Man pours pot of boiling stew and lighted stove on girlfriend | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 February 2013

Man pours pot of boiling stew and lighted stove on girlfriend

Culled from Punch
A 27-year-old woman, Mary Sunday, has been in the hospital bed at Igbobi Orthopaedic Hospital seven months after she was allegedly attacked by her fiancé, Corporal Isaac Gbanwuan, with a pot of boiling stew and a lighted stove. It was learnt that Sunday had lost her ears due to the attack.
Before the attack, which took place in August 2012, Sunday, was to report for training at the Police Academy, Kano as a cadet officer.
See more after the cut...

Still nursing severe burns to  her neck, chest and upper arms, Sunday can barely sit or walk straight. She holds her head stiffly and talks with difficulty as she recalled the events that led to her present state to PUNCH Metro on Wednesday.

She said, “I have known Gbanwuan for a while, while I was still a student at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, but it wasn’t until our marriage introduction in 2011 that I moved in with him at the Pedro Police Barracks, Lagos.

“On the day I was assaulted, Gbanwuan and I went to see our doctor. We had some health issues. While we were on our way back home, I made a phone call. Immediately we got home, Gbanwuan started querying me. He accused me of keeping lovers and claimed the person I called was my lover.
“I tried to explain to him that it was my sister I called, but Gbanwuam was not listening. He began to beat me,” Sunday said.

Unable to take it any more, Sunday said she ran into the kitchen of a neighbour with Gbanwuan giving pursuit. He allegedly broke into the kitchen where he continued to assault Sunday.

She said, “Then to the horror of those who tried to intervene, Gbanwuan seized his neighbour’s cooking stove on which was a pot of boiling stew, emptying the entire contents on me.
“I don’t know for how long I was unconscious but I was later told that I was in a coma for seven days. I learnt the stove also exploded after Gbanwuan threw it with the boiling soup at me.
“I was first rushed to a private hospital at Bariga before I was eventually transferred to Igbobi hospital.

“I couldn’t tell my family for a while because I could not use my hands; they were sort of stuck to my chest. It was after much treatment, that I was able to use my hands and call my family.”
Sunday’s lawyer, Mr. Moses Kassim, told PUNCH Metro that a petition had already been sent to the Police Provost Office and the Commissioner of Police.

He said, “We have still not received any response from either of them. Gbanwuan is yet to be arrested despite the fact that Sunday’s family reported the case at the Pedro Police Division.

“While Sunday is confined to a hospital bed, Gbanwuan is still at his duty post at the Ebutte Ero division, showing no concern for her condition.”

Copies of the acknowledged petition received by the Provost Office and Commissioner of Police were dated January 17, 2013.

When PUNCH Metro contacted Gbanwaun, he denied causing any harm to his fiancée.
He said, “What Sunday has told you are all lies. She has been going about saying all sorts of things about me.

“That is how she wrote a petition through her lawyer to the Lagos State Police Command. Anyway, the matter is already being investigated by the command.”
When our correspondent sought his opinion on how Sunday got her injury that had kept her in the hospital, the policeman said, “I don’t know what to tell you. Like I said, the matter is being investigated.

The Lagos Deputy Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Damascus Ozoani, said he was yet to be fully briefed on the issue.

He said, “I don’t have all the facts right now. Let me investigate and I will respond to the story.”
But Sunday said she was more concerned with getting well.

She said, “All I want is the money to treat myself. My doctors are afraid to tell me how much because they don’t want me to be worried, but I have overhead them discussing several times.

“There is a deep wound in my chest which has to be treated and then my neck has to be operated on because it has been stiff since the incident and then there is the matter of my upper arms.

“The doctor, who attended to me at the first hospital I went to in Bariga, told me that I would have to go to India to have my ears reconstructed because they melted. He said I would need N5m.

“Gbanwaun’s family has abandoned me. They did so immediately my family reported the matter to the police. My mother is dead and my father is aged. Coping with my daily treatment here is a struggle for my siblings.”

81 comments:

Only in 9ja will a criminal be allowed to roam the streets freely...

Nakpozie said...

Unbelievable. This can't be love because Love don't hurt. Hope this dude gets a fair sure of hurt

I pray her assailant faces d full wrath of d law. man's inhumanity to man.

So appalling! Some humans are just devils! What has been done to the alleged culprit? I didn't see anything in relation to that here.

So sad to read the lines. I feel her pains anyway. Ladies, please, life has no part 2. Move out of any abusive relationship. Your life is more important. Imagine the lunatic walking free on the road. I pray God grant her divine healing.

Ibinabo.

love story!

Mild Tempered said...

Oh my God! Why are people becoming more and more heartless these days?

Pls Ladies, be careful who you date! I heard some ladies don't like nice guys? Well, this is one of the numerous consequences of going for bad guys! Ladies Be careful! Nice guys are also good in bed

Help Eliminate Poverty and Crime in Africa! Donate to Support our Entrepreneurship Efforts. Click Here to Support

Argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Why? Linda thanks for this post. That demon will be arrested. Wickedness

WHY, God, WHY? Why are people becoming more and more wicked?!

Raliya said...

I tink is high time we introduce eye 4 an eye purnishment Sσ thαt all these nonsense cαn stop. ωαt eva U do 2 som1 d same tin shld b done 2 U. thαt's d best solution

Wonders shall never end! just the thought of the criminal's indifference sends cold thru my spine.law enforcement too for naija na wa ooo...he's not supposed to be a free man at all.infact,make l no talk again.ashia Sunday,God will see u thru!
Camer Chic!

Linda is this a joke or what? The perpetrator is still walking the streets of Lagos in uniform? Which way Nigeria?

Linda u dey online,post my comment nawww!u sef!
Camer chic!

Why are nigerian police men voilent? Whats wrong with their recruitment process, all evil are now commited by them. Linda abeg follow this case up abeg.

Oooooooh, if its not d Police, who else? U are investigatin a case and d accused is rite there in front of u. Whatever happened to d witnesses on dat faithful day. Gban..... whatever ur name is, u won't go unpurnished.

sad story... people are wicked :(

AYOMIDE AKINSULIRE said...

may the Lord connect you to your helper in Jesus name and may The Almighty give to ur fiance the right punishment

I am sorry for what ever that happened to you. You are still hiding a lot of things despite your condition. You and your lover or someone that wanted to marry you went for a medical test, and the test turned out bad. Either you infected him with a disease, which you refused to say. At same time while leaving the hospital you made a phone call. And your body language in which you received that call could have spoken a lot. So he became angry and decided to destroy you because you have already destroyed him with the medical result he got from the hospital.
I am sorry that he went so far. Just that at that moment you wouldn't have answered any call until the situation has died out.
Take heart and I wish you full recovery.

teeeeeeee said...

Picture of d culprit... Linda where is his picture???!! OMG!! Dis is wickedness @ it's peak! God pls protect us 4rm wicked and unreasonable men of dis world! Quick recovery lady!

A.B.M said...

What kind of health issues took em both 2 d hosp nd why did he get furious oh their way back accusing her of keeping lovers?? Jst saying. But whatever d case his behaviour is unforgivable nd justice should be melted out accordingly

RNC said...

So the accused is roaming around town like nothing happened & the police can't arrest him?! What kind of messed up story is this? The incident happened in a neighbour's house...obviously there are witnesses!

Also why was the woman running from the man? Was she not meant to join the force also? She should have faced him squarely and fought back! Most times, men are bullies and if you don't stand your ground, they will forever walk all over you or even worse kill u.

She is lucky we live in a country where citizens help each other out. I believe someone will come to her aid very soon. Didn't the Super Eagles get so much money for bringing a Gold cup back to Naija after 19years.... Nothing is impossible.... Maybe it's even the team that will come to her aid... Dunno. So sorry about the incident. That man must be brought to justice!

Oh My!! That animal has ruined her life. He wont go scott free, God will mete out justice o. I pray she recovers quickly. Lord have Mercy. Its very bad to be quick to anger

And the bastard policeman is walking free?.

Hmmmm.. Jesus!!! ladies, once a man tries to shout at u for no reason run for ur dear life cos after shout na beat+kill.

You just want to spoil the mood today, right? Just cos you no get boyfriend, make we suffer for am, eh linda? Oya shut down that laptop make you go follow Nneka go singles valentine church programme for Jesus sisters. You still dey there?

People are so full of wickedness in this world. How can a human damage another human's body all in the name of her having an affair outside?,well the evil that men do lives within them nowadays I just hope she'll be fine but as for d corporal,he won't go unpunished. By the way what are d police investigating when dey already have proof dat he did it from d neighbours?
Smh

Natural B

The husband must be arrested oooo. hahahahaha, i dont know what this world is turning into. God have mercy oooo

Domestic violence and abuse is on the increase! Women needs to shine their eyes o, don't wait for it to get to this level b4 u find ur level, its not by force abegi, I pray this woman gets money for treatment, some men are beasts in human flesh!

fajemisin aramide said...

men are wicked

Cecilia said...

Omg! May God touch the hearts of men and cause them to work in your favour amen. This is very sad and the fiance is obviously not interested in helping. I pray you get justice also. And what in God's name is he doing a ‎​‎​ man? Never been arrested for this issue? Or even brought in for questioning! And the police is investing?‎​ ook na. God is watching you people o. S

wonders shall never end. God have mercy!!!!!!!!

Kai,too bad,men these days are turning into beast and monsters,hope justice will prevail.ladies should better watch d type of guys they roll with,we are definitely in end time no wonder Bible says “On d last day wickedness shall abound”

OMG!pls if ur with som1 who's possesive about u nd ur not married yet to him or her,abeg think again ooo and act fast.wish kain madness be dis naa?o ti baye omolomo je ke. I hope she returns to normal sha.*sighs*

Jesus!this is my cousin Orseer Gbamwuan!wt happened he ws so in love wt her n called her sunshine,he has always had temper issues

freeangel said...

Wot a wicked world that we live in. Lord hav mercy !

Ms Flavia said...

Ladies pls introduction isn't marriage...let's learn 4rm ds. Hope she recovers soonest tho.

So far yur comment is the most intelligent here... She was tested HIV postive and the guy got it from her... I guess the rest as they say is what we all see in the picture... She lied with d "she was assulted statement" before the doctor comfirmed her status!!!

www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com said...

Father, please reach out to this young lady with Your healing hands in Jesus name. People always pray b4 going into any relationship, pray for wisdom. Pray...trust God n pray.

Pls remember to pit God first always. Never let a day go by without making some room for God's Word. Visit www.thebanquethall.blogspot.com
Your Christian blog.

Dats true,i also think there is something about that medical report issue,but for whatever reason,He went far!

The Nigerian Police is completely Useless...I feel really sorry for this woman..Women should really be extra careful the kind of guyz they get to date,some of these guyz are just monsters. Get well Soon my dear :(

Pretty Girl

Omg!!! We women do these things to ourselves. if a man just say marry me,u park ur belonging and go camp with him.
Now tell me what is this disease dat can't be cured that the lady past to him?

Anon 3:33 you are the most foolish person I've come across yet you must think you are some sage.

You should call family meeting for his sake because that temper will ruin him someday.

Sexily Endowed said...

Yet girls will not learn. Stop goin to meet stupid idiotic guys all in de name of wantin α husband..... Imagine dis babe now, sorry sha.

may God save us frm d hands of wicked gorillas and lead us to the real men, amen. God wil surely touch people to help u my dear.

Cute baby picture...

Why is she calling another guy in her fiancee' presence

appalling

Mr. Universe said...

Poverty is the cause of all this, rich people have more things to do and more things to lose than to get in all this mess.

nwa nna said...

Okay, I'm going to vent! I'm a male & I'm reading more & more stories of 9ja men assaulting women in some cases even leading to their death & abosolutely nothing happens to these assilant! There's something fundamentally & morally wrong with the Nigerian society at large, how long can we sit by & watch our women being continually treated like second citizens in our society? So this guys assualts thiz woman to the point of almost killing her yet his sorry arse is still roaming around free & working for the NPF that's suppose to serve & protect!
This guy at the minimum should be locked & not roaming the streets with another opportunity to harm someone else. Until we begin to make examples of dudes that commit barbaric acts like this, our women are in some deep shit!!

This is pure wickedness.its so sad.

Den he shuld learn 2 control his temper. Ah ah dis is vry wicked of him joor. C d way he disfgured d lady. Dis man wuldnt go unpunished o as long as God is alive. May God b with u alwaz!

The NPF is a sick institution composed of mentally deranged personnel....above all, our women needs more orientation n protection cos the rate of women abuse is increasing by the day!
Shzy

Anon 3:30, 5:30 and 6:08, may such calamity befall u immediately, AMEN. If she was HIV positive, what is d prove dt her 'lover' is a saint, a man or woman can get it. N when did death sentence become d judgement of HIV people. My dear Sunday, almighty God will raise helpers for u.

Nife said...

Mr Universe: ure wrong, rich people beat wives and even kill them well well even outside Nija

Nife said...

You are an idiot, so calling a guy justifies the wickedness abi? I pity you

Still with his mohawk :-)

Perilious tyms re near,the love of many wld wax cold.

A monster is on loose beware

Somebody should warn Omotola to check her execesses,her behaviour is becoming worrisome!

OMG,dis life is becumin2hard n wicked,n wat kinda stupid justice system do we run in nigeria???am just so sad dat ha body myt hardly cum bak2normal n am finkin dat may lessen ha chances of gettin married....God just provide d money4ha n Heal her I ernestly pray...Linda post dis 1 ooooo

He's not a criminal ds is my BLOOD!I know wn ds all started,ds Mary chased my cousin's WIFE out of d house wt her baby boy Orseer my cousin treated them badly because of u SUNSHINE!!karma is a bitch its bn three years bt ds is happening now.I hope u've learned ur lessons n u recover fast.

Marriage is beautiful but not everyone deserves it,certainly not dat retard of a policeman.ladies be careful ,marriage is not for everyone and is not by force.shine ur eye,no dulling

Olu said...

I remember a case here in the US, when one guy killed a lady. When police asked the man what happened, the man replied that the lady killed him and therefore he killed her back instantly by putting a kitchen knife through her heart and that he felt good afterwards. Apparently what happened was that the girl was HIV positive and did not tell the guy, and after so many months of sex the guy saw the lady taking HIV medications one day. When the guy asked the lady why didn't she tell him about her HIV status, the lady replied " DON'T WORRY HONEY, HAVING HIV IS NOT THAT BAD ". The guy went to the kitchen, took a very long kitchen knife and plunged it into the the heart of the lady.

Real life story. If u dont believe me, google it.

Bottom line is: ladies if u are afflicted with any disease or diseases please disclose this to your sexual partner or partners to prevent cases like this.

Me, I have no pity for men or women who intentionally infect their partners with incurable diseases.

Miss flavia, how could u be so dumb? "Introduction isn't marriage"? Is that d issue, whether they were engaged or married, does it give the animal called man the rite to such wickedness?@anon feb 14,7.27pm. I'm sure u r d devil himself. Even if she infected him wit a terminal disease, does it also give him d rite? Wickedness is wickedness! Some men infect dia partners, they knw they r infected but the day d woman finds out, they blame her. Dia r all sorts of abusive meted out on women. This is so unfair. If she was a General's daughter or a politician's daughter, that man would be a living corpse by now.. There is so much injustice in this country. It pains my heart. How can? Smh... May God heal her and send her helpers. LADIES BEWARE of hot tempered men. Today he slaps u, tomorow he hits u more,the nxt... They don't stop...its so sad.

You are a fool, find out what happened before passing judgement. What you don't know is that most of these Nigerian girls are morons and prostitudes. Do you know if she gave him HIV and still calling another man infront of him?

Wickedness of the highest order God will punish hum and he will neverr have peace of mind .

Must it be d lady dat passed d disease? We all know how reckless some of our police men can be. I strongly believe its him dat infectected her.

Miss Jade said ... OMG! only in Naija will dis kinda shit happen and the culprit will be on d loose.

HIV

Melted ni frozen ko

Its obvious dat d peeps talkin about d medical report n all dis rubish about hiv r related to d culprit.but let me ask u a question. Will tarnishing her image here exonorate ur "blood" of his crime? A criminal is a criminal no matter how u dress him.wat if she died? N pls always put urself in oda peeps shoes wat if dis happened to ur sis? Would u have d nerve to reason d way u r now? Its a shame dat people can be so barbaric n odas will come up wit reasons why dat act should be justified. It just shows d have d same animalistic tendencies. Smh. Sad folk

God continue to protect women.Men are bcoming monsters,wolf,wateva it is dis guy is so wicked n hrtless.Girls stop leaving with men bf marriage.I wish u speedy recovery Mary.

Anon 7:02 u r a FOOL! For calling him a fool! Did u have to be insultive! Maybe u r d Gbanwuan sef!

And lighted?? Linda! Really? Lighted? Hian.

frankinsence said...

One sentence! 'Leave an abussive relationship'! Its not so hard? I wonder why women sit to manage abusive men when they can walk away? If ur bf slaps you, leave him! Cos he will hit u again, again and wen he marries u, u'll turn to a punching bag! Eventualy you still get to leave, either to the hospital or in body bag!

Omg!Wat a wicked world?may d culprit kno no peace,nd may he reap wat he sow IJN,u linda may God send help 2 u nd may u av quick nd divine recovery

nina said...

she must haveeen the signs but was blinded by love. LADIES, IF IT ARENT WORKING, WORK away so your patience dont put you on an hospital bed. its horible!