Photo of Queens College Girls back in 1959 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 20 January 2015

Photo of Queens College Girls back in 1959

Queens College girls pictured above having Biology lessons in 1959. Photo credit: Getty Images

Dr Latunde Odeku was the first black neurosurgeon to be trained in the United States. Photo credit: SeeMeSeeNigeria

109 comments:

keisha said...

Me like

OMOOBA said...

WHEN EDUCATION USED TO BE REAL

www.glowyshoe.com said...

C their hair so simple

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Jeni_zee said...

Good!! The school still looked good then nd better than some recent akara schools

Nice one..

1959! Wow! That's old oh.

BLAQ said...

That's nice

Mr G said...

I wish there can just be peace

SOSO D ABUA GAL said...

As it was in the beginning!

7F098C19 said...

Linda please I need to see my ex school too when ever you have any article. Kings college. Engr Emy

I lik wht am seeing...
See serious students.

Linda wen you become historian? Linda take note!

My Alma Mata....laboratories didn't look this good during my '97 tenure though!

Dead people!!!

Linda Hw is dis news? Is lik u don't ve better gist today

Bissy said...

Thank you for posting these pictures, this are the kind of educative pictures that we need to reminds us of our past and what's important not all the celebrities pics and BS

Lol. Not 2 bad... #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

its is a very good school though.

Nice one ...imagine since 1959

@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

see how decent they look

Queens College have all lab equipment in 1959 but have non in 2015 under clueless GEJ...I cant wait for Buhari to come in

Awww...my Alma mata! Proudly a QC girl, 2007 set. #Passing on the torch, still brightly gleaming#

Wow! First black neurosurgeon? Where is he now?

Wow! First black neurosurgeon? Where is he now? Thanks for the history lesson Linda

Those Days!

Those Days!

Lilian Fc Barcelona said...

Wow!!!

#quality education#

A very good school

Nexxxxt

Look @ d enthusiasm the ladies are showing to learn, but the reverse is the case in our present generation where girls just want to have everything with little or no effort. And to our late Dr Odeku, ur memories continue to live in us. From a Uite.

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

When girls were Realy girls,nothing like aristo or even runs #change
GEJ till 2019

!! BIG BROTHER SAYS SO !!

My Alma mater! We keep passing on the torch!!Still brightly gleaming!!!

HOW ABOUT QUEENS COLLEGE NOW?....AKA....BACK TO THE FUTURE

Nice view

REXOVIC said...

HMMM...NA WEN NAIJA STILL BE NAIJA.....GOOD OLD DAYS!

Those days wen student's were actually reading and were commited to their studies

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

A relic from the past indeed.
Pls visit my very entertaining blog...

Liflblog.wordpress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

so these babes go they early 70s,, thats if they are still alive

Afro in vogue then....they looked decent unlike now
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Inside Out said...

Awww my alma mata

These are they people that actually went to school..not what we have today..you can compare these secondary school students with degree graduates of today..to an extent they can even beat a degree holder of today in terms of intellect..

Redcandy said...

That's my Alma Mater right there! QC for life! 88 years and we still be passing on the torch people. So many great memories....Lol!

Redcandy
****www.idoncomeagain.com****

wats wit doc's own ooo linda

MGBE UMU NWANYI NA-AGU AKWUKWO. NOT THESE DAYS WHERE MOST LADIES PAY IN KIND TO PASS EXAMS. MAY GOD HELP US!!!

Nobody is putting the brazilian hair... Lolx.

When young girls were real students...

So cool

See srious students abeg

Was n still a standard school Long b4 I was born!...

Queen's college my alma mater

#throwback#

DIM JENNIFER said...

WOW,GRANDMAS OF NOW,HOW TIME FLIES

My alma mata.best Nigerian secondary skl

winniekoko said...

Wow.....epic photos......all of them are now grandmothers

See their hairdo! Fashion has evolved.

awwww...my alma mater...i love this school so much.

see as that one with eye glass they pip.

#Linda's give away

Queens College made name oh

Proudly, an OGQC! Pass on the torch...

all of them na old women now,and some might have died ....chai .......

#Linda's give away

Queens College. I'm soo Proud to be an Alumnus.

Borin... Next pls

When students were Eager 2 Learn!!! Fast 4ward. 2 2000 till date..... student no Get time again!!!

Dotted lines said...

Hummmmm nic

Nice picture. Till we meet in camera. Lol

joystickextender@gmail.com said...

Memories so lovely..my thirst for vintage things never end

Meanwhile email me to know how to enlarge your joystick

Wow. This school don tey o.

Oh once upon a time..

Pass on the torch!!!! :)

gab2shoes said...

Dr odeku got trainned in d US by our tax payers moni and Neva came back home to cure our head, see many retards on our streets....
The gods are not to blame....
Gab2shoessaysso

Yea!!!!! Once a QC girl, always a QC girl (even after 3 kids, loll)..... lammie!

See ur head like boring.. cos u went to o ta - akara. Pass on the torch. Proudly a QCOG

Ok,,,,

towsynesouchie said...

Pass on the torch!

Back in the days
--------------LIB prince--------------
--------------LIB prince-------------
--------------LIB prince--------------

Yeah right! + ssom of d tins we done learn in cllass dis is a ggood one

Really when it had its real taste

my Alma mater

Awww...my set!!! Keep passin on d torch dear!

well this school is not the same anymore.
The Lumdy Blog Review|
Queen B:beyonce enjoying life on the beach

Mr Eddy, derez no longer harmattan...get dat in2 ur harmattan dried brain!!!

omobola said...

so do I

Gab2shoes. Pls educate yourself.

http://www.inspirenaija.com/2013/07/prof-latunde-odeku-nigeria-first.html

Proudly a QCOG, the torch is still brightly gleaming

Lynda said...

Pass on the torch still brightly gleaming#QCOG05

U clearly didn't school there...

My set too

up QC!QC for life. #QCOG

Hahahahahahahaha all diz galz here formin pass d torch, I jst d pity una

*oparoescalade*

Pass on the torch still brightly gleaming......QC my alma mater. I'm always a proud OGQC any day any time there eill never be a school like QC

QCOG~ Pass On the Torch!!!!

so proud of my alma mata!!!!

Floreat

A very good school even till now.