Lagos has 8 suspected Ebola cases, 1 confirmed - Lagos Health Commissioner | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 August 2014

Lagos has 8 suspected Ebola cases, 1 confirmed - Lagos Health Commissioner

The Lagos state Commissioner for Health, Dr Jide Idris, today August 5th said there are now eight suspected cases of Ebola in Lagos. These eight are those who came in contact with Liberian Patrick Sawyer, who died of Ebola shortly after arriving Lagos last month. But out of the 8, only one case has been confirmed while six others have been quarantined even though they have not shown any symptoms of the disease so far, Dr Idris said.

116 comments:

Ceeflo said...

They should try their best to contain the virus .. Considering how populated lagos is , it wil be dangerous if there are lapses

Kajian Ilmiah Kritis said...

Nice info brother :) i like it

Quite unfortunate!

Oh dear! Finally ebola is here for real, let us pray! In Jesus name, heavenly father, I commit boko haram into your hand, please let ebola visit their camp and begin to wipe them out, in Jesus name. Amen!

Nawao,but why did this man enter our country,even when he was warned by the Liberian government,and to think he was even lying about his identity on his hospital bed shows his motive of coming to Nigeria.
I pray this Ebola ish should remain only in Lagos for now,coz it would spell doom for our country if it spreads to other states.

this is getting scary!

Let the lagosians be extra careful. Give people that are ignorant of this disease some lessons. Finally watch and pray! Isaiah 41:10. BishopDammy#

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Any forces of Ebola that will make my people to suffer Holy Ghost fire !!!

How do one go abt dis disaster now? Let God help us o

kulspice said...

Baba God pls come to our aid O Lord.

How do one go abt dis disaster now? Let God help us o

kulspice said...

God help us in this country o

kulspice said...

for them to say 8! it's probably 20..We're in soup in that Nigeria!

Juliebabe said...

Father Lord pls save your children

that sums up to 7, where is the 8th person? i hope not in circulation with the general public

God help us o

Holy Cow!!!!!!!

God help us in ds situation sha lvlymara

www.glowyshoes.com said...

God pls cum to our rescue

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

PURPLE said...

I wonder wat wud be going through d confirmed victim's mind

something should be done fast b4 We start counting them in hundreds

God help us all.

mercy said...

God Plz take away this sickness

Lord have mercy

god help us..

God help us all...Amen.

Julz Cakes said...

Gracious goodness..Lord please let this be the only and last person. Let the others not develop symptoms and don't let it spread to those treating this one person. Lord please Nigeria is overly populous and undeveloped to handle this.

joshua kenneth said...

hmmm..mehn this ebola self..make he calm down oo..God help us..

I heard that the nurse that attend to the liberia man is dead comfirm it pls

God please deliver us from this plaque. Amen.

purity C said...

Ebola Ebola Ebola.WHAT!!!! GOD PLS SAVE US ALL

I seriously prefer H.I.V than this abeg.....

MICKY: God guide us

Uo said 8pple, one has been confirmed n 6 re under quarantined, wht of d other one or is he d doctor who treated d Liberian? LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

NennyD said...

God help us please....

#king said...

May God save us.............................#KingOfKings

God help us

It's only God that can protect from this in lagos state; where will the medics begin?
If you don't know how to pray, now's the time to learn.

*My R1.50c comment*

God please help us stop the spread of this deadly virus in lagos.

Ijanyimitch said...

Why lagos? God helep us ooo b4 Ebola go finish this human race

God please save your children !!!...

Another Doctor gone down and yet all they receive for hazard allowance is 5k. Nigeria, I rather practice my Medicine and Surgery outside this country, in a place where protocol is followed and hierarchy is respected, a place where a doctor earns all that he deserves. God help Nigeria.

Chineke nna..

Lord protect us from this wicked virus

This is not news na, we knew dis b4. They had all been quarantined, why is he repeating the news to cause alarm?

Lord have mercy

ALLCORRECT said...

thats 7. where is the 8th?

Yawa dey ooooo!! I can't hardly do some stuffs again all in the name of ebola.. Oluwa wa #call me indigenous lib# v_okunola@yahoo.com

God save us o

Seun Ajet said...

Patrick Sawyer!!! Where ever u are,can see or hear what you've caused my careless nation Nigeria?

One person confirmed, 6 show no symptom yet. Please where is the remaining one person o

This is a sign that d days are short, we need God now more than ever

austine ihechukwu said...

Nna egwu di ooo, must we have a part in every evil? na wa o

It is well

Sorry lagosians

Father protect us all

Jesus Boy said...

God when will this end?

God pls take away dis sickness na... I need to see my grandchildren

God pls take away dis sickness na

*takes deep breath

Waoh, my dear Linda, God help us. I pray that we have all that it takes to curtail this deadly Ebola virus.

God pls hv mercy on your children.We dont want this now

Lord have mercy oooo

God we seek your help for the cure

Alepatto said...

Lord help us do not let go beyond dis level in Jesus Name

Cynthia Iyede said...

Lord I'm sure You are in control n all will be well.

Oge Nsimah said...

Pls God take away this sickness.

6?...what happens to number seven hmmmm....:d

Pls, who gave the public an 'All Clear' last week? That person needs to be fired from his job. Giving lagosians a false sense of security when they could have been cautious of where they went, whose hand they shook etc in the meantime. I said it that those people should have been quarantined and watched for at least 21days. Hope the thing hasn't spread. More than this. 8 different families with household members who probably have different jobs, schools, vocations, hobbies and friends. I know hosts of the virus don't get infectious until the physical symptoms start to show, so I really hope it hasn't spread at all. Lord please help my country...... Just Me

I av the life of God in me,therefore ebola have been defeated, he that is in me is greater than he that is in the world

Her Majesty said...

OUR DEAR GOVERNMENT. YOU PROBABLE MAY BE DOING YOUR BEST BUT WE SINCERELY NEED MORE PRO-ACTIVE MEASURES. SINCERELY IF THE MINISTER FOR HEALTH WAS PROACTIVE ENOUGH THIER WOULD HAVE BEEN SOME PREVENTIVE MEASURES THAT MAY HAVE EXPOSED MR SAWYER 'S EBOLA STATUS AT THE POINT OF ENTRY. Or will the Hon Minister claim he never knew about the spread of Ebola virus in those countries prior to Mr Sawyer's visit? IT HURTS TO SEE INNOCENT CITIZENS SUFFERING FROM THE NEGLIGENCE OF SOME TOP GOVERNMENT FUNTIONARIES.

Lord pls safe us 4rm dis dreadful virus

God pls help us

*i like Don jazzy

Send the bill to Patrick Sawyer's family to settle- PRONTO!

GOD save your Children. ######OTUoCHA

I am no longer afraid of Ebola as it is not worse than being killed by several lions before ones wife and children as shown in the video posted at www.danielnwafor.com

God Almighty, pls save us

GUCCI said...

scary !!!

The doctor that attended to Patrick is dead and two other medical personel down with the virus. God help us oooo

Amin

Herbalist in Nigeria should come up with cure. I heard bitter kola can prolong it

Curtail nt contain,

Without sentiments, Perhaps movement of passengers and persons from Lagos to other parts of the country should equally be monitored efficiently to restrict spread to other parts of Nigeria. By this I mean flight, private vehicles and buses operating from Lagos to other parts of Nigeria should be closely monitored. Embargo should be placed on public gatherings including political rally's ......etc, till further notice. My thought pls!

Patrick sawter it will never be well wit ur wicked soul wherever ur loitering cus u'll never rest. Wicked man. God pls help my country.

Where's the Bishop pls. We need you to start fasting for us and the country abeg. Cos I don dey fear

@Anon7:36pm,Ceeflo is right,its *contain*

dee said...

So will he

@Anon 7:36pm, Ceeflo is right,its *contain*

Israel said...

God pls save Africa/world from this virus.Amen!

NaNcY DreW said...

I live in lagos,am not just scared but terrified I wear my medical hand gloves wen am outside d house, commercial bus, just abt everywhere I go plus wit a small bottle of ethanol 4 disinfecting and bottle water 4 washing. People look @ me like am crazy buh I don't kia I urge everyone 2 plz do d same it ll go a longway. PLZ is not a joking matter plz pass dis msg on.

evangelist ozeigbe said...

Bishop it will be well with you, thank you for all your prayers...it is suppose to be #BishopDammy not BishopDammy# ...praise be the Lord. ..Amen

Alloy this is the type of prayer that God will be laughing and grant it instantly. .. so for that I say a big AMEN to this... Sandy

Olameedey2in1@yahoo.com said...

The Lord is our shepherd....

Don't allow the the government deceive you, Ebola is in Nigeria BIG time.

Amablaze said...

Hmmmm reali scared ohh..God pls protect me n my family frm dis deadly disease.amen

In this context, contain is actually the correct term.

Scary!!!

Opelicious Morgann said...

It is contain...in this context.

Mr anonymous. ..'Contain the virus' is the right word to use in that sentence and not curtail..

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

The God u make jest of his name ??? Ewu like u

Scary...may God help us...this pple are just saying 8 cos they dont want to scare us...they are sure more than that..theyhshud just try and educate pple cos so many pple r still ignorant about this..wen u tell dem, dey r like u say what..kwaa

Thank you o! Mine too

freeresellersite.com said...

God help us

Hmmmm thanks for this comment. I just wish this so called govt is reading this especially the min of health.

Why did this man not consider containing this virus than spreading it even outside liberia. He ιƨ desperately wicked! He ιƨ more wicked than the boko haram sef. Dear Father, i/we plead for mercy. Let this virus not cδ♍ε̲ near me and my family in Jesus ηαмє Amen! And for those who has tested positive, make haste and save them Amen! Lord, please stop this virus from spreading further Jesus ηαмє Amen! Lord we bring ebola to extinction in this country and world at large in Jesus ηαмє Amen!!!

See mr lecturer o...e be like say I go dey learn my English 101 for here o. Una don leave matter wey dey for hand begin lecture English

Na over sabi go kill u, focus on not to contact the virus. Not the grammer . Idiota, stupido. Contain correct. #ish

Sylvonce said...

How many more?? Are they sure they are just 8 people he came in contact wiv?? God pls shield us from this impounding doom

Firstly I think d minister of health and or aviation should b sacked bcos of dia inactivity. How did d plane from Liberia land in Lagos? Are dey not suppose to have prevented influx of ppl from dose countries?
Secondly, how come 8 are suspected and only 7 are in custody?
Someone deserves to take d fall for dis!

Firstly I think d minister of health and or aviation should b sacked bcos of dia inactivity. How did d plane from Liberia land in Lagos? Are dey not suppose to have prevented influx of ppl from dose countries?
Secondly, how come 8 are suspected and only 7 are in custody?
Someone deserves to take d fall for dis!

God pls help us. Guys, do you seek a serious relationship, try BV HookUps

father please save us all...especially the ebola infected patients who are in most need of your mercy.

Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic
but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
I'm using the same blog platform as yours and I'm having trouble finding one?
Thanks a lot!

Here is my page :: good article