Nigerian pleads guilty to terror charges in the US | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 30 April 2014

Nigerian pleads guilty to terror charges in the US

33 year old Lawal Olaniyi Babafemi (pictured above) yesterday Tuesday April 29th pleaded guilty to terror charges in a US court. The Nigerian citizen is accused of providing material support to an al Qaeda affiliate, and participating in its media and recruitment campaigns, Reuters reports.

US prosecutors said that, from January 2010 to August 2011, Babafemi left Nigeria to Yemen twice to meet with some leaders of al Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula, known as AQAP.
"The defendant traveled to Yemen to put himself at the disposal of a violent terrorist organization that has repeatedly demonstrated its determination to inflict bodily and economic harm on the US and its citizens," A U.S. Attorney said in a statement.
Prosecutors also say the al Qaeda leaders paid Babafemi, also known as 'Ayatollah Mustapha' almost $9,000 to recruit English-speaking people from Nigeria that would write for their online magazine called 'Inspire'. He was extradited August last year from Nigeria to the US.

Sentencing for the case has been scheduled for August 27th. Babafemi faces a maximum of 30 years in prison. So they are basically locking him for editing and getting writers for the al Qaeda magazine.

106 comments:

ope said...

What would our Muslim friends say about this. It is becoming rampant and that is the reason they tag you as terrorists. There is a diff btw being depressed and being a terrorist.

It is because of idiots like this that Nigerian have bad names everywhere they go. I wonder people of this particular fate keep causing terror every part of the globe.

Omo ale

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

Its a shame...

u thought u.s is africa, u wil rot in jail see ur face, animal.

Mtchew.... Am nt surprised... At all... Nt even by any stretch of imagination... Pls make it 67 years.. I like round figures, let him leave prison at 100...

30yrs in prison. dats a long time

Oh yes!!! There is surety a pay day (1world♥)

Maximum, why not life in prison? It is because of people like them that other Nigerians are been maltreated in other countries

Kampala1 said...

na wa o,,,dis bastards ar embarrasing us..

LIB kritik.

gbebs>>>next

Alozie Paschal Okwara said...

Why do people think that by killing people they can achieve success. It NEVER ends well.

DOBY DOBY said...

Linda US take smtin lyk dis very serious. . Dey no dey joke with terrorism. . plus he is a black. Bt 30 yrs is half of his life tym jus bcos he gets writers for the al qaeda mag. Its too much jare..Nigeria always in d news for bad reason. .

Anyidon said...

These guys are always giving Nigeria a bad image abroad

I plead in the name of Almighty Allah to all muslim clerics to teach the younger ones against terrorism,which is now giving Islam bad name.

Naija people can neva change.

Nigerian with their connections to negativity, I wonder when our image will be mended

! Okwa nkwuo now ndi asi na mu ekwuo! Yoruba kwa? Tufia! **oya my bingos and jimmys bark!!!! Wowowowowo! Smh!

30 years is even small, why not life in prison. Stupid man. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

You and all your accomplice will rot in jail. Muslims are always involved in terrorism.

Anything terror should be life imprisonment jor.

Mehn, 30yrs for what...??? This americans are really insane... Atlist five yrs is ok for that type of crime....

Nawah oh I am joist dumbfounded why will some ppl associate themselves to evil especially this terrorist attact nna the thing tire me sha

Hmm....

* My R1.50c comment *

So he was acting in the capacity of a secretary.
He should face the music.

Ijjoy said...

Some people in this country will never stop disgracing and giving us bad names. As if the over searching and embarrassment when a Nigerian travels out of this country is not enof, now this. Chei

Leecia said...

4 gudness sake wat Ave we done 2 dis pple,my family re mixed and d Muslim part of my family re nt wicked,dey re loving infact u can't differenciate us,who is teaching dis terrorist and which part of d quran re dey practicing?sumtyms I blame Sarah 4 giving Abraham her maid,4 d record pls if dere is any married woman dat is nt giving birth,pls hold on to God,bcos ur attitude might push ur husband 2 bring a curse generation into ur household.Linda if u like dnt post my comment.

Anything terror should be life imprisonment jor.

Lisa London said...

You mean to say he never set foot in America before his trial?

America picked him up for activities he was conducting in Nigeria & Yemen!!!

i.e Hustling for money, recruiting English speaking editors for their magazine?

Yet we have govt shielded Boko Haram camps in our forests left to carry out their acts without impunity! !

Incredulous!!!!!!!!

Disowned son of the lland(Nigeria). Deal with him accordingly. Son of the devil

May he be killed! Which kind 30years stupid idiot! Can the Nigerian government please learn from this people? That this is how shit is done!

Lock the fool up.

Alrit,anoda nigerian abi?jst tired of al diz news jare

Yoruba tinz!

Oskirin said...

o boyyy,u fuck up.go n serve ya punishment.if dem finally leave u,pls dnt folo bad guyz n change 4 gud.

Ohh not again.

T'Adonis said...

If truly he's involed in the act, definitely he's an "Accomplice" and should be filed.
The US law is the last thing they will ever toy with when it comes to the safety/well being of their citizens and not even Obama is an exception unlike here in Nigeria.
I've got to realise that we devote more time to profit making irrespective of the consequences.
Next please!!!

T'Adonis observes via WEBCAM

dhobiz said...

Hungry looking mofo,he seem too happy for someone going to jail though

That dude probably/most likely has links with #bokoharam. He should be squeezed and drained of all information before televising his execution.... And somebody should tell GEJ to atleast borrow a leaf from the Americans.

Hmmmmmm Omo ale

FDJ

ntu said...

America promised them that they will be found, no matter where they hide, and how far they run. Bros take heart in the fact that you may live to tell the story. Some fellows that yo may have met in the course of this your journey met justice via a Hellfire Missile fired from 30,000 feet and no chance of appeal.

See his terrorist face sef! Mtcheww he deserves no mercy

If this man with the face of a 50 year old is 33 then I am 13

That is a country that loves its citizens! You don't even need to have raised a gun! Unlike here where our government wines and dines with sponsors of terrorism.

Ajose Olasupo said...

He doesn't have a good lawyer to defend him, only working for his money. America can easily come into Nigeria and convict our citizen for trivial offense!!! Well, that is what you get when you have a very weak government and inferior foreign policy. Nigeria government allows too much excesses from U.S and U.K government. Obama didn't even regard Nigeria, soon, they will they will dictate to us who become the president. SMH

ntu said...

He should count himself lucky. A couple of hellfire missiles and sidewinder missiles ain't got no appeal to it.

We really need a Government that works like this!

He must be Yoruba, tufiakwa

Yoruba i hail o

Our govt officials in charge of security are in deeep slumber..may God wake dem up wit a water cane garnish wit dry peper...

Well at least he got free ticket and visa to the US. Back to the matter, when will the US govt start helping us with eradication of BH since it is obvious our govt cannot kill their own?

Serves him right! gud radiance to bad rubbish! what was he finking?....#tonguesout#

He himself is an idiot....wetin concern Angelo with overload? Why should any sane person get involved with a terrorist group knowing that their intentions are deadly? You don't have to shoot a gun before you are a murdrer...
So he is as guilty as hell

He's never set foot in the US and was extradited??!!! This is just so wrong..

This guy can't be 33. Tell me 43 and I may give in.

This few ones always bringing shame to the country!!!!!

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! laf don hang me for here, u think its Nigerians you wanna train abi

Really silly. Maybe the guy is playing along just so he can be in America...lol

Bella j said...

Sick bastard. ..

ISLAM AND TERRORISM, TWO OF A KIND.

Who care?

#AsInReally @Lisa London's comment

He should rot in jail.

That's totally unfair , and they are so quick to point the finger at African nations saying that we don't have freedom of speech and freedom to support and practice what we believe when they are doing the same thing , this is some bullshit . He shouldn't have been extradited , money was clearly involved .

is like we now have a hand full of the Yoruba's link to Boko Haram and terorist group. recently a yoruba guy was arrested shipping in rifles into the country a bag of rice. so Nigerian terrorism is not a thing of the North only is a problem for all. God help us.

pwitie B said...

Kill him have no mercy anyone found associating with terrorism should be killed muslims and extrimism

No it's not 'basically".... he is aiding a terrorist. A friend of our enemy is our enemy.

Another US initiative to enter Nigeria and suck oil.

Dz man 32yrs make fire blow stone**LeOnOrA**

Linda I think he pleaded not guilty

Such uselessness... Can u imagine!

yoruba

See the prayer mark on his fore head! Why are muslims so evil! Gosh they make me puke! Full of iranu!!!

Really ridiculous. Nigeria is nothing but just a joke

Wowowo? Babe, did I just hear you bark? And you are looking for bingo? Whatever for? To mate with him?

tiny said...

Omo ale. Oloshi. May you rot in that jail you and your worthless islamic religion that has been preaching nothing but hate and murder. Religion of peace my high yellow behind

The problem I have with Muslims is they will never ever publicly lash out at these extremists killers their religion is breeding which tells me Muslims are silently giving them a pat on the back and thanking them for killing non Muslims. You will all answer on the last day you wicked hearted muslims.

This boy was obviously not doing it for money. He believed in their cause of killing anyone who does not follow Islam. Bastards

omo ale jati jati

Some Nigerians can create wahala 4 oda nigerians..bcos σƒ d bad name nigeria is having no landlord want to rent his house ² nigerians in ghana(even ghana sef.)...we need help...

Something is wrong with Islam in Nigeria, after all Islam is practised in Jordan, in Saudi Arabia the land of Mecca, in Ghana in Dubai and abu dhabi and these people don't have terrorists of Islamic faith seeking to kill and destroy. My main problem is dat this guy is Yoruba and has given these great people a bad name, especially Yoruba Muslims who have always been known to be moderate , many of whom sometimes get mistreated and called 'infidels' by some Northern Nigerian Muslims b/c of their stance. Yoruba Muslims easily marry Christain people - eg bola tinubu, Raji Fashola,moshud Abiola etc... We are battling with Boko haram and these are mainly Nigerians. The two michaels in the U.K that killed the British soldier were of Yoruba roots and Islamic... It is high time mosques in the south west of Nigeria who have more and better educated individuals take the bulls by their horns and call a spade a spade with corrective action put in place!

actually, he is merely hustling. he never did set foot on American soil. he ws merely recruiting writers nt armed men or dealing in arms so I don't see d reasons 4 d steep yrs of incarceration.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Hehehe.. Ikwusigonu,,cheluzia aka gholu fa.. They will come like bees to you now.. No run oo.. Hehehe

hmmmm this is serious

If nobody says anything tribalistic, I knew you couldn't just comment without saying something derogatory to another tribe, especially Yoruba. Yet you will go on other posts and ask why Yorubas hate Igbos as if there's no tomorrow. Who's spreading the hate now? As you were adviced by someone already, please try to spread love and not hate. You'll expect to bring children into this same world and you would want them to meet love and harmony, not hate and back and forth attacks. This doesn't mean you should start spreading the hatred under anonymous but please dear, everything will be ok. Just try to change and start spreading love. You'll even feel better... Peace

I'm sure U reason wt ur anus! Sentencing in America is used as deterrant to others who might be conceiving ideas of similar crimes. 30yrs is fair enough!

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda na w afor u o na u dey talk like dis shuo u surprise me o why dem no go lock am up the so called inspire magazine will contain vile messages against Christians and the Americans it will contain hate teachings and doctrines test will b used to manipulate and brain wash the youths into suscide bombings
unlike Nigeria were we treat boko haram and terrorist with kid gloves the Americans take it serious so ogbeni lawal go face the music

Why re muslim being tagged with all theze accusations..you can never see a christian doing all these..He must be served a Maximum sentence.He believed he is saved in Nigeria,Glad they extradite him back..

Yoruba tinz! Prince says so!

na wa o!

This guy didn't need to queue at the American embassy. The whipper-snapper just found an ingenious way of getting an all expenses paid trip to the US for the next 30 years although it comes with the price tag of having to look out through metal bars. Nigeria is a prison anyway so this guy is probably worse off. As for the people saying he gave Nigeria a bad name, Nigeria never had a good name anyway. I hope one day, the Christian south will be divided from Muslim north so that these acts of terrorism by Muslim fanatics will no longer be attributed to me as an Igbo man.

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

U.S know what they are doing b4 that 30 years they would have killed him in prison which is good for him

30yrs too small nah. They should have given him life.

.......... Atutu

Idiota that you are

That's more or less life imprisonment, 30yrs + his age, hummmmm na wa

Manal said...

Muslims this, muslims that, bla, bla, bla, Linda try and post the interview where Hilary Clinton said bluntly how America created al qaeda! Yes america created al qaeda and used them to fight the soviet union(russia) today al qaeda has turned on them they are running helter skelter! You reap what you sow! Nigerians make it a habit to read so as to stay informed.

The drugs that ibos are known for pushing does not give nigeria a bad name abi? Mtchewwwwww!!!

Xtianity is said to preach peace and love, and yet xtians are known to vomit hate and venom! See as una just dey yarn rubbish, dey promote hatered. Meanwhile I don't read any posts from muslims retaliating, so I now know who the trouble makers are. Xtians make una try dey matured for once na.

Ajose, I have some news that might shock u. Nobody has ever become President of Nigeria without US approval. Fact.

All in the quest for money cos i doubt e's doing this for religion. Did he say he's 33??
lol na wa o

Do you Post everyones comment here Linda? Or you randomely post! Cos I've been commenting on ur blog for sometime now, yet you don't post it! Why???

Another Jajaweed terrorist! Southwest willl soon be a BOKO BOKO state.

And they barked! Buhahahahahaha!

we ll say sumtin. we are NOT terrorist. d fact dt a muslim commit a crime does nt make muslims terrorist. evry1 is judge by wat he did

Omo ale Ke?? Dis one Na Omo ale jati jati...