NCC Orders Telcoms To Provide Instant Call Bills To Consumers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 November 2012

NCC Orders Telcoms To Provide Instant Call Bills To Consumers

The Nigerian Communications Commission yesterday directed all mobile operators in Nigeria to send, free of charge, a message or an alert to both postpaid and prepaid subscribers after every call, SMS, or system generated charge or tariff, and also provide full details of the cost of each call, and available balances to the subscriber. Continue...

The Direction mandates the mobile operators to send messages containing six critical information including: Exact duration of the Call Minutes and Seconds, Total Cost for each Call or SMS; Customer Accounts Balance after the last call for prepaid and SMS; Customer Account Balance after a charge or tariff and the reason for the charge or tariff; Cumulative call charges up to the last call within the charging period for postpaid customers; Cost of services and Credit balance upon request by customer for data service.

NCC said the service is free to subscribers and any operator which fails to commence the service to its subscribers from first of this month will be liable to fine in the sum of N5million as sanction and a further sum of N500,000  per day as long as the contravention persists.

39 comments:

Chop Chop said...

They will find a way to pass on the cost to consumers. Watch ur credit ppl.

Nice one,but not getting SMS and Data message alerts like they mentioned in their text msg yet.

Sakara said...

This s very very necessary, I have always known this country wl be good one day. Stupid Airtel, all of last week, I couldn't receive calls on my phone, when u call d line it wl sat switched off, I loaded BIS, they removed my money and I never had by for one wk, kept going back to their useless staff who kept on saying 'after 24 hrs. After 24 hrs' awon olosi oloriburuku indians

I'm not getting alerts from Etisalat o- thieves! Thanks for this new policy, I wouldn't have known Mtn has been charging me over the top for every call I make even to Mtn. Will soon toss the sim. All rogues!!!

I hate mtn with passion. Their license should be revoked honestly. If they annoy me one more time & i will do undo. Evil cheats!!!!

MTN is d worst network ever, followed my Airtel

Even n south Africa where they come from, they are hated wt passion

Come to Ghana they r d worst to use and they r bloody rogues, stealing peoples money and feeling cool about it, rouges!

Kudos. Now lemme see how mtn will be stealing my money anyhow.its a welcome development

I live in Canada aNd I can't reach my sweetheart in Nigeria on her bb What a shame!

KING OF BLOG LORDS
To me all calls have and must be at normal rate I am mtn subscriber but they are greediest telecommunication I have ever see. mtn to mtn you are free, mtn to other network you are in trouble, is panning me. Bend down low.......

OMG!!! I wonder how u even speak on d phone with bad english like this..damn!

That Girl said...

No wonder MTN sends such bills 2 my phone..soo d NCC made em do it...

Dis sounds 9c n quite transparent 4 NCC,bt 4 dis ntwks de'l defnately find a mins of Sapping ppl'airtym...*shame on Mtn**

mtn suffer me sotay I run go glo but glo dey take my money wen I no go txt or call.I tire o

Phronesis said...

All of them na d same tin. their thievery is too much! Make ncc begin dey deal with them!! Awon ole!

Lmao! "King of gbaguan lords" lmfao!

Vking said...

MTN MTN MTN MTNNNNN..mtn has milked it's subscribers to the ground.I hate using them whenever i am in Nigeria.Even from here in europe,one can't send sms to any mtn line.very boring but i belived that they are doing this because of the corupt way they came into Nigeria that is why government can't do them anything.May God save Nigeria

the worst of the thieving lot is glo. Doubt if I will ever switch on their sim again.

It is better this way.let us see how they will bill us for undelivered messages and calls.

THEY SHOULD ALSO STOP TAKING OUR MONEY IF THE TEXT MESSAGE DID NOT DELIVER... THAT'S HOW THEY DO IN OTHER DEVELOP COUNTRIES...IF YOUR TEXT MESSAGE DID NOT GO THEY WONT DEDUCT YOUR MONEY FROM YOUR CREDIT....AY

God bless them' I've been trying for months to retrieve my monthly statements, but to no avail. I have a contract line with MTN and artel. MTN refuses to give me a call log,based on fuckin what?

etisalat all the waaaaay...they keep dashing my mom airtime...

NCC, please take note that GLO has not started on their PostPaid. Airtel started on 01/11/2012 on PrePaid.

Mtn is T̶̲̥̅̊ђέ worst, T̶̲̥̅̊ђέ thieves even said if u dnt want T̶̲̥̅̊ђέ notification u can Snd eocn τ̲̅ȍ 131 τ̲̅ȍ off Ȋ̝̊̅† S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ dat T̶̲̥̅̊ђέ stealing wȊ̝̊̅ℓℓ continue.if I make call n T̶̲̥̅̊ђέ person doesn't pick A̶̲̥̅♏ charged 4 Ȋ̝̊̅†.A̶̲̥̅♏ bin charged for every data even while on BIS.God wȊ̝̊̅ℓℓ punish Dem.

Hmm, they will steal it and u go do nufink; I sent text and they deducted x 2 each time. GOD dey sha

Hehehehe, u guyz are mean oo, even MTN knows him nah so den go dey translate d English as him dey speak ......

Haba, e no better say mek ur 9ja brother thief ur money dan Indians and south Africans? Just continue to donate. Monkey dey work Baboon dey chop!!!animal farm

MTN still remains d best

I wrk wif airtel but dnt use dem for anytin xcept for my staff line...indians aint good for bizm

MJ said...

Is it really free? I use airtel and my credit seems to disappear without any 'provocation'!!! Seriously, I checked my credit after a call and made sure I did not make any for a while. And lo and behold, N13 dropped from my credit. I no trust then joor!

MJ said...

I feel u! I use airtel too! Kai kai kai!!!

This is a very welcome mandate to telco operators. All of them that provide services in Nigeria are fraudulent in my view. Nigeria has one of the largest number of subscribes in the world yet we pay an arm and leg for substandard service. I am glad that the government is watching but as one person has already commented the charges will still be paid for by the subscriber. I spent an hour and thirty mins in the MTN centre at The Palms this afternoon with customer service rep talking to me Parrot style 'Auntie, MTN charges you for your phone attempting to connect to the internet' N30 each 35secs. If it wasn't for this new instant call information I would have been none the wiser. I reviewed my call history with him on screen and discovered that for the month of October I had paid over N2,500 for these attempted contentions. What a load of crap! Will I get my money back? 'Well, sorry Auntie the thing is that is just how the system is set up'. Am I pissed. Bloody right I am! Sometimes I fear for what would happen if I had an emergency in the middle of the night. I may call my boyfriend or the police but the conversation would go something like this... Hello (drop call) Please, ple (drop call) please help me (drop call) the number you are calling is unavailable (disconnect) baby can you hear me (then you get an igbo woman on the phone......onye!!) Of course by this time robbers have entered and ......God bless Nigeria. Please Nigerian government continue to work for your people. The Indians and the South Africans and that yoruba man for the matter don't give rats ass about us!

I think MTN is charging for the NCC msg, I tried calling yesterday, but the call didn't go through, yet they deducted like 2 kobo for every attempt made when the balance message was sent to me, I had to switch off my phone, because the message seems to be coming in every 1o-20 mins with an evident deduction in my balance without calling.

Onyeara's OLE BARAWO all they know is to chop our money

role model said...

Rot in ur europe...
We love our NIGERIA,...
Sure,God is already saving us...
Yu will soon see and hear...

Annon 8:59 u are not alone. MTN has been deducting small small money from my line all day 30kobo here 40 kobo there!!! For no reason at all. I begin to imagine how many other subscribers is it happening to! Cos believe me, it may not seem like much alone, but cumulatively that's a whole lot of money! Won't be surprised if the criminals make over 100million naira from this unseen scam! #team probe MTN!!

NaNmA LaBaR said...

This happens to me a lot on airtel. Infact my BIS has never reached d expiry date,a week or two b4 its s'pos to expire they will say my 1gig has b exausted so u have to either use ur credit 4 bb sturves or call dem to deactivate then u renew. This never happened to me with mtn so I wonder what they r up to.

Dunno if this has happened to any one but in the last 2 days I've received this message on MTN. And each time i end a call the message read I've used N0.00 spend so so amount more to get the N600 free credit to call MTN numbers on family and friends. Was elated but decided to check my balance after each call only to discover they've been charging me for all the calls even to MTN numbers. NCC had beta check these people ooh

Ok. NCC, u can now like to tell dem not t send us d messages anymore. Dis MTN theives wanna tiff my crdt finish ohhhh!

hmmmmmm am loving this,mtn said they need to invest more in niageria cos the money they make in one month in nigeria,can never be made in one year from 3 different countries,borm arm robbers,i hate mtn with passion.

Why these people determined to defraud Nigerians.

Airtel 500% bonus before the order will tell you how much of the free credit each call cost but alas as soon they started giving instant bill they stopped telling how much has been used from the bonus credit, you just a notification that d last call was billed form the bonus credit.

why has it suddenly become difficult to tell how much of has been used and what is left of it?

NCC please help us.