Q of the day: what finger is the right one to wear an engagement ring? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 November 2012

Q of the day: what finger is the right one to wear an engagement ring?

Adaeze Igwe Yobo wore hers on her fourth/wedding ring finger, while Diana Odiaka wore hers on her middle finger. There's been a lot of argument about this so let's discuss it. What finger is the right one to wear an engagement ring or is it a matter of personal choice?

191 comments:

Middle finger of course!

Clicksomemore said...

fourth/wedding ring finger

FANBELLINA said...

There are many early customs and traditions which dictate as to which finger to wear engagement rings on. The most popular belief is that the fourth finger of the left hand is considered to be the veina amoris or the "vein of love", which means that the veins are directly connected to the heart. Hence, the tradition of wearing the ring on finger which leads straight to the heart, as the symbol of love.

In countries like France, Spain and Germany, the tradition is to showcase the engagement ring on the right hand as there are certain beliefs that attach a negative connotation to the left hand. This is because the Latin word for left is "sinistra", a word that evolved into the English "sinister" and the Latin equivalent for right is "dexter", which evolved into "dexterity". Thus while left stood for the negative element, the right was considered good.

There are certain religious reasons for choosing a specific engagement ring finger. For example, in the Jewish culture, couples place the wedding ring on the right hand during the marriage ceremony and wear it on the left hand post - ceremony.
Read more at Buzzle: http://www.buzzle.com/articles/engagement-ring-finger-which-finger-does-the-engagement-ring-go-on.html

Femiluv said...

Personal choice obviously. However, most people wear theirs where their wedding band goes which is their ring finger. I've only seen Nigerian women do the ring on middle finger thing.

There's a reason it's called the ring finger

CantRmbrMyName said...

Funny I just answered it on the Ksolo thread... Whatever..

Engagement rings can be worn on any of the following fingers..

1- Left hand- Middle finger.
2- Right hand- Ring finger.

It is usually NOT worn on the left hand ring finger (the wedding ring finger)

Cheers all!

Wo style na style, pattern na pattern.. Moi moi and akara na still beans...labamber

Uzo said...

It is worn on the fourth finger of the left hand. Ka Chineke mezie okwu!!

Some peeps get engaged and never marry. a goodnexample is wen one dies a few days before marriage or someone who catches his spouse cheating some few days before marriage. The actual finger for an engagement ring is mot the marriage finger but its actual finger..chikena

The engagement ring shld be on the fourth finger while a proposal ring shld be on the third finger

It's an engagement ring and not a wedding ring. I baffle at d dumbness pple display publicly. An engagement ring is worn on d middle finger on d left hand! A wedding band is worn on d fourth finger left hand! Engagement means ur close to being married, days why the ring is worn on d third finger close to d wedding finger! Must u follow hollywood peeps?

justlikeme@live.com said...

I think is should be worn on the middle finger so that when other guys try to toast my chick....she can just raise her middle finger at them ;)
Lo Ba Tan! hehehehehehe

Naija una too much jare, i sip my coffee jeje as i read this post!

Middle finger! Engagement ring is to show dat u'll soon be married! Ur meant to wear it on the middle finger until u are officially married then u can wear ur wedding band on d fourth finger! This is Nigeria, not the USA!

Engagement man said...

Where did the man put it on? Answer naaaaaaaaaa

Then leave it there. Obey ur man.

Engagement ring should be worn on the middle finger! After all u are not married so why shud u wear it on ur wedding finger! Days how u pple will be copying white pple up and down forgetting we are Africans!

Middle finger, left hand!

Pumpkin said...

4th finger on left hand.

It can be a matter of personal choice. After all an engagement is between two people so whatever finger you want to wear it, it's okay! But here in Nigeria, it's mostly worn on d middle finger, left hand.

I personally believe its d left middle finger engagement ring shud b worn prior to d proper wedding, then after the wedding,it shud b worn alongside d wedding band on d 4th finger. However. 'Oyinbo' pple choose to wear their emgagement ring b4 & afta wedding on the 4th finger.

Blogtoto said...

They were both wrong,it's supposed to be on ur big toe.

You are razz.
Only NIGERIANS and bush ones too, wear their engagement rings on their middle finger, hence the reason razz bimbo wore it on there..
Wedding band finger and engagement finger are the same.. Why oh lord are Nigerians so far behind, and they will be arguing in their stupidity

Thank you!! Only in Nigeria..

Dobis said...

The Correct finger for wearing engagement and wedding band is the 4th finger of the left hand because it was believed in the past that that was the only finger that had the veins that connected directly to the heart.That is where the origin of left hand 4th finger started from.Its a myth tho cos it hasn't been scientifically proven.

Its on the fourth finger o! Nigerians saying middle finger, that's a local thing I've only seen in this country. Its annoying. All the celebrities you try to emulate beyonce,kimK,khloe,Amber rose,angelina jolie,kate middleton etc.. Please check out the finger they all wore their engagement rings on.. Fourth finger o! Not middle finger. Please be enligtened even if you are not exposed. Thank you

Hmmmmmm na by choice oooo. Even ashi fit wia ring 4 middle finger

Lol this question will expose just how many razz people come on this blog. Coz I'm sure 80% will say middle finger.. Haha!! And linda you don't know??

4 me i prefer left hand middle finger, our africa style

Mine is on my 'ring finger'...it just feels right. And its only in Nigeria I see the engagement ring on the middle finger.

lol@FANBELLINA,just simple question and u wrote an essay,haba na wa for u sha,anyways.
LYNTROY said....,the finger dosnt matter,wat matters is how well the marriage will go dats all.

razz people wear there on the middle finger. have you ever seen a westernized lady wear hers on the middle finger. the whole idea of proposal, engagement ring and co emanated from the wersternised countries so if you really want to emmulate them then do it right way!

URPIKIN said...

I HATE seeing it on the middle finger. and really its only in Nigeria i have seen it on that middle finger. i wore mine on my ring finger and when the wedding band came, included it on that finger.

But i guess its a matter of choice.

The engagement ring is worn on d middle finger of the left hand and changed to the ring finger of the left hand on d wedding day. Get engaged is different from getting married.

I don't know but I believe most ladies put it on the middle finger because they don't want it to seem as if they're married, what if the man cancels the wedding? #justguessing

Once white women get engaged, they put d ring on their left fourth finger, this I̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ bcos that I̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ their official engagement. Wat they do afta dat I̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ wedding straight but for us Nigerian, afta getting engaged, we stil do engagement and wedding ceremony proper wher rings α̲̅rε̲̣ exchanged. So I feel and I am wearing ♍Ɣ engagement ring on †ђξ middle finger. There shud b a distinction betwn married and engaged

Baduks said...

The fourth finger is the correct finger either married or engaged, the only difference between whether you are married or not is the type of ring you have on.

as for us Nigerians, we do not have any particular finger an engagement ring should be on, our culture did not specify any finger it should be on. So since its a borrowed culture, we might as well wear it on the finger the oyibos popularly wear theirs which is the left wedding finger. it kind of looks nice there.

SOULJACHIC said...

Abeg o jare! Wetin concern man pikin concern engagement ring finger? The koko is to marry. If you like wear it on your yansh,who cares?

On a serious note why are adaeze's fingers so fat?

Oh! Shup up you this anon.. Google it and see for yourself..Cntrembrmyname is right..learn to use your google ode oshi.

Middle finger means F U so y would it be worn on the middle finger. Only in Nigeria is it worn in the middle finger. Bush people, Linda feel free to google pics of other people in other countries getting engaged. All on left 4th finger.

Nigerians ooooo. D pple we copied wearing a ring from wear it on their fourth finger on the left hand

D person dat asked if we must follow hollywood peeps should as well not wear any ring coz i'm sure ur ancestors n even mine didn't wear any. Engagement rings r worn on d same finger as d weddin ring. Just google n find out, no time 4 2 muc talk. Der is a difference btw weddin n eng ring so it can't b confused.

SOULJACHIC said...

See this olodo!
It should be worn on the yansh.

Thank me later!

Anon 10:23AM....U ve said it all!

miss Sparxz said...

I aint even into rings! They are uncomfortable and I'll keep fiddling with it till I take it off unknowingly and it gets lost..moreover I don't really need a ring to prove I'm in love or married so if I like it'll b on my thumb,if dats where it feels comfy to me..fine!.if not it could just act as a pendant for a chain I'll always wear. Simple! My life my choice! If my husband and I are cool with it,I don't need a third opinion. #shrugs# don't crucify,its my life.

Stupid argument

Angelic said...

I tink its pretty simple, d middle finger indicates dat ur engaged 2 b married while d fourth fingers indicates ur a married, bcos if both d engaged n d married all wear it in dsame finger how do we nw differentiate btw d married n d engaged?

Ada said...

Now lemme educate una. Engagement should be worn on the fourth finger because if you put it on the middle finger, due to the fact that it is almost twice as big as the ring finger in ring sizes, you would have to resize thereby costing you more money and maybe even the beauty. If we look at the whole African culture, we believe that once you pay her BRIDEPRICE she is your wife, so to those fools who are saying we are doing copy copy its actually inaccurate because, traditionally speaking they are already married. so only mumus do the opposite

Dolabomi Smith said...

All of you peeps saying middle finger are dumb asses. It should be on the 4th finger of ur left hand. Ur wedding band seals it up after the wedding. The only difference is the type of ring. Both of them should be on the 4th finger of ur left hand. I repeat 4th finger of your left hand. Ignorant Buffallos.

Yimiton said...

Wedding rings and engagement rings are worn on the fourth finger of the left hand because in Ancient Rome it was believed that there was a vein on that finger that ran directly to the heart.

Even Princess Katherine worn hers on her fourth finger of the left hand.

http://women.howzit.msn.com/wedding-traditions#image=9

That's why you are a big Mumu. Must u follow every trend dese Hollywood stars set? Dey are Americans and dats how dey want to wear theirs and we are Nigerians, we wear ours on the middle finger! Die copying them! Ode!

Shalewa said...

Anon 9:53 I love uuuuuuu Nigerians are soooo foolish! Middle finger is sooooo ridiculous! First time I saw it I was aghast, like wtf? It even looks obscene on dat finger

Its worn on the middle finger, left hand. All those people coming here to say trash about Hollywood stars wearing it on the fourth finger shud shut up deir dirty mouths! This is one of the problems we have in this country, u always want to copy and follow others! Do tins the way it shud be done! Engagement ring is worn on d middle finger of ur left hand! We are not Kim k or beyonce!

Even in yoruba language the ring finger (the fourth) is called orukayemi (deserves a ring). Just saying.

Middle finger! If it hurts u so much, cut off ur middle finger! Bush pple!

I bet u were d type to ask 4 extra paper during exam when others're still struggling to use half a page,itk

lovelylady said...

Wore mine on the ring finger for a yearr &now I'm marrried to the wonderful guy that engaged me.in anatomy all the 5 fingers have names-thumb,index finger,middle finger,RING finger and little finger.hope this answers the question in my own opinion!!!

happyhausabunny said...

Anon 9:53am WRONG! It's not only "Nigerians" who wear their engagement rings on their middle fingers. Apparently it depends on ones' culture, so it varies from country to country. I just googled it and read that in some parts of europe, the ring is worn on the middle finger, and shifted to the ring finger on the wedding day, in america it's worn on d fourth finger . Some people wear theirs on their right finger, cause it's their culture, does it mean they are razz? To each his/her own, it's not razzness, it's preference.

Me I'd prefer d ring finger evn if he puts it on d middle finger...I'd stil rmove it n put on my ring finger.....its a matter of choice...any1 dt works wt n ur comfortable wt

Plenty talk for a simple answer, nawa ooo. How did you manage sitting down and getting all these facts and even typing them for just a simple ques. U try. FleXy

Una go jst stay like this, jst dey argue nonsense! This is unnecessary... If u like wear it on ur toes,ur pinky finger or ur thumb! Its an egagement ring! The choice is urs!

D bugga pickin o kitty scratcher finga. Who d hell cares?

As in ehnnnn, I.T.K

LB said...

I honestly cant believe the people saying middle finger! Hahahaha? google is ur find ooo! I mean its a borrowed culture, do it right! English Engagement was never part of our culture, ours is different, but since most ladies want a ring these days like the western culture, why not copy right! How absurd and ridiculous it looks on d middle finger, yet they are arguing even insulting others despite their ignorance! Lol.

Adriel said...

Fourth finger ie the ring finger on your left hand...Goggle is your friend

Jay O said...

See bush Nigerians!! Now we are smarter than the world!! Stop saying its only oyinbo people, do people in Ghana or Togo wear on the left hand, middle finger?? See una! Keep yarning dust, and be wearing it there, and justifying ignorance!!

See people claiming hollywood has it wrong, so now the rest of the world is wrong and Nigerians are right?? LOL!!!!!!!! Abeg jo!!!

fourth finger...middle ke? that is so raaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazz

Linda, find out where the japanese and germans put theirs....u ll understand why

FOURTH FINGER is the ring finger, the finger before your little finger!!! just google it for pete's sake, sheesh!!!

left ring finger is correct.

Engagement rings are traditionally worn on the left hand, on the 4th finger, the on the finger, next to the pinkie finger.
It was the ancient Romans who began placing the engagement ring on the left ring finger. They believed the left ring finger contained the vein of love which connects directly to the heart.

• The thumb represents your parents
• The index finger represents your siblings
• The middle finger represents yourself
• The ring finger represents your life partner
• The little finger represents children
left ring finger is the right fin ger.

Baby Confessor said...

At anon 11:15 am who's fighting wit u? Is it where u think its worn or wat the finger signifies? Who's talking or Kim k and Beyonce here? Pls very one should google it and be sure jor....

And where did u get ur analysis from? Please stop arguing in ur stupidity. Find out about sth b4 arguing blindly.

Very funny

@MrCeeKayCBOND said...

nawa 4 naija oo!! engagement ring is de middle finger yl alrdy weded is de 4th finger!

Paz said...

I bet u didn't notice she googled, coppied and pasted here. Google is also ur friend hun. Stop under utilizing Ur BB, it's not for pinging and reading blogs alone...and YES, I know u use BB

laide said...

i was arguing with my friends,we placed a bet and i won! we Googled it and all information on the Internet states that the 4th finger is the right place to fix you engagement ring and wedding band.check out all foreign celebrities, they wear their engagement rings on their 4th finger.its only in naija we fix it on our middle finger.i used to wear mine on the middle finger but shifted it when my fiancé's friend who just came back from jand had a good laugh at me and called me bush!

I THINK ITS THE MIDDLE FINGER FOR AN ENGAGEMENT.

laide said...

i was arguing with my friends,we placed a bet and i won! we Googled it and all information on the Internet states that the 4th finger is the right place to fix you engagement ring and wedding band.check out all foreign celebrities, they wear their engagement rings on their 4th finger.its only in naija we fix it on our middle finger.i used to wear mine on the middle finger but shifted it when my fiancé's friend who just came back from jand had a good laugh at me and called me bush!

SEnse common sense! Is the middle finger same as the fourth finger? Do you change the size of the ring few days to the wedding if it doesnt fit the proper finger where both our band goes!!!!!! BRAINS!!!!!!

4 me i av a band ring as an engagement ring on fourth finger and still getting new ring after wedding
Making 2band and d normal ring.

RazzPeepsUnite said...

I'm interested in knowing the answer to this because only in Nigeria have I seen an engagement ring on the middle finger and when I commented about it I was told it was because they weren't married yet and the fourth finger was reserved for marriage. Every where else in the world I've only ever seen rings on the fourth finger.

Oh and just to support Anonymous 9.59 "Lol this question will expose just how many razz people come on this blog. Coz I'm sure 80% will say middle finger.. Haha!! And linda you don't know??" Hahahahahaha!

The same finger as the wedding ring.

Hello Kitty said...

I keep telling people this, its your ring finger for pete's sake. if it was ur middle finger why remove it and wear on the ring finger when u get married??? its only in nigeria ive seen pple wear it on the middle finger and it irks the hell outta me.

@clicksomemore. I agree with you that it is the same finger for the wedding ring, but not fourth finger. You meant third finger. The thumb is not a finger so don't count it. *wink*

Hello Kitty said...

Engagement ring should be worn on the middle finger! After all u are not married so why shud u wear it on ur wedding finger! Days how u pple will be copying white pple up and down forgetting we are Africans!

November 5, 2012 9:39 AM

is wearing a ring at all African??? how many of our forefathers got married with rings? if u want to be truely african dont wear rings at all na.

The rate of ignorance in naija is crazy! If u don't knw why not shutup ur mouth n ask questions? The engagement ring is worn on the fourth finger of the left hand. Same finger with the wedding band. I hv only ever seen ladies in Nigeria wearing their engagement rings on their middle finger! It looks so razz n shows just how uncooked the lady is. N for those saying we are copying the Americans and all.....why u wear ring at all na? U for use Ankara tie ur hands as na u African pass. Mtchewwwwwwwwwww...... Olodo! Ndi eberibe!!!!

The confusion comes from "wearing the ring on your 3rd finger". When a white man tells u 3rd finger, he means ur ring finger. The thumb is excluded when counting the fingers. Hence 3rd finger is ring finger. Wedding and engagement ring are to be worn on middle finger.

Ds trend of hvin an engagement on d middle finger in Nigeria is cos we hv our engagement parties elaborate n separate frm d main wedding. Outside Nigeria esp in Eur n USA,it is worn in d ring finger cos dey get engaged immediately d man proposes wt a few friends right thr. Nigerians understand d real trend bt bcos of our tradition of hvin an engagement party,we tend to leave d ring on d middle finger until d D-day. Ideally,its for d fourth finger. Slikky

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

First of all wearing of engagement rings is a western custom lets start there if you are going to copy something copy it right. This ring is traditionally worn on the same finger as the wedding ringer which is the third finger from your index finger the thumb is not counted here so count one, two, three from you index finger the finger right next to your pinky. This middle finger business seems to me like some naija version that was probably started by a famous person and everyone followed suuit. Naija babes that wear it on the middle finger bear in mind that if you travel to other countries or meet men from other countries they will assume you are still single and searching since that is not the engagement finger.

I was enjoying the comments leisurely, but this one got me cracking up with your closing statement. Accusing others of copying white people because their opinion is different? Just one question my dear, the so called engagement ring we are discussing, where did it originate from? Abi your great grand mama wear engagement ring in 1705? Fact is we copied the exchange of rings and their seems to be different forms/ways to wear the ring which may have deviated from the origin. But plz don't insult Africans, yourself inclusive.

H S C said...

Abeg shattap. No body said you shouldn't know. Ode! How else will you learn if not from those that actually KNOW???

H S C said...

Abeg shattap. No body said you shouldn't know. Ode! How else will you learn if not from those that actually KNOW more than u???

ONLY NIGERIANS In NIGERIA I REPEAT ONLY NIGERIANS IN NOGERIA WEAR ENGAGEMENT RINGS ON THE MIDDLE FINGER and y'all here showing your razzness just google engagement rings and see which finger comes up razz people

Fourth, bu the time you get married and try switching from third to fourth, you will need to resize it, save yourself the trouble.

when some one propose it should be middle when he engages u fourth finger and when u finally say i do the second one comes to the fourth finger that is y most women wear double ring on that fourth one.

Engagement rings are worn on the fourth finger! That is why we have bridal ring sets which in actual sense after the wedding u wear the engagement ring together with the wedding band.

It funny that people are abusing others for copying Hollywood and the western world in wearing the ring on the 4th finger. Where did the tradition of wearing engagement and wedding rings come in the 1st place. Its only in Nigeria i see women wear engagement rings on the middle finger and its just bush. they might as well leave it there after the wedding too. FANBELLINA has has saved you the trouble of doing the research yourself so read and be enlightened.

the western people does not have core culture so two adults can agree and get engaged the next thing will be wedding our African tradition does not permit us that way first will be marriage proposal the ring goes to the middle finger then comes engagement and the ring shift to the fourth finger that means u r married because u husband people have come to pay ur bride price and after that wedding.pls let us not follow them we have our steps in marriage rites.

Its nt in our culture 2 wear engagement rings or weddin rings 4 dat matter, pls ask ur grandparents! Its a borrowed culture n those we borrowed 4rm wear it on their ring finger (4th finger left hand). So if u r stealin sm1s tradition den steal it well abeg!

Ur a bigger dumb ass. Bloody moron! Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Don't force ur opinion on anyone. If anyone wants to wear it on their middle finger it's deir business. Just cuz some pple said middle finger doesn't make them dumb asses.

So what if princess Kate wore it on her fourth finger? So everyone shud follow suit? Trash! The correct finger is the middle finger.

Kill urself then! Ur a Nigerian which makes u foolish too since all Nigerians are foolish. Brainless cow!

Ode, weddin bands n engagement rings luk completely different. Ask google, he's ur frnd :)

My thoughts exactly.

Ode oshi, did dey marry ur grandmother wit a ring??? Dis whole ring thing is a borrowed culture as such na copy copy we dey do. so its u who shld stfu since u hv no idea wat u r sayin!

Are u not stupid? Where have u seen a man propose to a woman after their traditional wedding? An engagement or proposal comes before the traditional wedding and engagement rings are not as expensive as wedding bands. Therefore u must wear ur engagement on the middle finger until u are married.

TWITS said...

The ideal finger, according to the whites who in the first place originated the idea of engagement ring, is the left-hand 4th (ring) finger. So its where it shd be worn cos itsna foreign culture that we only copied and imbibed...afterall our ancestors, I strongly believe, NEVER wore engagement bands. We, Nigerians, moved it to the middle finger which doesnt make it right..

To me, it should be worn on the fourth finger/wedding ring finger because it is the base for the wedding band I.e both of the rings should meet at the same point not at different points!

veeon said...

not sure but definetely not on your middle finger, dafuuqq??

Most def the RING FINGER. I wonder why Niger men change am. Abeg if na wan do like oyinbo them , try learn to do am the correct way....

@fanbelina are u that jobless? WTF. U now wrote a whole textbook when they said discuss.

Linda, I truly think it should go on the traditional finger because people might not think its an engagement ring, so just to avoid question, it should go on the wedding finger (fourth finger).

Nigerian women hear me and hear me well. it is the fourth wedding ring finger....Anonymous @ Nov 5 9.20am. u are the razzest razo ever! and everybody saying middle finger..that is not the right finger..abeg! where did this nonsense tradition originate from...

IT IS THE FOURTH WEDDING RING FINGER!!!!!!!!

Ng said...

@ Fanbellina has said it all

@ anon 11.28am ur sooo on point... Effiko lol

Warri Girl said...

All that matters that they are engaged.

Ode its only google you know! That's why you will go on wikipedia to learn and be led astray. You will also find on google that the 4th finger is right so it will take an exposed educated person to know which is right. 4th ring finger morrafucka! Ask kate middleton.. Or maybe SHE was wrong and YOU are right.. Since me I don't know anything.. Ode oshi

http://ashirigbakaute.blogspot.com/ said...

Well, if u live in America n wear ur engagement ring on ur third finger left or even right..nobody will notice u r engaged.

Here in America, we wear both our engagement n wedding band on the fourth left finger. That's the culture here......you guys see the celebrities do th same too. Since Nigerians like to copy copy, maybe we shld copy wearing our engagement rings on the fourth left finger.

Lol you are so stupid! Please tell me where nigerians got the tradition of wearing rings.. Please o! Tell me if we didn't get it from the western world.. Don't THEY determine everything that has brought us to where we are? Its not a customary thing, it is a foreign thing adopted by Nigerians.. Not a fucking trend! Why are Nigerians dumb o.. Its my fault for commenting.. Should have just sat down to watch the stupidity you and your type have so aptly displayed.

The middle finger is slightly bigger than the fourth finger, so pls tell me how the ring that was worn in the middle finger would fit well in the fourth finger later, so in my opinion the engagement ring should be on the fourth finger.

@ anon 11:09 you are the mumu!is engagement ring from nigerian tradition? Didn't we copy it? We might as well stop using it so we don't die copying!

@i_am_sherilyn said...

@ anon 11:28 lmao!!! ur so funny.....buh fanbellina is actually right.....I read it on random facts....

An engagement ring is usually mistaken for a promise ring (also called a pre-engagement ring). To prevent confusion with an actual engagement ring, a promise ring is usually worn on the ring finger on the right hand or the middle left finger.

Some people follow this culture and it differs widely accross various countries.

However, a proper engagement ring is to be worn on the left ring finger if we are to follow the British culture.

As with the Nigerian culture, having a ring does not necessarily mean you are engaged until you follow the traditional methods (some people could disagree with this). Therefore, women tend to wear their engagement rings on the right hand or on the left middle finger until they have followed the proper Nigerian procedure of being engaged. Once they are engaged, the ring moves to the left ring finger.

Since most of the Nigerian engagement/weddings occur within a week of each other, there is only a limited amount of time for a woman to show off that she is properly engaged by displaying the ring on the left ring finger. Therefore, she might prefer to wear it on that finger for as long as she wants.

There is no right or wrong answer here. It is simply a matter of personal choice.

fourth/wedding ring finger, only a bush person will think the middle finder is the right fingers.. My girl wear her ring on the middle finger cause when i was in atlanta, a 40% sale on diamond ring at jarred, i call my girl to quickly go and have her fourth/wedding ring finger measured because the sale is only for 2days, she didnt have the measurement on time, so i just bought one that will fit my pinky finger, the ring was $8500 i paid $5457 including tax, baba God will not let that sale pass me by IJN... long story short, the ring only fit on her middle finger. ps

Fourth finger pls...ugh! im so irritated by the middle finger argument.. some ignorant buffooons. engagement ring on the middle finger gets on my last nerves and just looks razz. be enlightened pple! rubbish!!!

It is called RING FINGER for a reason.

I am shocked that you need to ask such a question. It is on the fourth finger and the wedding ring then goes on top of this. Only in Nigeria would you wear an engagement ring in the middle finger.............still laughing at this one!!SMH!!!

Cant stop laffing at all this comments, they just made my day. Am engaged and the ring is on my 4th finger. looks very sexy there. If u like wear urs on ur neck or Toe na u sabi. check this link out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qRtEaTUbOBM&feature=colike

biblically, its the middle finger of your left hand, and not the second to the last.

"orukayemi".... is when u are married oooo, if that guy shuld nw dump u, wat wuld b d next sayn..."oruka*******" loooool......

I wonder y some people result τ̅☺ insulting others on this blog. Times without number, U̶̲̥̅̊ must av heard everyone I̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ entitled τ̅☺ his/her opinion. Pls, stop passing insults lyk saying Ūя̲̅ fellow human I̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ a bufallo, dumb ass, Nigerians α̲̅rε̲̣ fools. It I̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ vry wrong, U̶̲̥̅̊ may tink it will amuse pple buh trust M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ U̶̲̥̅̊ shall account for every idle thot/talk. As 4 M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥, I Ĵû§†̥̥ confirmed wher τ̅☺ put ♍Ɣ engagement ring, we learn daily and no one I̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ an island of knowledge. PEACE!

My sweet darling u r very rite! U've said it all! Was abt to comment on dis wen I saw urs! D wedding ring seals up d engagement ring, dts why u see most white pple wear 2 rings,der engagement and d wedding band!

Nne thank u sooo much jare! D pple saying middle finger shd see dis and nw understd it better since u had to explain I tlike u r explaining to a baby!

My sweet darling u r very rite! U've said it all! Was abt to comment on dis wen I saw urs! D wedding ring seals up d engagement ring, dts why u see most white pple wear 2 rings,der engagement and d wedding band!

Right leg big toe,pinkie finger left hand. Wia eva u choose 2. Every malaam wt im own kettle.I wl put mine on her left hand ring finger. J'weezle

Yes o!!! Obey your man as he don talk am. Ramotaliu,I hope say u dey read they follow,no remove the band wey I put for your right thumb o.....****whizling fela's song-palava,u dey find****#

Shut up,u razz irritant! What exactly do u know? When the enlightened are talking,u zip up your mouth.OK?

U are gradually dieing of low self esteem.sipmly put### NONENTITY#####

some peps here don't even have bf not to talk of engagemeent...lol

Hope your marriage is makin sense

Hope u razz stuffs of LIB got dat straight in your skull

If u are a lady,am sure u were just jilted.pele ti e o!

Just shot up!

If u can't wear it on d fourth finger of ur left hand, then get engaged and don't wear a ring at all. I don't see y it should be so hard for us to "copy" correctly.olodo pple

Nonconformist said...

Who makes these rules....

You can wear it on a rope round your neck sef. Infact must we wear at all?

Once again who makes these rules?

jenny said...

Exactly!I agree,white weddings,engagement parties etc are from the whites,if you wanna copy them then do it right..

Lol, bwa ha ha ha. U haff kill me o!

Munroe64 said...

There really is no universally accepted finger for it, it varies from one country/culture to another. IMO it's best to wear it on the wedding ring finger since you will end up wearing it WITH your wedding band after you're married. That way you can avoid needing to have your ring resized after you exchange vows.

This blog is starting to bore me..... Too many nincompoops (in case they can't figure it out, it means daft. Engagement rings are worn on the FOURTH finger. Let@s stop this dumb argument *rolling eyes*

Which on be proposal ring and engagement ring? Pls expanciate

Anon 11:09, ur comment says it all...DUMB! Where did we(nigeria) copy exchange of ring from? Pls google is ur friend, dont base ur arguement on hearsay or from village champions **Floetry in motion***

#gbam... Include mgbeke, 'forcing guy' and village champions

#gbam! I gi ya! **floetry in motion**

U are saying trash if don't know.. Did your ancestors knew what is exchange of ring?... No be bride price/dowry them know? Not until colonial masters came we learnt it. Hence naija is the on coping here

#gbam! I gi ya! **floetry in motion**

Nonconformist said do we have to wear it at all, i can bet u no get bobo.. if you do, u will want to flunt his love around ur fingers...

happyhausabunny said...

@ anon 3:45pm we learn everyday! And there's absolutely nothing wrong in using google, and the name calling highly unnecessary. Shame people can't have simple discussions with insults.

I am so sad reading how ignorant Nigerians are and they can defend it. Do u get engaged twice that u think u can move it after the wedding. That's y there is a separate wedding band. The size of the fingers vary so what size do u buy since u want to move from middle finger to 4th finger. Smh

Wo shutup jor. U talk out of point most times. U wil soon sip shit. Ode!

LMAOO... ITK oshi... I'm sure his/her great grandpa engaged his/her great grandma with a stone dats y he/she's dat dumb.Ode buruku.

Ode what are they saying & what r u saying? Dumb idiot!

It hz nvr bn our style frm day1 ma so keep ur "african style" 2urslf biko!

Na so! Go tell dat 2d oyinbo's who invented it in d 1st place. Olodo!

@Anon 3:08pm ure def d mumu,pls readwellb4 replying peps.. Ur reply is quite dumb if u must knw.

Mumu @anon 3:01pm..y u dey follow dey wear ring in d 1st place? Ehen? Smh*

Lmao!!!!!!!

smile said...

Ok ohhh.. To solve the problem.. If its a clean cut massive diamond ring it should be on the fourth finger and if its gold, silver, bronze and stainless steel u can wear it on any finger...it don't really matter

Oh just shut up,who cares if u are married?abeg park well jor rubbish tins

You lot saying this is Nigeria and not the USA need to be checked!!
Did your forefathers give their wives to be engagement rings!!! You chose to copy the American/ Hollywood culture....so why alter it!!!!!!!!!!!!

And who cares?mtcheeeew

How would you u be able to knw the difference when you are so dumb?

It is based on how you see it.

@anony 3:26pm,ur obviously a dumb fellow,wat does discussion entail?go google it...if u dnt knw wat dis topic is about,shut up nd let people who know it educate you....plunker...

Anon 1.02,wats Ur headache on this issue? Arguing in stupidity over wat? Is it a do/die, make ur point n buzz off must you insult pple. Every1 s entitled to dir opinion so anyone dt thinks wearin my ring anywia I lik is not proper shd come and correct me n see if I ll not woze her dirty slap.

forget hollywood and what the celebrities are doing. Just google it and you'll see

Mgbeke Linda. Even you didn't know Mushin girl.

Make we ladies no dey deceive ourselves jor. Yes in d US or Europe abi na China dem dey wear theirs 4 d Ring Finger. 4 me mak we put am 4 d middle finger incase of incasity ooo. @least orda guys when wish 2 apply go stil get hp. If u go wear am 4 ring finger nd bobo disappoint u, ok ooo. Dat 1 na una business. Let d insults beginnnnnnn. Lolz

Anywhere the ring enter it still doesn't stop the man/woman from cheating..... #Justsayingsha.

Princess R said...

Different countries do it differently. Here in the U.S., it is worn on the left hand fourth finger (with the wedding ring on top after wedding) but in Nigeria its worn on the middle finger. I'm sure there are other styles. To each, their own.

www.nwavic.blogspot.com

Which finger is closest to your heart??????????
Razz, clueless and classless people will say their middle finger

Ant said...

there are so many razz people in naija sha. Middle finger? How disgusting!!! And some are calling it African tradition..I choose not to be a part of this razzness.

attitude said...

Hmmm !!! All this fight over a simple question as dis? Una get power o ! As for me, I think its a thing of choice. I don't remember anyone being arrested for wearing it on either finger. Life isn't so hard ! We only make it seem so. Y'all should take a chill pill abeg!

OLawumi said...

IF YOU ARE GOING TO COPY A TREND DO IT WELL,AN ENGAGEMENT RING IS OBVIOUSLY DIFFERENT FROM A WEDDING BAND.IT SHOULD BE ON THE FOURTH FINGER . WHAT MAKES THE DIFFERENCE IS THE TYPE OF RING. YOU EXCHANGE YOU ENGAGEMENT RING FOR A WEDDING BAND OR JUST ADD YOUR WEDDING BAND TO IT. THE MIDDLE FINGER TREND GOING AROUND IS WEIRD BUT I GUESS SOME PEOPLE WOULD CALL IT NIGERIAN STYLE,I AM A NIGERIAN BUT STILL DON'T GET IT.

Gbao! @ They were both wrong, it's supposed to be on ur big toe.

***Lush said...

Depends on the culture you are from. Just like you cannot shake hands in every culture, there is no 'one size fits all' with wearing an engagement ring.

***Lush

***Lush said...

I like Fanbellina's explanation sha. Never heard 'veina amoris' before. Interesting...

***Lush

***Lush said...

One of the reasons Americans don't put rings on their middle finger -- especially an engagement ring -- is because the middle finger of any hand is another way to say f*ck you.

So all my Nigerian ladies hoping to land an man that has lived abroad for many years should learn something new!

***Lush

There are five fingers in a hand.The little finger is for single and searching, next is the wedding finger,then the engagement finger.Divorcees wear theirs on the index finger while widows wear it on the thumb. These are tradional ring fingers. But these days of anarchy, anything goes.

Left hand, fourth finger because there's a vein in that finger going up to your heart.

Glad to read your nice blog.

this is very funny middle or fourth finger ...... please hope you realised that here in nija we do av an engagement ceremony where the engagement ring will av to be on the fourth finger