Didier Drogba retires from international football | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 August 2014

Didier Drogba retires from international football

Chelsea striker, Didier Drogba has announced his retirement from international football. He will no longer play for his country Ivory Coast but will continue to play for Chelsea. See the statement he posted on his website today below...
"It is with much sadness that I have decided to retire from international football. These past 12 years in the national team have been full of emotions. From my first call up to my last match I have always tried to give my best for my country. I am very proud to have been captain of this team for 8 years and to have contributed to placing my country on the world stage of football taking part in 3 world cups and 2 African Cup of Nation finals. I cannot convey enough thanks to the fans for all the love & support during these years. All my goals, all my caps, all our victories are for you – I love you. I also owe much gratitude to my team mates – the players with whom I have shared all these emotions and I wish you all much success for the future & a very warm welcome to the new manager.”

40 comments:

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Hapi for him

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

That 1 concern am, never a fan!

Yea. After a lifetime of hardwork ..you need to call some things quit. Welldone Drogba. Ama big fan. James 4:14-16. BishopDammy#

EBOLA : all you need to know. said...

LEGEND.

Ceeflo said...

One of the greatest footballers to have emerged from Africa! His exploits won't be forgotten too quickly!

Bia Linda u can't even edit or correct dis grammar "He will no longer play for his country Ivory Coast but will continue to play for his country." wtf haha biko kwa

Haba Linda..... Check what you wrote ooo."But will continue to play for his club, not country." Mr. Editor. Thank me later through your monthly giveaway prize. Drogba, you've done well.

Dilichukwu said...

"for his country Ivory Coast but will continue to play for his country" CLUB YOU MEAN..

Good Riddance No trophy to show for the international career. Adios jo. Gunners for Life and Super Eagles for Life too.

Good one drogba wish U̶̲̥̅̊ all d best #bright bravo#

Ms. Ikeji, .....but will continue to play for his club (not Country)

That's a good move so he will concentrate on club football in helping my darling Chelsea to greater height

Wow!!! So sad bt we will miss u.

Continue to play for his club rada..ya not a football lady lol #DrogbaLegend

E said...

Wow! he is an outstanding player

Gentletee said...

It doesn't come as a surprise. Here is wishing him all the best. As far as ivorian football is concerned he is a legend.

Good so he can focus on chelsea,,,blues 4ever irebisibrown@yahoo.com.sg

Abeg oo isit international footbal dt he retired 4rm or national football??since its national team he retired 4rm isn't it suppose 2 b national footbal?? Som1 explain abi linda dey wwrite somtin else here.

purity C said...

Ada said...

That's good. Glad, he didn't wait for people to persuade him. That's what we call bowing out gracefully. I'm Ur great fan.

Essential said...

Gud 4 him...wishin him d best

Good F̶̲̅õ̳͡я̅ him... Next!

E-mmanuelty said...

I cant imagine why this great post from the best blogger in Nigeria, is yet to recieve any comment. And it is making waves on my blogs home page, Oboy com c hw Naija guys d argue about dat guy speach na,we are doing it in the Nigerian way,dats y the site was created. MAINLY for Nigerians specifically for Nigeria...

u try

Gud one... let the younger ones shine...

queenreigneth@gmail.com

If only didier was not an african player he would hav won world best!!!! RESPECT!!!!

I don't like Chelsea much but I love this dude, one of Africa's greatest. He will be missed.

Jessica law said...

He has paid his due, they will surely miss him.

christian said...

he truly is a legend....12 years of nice play no be joke.

Good. He is too old!

Krixxy said...

Oops! Anyways bro! Big ups τ̲̅õ̸̳͡ U̶̲̥̅̊, U̶̲̥̅̊ av contributed ur own quota. Wish U̶̲̥̅̊ well. Drogba °ƒ life!! @least we'll still be seeing U̶̲̥̅̊ playing 4 ur club. Welldone sir.

Ehya... What an emotional message thr. I wish u d best in life King DD

Beta fr em so now e can focus on ma team chelsea....... God bless Chelsea,God bless us al

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

There's no need to regret. Uo did ur best. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Bony bony said...

Congratulations for ur achievement. Enjoy d rest of your life. Thumbs up

Santos Fadeyi Samuel said...

thats good for him though..... but i think he should never have gone back to chelsea..... visit my blog at www.flamedcity.blogspot.com

Dier dier u r a legend,u remain my best footballer ever,thank God u r back to our club

PAVOUR said...

My crush, will miss u.

Olameedey said...

M a big fan of his. Wish him all da best in errfin.