2014 World Cup:Messi wins Golden Ball, Neuer wins Golden Gloves
Argentine captain Lionel Messi won the FIFA 2014 World Cup Golden Ball Award, which is the award given to the best individual player, while German goalkeeper, Manuel Neuer won the Golden Gloves which is the award given to the best goal keeper of the tournament and Colombia's James Rodriguez was named the tournament's top scorer with six goals. Do you think Messi was the best player of the 2014 World Cup?
Obviously he is not, FIFA is politicizing football too much! When there were more outstanding players like Mueller, Robben, Rodriguez, Uchida of Mexico, and so on..... Even yobo sef.... Mtcheeewww
Messi is my best player...I respect the guy so much but I dont really think he deserved the golden ball. Players like roben who were play makers of every match played in this tournament werent even recognised...well sha! Plus na wa 4 Messi o!!!!! He rejected all rhe handshaked handed towards him becuz they lost. Chai!!!
FIRST OF all 'lol'..messi does not deserve that award, rodrigues was suppose to be given that award,yea...dis kind tin dey vex ma ass.make i go sheet jare.
Absolutely not. There was nothing spectacular about Messi this tournament. But with Sepp Blatter as FIFA president, Messi wins always. Robben, Neymar, Rodriguez and some others were much better.
Linda,which kind question bi dis now if no bi Lionel messi,who e for bi?Lionel did a good job but I wanted something better for him like world cup but it was not meant to be.I'm not happy at all.
messi doesnt deserve it in anyway,is last 3 matches is natin to write ome abt oda guiz like #muller #james #dimaria n co did beta dan im mtchwwwwwwww #politicsinfootball
He doesn't deserve it at all, someone that came out of an easy group and was no where to be found throughout the knock out stages... He was just walking about d pitch most of the time...FIFA is full of craps..
Messi my foot. He should go nd hug transformer abeg. Midget like him. He dosnt deserve de award at all. Robben all de way I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***
Fifa bullshit messi is not suppose to be in the list of best players@all how can someone score 6 goals with so many assist and is not giving the best player "james Rodriguez of columbia deserved it not messi". Jopeyemi@gmail.com
D golden ball shud have gone to Muller and not Messi...That's a big ojoro, Messi scored 4 goals and 1 assist, all his 4goals came from d group stage and none at d knockout stages,Muller scored 5 goals and assisted 3, so why shud Messi come on top ahead of Muller,guess compensation from FIFA...Congrats to Neuer, he is a joy to watch!
Here, they go again. Messi himsef knows he doesn't deserve this award. What happens to the likes of Reuben, Uchida, Klose, Mueller, Neymar (whose absence brought out brazil's"nyans") and even Suarez (atleast for a good bite). So ploitics is everywhere. Congratulations to Manuel, an award well deserved.
Linda, Messi won man of the match award 4 consecutive times at this world cup and also took his team to the finals single handed, which other player did that.....abeg he is the best
Me know say that bladder guy abi wetin be I'm name go give messi,robben deserved that award yes messi lead he's team to second position bla bla bla but where was he during knock out stage? There's politics everywhere in this world even sex self nonsense thank God say e no lift that cup I for vex join benin witches fly reach rio go break the cup.
That's how fifa was compensating this Guy all year long. He never deserved that award for no reason, but he's a gud player thou! Some deserved it more than him, I go for robben. He's one of the most talented player.
Pure politics, fifa is a disgrace, they always find a way to compesate messi, Messi just shine in d group stages against very mediorce opponents including our own naija, but went it really mattered in the knockout stages, he waz no were to b found, infact since dimaria got injured, argentina didn't score a goal again.... Anyway he would always win awards since he is a GOOD BOY according to sepp blatter. #Amout
he deserved it..he is a game maker. Messi is definitely d best player in the tournament.Outstanding in his pace and creativity for his team,dribbling,shooting,passing were spectacular and efficient. he isnt called d best for nothing.
he deserves it cuz he single handedly brought his team thro d group stages n den assisting Di maria to lead them to quarter finals etc. he deserved it jare
You know nothing about football......The Netherland Squad is far better to Argentine.So,what do you expect from Arjen ...Unlike Messi whose team is not at their top form.You expect him to dribble the team from the start to end show the world,he is all in all.After good goals,good passes and nice playmaking.Don't let me say much.....it is well.
The truth is that If messi were to be in Germany or Netherland Squad,he would have perform better and score more goals.Wasted chances also gave room for all saying against man that God has really blessed and favoured among his peers.He gave his all......Nothing more than this can he do......Still the best and will forever be.
Anonymous 12:11am. Wow. Listen to yourself. So because Messi created most chances and completed most dribbles he deserves the best player award? Wow. Since when did dribbling or creating chances become criteria for choosing a best player? How many of the so called chances led to goals? Who are you? What do you do? Are you a child or an adult? How can you spill such tosh and have the nerve to say "People just talk"? My goodness.
No way,robben is better than messi in this tournament,even di maria perform more than messi,even tho i dont like neyma becos he always feel arrogant he is far better than messi in this world cup.......i dont like that blatter he always play politics
Okay he was the most outstanding individual in dat world cup no argument there. Rueben had sneidner andvan persie to play with, who did messi have? Yet if u ar nt baize you'd agree he deserved it.
Messi was consoled in place of robben. Fifa deserves knocks. On the overrall lessons have been learnt and the history makers are never in doubt. @Fortunedexcel
Messi is my love. I felt the pain of them loosing to Germany cos I wanted Messi's dream to come true. He is indeed a good player just that he didn't have foreward men who could assist him score goals. He made good passes but his team messed it all up
All haters of Messi should stfu... Messi is the greatest footballer alive and did more than deserve the golden ball. If u don't like it pls pass the mic...
It was quite obvious Messi was not the most outstanding player in the 2014 world cup. He was above average but not the most outstanding Robben or Holland should have won the golden ball award. FIFA don dey play Nigerian politics oooh.
132 comments:
neuer yes, but for messi is not him that has that its robben
okesimaa@gmail.com
He doesnt even look happy at all.
Congrats guys and yes! Messi was the best player of the tournament. ...
I never wanted argentina to win anyways and as for that messi,left for me ehn...even golden agbalumo he wee not get!!! #flipsHairAndWalksAway#
Congrats to him
Beyonce is reportedly pregnant with second child (Photos)
Messi no deserve dis tin atall. Some oda guys were more outstanding dan e his. D like of Ajen Robben, Dimari andJames
Yesoo!!! Chairman na chairman! Though he still was nt happy.......soRry ma messi, evryday isn't xmas.
Obviously he is not, FIFA is politicizing football too much! When there were more outstanding players like Mueller, Robben, Rodriguez, Uchida of Mexico, and so on..... Even yobo sef.... Mtcheeewww
Not in any way! He wasnt deservin of it at all... It was obvious it was pure politics. Robben should be d man instead
: That Golden Ball award Messi received was based on sympathy not merit.....ehen lindodo suarez won Golden Teeth...looool
Messi is my best player...I respect the guy so much but I dont really think he deserved the golden ball. Players like roben who were play makers of every match played in this tournament werent even recognised...well sha! Plus na wa 4 Messi o!!!!! He rejected all rhe handshaked handed towards him becuz they lost. Chai!!!
Congratsssss to stunning and formidable Germans!!!
Really no but just 2 encourage his efforts nice Messi
Breezy_p 080MTN
Danabiaziem@gmail.com
d guy deserves even d trophy messi is futball made easy
NO#CAPITAL LETTERS#likE CRIOUSLY?
Well deserved linda, messi 2 gud a player not 2 be compensated - fair play colombia, Young player- Pogba
He is far from it, since Maria was out, no goal for Argentina, James,Muller, Robben, what happened to them? Fifa is so sentimental abeg
Messi don't I really don't see the best of his football. Arjen robben will be okay.my opinion
Yea to me he is,bcos if dere re others,dey would ve helped their country in coming first or second in d tournament ,so Messi deserves it big time
congrats to dem all. ogunaomi@gmail.com
Capital NO messi isn't the best player my best is james Rodriguez.
i think robben should have won the golden ball not messi. congrats GERMANY.
At all oo.. he jus tried at d beginning of the tournament. . Robben is evn berra off. Evn muller nd kroos.. neva tot he will win it
FIRST OF all 'lol'..messi does not deserve that award, rodrigues was suppose to be given that award,yea...dis kind tin dey vex ma ass.make i go sheet jare.
undoubtedly he is, but football needs more than a outstanding player, its a team game, hence
FIFA SHOULD CHANGE THEIR VOTING SYSTEM.
was thinking of Robben but no doubt I love mercy more.....He deserves it
XDON D DON
He kinda deservd it bt lukd more of a compensatn award sinc he dnt lift d world cup
Even Messi knws dat he wasn't d best player of d tournament
Absolutely not. There was nothing spectacular about Messi this tournament. But with Sepp Blatter as FIFA president, Messi wins always. Robben, Neymar, Rodriguez and some others were much better.
Ok... Seen.
Messi, the best player? That's his own credit. Great!!! O!German Machines..............CHERRS!!!!!
They ought to giv it to Mikel. Case dismiss (Corper Godstime)
At all...Neymar did better
NOOOO!!!
Linda,which kind question bi dis now if no bi Lionel messi,who e for bi?Lionel did a good job but I wanted something better for him like world cup but it was not meant to be.I'm not happy at all.
Am a fan of messi, but I do not think he deserved d award.
Messi na ur boy frnd nah.. Datz Y u wanted Argentina to win cause of Messi. Linda u dey fail... U disappoint me alot. abeg
messi doesnt deserve it in anyway,is last 3 matches is natin to write ome abt
oda guiz like #muller #james #dimaria n co did beta dan im
mtchwwwwwwww
#politicsinfootball
Onazi
Chinonye Sarah. Lol.. I concur wit u 100 percent my dear
Oyibo.......
O weY ah! o wey AHhhhhh!!!
It has been a 1daful worldcup gud9t and gudbye Rio. Even Christ the redeemer Statue lite up 4 Germany. Gud9t 2 u 2 LinDa
Messi didn't deserve that award! There were far better players at the tournament! James rodriguez, Muller would have being a better choice.
Messi? He deserved nothing of such... Blatter just spoil dis tournament sha
No doby dnt check it like dat cus if nt 4 mess-, de wouldn't have gotten dis far! He was like a savior to dem.
People just talk. Messi created the most chances and completed the most dribbles. Deserved it.
You can go to nearby pharmacy to get ur self lagatin. so that u can sleep well since u are not happy. Yeye dey smell! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥
If I were gay. Messi on my mind. Messi lives on . ENGR Emy
Grammar nancy...
He doesn't deserve it at all, someone that came out of an easy group and was no where to be found throughout the knock out stages... He was just walking about d pitch most of the time...FIFA is full of craps..
Messi my foot. He should go nd hug transformer abeg. Midget like him. He dosnt deserve de award at all. Robben all de way I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***
As you complain reach show us your papa picture. IDIOT!
Neuer deserve it, But for Messi NO! Even muller have more goalz n assists than Him. I think Robben deserve it
Lol yobo.lmao u wont kill me
eeya i supported germany,buh later wished that argentina won.poor messi his not himself.
Messi...Wots this thing with him self
A.Robben shud v cx he merited it. Hmm FIFA na only una waka cum?
Fifa bullshit messi is not suppose to be in the list of best players@all how can someone score 6 goals with so many assist and is not giving the best player "james Rodriguez of columbia deserved it not messi". Jopeyemi@gmail.com
D golden ball shud have gone to Muller and not Messi...That's a big ojoro, Messi scored 4 goals and 1 assist, all his 4goals came from d group stage and none at d knockout stages,Muller scored 5 goals and assisted 3, so why shud Messi come on top ahead of Muller,guess compensation from FIFA...Congrats to Neuer, he is a joy to watch!
Wooooooooooooooooooooo! Messi (sponsored by Adidas) wins the Golden Ball (sponsored by Adidas). FIFA IS A DISGRACE.. EVEN THE WHOLE STADIUM BOOED
Congrats. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com
Here, they go again. Messi himsef knows he doesn't deserve this award. What happens to the likes of Reuben, Uchida, Klose, Mueller, Neymar (whose absence brought out brazil's"nyans") and even Suarez (atleast for a good bite). So ploitics is everywhere. Congratulations to Manuel, an award well deserved.
hell no...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com
Nah..Messi doesn't rily deserve it alota players were better than him dis tym. Oyindamolaharvey@yahoo.com
Robben and even Muller have been mote phenomenal in dis tournament. Messi was just ordinary.
Then who was?
Without a shadow of doubt in my mind,MESSI deserved it well.
If you Linda watch the tournament, you don't need to ask this stupid question. He is the best OK.
Linda, Messi won man of the match award 4 consecutive times at this world cup and also took his team to the finals single handed, which other player did that.....abeg he is the best
James, Robben muller are better contender. Not messy
congrats..patoswife@gmail.com
I felt Robben more in he tournament
He's not expected to be happy when his team lost
HW CAN MESSI WIN GOLDEN BALL... FIFA IS BN BIASED JOR.... MUST DEY APPEASE MESSI????? WHY NOT ROBBEN OR BETA STIL ONE OF D GERMANS
Moye B.
Messi is not happy @ all...who cares?hehehehehe
Me know say that bladder guy abi wetin be I'm name go give messi,robben deserved that award yes messi lead he's team to second position bla bla bla but where was he during knock out stage? There's politics everywhere in this world even sex self nonsense thank God say e no lift that cup I for vex join benin witches fly reach rio go break the cup.
What of Suarez. He is suppose to win the GOLDEN TOOTH award.....lolz
Robben was better by miles
he won t,coz he helpd his team to reach th final,roben did not.so cut th bullshit
Congrats to dem jare
Ok...
That's how fifa was compensating this Guy all year long. He never deserved that award for no reason, but he's a gud player thou! Some deserved it more than him, I go for robben. He's one of the most talented player.
Pls If u don't like the award giving to messi u go and jump inside river niger mpissssss
Pure politics, fifa is a disgrace, they always find a way to compesate messi, Messi just shine in d group stages against very mediorce opponents including our own naija, but went it really mattered in the knockout stages, he waz no were to b found, infact since dimaria got injured, argentina didn't score a goal again.... Anyway he would always win awards since he is a GOOD BOY according to sepp blatter. #Amout
mercy more than deserved it....he is a game maker. and d game maker to me is d best player.he was unselfish n i feel bad Argentina didnt win d cup.
See beefıng lol.. IT İŞ WELL
he deserved it..he is a game maker. Messi is definitely d best player in the tournament.Outstanding in his pace and creativity for his team,dribbling,shooting,passing were spectacular and efficient. he isnt called d best for nothing.
Amed Musa should have won it. He did what no stricker could do to tha Argentine Goal keeper.
On point. Messi never merit it
he deserves it cuz he single handedly brought his team thro d group stages n den assisting Di maria to lead them to quarter finals etc. he deserved it jare
On point bro
You know nothing about football......The Netherland Squad is far better to Argentine.So,what do you expect from Arjen ...Unlike Messi whose team is not at their top form.You expect him to dribble the team from the start to end show the world,he is all in all.After good goals,good passes and nice playmaking.Don't let me say much.....it is well.
The truth is that If messi were to be in Germany or Netherland Squad,he would have perform better and score more goals.Wasted chances also gave room for all saying against man that God has really blessed and favoured among his peers.He gave his all......Nothing more than this can he do......Still the best and will forever be.
Anonymous 12:11am. Wow. Listen to yourself. So because Messi created most chances and completed most dribbles he deserves the best player award? Wow. Since when did dribbling or creating chances become criteria for choosing a best player? How many of the so called chances led to goals? Who are you? What do you do? Are you a child or an adult? How can you spill such tosh and have the nerve to say "People just talk"? My goodness.
This is what i call arrangeeee. Messi doesn't deserve it.
No way,robben is better than messi in this tournament,even di maria perform more than messi,even tho i dont like neyma becos he always feel arrogant he is far better than messi in this world cup.......i dont like that blatter he always play politics
Okay he was the most outstanding individual in dat world cup no argument there. Rueben had sneidner andvan persie to play with, who did messi have? Yet if u ar nt baize you'd agree he deserved it.
Yes o, he deserves it!
STFU,Ozil has the most number of chances created,even tho he was heavily criticised... Get ur fucking facts right!!!
Mr. Ibu, he deserves the golden ball more dan anybody.
Gorilla of LIB....hehe! I don see u....oya carry. Ur chopper de go.
People can hype Messi sha! He blivs he can never loose dats his problem. Over-confidence! Mtcheww abeg make we hear word
Robin deserved it.
#PICCANTO#
lausmithuj@gmail.com
I love messi so much.... cos he kinda look like my hubby. #Doro Classy#
Why curse him? Did he rob you off your sleep. Learn how to address your dislikes without abuse that way you will better your life
Messi is d best if u like go nd hug transformer okey
i support
One man takes a country/team to a final and you say he doesn't deserve it? That's what I call taking the bull by the horns.
whether you like it/ not
he's chosen
King Messi
BORN TO SHINE!!!!
Arjen Robben should have won it.
Congratulations to him.
Cooldavoe@yahoo.com
whether you like it/ not
he's chosen
King Messi
small but mighty
BORN TO SHINE!!
whether you like it/ not
he's chosen
King Messi
small but mighty
BORN TO SHINE!!
Messi was consoled in place of robben. Fifa deserves knocks. On the overrall lessons have been learnt and the history makers are never in doubt. @Fortunedexcel
messi doesn't deserve it,even the commentator said'a prize he'll have to hide'
Messi...
Haters keep hating while Messi remains a champion! Congratz to him jor
felt so bad for messi, lost alot of chances to net a goal,beta luck next tym. d best player award was jst a consolation. congrats Germany
if it was possible FIFA would give d world cup to Messi..........stupid Blatter. he didn't deserved it that's why he wasn't happy, period
Messi was the best player. All anti messi should shut up cos they don't know football
Messi is my love. I felt the pain of them loosing to Germany cos I wanted Messi's dream to come true. He is indeed a good player just that he didn't have foreward men who could assist him score goals. He made good passes but his team messed it all up
The reality of the show is that messi is a one man show but Arjen is lucky to have a better squad.If not,your story will be different.No dispute!
Passes:
Messi 42/game
Robben 29/game
Mueller 34/game
Key Passes:
Messi 3.5/game
Robben 2.5/game
Mueller 2.5/game
Dribbles:
Messi 6.5/game
Robben 4.8/game
Mueller 1.5/game
Shots:
Messi 3.2/game
Robben 3/game
Mueller 2.7/game
Tackles:
Messi 1.7/game
Robben 0.3/game
Mueller 1.0/game
Interceptions:
Messi 0.3/game
Robben 0/game
Mueller 0/game
Solo runs:
Messi 34
Mueller 9
Robben 38
Deliveries into the Penalty area
Messi 26
Mueller 12
Robben 19
Goals:
Messi 4
Mueller 5
Robben 3
Messi deserved it alldaway
All haters of Messi should stfu... Messi is the greatest footballer alive and did more than deserve the golden ball. If u don't like it pls pass the mic...
Lol, golden teeth indeed.
All u Madrid fans just sharrap!
Bad english @mosez
Robbed is d man....finito
They all deserved the awards they won
In my humble opinion
It was quite obvious Messi was not the most outstanding player in the 2014 world cup. He was above average but not the most outstanding Robben or Holland should have won the golden ball award. FIFA don dey play Nigerian politics oooh.