dad was released
Waiting for part 2 of the story. Sorry papa that's naija as we see it
Hummmm,you can only truly feel this write up if you have been in this situation.I sure know how it feels when a family member is kidnapped.Can never forget what my old father went thru over the kidnap of his son. I remember my poor father crying non stop. I remember all those sleepless nights,I remember the fear of not loosing my father and brother same time. In the end we thank God for gift of life. God will always win for those who believe.
Christopher you're so right! I never stopped while reading it too. It was so captivating, even as it was sad.
This is awful. Been famous doesn't make one rich. Thank God for the gift of life, May we nt be victim of Kidnappers IJN
This is a sad story that brought back tears and memories to some of us eyes @davidos driver
"State security officials asked us to pay for anti-kidnap tracking equipment, a large amount, enough to rent a two-bedroom flat in Lagos for a year." "Federal authorities told us they needed authorization from the capital, Abuja, which was our responsibility to get."
WHOEVER SAYS NIGERIAN SECURITY IS NOT FUCKED IS JUST CONSOLING HIM OR HERSELF... THIS IS SO EMBARRASSING... SO NOW ANTI KIDNAP TRACKING EQUIPMENT IS SUPPOSE TO BE PROVIDED BY VICTIMS FAMILY ? IN 2015 ???? THIS IS TOTALLY BULLSHIT. I AM SAD, IN FACT I AM NOT HAPPY TO BE A NIGERIAN. FUCK THE GREEN WHITE GREEN FLAG JOR.
Eyah. Sorry
I agree with u dudette.She delivered the story in the most concise,clear and simple manner as would Chinua Achebe.Im touched deeply @ the ordeal Nigerians especially celebs face in the hands of kidnappers.Im broken by the general level of insecurity especially the one bedeviling my dear north east.Wish i'd sleep ,wake up and see a post insecurity era.
Much respect to Chimamanda.She inspires me
This is so sad but thank God he's okay
http://www.dobzifingers.com/?m=1
OMG...This is just so sad...and to hear that the Nigeria security agency demanded for such amount to start investigation on a kidnapping case is just sickening! Imagine families going through dis sort of trauma and nothing is been done about d crime or to even track down d kidnappers...Shame on d security system of our dear country! Just like I went to a police station recently to get police report for a car accident I was involved in with my vehicle nd they requested for a whole 70k...saying 50k for police report and 20 for the vio report...smh
She is right witdis golden words of her's "Kidnapping’s ugly psychological melodrama works because it trades on the most precious of human emotions: love".
If u look closely dis act must hav b committed by those dat knw them, and live around them.
Thank God for everytin, and may d kidnapper's b put to shame.
She wittingly avoided the amount paid in ransom not attract other idiots into planning a second take for a lesser amount sorry dear
Can u inagine wht d security officials d??? They even d worse than d so called kidnappers... "State security officials asked us to pay for anti-kidnap tracking equipment, a large amount, enough to rent a two-bedroom flat in Lagos for a year".
Why do I suspect that her brother Okey planned the kidnapping? She should go and ask her brother what happened and stop making noise.
She sounds like smone who doesn't believe in God...we thank God for his like tho, what can Alpha and Omega not do.
I mean! He writing pierces ur soul and u cant help but get in tuned and let ur emotions take you over... Soo touching *dries tears*
Can u read at all? Ode question
This lady is too gifted. Her account of the incident is wonderful.
Chai na lyk this kidnapping dey sweet....."Lol our authorities no dey try.
What happened to her father brings me sadness and I pray tim will strength and opportunity for healing....and thanks for the story, and also the education in ur writings cos I learned some new words from it.
So sorry to hear about your dad. People have sold their conscience to the devil. No more respect for elders anymore. Nobody cares if the kidnappee is old. It's such a shame.
Beautiful, your facts are not correct when you say kidnapping is not common in the Southeastern Nigeria. I have heard many Igbo wealthy people and their families afraid to visit home for fear of been kidnapped. My friend had her Aunty almost kidnapped when they got a letter from the kidnapper saying they should be expecting on the day of the lady's mother's funeral and they almost succeed. But thank God her husband was prepared with some armed police men. According to my friend, there gun fire exchange. I have never seen my friend that scared in her life. Almost all the kids kidnapped from The Niger Delta region are found in Ngwa. Is Ngwa in Rivers, Delta, Akwa Ibom, Cross River and Edo States? Two former colleagues kids where taken from their respective churches in Rivers State and were found in the Southeast. Please don't tag kidnapping to one region. It's even more prominent in the Southeastern if people from there will be truthful.
Well said
What happened to her father brings me sadness and I pray time will bring strength and opportunity for healing....and thanks for the story, and also the education in ur writings cos I learned some new words from it.
This lady is a born writer, for a second I thought I was in the story itself.
Really ??? My dear be eager to read news everyday n try not to forget major highlight. I'll help with current news, Burundi with Nkurunziza refusing to let go of a 3rd term bid( he is going against the Arusha Accord) Blatter appointed FIFA President despite scandals, Adesina elected president of The AfDB,etc
Nigeria is increasingly becoming one of the worst places to live on this earth. where groups wake up, trade and make ill money on the life of another helpless person. it is apparent absurdity of the highest order. sometimes i just curse the day i was born on this part of the world. In this case a father has to suffer this life threatening humiliation and exploitation bcos he worked so hard to train his daughter whom God has blessed and through whom lives have been touched. instead of celebrating the family, we are taunting and haunting them. It will never be well with any person or group of persons who are making life miserable for law abiding Nigerians.
My goodness! Evil has really turned some hearts to stone! Throwing a fragile innocent old man inside the booth of a car! Sometimes I wonder at what point one becomes this heartless! Why aim at a writer making an honest living when surrounded with corrupt thieves embezzling the nations economy?
BrendaN
Naija is so fucked up. Why will people who claim they are protecting us tend to behave like animals by asking for money and materials frm victims b4 they do their job ..... Am sure this incident will continue hunting Ngozi no doubt....
Great piece of writing! I will start reading those works from China mandatory!!!
Always looking to bring down Nigeria in the face of foreigners. Washing us in foreign media...Abeg where crime no dey!??
#swervejoh
I don't know u, but I know your pain. Same happens to my father and immediately he was released after ransom, we moved from delta state. I can tell you one thing though, there is a family member's involvement or perhaps some one close to the Family. Its over four years, but the terror is never forgotten. In our case, the bastards broke into our home at past midnight, robbed us, almost raped me if not for my awesome mother and took my father away.
That God the old man was released.
I feel the info that led to the kidnapping was passed by someone close to the family in Nigeria. They saw the old man as a source for guaranteed quick money.
There's no excuse for their crime. The economy, lack of employment, lack of employment or being born in a public lavatory should not be an excuse to commit crime, because if it were, there'd not be enough law enforcement officers to apprehend bandits and criminals.
The Federal Government and State Government and relevant agencies should pursue and apprehend those responsible. The authorities can crack this case. Everyone that has a hand in the heinous crime must be arrested, prosecuted and put away for a very, very long time. There must be a strong deterrent. The criminals must be arrested. They should not be allowed to get away with their crime, or other retards will follow in their footsteps.
What breed of mammal are you? I said interesting, meaning I enjoyed the write up. Smellos
Look how she has turned an ugly event into a story one could read and read and read again. Nigeria is rotten and we hope change has come.
Who go read all dis poem abeg.. am hungry biko... slashing ur country's image in another foreign country is not how to become popular...
Am happy dad came bk alive n healthy
What hurts me is that we can't even trust our security agencies. They want you to bribe them to do their work. Even the EFCC. I reported a case to the EFCC and they were asking me for N500k mobilization fee. Nigeria needs a rebirth.
She is truly Gifted.....
Omg this chimamanda is one of the best writers of all times. Just didn't want the article to finish again as I enjoyed reading every line ans paragraph with smiles. Just look at the analysis. I love you chimamanda. .....EPIC illustration...... A small, calm, contented man, with a quietly mischievous humor and a luminous faith in God....... Keep making Nigeria proud.
If you read it, you wouldn't have asked. R E A D!
How can state security officials be asking for huge amount .this is shame.we can't rely on them.they don't have it.baba. I don't pray it happen to any of them.
Sad! But thank God for his release.
My mentor,sorry for d ordeal,dats one of d bad sideof. Nigeria.all is well
I knw rit...it's inviting. U wnt wanna stop reading
The Weight of Glory
See how she made a serious issue humorous. Linda take note!
WOW ! WOW ! This lady can write. I enjoyed it through and through even if it was a tragic event.
Now this is a woman that gives life to words and breathes details into an incident that could have taken two paragraphs,thank God for your Dad.
"Tainted blur". Nigeria! I weep for this country.
I weep for Pa Adichie, an honourable, dignified and distinguished gentleman. May the Lord heal you and your family, Sir.
To the kidnappers, you may blame the country and its hardships, but our Lord will hold YOU accountable. Unfortunately, someone close to the family will be behind this horrible affair.
May God keep us.
Ndo nu.
Thank God he's been released
Such a painful experience especially for a man that old. I can say for sure that her description of her dad (Prof. J.N Adichie) is so accurate. The man is so gentle and kind. I pray that God keeps him and helps him through this healing period.
May God save us as a country.
What's interesting?
Did you read this under 1minute?
Thank God he's been released
She is gifted
Chimamanda.idi too much.makes even a kidnapping narrative an interesting read and also highlights the failure of the system. Good one.
For 3 years we have waited! Still waiting for my Dad to return. The pains if our Nigeria past.
This country is worse than any other thing. Can u imagine asked to pay money to save an individual life when is your right to do that God will help us in this country of ours.
Thank God that he is now safe. Security officials always demand money to do their regular duties to the community. That has to be checked immediately.
It's well with u and ur family,went trouble comes around,and is conquered..it's perceived as if nothing happened...it's hard for a trauma to cease cuz it's forever engulfed in our minds...am happy because ur father came out of it..so count it all joy..am glad u are telling the story of his truimph and not his death...
Yeah i heard of this from the foreign press. Thank God the Baba is safe. My question, how did the kidnappers know “Ask your daughter the writer to bring the money,” . It is all from within the family, the community and the sad thing is that some of our youth feel that it is a form of business. So many kidnappings nowadays, it is frightening. let us hope that the new government will clamp down on evil within us.
Thank GOD he is alive n well! She is a writter indeed! Wow!
The sorry state of our beloved country
Absolutely oustanding....she indeed tosses words around like darting eyes. You are uniquely blessed with the use of words, I am a great fan of ur handiwork. Sorry for all he went through (ur Dad). I couldn't stop while reading....this too shall pass in this great Nation "Nigeria" - I believe. Just know it's no fault of yours.....
Nigeria is cursed ooooo choi this girl that struggles to make her money these people won't let her be choi sorry my sweet writer.
I love reading watever this woman writes..she's gifted with a replica of Solomons wisdom..
There are people who come on this blog who are dating, friends with or gaining financially from someone they know or strongly suspect to be part of this evil act. You are just as guilty and God will count you amongst those who will burn in eternal fire. Do the right thing. Report them. Today.
Sigh#.. As sad as d situation might av seemed, I did enjoy her collection of words nd hwr she cloned dis words to mkesense.. No peace 4 d wicked#
@ G, you hit the nail on the head. Apart from unemployment,Nigeria youths have become lazy but they want the best things in life. That is why most of our youths have sold their souls to the devil. In developed countries they don't need the tracking devise just the serial number of the money and the douch bags will be caught. God help me in this country
sad
Onye oyibo nwanyi grammar lol nice write up but thnk God ur okongwu made it chimamanda
So sad......kidnappers dont care abt d age or state of life of pple dey kidnap...they just treat everybody anyhow...........God will surely judge them
Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......
Its actually a bad state to be for a man of that age, my deep sympathy goes to the family. And i thank God he was nt killed. As for the security personnels, we will keep voicing out until they shun corruption and become life protectors that they ought to be. But what about the driver? You didn't tell us if anything bad happened to him, remember he is also a soul and i want to hear about him.
Smh, I heard of it, and figured in due time the details would come out.
Until you have experienced this with a close fam member, you wont really understand what she is saying.
My father was kidnapped a few years ago, and held for a week. A very traumautizing experience of helplessness...The unknown, not knowing...the crazy ransom asked, and the tiring negotiation process.
The police are of no help, even if you have access to the IG, you are better of sorting it out on your own. Assembling such amounts and then being told to deposit and wait. Like her, we were blessed that he ended up being released. Sadly, not everyone gets that happy ending.
Like her dad, mine still suffers the mental effect from it, PTSD and dealing with some physical effects.
As for the kidnappers, of course they disappeared into thin air. Yet I know the God we serve and the prayers that were fired is who protected my dad, and they will surely face their judgment, that is if they are still alive.
Ngozi thanks for using your global platform to personalize the story. Please just keep your folks in the US especially after this article. Continue to treasure your dad, God will give him more years to LIVE
This woman has raw talent! She just turned d tragedy into a nice story. And, i feel ashamed of this country tho. Whatever ill people over there think about us just doubled!
Thank God for his safe return. Boy, a writer indeed you are.
And she's a good writer
Never got tired as i was reading
Its a pity it happened
What a BRAIN! Sorry for the huge Trauma this must have caused to the entire family.
When ppl say is about the love of money not unemployment dey shld equally no that this is a very good example of how Nigeria has deteriorated even to the so called authorities. My sister I will urge u to do justice to this country with ur pen and paper...the same way u did with ur dad's case. Aniemeka
chimamanda wow........sorry about what u all went thru.u being a woman makes me proud to be a woman too. thank u
A born writer indeed.
Yeah a recent one. When I heard it initially, I knew it had to do with her. Because the other members of the family assume a very low profile even with all they have achieved. That's the price to be paid for being famous.
I wonder where the driver disappeared to in her story. Was he killed or left alone? Why didn't he call his boss's wife after the incident if he was alive? Is this a real event or a prose? If it is a real event, was the family part of the deal? I guess that this story looks more like a drama than a reality. The omission of the person of the driver makes it sound either untrue or staged. If you have the power of the pen then use it rightly not to extort people.
Same happened to my father, it was a horrifying incident, which cannot be forgotten so easily
Chimamanda can write. kai!!!!!
Wow nice interesting
What an encounter, God help our country.
May this kidnappers never be spared,, evil in this country. I just pray this place will be made safe..
interesting
Its so sad that our country is so crazy. May God give him the grace to get over this traumatic experience. We hope and pray for a better Nigeria where our lives are more secured.