Photos: Check out the newly acquired trains by NRC | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 1 May 2014

Photos: Check out the newly acquired trains by NRC

These are the new trains recently acquired by the Nigerian Railway Commission, which is due to be rolled out soon. The new trains were ordered by the MD of NRC, Mr Adeseyi Sijuwade. See more photos after the cut...

This pic with people in the train shows a test run of the train

This is a picture of the 1st class cabin

191 comments:

Wow! So nice.

CoolDiva speaks!

Caira said...

Anyone who need my nude picture hit mai name

Pls let them not convert it into market place.

I give it 6 months and they will start selling NO MORE Cough NO MORE catarrh. #anonymous sharpmouth#

Stop using our money to buy trains and bring back our girls.

See this “I’d Go Any Length To Act Nud’é’” ––Actress Jesse

Must they buy this cheap olden days type. Smh

Nice one!!! Today is jst really boring... I need a bj...*straight face*

For how long will they run this shit and it will pack up.

This is a locomotor not a train.

Dis is beautiful....bt ds hw BRT statd n nw iits a dumpster..maintenance culture pls!!!...I Luk forward to taking d train!

Old looking train.

Issokai... 9ce one. Hope it dosnt make noise

Great news.

Thieves oshi. They collected large sums of money to buy cheap second hand train. Ole

Hope there's security, boko haram is every where.

Nkaytchee said...

i'm guessing this is for the new railway lines being constructed

That is gud .,kudos to them

Hmmmm! I see......very nice.

Beautiful,if not for linda's amebo strategic I will never believe they do exist till date.Trains here i come to fulfill my childhood dream b4 i go.

hmmm,pls which part of naija? i hop say enemies of progress no go see this one bomb.

nice one

In fact that's where my birthday party will hold if possible.thanks sweet linda.

Wow! Cool.

Nice one #bright bravo#

Wow.....nice 1

This is a very Gud development, hope it won't be a problem to maintain ds?maintainance culture is vital in Nigeria.

Admiral said...

Will it have escort? Else people don die for high way railway thiefing ... Lol

At least sth positive 4 a changé

Nw the goverment will start feeling as if they have done one big thing..... Lol... Lovely, but i hope this project will not only end in lagos bcos we too down here need train abeg.....
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

Nw the goverment will start feeling as if they have done one big thing..... Lol... Lovely, but i hope this project will not only end in lagos bcos we too down here need train abeg.....
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

Well, i give this train just three and the whole thing will come back to usual....
>>>BringBackOurGirls<<<

Gentletee said...

Naija is working! Something to cheer about.

Precious said...

Wow this is beautiful.

KASS said...

U knw d trend in town now. Pipo move about with their charger, hope socket is available for people to charge their fones haha

manufemeEdwardmary said...

Nice, Hope the train will be used judiciously, because Nigeria get problem of project abandonment.

Nice very cool
Told my folks with this recent boko haram attacks I'll be the last to board those trains
#BringBackOurGirls

I hope it will be sustain 4 a lng tym #gud wrk

KASS said...

Dis is a great effort so let private investors gosh so that we can world class trains too

Mrs E said...

China train again? I fear fear o

We need more of this in Nigeria. train transportation is a wonderful experience and it's about time Nigerians and the government should welcome more of this. Linda Ikeji thanks to always updating Nigerians all over the world with latest news and development going on in Nigeria and Africa.

Alero Warri said...

Good idea but for the type of society few tips should be considered. the chairs needs to be divided into allocation with arm rest to fit a particular body structure...so that there is no struggle for seats n we can build a culture of coordination.

Nw ppl can pout n snap insyd n also lie dah they r in a plain. Hehehe

Nice 1 @NRC... Lets hope thr is a lift in our means of transportation

Plane*

Nw ppl can pout n snap insyd n also lie dah they r in a plain. Hehehe

Wow, am impressed, the trains look sweet, bt are our rail line ok? Abi na ontop main road these trains go run?

i hope they maintain them well cos thats the issue.

You want to be paid for working online just 4hrs a week? Click here to see how. It's easy . Anyone can

Nice one. We don dey upgrade. Wish to enter it one of this days.

Nice!!! It's about time...

Well done to them! The stuff loooks well kept! Hope they maintain it sha Guess the Nigerian Actor that just bagged an International Role

Eh eh u dnt min it from reluwe to railways

sassygirl said...

Issorai

Mr MD learn from your foreign counterparts, all the seats on that train should be like those in the first class cabin.. Do you expect people to travel from Lagos to Kano in the other cabin where the seats are like those on the london underground ? Haba you people should reason things thoroughly before making decisions thats why youre being paid.

julz said...

That's nice. Proper management and maintenance would be the next issue.

are these not the 2nd hand trains that were bought from canada??? at least they are trying

Always good to see progress

adedeji michael said...

nice one from the NRC... changes in railway transportation... more secure more relaxing... i pray the northern bourgeois/capitalist with with trucks and trailers spoiling our road will embrace the use of rail and let our road rest....

It should be maintained o...not just buyin trains. Maintenance is the issue. Next pls!!!!

All cool an clean but give it 3month Linda then post the same train again am sure u Wll be disappointed naija we razz

Sooo cooool!!!

COOL, FINALLY WE CAN LIVE UP TO OUR LARGEST ECONOMY NAME...

I DON'T EVEN CARE ANYMORE, CAN RUBBISH JUST STOP HAPPENING IN OUR COUNTRY AND PLEASE LET US ESPECIALLY YOUTHS DO SOMETHING ABOUT OUR STUPID GOVERNMENT (IN THE HOPE THAT WE ARE NOT WORSE OURSELVES). WHAT IS TAKING THEM SO LONG IN FINDING THE ABDUCTED GIRLS?

Let them all get commissioned and watch how Nigerians will turn them into refuse-bins

Truetalk said...

Very good. I would like to experience it now that its still fresh and clean. At least before the traders of Orile- Mile 12 carry their markets design the seats.

Dey won't spend money 2 buy quality train... C hw dys train looks lyk those train I see in old indian movies.. D train be lyk keke sef

tony rich said...

Beautiful! My fear is maintenance which is not in Naija dictionary

Wow wow wow, this is Awesome.. Now i believe Nigeria can change for good, but what about Maintenance?? Hope they wount carry tomatoes with it 5yrs from now..

……………..
¤GROWN MAN IN A YOUNG BODY¤

Lagosgirl said...

Trust nigerians na. Dem go use dirty spoil am. Shior

These trains are old as hell, nobody uses them anymore.

Linda, so you basically just post anything now as long as you get paid right?

Kampala1 said...

wow,,we will get there soon..

LIB Kritik.

Dats gud but dem no go even use me test d train

Are you looking for a sugar mummy or daddy please call dis line 08132333771 please be mature..

I don't usually comment but this isn't news! The quality of these trains from the posted pics are very low

rolleyes said...

That nonsense Genevieve and silly dbanj. If it is to show off maserati, Bentley, rolly's and 500% brazillian, they are good at that but they won't lend their voices to fight for the missing girls. Shame on both of them. Shame on psquare, shame on Banky w, shame on omotola. Shame on mercy Johnson, shame on all of nollywood

Well, this is great news.

sureguy@toronto said...

This is a great development Am so excited about it just hope they will maintain it.

Mz Mimi Lee @ DAVIDO my Concern! said...

In a phrase!!! BEAUTIFUL!! I Like!

Слова Богу!!!

There ll still be standing

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

Nice one. Let's hope they maintain them well.
What Is Your Relationship/Marriage Deal Breaker?-click my name to share your thoughts

Scam

django said...

impressive...Abuja here I come

Good, making progress

django said...

impressive. kano here I come

They should make sure they have a plan for maintenance. This is really a good idea, but they need to keep it neat and clean. Make transport so much easier.

I Love African Music said...

nice one...

Must cost trillions to acquire. Shaking my head and crying.

Nice one. We are moving forward.

Hope they will be able to maintain them. Maintenance is the problem!

It Looks refurbished and definitely not modern.

Good one !!! What am certain about is poor maintenance ...hopefully am proven wrong this time

edee said...

This is good...kudos to them

we will soon be there one day #Development atleast we are approaching the end of the tunnel

#milito da great#

Wow nice thanks linda you are doing a great work here.

mide said...

Hehehehehehehehheheheheheheheheheheheheheh we are getting dia *sips shekpe*

DownUnder said...

Nice job NRC, thanks for the chinko trains......e remain maintenance .

Lin, I agree with the seating arrangement in the first class section even though it looks like popular side. I do not agree with the face me i face you seating arrangement. am not sure there are nigerian decision makers who have seen how and what train looks like in Europe.... We will keep Appreciation this Half bread is better than non trains......xoxo

my people always ok with mediocre work. This trains look more like old refurbished trains. Seeing as we don't have a maintenance culture, it is only a matter of time before this system disintegrates.

Ahh! Finally, see better train!! Not a steam engine

By all standard,this I very good idea and hopefully this will change peoples lives in lagos...but,how long are these trains going to last?cos from what I am looking at,the trains don't look new.looks like some second hand chinese trains..I hope they weren't paid for using the allocatin for new ones.i hope I am very wrong.

I hope dey r not okirika...*Amarachi*

Wule said...

Why you crest your name like that Linda? Na you get the trains?
Meanwhile, i know it's lack if maintenance that will eventually kill these trains.thats the usual naija way

Hmm Linda u are too fast I ve seen it 2days ago n was thinking to send it to u but here u did it smh fast woman

Robert Hanson said...

How long will our country continue to waste our money on old school stuff? when will we start using latest facility? When they want to buy bullet proof:they go for latest,to syphone money:the go for the latest, but when it comes to public concern: everything becomes Abrahamic...May God help our leaders!

nah 5th hand den still go buy. We all know you don't love us.

A new Nigeria is born..

Later you people will say our got is not working.... oya as this is something good too, pls blame Jonathan. Jona 4 2015

Nice one people

GEJ IS WORKING TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT.

Fatimah said...

Refurbished trains.

Looking so fugly and like scrap metal that is bound to fall apart. Even the paint job is bad. #RepaintedMolue

hope people no go perch on top and the sides of the train like moths o!

retro bae said...

Wait o.shey train dey get first class and economy class too??the side with the red seats looks better than the side with the green and white seats.lol

bbm pin 7439955a said...

New train old modern. What happened to the jet like train I see in Japan or Sweden anytime I visit there. Looks like someone is blind from looking at better trains abroad. Anyways we lack the maintainance culture. ENGR E.

Nice one.

Blood old trains

Nice n cozy but in Nigeria buying good things is not d problem its d maintenance culure dat we lack

Now people will sit down dia and nt credit d govt, I'm nt a politician bt I love jonathan as a president, left to me his reign is wat is called peaceful and real democracy, pp run him down and all bt have u guys ever heard of any opposing party members dying or being killed? Cos his reign is peaceful his detractors r screaming kidnapped girls and also people pls see behind d thin veil there is more to this so called kidnap hmmmm. Let's give jonathan some credit pls . I pray God bless our leaders and bless Nigeria my country our country.

not new rara #looksaway

I smell London used,Nigerians will never buy new thing in there Life,are we not meant to use something new ????????

Na u wan thief dem? D u know how fast train is? D gravity? Abeg gaan sleep! U tink say na all dose old modern train, all dose gwura gwura!

I can't really believe this! I didn't believe the government was capable of keeping its word, you know how long they've being promising a train.

They shld better put bomb detectors at the entrances, and dey shld not overload it as to make it unattractive to enter.

Haba these are second hand district line trains in uk !!!!haba latest death traps for sure . Yeye ppl .

You wonder why people think you are gay

Dis small boi aff spoil finish ba!!!! I pity u dis Retard

WOOOOO!!! So excited about this. Nigerians can we please be positive for once. This is good news and let's do our own bit to make sure it ends well. Let's use it well and all that. Thank you :D

Still many silly Nigerians here are still complaining they are not new..How many new trains do America have? Can't you guys count 1 before 2? Is it because is not APC government? Hypocrisy will kill 80% of Nigerians...Even if they are old,how many years was the rail system in Nigeria abandoned? 39 years...and some of you guy want magic for 4 years with many distractions...Sorry some LIB readers are sadists..

Ms. P said...

Looks nice and clean now....let's see if that will be the case in say 6 months from now.

I wonda 2! C train in oda countries,u go cry 4 naija train. So old! If u ask d cost nw,it wl buy double d chassis electric train oda countries r using.

Who wan suck ur dirty skin? Abeg tk seat joor! Meat dey talk kpomo folo raise hand.

You are dumb.

Very funny but true

My brother/ my sister u took the words out of my mouth . The first pix is just like the cars of the New York subway which is trash.... What about copying the Dutch - Amsterdam trains or at least the trains of the London Underground . These people are just not it

Onyx , I did not know you like BJs from gay people.... You are perverted

Linda it is Nigerian Railway CORPORATION not Commission

We celebrate mediocrity in this country. With all the resources we have we are celebrating a used train from China,when most countries have been using state of the art world class trains over 20 years ago. Only God knows how much they would have paid for this chinco train that will be parked after 8 months. We need to demand for better living and better infrastructure that meets current world standard.

I hope it will have CCTV cameras for security inside. That way people will know that they cannot do rubbish inside or around the railway stations.

The seats of the London Underground are padded. These seats are like the New York subway which is just within the city, cause the LIRR and the metro north In NYC have very good seats. Nigerians in authority like to take the rest of ordinary Nigerians for fools and unworthy of the best

Roll eyes you are a fool!!!! What happened to your own voice!!! Be an activist... Mscheeew

Lovely structure but soon to become '49 sitting 99 standing' in Fela's voice. ---SOD---

Who wan travel go kaduna inside dat train? U wan make we turn roasted cow? We hav learnt our lesson 4rm nyanyan. Avoid crowd! Na leg I dey use go anywer 4 9ja :-D

These r rubbish. I pity for our citizens cos this railway boss dey see nigerians like mumu. Painted dead trains

Dey'v reali tried. D truth is ur comments wont change much if dey had bought a new train! If dem use al our money buy bullet train, wetin go com do pple wey neva chop? If dem look bullet train, dem go belleful? 5th hand train is a gud start! We ar nt china! If dem buy bullet train, dem go stil pack inside like sardine, den go tamu d tin like molue. Let dem test d public wit dese 1st, den go higher! Rome wasn't built in a day! #swallows shortbread whole#
»S«

Who wan travel go kaduna inside dat train? U wan make we turn roasted cow? We hav learnt our lesson 4rm nyanyan. Avoid crowd! Na leg I dey use go anywer 4 9ja :-D

This is not electronic train, compare this train to the train in dubai,

These are refurbished 20th century trains. Awful.

Kai!!!! Dem don cheat dem again!!!.......How come when other countries are getting the modern trains, Nigeria is busy buying the ones that have been fazed out?? You can even bet they are second hand. Meanwhile many Nigerians that don't have any awareness of the present day, will start clapping !!!
Giant of Africa my foot!!!

Nigerians will never be grateful.This is definitely a good start. Rome was not built in a day. Kudos to Lagos state govt.

THEY HAVE STARTED AGAIN...THIS ISNT A TRAIN...IS THIS WHAT THEY USE IN THOSE DEVELOPED COUNTRIES...ABANDON TRAINS TURNED BRAND NEW...THIS SCAM TOO MUCH....SKI BOSS.....

Jesu ooo. These are fxcking old rejected, second hand trans.

NICE JUST LIKE THE ONES WE USE IN CHINA HERE BUT STILL NOT UP TO STANDARDS CHEATS THEY ARE

This is very nice! Maintenance is the "KEYWORD"

Carl Einstein said...

Half bread is better than chinchin o. And btw Linda, NRC is Nigeria Railway Corporation, not Commission. Thank me later and you're welcome.

rejoice said...

This is a step in the right direction. Goodluck Jonathan is working. They should please create a Lagos to Port Harcourt route

Can't y'all just appreciate? New, old or refurbished, which trains did we have before? They look better than some trains I've seen her in London b4 they were upgraded recently and even in New York! Do we in Naija, have the infrastructure and ELECTRICITY to run a powered train? NO! So in that case only a locomotive would do. Or would u like the new modern train, and then half way on a journey you get a power cut and you're stuck in the middle of no where? As Nigerians, we r very destructive so therefore plastic seating is the best thing in this case bcos they can easily be cleaned an sanitised. I bet half of the people moaning about the trains being old are those who have only seen trains on TV because trains don't come much different to what you see on this page.

So guys please stop criticising progress and let's appreciate. This is the first series of progress that NRC has made in decades. Rome wasn't built in a day. We'll done to the MD, looking forward to better things coming our way.
Dammy

Please they should put laws now and enforce them... no selling and buying on the railway.... even at the rail station. everywhere should be clean ooooo

Kemikal said...

I SMELL FRAUD.

FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD, FRAUD.

THIS IS AN INSULT ON NIGERIA.

THESE ARE OLD, UNWANTED AND REFURBISHED TRAINS FROM (THE DAYS OF BRITISH SLAVERRY EMPIRE) ASIA OR EASTERN EUROPE THAT HAS BEEN DUMBED ON NIGERIA AND PROBABLY AT THE SAME PRICE AS NEW MODERN TRAINS.

THE TRAINS ARE HORRIBLE. THE TRAINS ARE AT LEAST 50 YEARS OLD. WHOEVER IS REPONSIBLE FOR BUYING THESE EYESORE JUST ROBBED NIGERIA AND MUST BE ARRESTED AND PROBED (BY EFCC) AND JAILED.

how safe will it be to ride on these trains with the bomb blast in Nigeria? God help us

These cars look refurbished and outdated. These idiots are taking us for a ride, literally.

There is too much negativity (...or denial) from some quarters, as they never see anything positive the authority/govt does.
"If dem no buy,una go complain...dem buy,una still dey complain".
Admit it or not, this is a step up from what we've been used to in Nigeria.
Also, some people are too lazy or daft to comprehend that the interior of the first coach could be for short commutes (intra city).
There should be some acknowledgement of the effort being put to resuscitate the NRC,even though there is still a long way to go.

Peace to you all!

Very dumb

ADULT JOKES said...

I hope it is not gwanjo?...China 'bend down' shop

Professor Mark said...

Nigerians, open your eyes, these is old school train (substandard). Is this what they use in China? no. South Africa spent less than what Nigeria have spent so far to set up a unique metro system. Kai kai kai! Which way Nigeria???

I AM SHEDDING TEARS OF JOY!

ALWAYS PRAYED MY COUNTRY WOULD HAVE THIS, ESPECIALLY WHEN I'D BE ON A LONDON TUBE, OR TRAIN ABROAD

Out of the millions we have, see the trash they bought that they called train idiot people

What if the thieves are inside.. think with ur head and type with ur fingers before u start insulting someone

ANYA IKENGA said...

A day begins a story dear. We should even be happy we have a regime that found it necessary to give a face lift to rail ways after 30yrs hiatus.

Candice said...

I tire oooo must everyone shout b4 u know they care? Meself never tweet or post anything about it cause FG know exactly where those innocent girls are. Election na next year better don't be fooled. We will all make noise on social media and the end nothing go happen. Na we dey do ourselves strong thing

Onyx, i think u should and think about ur life cos u really need help.

Thank you......I was wondering if anyone would ever notice and correct the blunder. Instead, they are worried about someone's effort. Nigerian!

Abeg i hope this face-me-i-face-you sitting arrangement isn't going to be for interstate trips.

story story stoooooryyyyyy

wtf? you all need to leave the shores of nigeria...this train that looked like it was built before independence? shior

Nigerians!!!! pls appreciate a good thing when you see one.As long as all you see is bad even when there is good, you will never see good.As for you anon 1.57,I hope you can give the proper account of the amount that was given to the officials to buy the trains.You can not be making useless and baseless accusations.Also know that at this technology age,your e mail address can be traced and you will be made to give answers to allegations you have made.Dont fool yourself and imagine you can hide under anonymous.

Anon 3.31,its possible you have never been on a train before neither have you seen one in real life,bitter people like you will never appreciate a good thing.
Your bitter will always get the better of you.It is your mother,your grand mother and all your clan that are idiots.Any day you step into those trains,you will drop dead idiot

wtf...these trains are outdated na... Naija should go get a speed train... not these that are slower than me jugging

Sorry, but those trains look old. Obviously a cast off from another country.

Aka Nkita Train :D :D :D :D

First class looks like regular cabin. I wonder if they have tables sef not to mention sockets/ reading lamps. The standard cabin looks like tube carriage for short distances. It will be quite uncomfortable to sit down on a seat with no demarcation for a long journey, some ppl will always spill their fat beyond their space.

U mk me lauf

Clap 4 urself u are still in dark age

Nemerem said...

They ARE refurbished and outdated. When other countries upgrade their technologies, guess where they throw their outdated technologies ....Africa! And we will be jumping that we are growing when we are simply eating the Vomit of other countries. God knows how much they will charge for boarding.
Btw... Hope the trains are interstate? That's where it would make a lot of sense

Nemerem said...

Naah. It's for the new Benin-ore express way.

nice but MAINTENANCE OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO WE MUST MAINTAIN THESE TRAINS