Nigerian nurse dies of Ebola virus as FG confirms 7 new cases | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 August 2014

Nigerian nurse dies of Ebola virus as FG confirms 7 new cases

Minister of Health, Prof. Onyebuchi Chukwu, speaking today August 6th at a news conference in Abuja said a Nigerian nurse has died from the Ebola Virus. He said the nurse worked at the Lagos hospital where Liberian Patrick Sawyer was treated. He said she died yesterday August 5th. He also revealed that five medical practitioners who interacted with Sawyer have been confirmed to have contracted the deadly virus
"Nigeria has now recorded seven confirmed cases of Ebola Virus Disease. The first one was the index case, which is the imported case from Liberia of which the victim is now late. Yesterday, 5th August, 2014, the first known Nigerian to die of the EVD was recorded and this was one of the nurses that attended to the Liberian. The other five cases are currently being treated at the Isolation Ward in Lagos.” he said
The Minister noted that all Nigerians diagnosed with the disease had primary contact with the late Liberian man. He then announced the appointment of Prof. O. Onajole, of the Lagos University Teaching Hospital, who will be based in Lagos, as the Director, Communication and Community Mobilisation for the Ebola Virus Disease.

149 comments:

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Now this is serious. God save ur people !!

It's so sad this disease afflicts medical providers first. It's turned them to brave soldiers for going to work and doing their job. RIP, dear nurse.

Ceeflo said...

the medical peeps are the ones paying immensey! Really sad news ...

Prayers libers! Don't just sit down and watch! Plus let's be careful in all now! Matt 26:41. BishopDammy#

Oh God, save us. Can't they just kill anybody that is infected and cremated instead of treating them?

Mrs E said...

Sad!

Oh God have mercy on us ur Children pls..

queenreigneth@gmail.com

Royal Attah said...

Sign of the end time. Christ is coming soon... beware!!!

Mrs E said...

Sad! That patrick man na wicked man o! He knew the had the disease and wanted to take many with him. Father pls judge him accordingly

I wonder how the name Ebola came about, that virus should be called death because that's exactly what it is

Lord have Mercy

I wonder how the name Ebola came about, that virus should be called death because that's exactly what it is

Hey! This is getting serious.
Plz lagosians should remain in Lagos for now.

Jesus Boy Is Here said...

Oh God! help Nigeria.

OMG! This is tragic.I advice all Lagos LIBers to get their hazmat suit and start rocking it ASAP.There's no shame in it o.

JESUS IS THE LORD AND HE SAVES said...

This is a critical moment for Nigerian government.

E don set....

Yepa.. pls find solution to this deadly virus oo.. God pls save my family for me o

My God! Wat is this? I thought they wore protective gloves. How did they contact the Virus? This is very scary. Lord pls help your children. I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

God pls av mercy o

Very sad...God save your children from this deadly disease...Please

what about the people they had contact with, shouldn't they be found and quarantined

This is so sad and annoying. This disease has a 90% death rate, if the chances of 2 US citizens increased with serum ZMapp, why cant the treatment be given to Africans where over 800people are dead. Why should the US decides who dies and who lives? Why can't our leaders insist on saving the lives of our people? If ZMapp will save the lives of the 5 confirmed cases in Nigeria, this serum should be extended to them.

Chinyere Ok said...

God please deliver your children.

K-REX said...

May God have mercy on us.

otubanjo mo said...

i really feel pity for her sha. if i were a doctor, i would have resigned on the day the man came with the disease. i cannot risk my life and that of my family because of the salary they would pay me

MUSA FRANKO said...

LINDA YOU SEE WHY I SUPPORT DONALD. Just like the Lagos State Govt have acted stupidly by allowing that Liberia man into Lagos. Now, he has infected other Nigerians with that deadly Virus. LET THEM DIE THERE….. You don’t show such a dumb emotional compassion to people With such virus. The Nurse don die now. #EBOLA is out to wipe out an entire Nation, so we must stop all flights from other west African countries coming into Nigeria. No Sentiment at all, My Opinion.

May her soul rest in peace....all this medical Practitioners they have to be very careful oh,God pls protect them for us o.

mo_hot said...

God av mercy on your people..heal our land oh lord of this virus...dnt let the innocent pay with their lives before..your the only one who has d cure..let it vanish from our land oh lord..let no live be lost again..Amen and Amen...pls always pray d second u remember Nigeria

o2mi said...

jesus!! we call on you today please have mercy on us save us oh lord!! please lord we are crying out to you this day that this should be the last case of Ebola! please lord help us.

Mandymice said...

oh why!!!!!!!!!!!!
*crying*

may GOD save us all from this deadly disease. may our family not be infected in jesus name.....amen

OMA said...

oh God, like play like play, this has become serious. Those 6 people would have had contact with numerous others before they were quarantined.... God help us oooo

AAA EVENTS & DESIGN said...

MAY SHE RIP..

www.aaaeventsanddesign.blogspot.com

Some of u are misguided blaming Donald trump...this man travelled on a plane filled with nigerians..everyone within close proximity to him should be quarantined. ..flight attendants..custom officials..aircraft cleaners...driver that drove him...this is a highly contagious disease...no one from nigeria shod be allowed to leave the country this disease spreads like wildfire..an epidemic is at hand..

NaNcY DreW said...

Dis shit is real and is in Nigeria people plz be aware

OMG dis can't b true,,... JESEU thou son of David have mercy upon us,,,!?:;;'"_)(

I dey fear oooo ☹

Oluwadamilola said...

Yepah

RAHDOW said...

God punish dat stupid man, wey carry dat stupid virus enter lagos.

its getting scary by the day

it is getting scary by the day

#king said...

oh Jesus..m travelling on Saturday..I need to stay away frm lagos..wasnt comfortable touchn ma colleague's ystdy..scared af.................................#KingOfKings

God of mercy.... See as person dey trouble dey come meet am. God please come to our aid

niikkiebillz said...

oh my GOD,Nigeria is in 4 dis EBOLA VIRUS.Imagine all d doctors have family and friends,they all go home to meet their family,hug,kiss,share tins 2geda and d family too have friends.This virus is fast spreading more than we can imagine.God help.

Linda I'm down wt cold chill!.. Chai!.. God is dis how u planned of destroying dis world!.. Chai,.. I'm afraid o!.. Chai!.. Chai!.. As if boko is not enough!. God y naah!..#teamchris!

Nigeria is a hot bed breeding cesspool for ebola..filthy surroundings, stifling heat..thousands of ppl in close proximity, unsanitary conditions pollution beyond measure u name it...please no one should leave the country I beg you ppl...the disease needs to be contained...hopefully the center for disease control will rapidly come out with a cure or vaccine...ugezus
comments should not be ignored..

Hmmm...

* My R1.50c comment *

Na wa o! God help us,first Boko haram, then Ebola... Jesus pls come n save ur children o.

Only God can save irebisibrown@yahoo.com.sg

I don't even hv international passport OMG

MUSA FRANKO said...

Whoever checked on that nurse and confirmed she was dead is a suspect of the Virus. The Govt should arrest him immediately. No Time

God pls send this disease into the dungeon where it belongs. Have mercy on us oh Lord.

So this f*ckin' virus will make the doctor and nurse to get scared. #Godhelpus
Akinolaolamilekan01@gmail.com

Julz Cakes said...

OMG! Like play like play o this is getting serious. Please they need to exercise extreme care this time to ensure none of those treating them contract the virus. This is very scary.Lord please help us!

OMG! Pls God with u all thgs are possible, come and protect us. Federal Govt. Should not let this disease spread.

@ April I tell u my sister, what kind of devil brought dis man to Nigeria,are their families safe

Chineke Nna!!!! Which kin wahala be dis. This Ebola has turned HIV like malaria.

My friend fly away from here. Who cares wer u wish to go??

Dr. Nollywood said...

The virus is only contagious when the victim starts to show symptoms. So you can shake your colleagues and conduct business normally. Also the virus can't last up to a day outside the host (patient) so as as long as it is contained and all the victims so far were those who had direct contact and who handled the EVD patient and we're subsequently quarantined, I think an outbreak can still be forestalled

Holy jesus.....it has now gotten to the stage when u have ordinary cough or cold...then u begin shiver and suspect ur self looking all over ur body for blood...chai....God pls help us ASAP

Kemisola said...

God help us oo

Aww. No one is safe Ooo, is really circulatn all over. LIB Princess! Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

Let us all bodly enter into the Throne of grace to obtain mercy from God! Maery is all we should plead for now! Psalm 51

double wahala 4 deady body n d owner........!!!! Just wondering how her family will welcome her remains

Sylcrypt said...

This could have been contained!its a pity.it keeps showing how dysfunctional our health care system is!

GOsh!! this getting more scary...

She must av transfered to her family members! Jeez who sent dis liberian man to even come to naija n he knew he had it cos d previous week befre he died he went to his sistas funeral dat d same ebola killed.kai na wa

Oh GOD come for our help. This is really scary.

So this is real.mr president ask obama to give u some of the vials to treat the patient.bikokwa
FACE OF LIB

OMG!WOMAN said...

Why wud this liberian fly down herevto die... This is wickedness

God please have mercy on us.

This is getting serious

Dear Lord Jesus! We nid ur Help

I aint scared....We'll all die soon.....

oh God. fact is this ebola shii is spreading like like wild fire. the doctor that treated Sawyer is infected. ofcourse he has family n friends he has come in contact with. now the nurse is dead. only God knows how many she came in contact with. i'm scared AF.

Patrick Sawyer u see what u have caused??? See poor nurse wey been dey on her own dey hustle o, Sawyer carry him own wahala cross many land and rivers come jam this poor nurse and other health workers. E don be for Nigerians and Nigerian health workers o, nobody go gree treat or attend to any Patient wey come to their hospital again o.

My neigbor's family that are arriving abj frm Lag today na inside house I go dey answer their greeting wen I reach house o. Make their pikin no even do mistake play near my door-mut at all becos the kind shout wey I go dey inside house shout for them eh, dem go know say their Papa neighbor harsh. Everybody frm Lagos now na prime suspect to me o.

#GodHelpUsAll

chioma said...

God of mercy we Nigerians need ur help pls Father come to our aid Amen

its a shame to all nigeria health ministers, this woman couldn't have died just like dat, at least d us citizen who where infected before d nigeria woman are responding to treatment they are not dead yet*nigerians should wake up*

O! My God. Why Nigeria? where our political leaders value money more than human lives. The next thing now is for PDP and APC to begin blame each other instead of joining Hands together curtail the spread of this deadly virus. God pls help us.

Jesus Pls come n save ur children o. #so scared.

See me see wahala o. We dey our own dey battle boko haram, unemployment, tribalism, strike, corruption etc, we dey our own o, this man come Nigeria. You see now ECOWAS, free movement. Thank God for Ministry of Health. They really tried.But no matter how careful, I am sure some people wey touch the Liberian man are not under quarantine. Poor medical personnels. This kind of work hazard is just too much. Their families should
be compensated. As if we dont have enough problems. Will all these people die? Please some people have survived this ailment, Please God, let the remaining survive as well. WE dey our own o.

na lie jor

Lord have mercy on us. We trust that the lord will stop the spread of this deadly ebola virus

God pls protect us!!

¤Mharyoowa¤

I hope they have isolated their families too!

Why dis man carry dis sickness come najia?Which kind wahala bi dis nah

Nawoooo dis Ebola thing sef lottennoel@yahoo.com

It sure wnt come near me and my love ones. Nothing dey happen!

some basic questions needs to be asked here like
1. Did this people go home after they made contact with the ''index case"
2. Were they put immediately under strict surveillance
3. Who are the people that has had contact with them...

these questions needs to be answered, and their family members needs to be put under surveillance too oh.....
Miss Linda kindly post my comment oh

The minister should state the locality of the hospital so that everyone is not too panicky.

so who are those attending to these patients,is tat how they will be passing it around? this is not funny

this is serious.............God abeg oooooooooooh

That is why I call that Liberian man a medical terrorist. R.I.P to the dead.

Dis is so sad,am weeping#..RIP dear Nurse#

AbiesCandy

Olameedey2in1@yahoo.com said...

Oh Lord, come 2 our aid!

God help Nigeria,God help Akwa Ibom State.

What are their names and why are they faceless.. I don't believe until I see proof. They want to get aid by all means possible.. 419 Nigeria

Gladys said...

It's really a pity... May her soul rest in peace

U must be heartless, pray it doesn't get to you or anyone you know.

Look at u,yet under Donald wale and Donald trumps post u were against them,how is ur statement here different from theirs? Bloody hypocrite!

Common sense should have told you that they had direct contact with the man before they discovered that he had the deadly disease.

Ur such a selfish being, so if it were to be ur parents, u will want them to be killed, and by who?..ur such a dumb ass, u might be d next person to contact it, and I will come and stone u to death..mtchwwww

PEAK said...

We now have committee for Ebola. smh

God help us o..its no longer funny!

this is terrible but US shld bring that drug they used for dr bantley na.y are they stalling.cos its affecting africa countries nw they r slow in providing vaccine since march this deadly virus has bn in rampage.

Charmie said...

GEJ pls bring vaccine frm that US not only economic summit u wil do der pls.

this is really serious and very disheartening... pls nigerians dont come to ghana again...ohh... we dnt want to contract this disease. we are already suffering cant add this too to it.*nyamekye*

If you were infected would you prefer to be killed...or would you rather hope for a miracle?

pls ooooooooo Prayers and personal hygiene is needed o key . all the bread mama them for lagos and food vendors wey them dirty pass anything na now we need to show them about hygiene o. whahala o

Why do you always go back and forth. U are the same person that just crtiziced donalds now.. and u are here doing the same shit... get a life

Pls lets stop being sentimental.
Close our borders from d 3 affected countries. Even though that's a bit late.
Hv u seen what a porous border is doing to us?
That screening wont work.
They shud sadly quarantaine their spouses & kids & kids schls or any1 they may hv had contact with. Avoid d hospital too shikena

Wow! May God help those 5 medical practitioners.
Thinking about it deeply, Those 5 people would have gone home to their families before knowing they had it . Only God knows who else other than those 5 might have had it .BIKO! #washyourhands #handsanitizer #carex
#knowwhoyourkissing #besafe #ThereisGod

Patrick sawyer, may yu never knw peace...

So Sad! God have mercy

Victoria Yetunde you must be a very heartless person u are saying they should kill all those that are infected and cremate them if it is you or your family member that is infected would you say the same. Beside did you not hear that some people recover. The virus simply just runs it course and goes away. So if you kill everyone what happens to those that will survive it. Please people should stop making dumb comments. Ebola is in nigeria and it is everyone's problem. It can affect anybody let us just do our part and take all the necessary precaution and pray hard that it will not get to our door step.

U r so heartless

#GIFTEDhands

Vic, no they can't just kill..ebola has only killed 60% of the time, so survival is 40% possible.

Amaka said...

Rest in PIECES Patrick Sawyer!!!

Ders nt impossible 4 GOD to handle dats wat I believe. Have no fear cos GOD wil surely tke control of d suituation

MZ G believes so

Now is the time for crusade..wia Bishop Dammy. Abeg wia u dey I go sponsor the crusade..Me and bonario be like e get small money too. This ebola nobe here again.

God save ur children o

Will you go and make the arrest?

This man made disease was unleashed on Africans for obvious reasons. You people do the math here, black people are not wanted in this world, period!!!!

Pastors please dont tell ur membersbto hug, shake and kiss eachother o

Ijeoma O. said...

What an ignorant and heartless woman you are. Shame on you. Stupid.

that girl said...

i wonder how nigeria will survive this, we are so populated and our health service is very poor. see make hay while d sun still shines.

It's the fed government dat determines the country's border movt not the state govt

Fati said...

Please where is the minister of health in all of this? Abi Ebola is a Lagos state affair only? Until it gets to abuja,abi?

Yourme said...

I think the likes of Linda, Freeze and other fellow hypocrites can now see sense in what Donald Trump said when he asked President Obama to bar ALL flights coming from West Africa from entering the United States. Why can't Africans learn? Perhaps, when shall Africans wake up from slumber?
It is no longer a story neither is it a wish or otherwise. Ebola is now capitally in this country and we cannot run away from this fact. This is a disease that presently has no cure. The only known drug been used is the zmapp serum been used by the US but still undergoing further critical research. Many would have died here in Africa and Nigeria in particular by the time the drug is finally approved and produced en masse.
I am awaiting Linda's reaction to my comment please.

Really??your illitracy level is beyond comprehension.

Linda, the Lady IS NOT DEAD. i just watched the news and they confirmed that she is alive contrary to speculations of her death.

Its funny how a few days after Nigerians were warmed against Ebola a mysterious "Liberian man" brought the disease to the country. And now a mysterious nurse who was in contact with him is now dead. What is the origin of Ebola and why is it only killing people in sub-Saharan Africa? The only north Americans to get the disease where given the "experimental cure". SMH Open your eyes people and see what is going on here!

May her soul RIP. Nurses shld be very careful, being the closest and central care-givers to the patients.
They suffers the grave consequences of health hazards or dx outbreaks?
Yet ppl are made to believe that Drs. do. And so, they shld nt agitate for the BEST work conditions. Hmmmm.

She was infected yet we did nt hear about it, until she died. But, the media announced about the sick Dr.

It is nw clear that the 7 others isolated may also be nurses. I pray for their miraculous recovery. But we must seek for better work conditions and solutions.

May God come to our help

Now my legs are really really shaking...God my family are in naija o. Have mercy

Jthrush said...

But I fear my hope that they havent contacted family member,friends,normal patients at work, the public because they lived their normal lives before they were isolated. If they are male they might have girlfriends as most medical persons; they mighthave girlfriends physically contacted;Clean havoc!. May God grant us more grace of survival because this affliction had been in prophecy.

Alagbado-ode said...

I'm sure our government will no5t want to get Zmapp b'cos of d cost implications. They will want US to make this available free, but remember it's a private US firm that developed d serum and not US government. Our own government people dint have d same level of political sophistry or commitments to it's citizenry that can make such rare antidotes available. So don't hope on it for now.

Sad!!!

vicky said...

God av MERCY! Dis coming frm d pit of hell. WE ar abov all IJN.

In regards with the ECOWAS part over ur comment note that there's no case of ebola in cote d'ivoire, Ghana, Togo, mali bf. Senegal or Benin so far . U should blame Nigerian health department

You should close ur borders to avoid that you Nigerian affect us Cameroonian. Please stay in your country til the end of this epidemic

We should thank God that Sawyer the Ebola importer did not have full access to Nigerian large gardering. The intention is to effect Nigerians and gain international recognition and concern for the Ebola scourge in Liberia.Sawyer got what he set out for,but God will deliver us.

Julius Njoku Jnr said...

this sawyer man is devil sent.may he continue to die in pains as he visited Nigeria and put them in pains and agony

Why did Nigeria had to be the 3rd country in Africa to contact this killer disease? ...only God knows what is happening in this world right now!
meanwhile, http://ozaragossip.wordpress.com/
has something else for you!

God bless this Anonymous man who said...
We should thank God that Sawyer the Ebola importer did not have full access to a Nigerian large gathering. The intention is to effect Nigerians and gain international recognition and concern for the Ebola scourge in Liberia. Sawyer got what he was sent out for, but God will deliver us ...Amen

August 7, 2014 at 5:02 PM

CURE- rub little anointing oil on knees and knee down. say" I redeem myself and my family with the blood of Jesus from ebola virus and its evils in Jesus name. Amen. Raise your knees a little, knee again and continue the process repeatedly for 99 times. Pls tell people in Liberia and effected places if you ve access to them Pls.

God av mercy on us al do not alow any of us n members of our household to get contactd wit dis ebola virus in jesus name