Newborn 13-year-old: Adopted boy's birth announcement goes viral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 February 2013

Newborn 13-year-old: Adopted boy's birth announcement goes viral

When professional photographer Kelly Higgins' 13-year-old adopted son mentioned he never had baby photos and wished he did, she ran with the idea, snapping some sweetly hilarious images that quickly went viral.

The pictures - a trio of images of a 13-year-old boy posed in classic "newborn portrait" style--went viral online after his adopted mother posted them to her Facebook page.

"Here's my sweet not so little Newborn! His name is Latrell and weighs 112lbs," Kelli Higgins wrote. Kelli Higgins and her husband adopted Latrell and his sister Chanya when they were 10 and 5 years old, adding the siblings to their family that already included five biological children with another on the way.

Higgins, a professional photographer, said the idea to snap Latrell's baby photos came when she was preparing for client's newborn photo shoot.

When Latrell mentioned he never had baby photos and wished he did, the Higgins' 12-year-old daughter suggested they go for it, despite Latrell being a little bigger than the average baby.

“I thought it was funny and that it would be a good idea,” Latrell told TODAY.com.
Higgins said the studio shoot was a riot--the two of them laughing hysterically through the whole thing--but that the circumstances were bittersweet.

“I was very sad too because I didn’t have any photos of him either," Higgins said. "I think it’s really hard to have children and not know what they looked like when they were younger.”

Latrell says he's far from embarrassed by the slightly silly images--and he's hardly alone. The image has more than 10,000 likes and 4,600 shares from Higgins' photography page, with hundreds of commenters gushing their love for the image and Latrell's story.

Source: UPI

35 comments:

VICKY DARL said...

Hmmmmmm

Bubble gum said...

aaaawww cute baby :)

nice! it is never to late to start making memories.....

Awww, how sweet! God bless that family for giving him and his sister a safe home.

mimsie said...

Slow day ehn Linda?

Waow!!!what a sweet thing

awwwwwhhh

Lol... So unorthodox! I hope his yearning for some childhood footage of himself has been satisfied now.

zinny said...

Lol as funny as it is its CUTE!!!

Soooooo? So what are we meant to say to this exactly?

emarketstrategy said...

Na wa oooo...

For ur event hardware and planning... DJ/Sound, photography, projectors, planning, decor & lights

zoomzoomzoom said...

Awwww...cute baby boy...lol.Heard it on radio and I was like, what the heck!But hey, if it makes them happy...I guess, Congratulations are in order.

See people, see mentality oh! So you couldn't appreciate the sweetness of that motherly gesture to a would-have-been-orphan. Abeg mention ur village make I send u back now. Ekaitte like u. Tufiakwa!

JustPorsh said...

I admire d way d whites treat their adopted children evn when they av their own biological children.
Really cute story.

http://www.justporsh.blogspot.com

I believe you

Eya Ayambem said...

Welcome to the cute world baby!

Thots put in place and memories made to stay. So cute

Bia linda, i no de understand these your posts lately...wetin we wan use this one do now nah? 13yr old baby, dis and dat rocking shorts? Since when did all these kin things turn to gists? Eh linda

I wonder how apathetic a lot can be!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its a very cute story:*

amazing! God bless her and her husband for doing that.

Nice one!

Queen Bee said...

There is nothing new born about the first picture,..
Just a matured boy sleeping away after watching a late movie!

Awwwwwwww..He's such a big Baby

TragicArrangements said...

Did the white people who adopted this black child put him in GIRL'S LEGGINGS? Look at the photo..bottom left hand corner.

Hmmmmmmmm nice

must i say somtin?oya.me sef need adult baby pix too.only say my bear bear go spoil d whole tin.nd d hardship for naija go so show for my face sotey dem fit tink say na bance b my papa

this pix has open up my wound that i have being nursing for years but at the same time it has giving me hope that i can still have a baby pix, i wish ! my baby pix where stolen form kaduna,the pix where in my mother's sultcase and i am the only girl with seven brother that does not have a baby pix and birrh cerficate. i just have this mix feelings right now.
this pix is Timeless and Beautiful.

Ugochi said...

Adoption is such a sweet thing to do. To be a blessing to another who is in need...

Femme said...

I think the its an adorable concept...

This is nice.

Shut up kunwbee.. Bush gal .. These are rich pls problems..am sure u wnt understand wen u r busy trekking frm gbagada to oshodi looking for kerosene..dwarf

That's aw u cald smeone a horse.. Miss slut..yea I knw who u r...

Or wen u got drunk cos ur bf jilted u..

S̶̲̥̅̊W̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊T̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅̊ H̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊N̶̲̥̅̊E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ S̶̲̥̅̊U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅̊A̶̲̥̅̊R̶̲̥̅̊ said...

Infact ΐ†̥ƨ rili touching cos evn ♍ξ i get S̲̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴͡ angry Ŵi̶̲̅τ ma parents Ȋ̝̊̅Π ma mind fφя̩̥̊ nt taking shots ☀̤̣̈̇F ♍ξ as i was growing up!

Dnt evn Hλ√e any M̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ baby pix....ΐ†̥ƨ rili painful!

♌ datz ɪ̣̝̇ wil foreva respect T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ whites fφя̩̥̊ kipin record ☀̤̣̈̇F τ̅ђε̲̣ir chldren stage by stage growthwt T̶̲̥̅ђe̶̲̥̅̊ aids ☀̤̣̈̇F cam coder Ãήϑ pix!