Abacha loot: US to return $480million to Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 August 2014

Abacha loot: US to return $480million to Nigeria

The U.S has taken control of $480million which is part of money stolen by former military dictator General Sani Abacha, after a court ruling in D.C on Wednesday August 6th. The U.S Department of Justice will now hand over the stolen money to Nigerian government, U.S government spokesman said yesterday.

According to court documents, late General Abacha, his son Mohammed Sani Abacha, their associate Abubakar Atiku Bagudu and others embezzled, misappropriated, extorted money from the Nigerian government and stashed them in various banks across the world. Continue...

During investigations, $303 million was found in two bank accounts operated by Abacha and his cronies in the British offshore center of Jersey while $144 million was also found in 2 bank accounts they operated in France. Continue...

They also operated three accounts in the UK and Ireland which had at least $27m. Investigations are still being carried out on claims to another $148 million in four investment portfolios in the UK.

Prosecutors say they laundered funds by buying bonds backed by the United States using U.S. financial institutions including banks such as the Deutsche Bank AG, HSBC Holding Plc and Banque SBA. 

Assistant Attorney General, Leslie Caldwell said in the statement “Rather than serve his county, General Abacha used his public office in Nigeria to loot millions of dollars, engaging in brazen acts of kleptocracy".

In June 2014, after a 16 year court battle, Nigeria was able to recover  $228 million stolen by Abacha and his associates and deposited in Liechtenstein.

132 comments:

Imagine such a huge amount of money nd other loots by greedy politicians invested in this country, what couldn't we archive? God is watching.

FirstLadyRimz said...

Finally!

Unilag Ambassador said...

Money that will still come and disappear here in Nigeria....

Ok I hear!!!

Abacha Abacha, dis guy don break plenty records ooooo. Chai

if them bring am comeback.
some mofos go send am go back again.
www.berachac.blogspot.com

DIS MAN MONEY NO DEY FINISH? D GREATEST THIEF IN D HISTORY OF D WORLD-..._JAY_Y

Hopefully this will not prove the old yoruba adage "Ole lo gbe ole lo gba." true. Recovered from one set of looters , handed over to a new set of looters.
Maybe , just maybe we'll see 1 million of that used to develop our famished nation!!!!!
We can only live in hope,

Hopefully this will not prove the old yoruba adage "Ole lo gbe ole lo gba." true. Recovered from one set of looters , handed over to a new set of looters.
Maybe , just maybe we'll see 1 million of that used to develop our famished nation!!!!!

ABACHA! your second name should b HIGHWAY ROBBER.

How will u exaplain this to Almighty God, Abacha. We are suffering in Nigeria, person stole all these huge amount of money...God will judge u and I know u must ve known what u ve done now and regret accordingly..

So all these while the US govt are yet to deem it fit to release such stolen money from the coffas of our common wealth? It shows you the level of insicererity on the side of these foreign countries in discouraging our politicians from starching away funds meant for the suffering masses.

Jesus Christ!
And most Nigerians are suffering?; imagine every Nigerian gets equal share of half the money.. My God!

* My R1.50c comment *

Nah wah ooooooo

"Kleptocracy." That's a good one. There are still a lot of kleptocrats in the Nigerian Government.

Anyway, to God be the glory, we now have the money to fight Ebola and Terror.

and yet this man's son is goin for governor..only in nigeria. if it's outside the country, they wil protest.

DOBY DOBY said...

Nig wil neva get berra wiv corrupt president s

Kayode T said...

Nice, but too bad the money will go into the hands of another set of thieves. It's a cycle

Is it of any good to us Linda Ikeji that you give us this report? What have previously recovered money translated to in this country? Just few weeks ago $148 millions were recovered from Abacha's son, $228 millions sometimes ago, now is $480 millions. if convert $480 millions at the rate of #165, you will get #79.2 Billions. Nigeria populace is about 170 millions, if that amount is shared at least #5 millions per person, the reminders will still be in billions. So why are we suffering in this country? Greed, corruption and wickedness!

comfort said...

Hmmm I pray dey recover all

hmm ! Am short of words

Linda who are they returning it to? U? Who wud handle the money......dats definitely going into politicians pocket....my country I weep!

Lindda abeg talk abt d salt n hot wata palava lol

Let them keep the money in exchange for Ebola Vaccines.

I hope they will use it for sometin reasonable, hope it will not be misappropriated this time..

James Ben said...

Can our president GEJ pls use the loot to buy the arms he need to fight boko haram n forget borrowing d $1b he is asking for.

Onye oshi!how can nigeria be better with the likes of Abacha.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

It's more like robbing Peter to pay Paul. The money will still end up being embezzled .. !! Next plz

Abacha ws nt a ruler,he was a dictator so he could do as he pleases,,so the should just give us our money

yaxx said...

nawaooo, no wonder, his wife **says** no matter how poor they are, they cannot be poor as dangote,,,kai, see money abeg

returning it to be looted again... God out of all d amazing countries ,u chose to put me in dis hell on earth called Nigeria!!!!

Bastards no even get idea on investing funds. Most of it just idle in bank accounts. The FGN should re-arrest Mohammed AND add Maryam join until 99% of the loot is recovered! ... Opata!

Another day another loot story by d #Abacha's.... Na God deliver Nigeria from dat from d claws of dat man... One cn only imagine wat cld hv bn if wat happened to him didn't...

Anytime a good rumor monger wants to do a good job by spreading a fast one, you hear things like;
1. TB Joshua said every Nigerian should bath with salt & water b4 6am.
2. The Atta of Igala has said we should add salt to hot water & bathe etc...

My questions are;
1.Do u know how much salt is contained in your sweat?
2. Is Nigeria different from the rest of the world?
3. How long is this skin torture suppose to last?
4. Who makes the most gain of this? Dangote salt company or who?
5. So, Ebola has become airborne in just 8 hours since I last heard of it eh?

Well, I'm a supporter of whatever keeps us going. If salt & warm water is the solution, please endeavor to add some maggi & a bit of dry fish to that water so u can have a spicy bath.

Omg, n you say it will b well wt the abachas? In tis state of abject poverty. Why r african leaders so heartless, i mean is there a curse on d black man...

linda havn't u had: brecking news; any moment from now you most bath hot water with salt in & drink some for Ebola frivention @least for now.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

@nairanote said...

Abacha try small for this country. I beg he kept 480 million dollars in reserve for us. Chai! der's God oh.

But Uncle Sanni, the money wey you keep will now be proffesionally stolen by these Ebola-Generation Leaders oh.
Lastly, hope say you dey enjoy fela's music for hell.
Well, everything we do, God is watching.

if only this money could go round! well, im looking forward to making mine n nt taking from someone's loot

.....Loot about to change hands.. ..

Olumzy said...

What a professional in theft. But we keep hearing money issues almost every week, we don't know where they're going to. Stolen by thieves and collected by thieves. (Ole gbe, Ole gba )

Too bad. I hope the money recovered will be put to good use.

Make dem share d money to all nigerians, it will be better dat way.

Ursula shazy said...

Woteva! W
eda dem bring am or not we no de feel am so shu...shu #lookinguntothesky
Ursulasdiary@yahoo.com

Ursula shazy said...

Woteva! weda dem bring am or not we no de feel am so shu...shu #lookinguntothesky
Ursulasdiary@yahoo.com

Linda me I hate to dey hear dis type of news, even if den collect the money no be share den go share am again. Thief steal thief collect am,thief com spend am shikene all of them na thief. sholami4u@yahoo.com

FrOw said...

Damn! Ds man chop moni oo! Hs money no dey finish. Today na 480milion tomoro na 775milion Dollars! Too badt he ws kild by a woman

NaNcY DreW said...

Just when I tot we re safe, I was told dis morning dat ~Dey said dis morning on STV news dat some liberians wit d disease has sneaked in2 lagos tro d border. *Faints*

Hmmmm...... as if it won't end up in other pples pocket..

queenreigneth@gmail.com

This abacha money never still finish? This man really loot o

##############GOD punish#################devil

Yetinde said...

Refunded money has being found out to be our education trust fund so pls FG & dem fools we're no longer stupid,they're returning the money so jonah can use it for election,God'll displace them & their evil plans this year.Baraka Jummah peeps,linda you've being swallowing my comments e kontinue,see tii gbo.

SVC said...

We don't need the money because our corrupt polıtıcıan will syphone it. They should use the money to büy the ZMAGG Drug. #Shekınah IT İŞ WELL

Why am I not happy hearing this...please d US shud keep dat money, we dash dem...cos dey return it..it like giving anoda theif...soon Mr. President will start asking one question every morning "Okonjo Iweala, has d money landed"?

GOD DEY SHAAAA! NO COMMENT!

Like we all know, in a couple of months, that money will become unaccountable in this country. damn Nigerian leaders.

The living politicians should learn from dis.

Vivienne said...

Awesome! I hope the Nigerian government will put the money into something that will actually benefit the society at large.

hmmmm...thats all we'll hear about it....Niima

Story Story.... No one would know the whereabout of the money because it has wings and would fly as soon as Mr Jonah ( President ) is given or whoever is given

Will that money generate interest?if yes will us give Nigerian govt the money,if no how?pls someone should brief me.

Is well ooo. For me usa should not return to government rather usa should use the money develop our country by building important structures needed in dis country. Because if d money is been returned in cash to Nigeria another Abacha family will steal d money again. Thatenuguchick

God, this is too much o. Imagined that this man were to be alive till date. Dangote would have been learning in terms of money from him. This man would have been brushing shoulder with Bill Gate.

Na waoo. ..dis dude for buy one country if na dis 21st century he loot dis money. ..dia Is god ooooo....

Will dis man's stolen money ever be fully recoverd??? I doubt it. Dey'v bin returnin so much of it to Nigeria and yet, its stil not finishin. Dis man realy stole our money o. Wat a wicked man he was

Julz Cakes said...

And the said Nigeria(govt) that recoverd it would still loot it and even more and that's how the cycle continues

N yet Jona's govt left dat son of bitch go witout prosecution... Abacha devil pour more fuel 4 ur own fire in hell.

This is all our Leaders know to Embezzel only,Nigeria country of thieves

And it was thesame Mohammed Abacha that GEJs admin acquitted of embezzlement.When I say GEJ's regime is thives and looters friendly,I know what I saw.

linlin,,,,,hope u ve bathed wif ya own warm nd saline water?,,,,#itpreventsebola#,,,,,lolx

#passydubem#

Pls the US government shouldn't return that money yet cos PDP will just use it for their next year's campaign. They should wait till 2016!

Ada said...

Nice move. I really hope our government will use the money to improve the life of it's citizens not the life of it's politicians. Our eyes are watching!!

Please the money should be kept there.....cos if it's brOught back to the country. Uncle Jona and his goonz will use it for campaign.... Since he had the guts to request for $1b to fight boko that was the day I started suspecting him! #WORD #IdiokAboy

LORENX said...

DEM 4 KUKUMA NO RETURN AM...COS E NO GO STILL CHANGE PRICE OF KULIKULI 4 OJA MARKET..MAKE HIM PIKIN DEM FLEX AM WELLA TILL WE KIDNAPPPP DEM

We can use the money in the exchange for Ebola treatment

*i like Don jazzy

Lloyd ... said...

Where the money dey go like this nau?? ... Omo this man family no fit suffer again, the World Bank and International Community are giving Ebola affected Countries $300 millions, and only this man chop this kind money for that long time?? .. There's God ooo...

Joy said...

Smh

over ten years accumulated interest nko?

Hmmmmmm I'm waiting for his childrens to talk

wrong time to return money to be re-looted again.....lol

Woow

Is he the first or only one that embezzled??Why don't they let this man's soul rest in peace.
.....ZAMANIAC.....

Cynthia Iyede said...

Isn't it better for US to even keep it n use it to help those in nid cos if dis money get into d hands of d govt, it will still be looted by d unsatisfied, selfish n self-centred vultures called politicians. The masses won't even benefit from it

Make dem use the money find treatment for Ebola for West Africa.

Amablaze said...

All dis thief thief dey r doin,daris God ohh..Lindodo hav u heard bout d salt n water tin..e dey cause serz wAhala ohh

I wonder if they ever consider the trauma they cause the family whenever they bring up their dead father,son,brother and uncle.Forget the fact that he embezzled which is not a new thing,he was our president ,americans don't do that to their ex rulers why would nigerian govt let them tarnish our image like this?
.....ZAMANIAC.....

Corruption don dey tey no be today. One man keeping money dat can last a generation, all for him and his family. D love of money is the root of all evil. Our leaders are terrible.

Dozie said...

This money is so gonna be shared by a some bunch of politicians...TF

Sidney Izulu said...

There is God o. That's roughly N81bn. And they say God no go punish am???

God saw that abacha wants to sell nigeria as a whole thats why He took his life overnight.

If only after the stolen money is returned and its used for something reasonable and tangible for the benefit of Nigerians, then the better.

why return it when some other 'fortunate' bastard will only end up getting his avaricious paws on it. it's a never-ending cycle!

Woow

Ok. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

just imagine how we would have gone far with that money thou...

And we are crying for white man to help us. As fool african monkeys, we have been cheating ourselves. Why will this piece of shit former african monkey( abacha) take all this money for white man to develop their own country and forget our own? See why white men think we are dumb and stupid? If Somalians bring hundreds of millions to us in naija to invest while their own country is rotten with hunger and diseases, will you respect them? Again, stupid african MONKEYS. No brains at all. Maybe monkey get brain pass. Monkey no fit let you eat his own banana o. Try carry am from his hand and see. Idiot carried over $480 million bananas from his fucking jungle called NIGERIA to give to white man to invest and create jobs for other white people. And better lives too. And we no get electricity, water and hospital. He's in hell chillin with his fire. And those that are still stealing from our government this moment will not find peace. Let that money be turned to iron curse, in breakable curse. That money will not fulfill their purpose. It will bring problems to them. You can only use Nigerian government money to take care of Nigeria as a country not Europe or America. Idiot shame on you. The worst part is they don't even have the Brain to invest it right. I HATE YOU That are still playing a part in bringing this nation(Nigeria) down. May your own greed become your snare. It's done.

ITS ALRIGHT...

GDMONI LINDA ND LIBERS..... AV A NYC DAY

ZB

And the big question nw is "how will this money be distributed or reinvested"? FJ CRUISE commenting via Nokia N78

Wao.and they still live amongst us.really that name abacha should be removed from anything NIgeria.shamless bigot.shameless family.

cecilia said...

It is unfortuate that this attracted national award from GEJ. Diaris GOD oooooo.

Fine, now US are returning the money back to nigeria, that we won't know the way about is a petty.

cecilia said...

Diaris GOD ooooo. Should people loot to get national honour ? I beg na only me waka come. Dont confuse me to vote again.

The stolen funds are irrecoverable!!!

»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L@REDIFFMAIL.COM^ »_»_• \0/

Good, maybe now we wouldn't need to borrow that purported money to fight teRrorism!

Thanks to God,bring back our money mbok.

Karen said...

God forbid bad thing! Na wa o. Only one person. Greed is a bitch.

All the money should be left in whatever country they are and signed off as gifts to them cos returning it is for some stupid government to steal it again LOL

Oma said...

Yeah, and then we can give the same money and much more back to the US to buy the Ebola cure.... i don't trust America!

Oh well,isn't it pleasurable news for those looming eyes of..Anyway!
I Hope they prove me wrong.

Soo much money. Nd they are returing it to another set of thieves. #WonderWoman

Olameedey2in1@yahoo.com said...

I really hope d money ll not b distributed into 'their' accnts.

They will still use ds money now on irrelevant tinz

Jagz said...

Its better the US keep the money to better their economy cz when they send it down here, these rouges will steal it again. its a recycling process. EFCC recovers money, send it to the FG nd its bn stolen again... on and on and on........

What a very ignorant comment.

Oleeeeee,u no go rest in peace buh pieces....oloriburuku oloshi.

They should the money .jonathan and his boys will share the loot .the common man will never benefit from it .

Sylcrypt said...

Jonathan did a good thing by granting pardon cos if he didnt,this money n sp others wnt surface.as for the Americans,they are the one killing africans.they welcome such huge amount of fund in their banks without asking questions!its unbelievable!

Abacha! This is pure WICKEDNESS

With all these corruption, yet GEJ cleared Abacha Mohammed of all charges.

When the cash come they should devote a large chunk of it to this ebola outbreak before sharing what's left amongst themselves. We all the money will find its way into independent accounts....

good
criminal but i doubt it if FG will use this money for anything other than their own use. from flying pan to fire...

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

That money is going for 2015 election..lol

Fight Ebola terror indeed

Hmmm. Wat a thief. Bt after d money is returned Wat ll happen 2 it. Our present day politicians r nt any better

Please US, hold on to the money for now.
In future, when our youth become leaders as the primary school hymns... Not this generation ooo
I meant your grandkids, then you can release the fund with or without interest. Na only release we go hear! Accountability will always be zero.

Abacha must have stolen so much money from this country for some countries to still be returning his loot 16yrs after his demise.Yet,our President think He deserves Centenary recognition,what country called Nigeria!Strong Naija! Emmanuel254

THIEF! ROT IN HELL!

anonymous said...

Can they ever completely recover all that this man stole? Which one of this ill gotten wealth did he take along with him or is he spending there? This man's greed even baffles d devil. Vanity upon vanity

ZeeZee said...

At the end of the day God will expose them and the children of God are the ones to win... How can a man loot so muc money yet I havent heard his name attached to a singe charity wow.
The return of this money benefits no one really

Better person only gat brain bro/sis Jonathan is preparing to giv him d PDP ticket for governor smh holy molly Jona is a stupid ijaw man afta he drinks ogogoro nd fuck aunty Pepe 9ja in da dark

I know rite

Even Jonathan self na dictator j's always after his opposition which way Nigeria

hiss make US govt kip the money jare