Four Nigerian teenage girls develop a urine-powered generator | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 November 2012

Four Nigerian teenage girls develop a urine-powered generator

Four Nigerian teenage girls - Duro-Aina Adebola (14), Akindele Abiola (14), Faleke Oluwatoyin (14) and Bello Eniola (15) have created something truly incredible, even if it's a little dangerous..:-).

The girls invented a urine powered generator which was showcased at this year's Maker Faire Africa held in Lagos a few days back. Continue to see how it works....

According to Maker Faire Africa, an annual event which showcases inventions, the system works like this:
  • Urine is put into an electrolytic cell, which separates out the hydrogen.
  • The hydrogen goes into a water filter for purification, which then gets pushed into the gas cylinder.
  • The gas cylinder pushes hydrogen into a cylinder of liquid borax, which is used to remove the moisture from the hydrogen gas.
  • This purified hydrogen gas is pushed into the generator.
  •  1 Liter of urine gives you 6 hours of electricity.

Why is it a little dangerous? Maker Faire Africa ended their report by saying - Along the whole way there are one-way valves for security, but let’s be honest that this is something of an explosive device…

And I agree...but great one girls. All they need now is people who will collaborate with them to improve on it.

152 comments:

na so boko haram dey start, op urine will nt be expensive ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, cuz people will now be kidnapped to urine drum full, lmao

Taenia said...

Musa: Ol boy Nuru na only u never piss inside Gen today.

Nuru: Una Nko?

Musa: Ol boy we don flood am but we don use the light already. oya go do ya own. Match wan start

:)lol)

BLOGLORD said...

lmao at 1st anonymous. well said.
though the girls are innovative. if it will cause more good than harm, its a good one.

BLOGLORD said...

Taenia you are maddddddd! am laughing so hard here. kai! no be only match wan start.
OMG. ldkmdh

loooolz its funny but I salute their ingenuity. New notice URINATE HERE ATTRACTS #100 BENEFIT !

this is great these girls need to be encouraged,they should be trained to improve upon there skills and i tell you they will come out with even greater inventions.BUT YOU KNOW OUR GOVERNMENT

@1st. Anony @taenia u guys will nt kill me with laff oooo, taenia u should be writing all ds pidgin comic book u knw! Whao it ll be really gud 4 champions league n all d rest. Make we dey start to dey store urine nao oooooo.

Sorry abt my pidgin am stil learning. Chacha

slimzyose said...

lol @ 1st anon & BONARIO,u guyz re nt serious...dis is a great invention,great minds,brains & talents,jst pray dey get d support & encouragement dey nid

@anonymous 9.11am, taenia and bonario u guys r not well lwkmd4h yaykpa

make najia dey waste time white men go soon come carry dis girl to help them improve cox no so so bad bad side of every good tin na najia dey see. for sure this girl are good. I wish dem well. And for all boko haram and up coming urine kidnappers nothing for una cox na white i go give una instead of urine.

Fola Adenusi said...

Good job girls.

However, as an engineer my self, I know the glory belongs to someone else (Teacher/book/Journal). These girls at 15 years old couldn't possibly understand the engineering and science behind hydrogen extraction, purification and use in combustion engines. Even giants like ChevronTexaco are still perfecting the technology from water. Its not a new idea. They just reproduced, obviously with the help of a teacher/lecturer what has been done before in a book.

All the same, good job girls and thanks for the motivation.

rotimippl said...

but someone need to be careful about the thing.....good one girls.....

wow that is a good one, if they can invent something like this at their age, with support they will do wonders, but the question is where will the support come from? is our confused government?

i hope govmnt won't remov subside on urine

Ucy said...

Lmao

Haba, im surprised at u guys. The only good thing u can do is to make fun of ds teenages. Do urs n lets see ow inventive u can be. Stupid pple.

Great move girls.
explosive or not its a thought that can be fine tuned by senior scientist to bring solution
may God bring help you way, so u can do better than this.
Read comments of some LIB readers and its pathetic that even youths do not appreciate your creativity.
Rather they make fun out of everything and watch lifec changing opportunities pass them by

Yay! Adebola Duro Aina, one of the inventors is my Pastor's Daughter.

Claywillz Entertainment said...

This girls her great girls...But they need to improve...To lift them more higher....And give the ability to do many more than this this.....

Ucy said...

Chineke tank sir, for comin to my aid no more petrol for generator... Obiageli, nkiru, chijioke, unu bịa ọsịịsọ and urinate in dis bucket, Remember we need fill up dis liter to have 6hrs light. Oya go and drink water now now.

tadewusi said...

urine for sale oooooo..... 1ltr is 50naira (cheaper than fuel)......contact 07033464822

Some dangerous syphilis piss go just cause multiple explosion hehehehehehe. Well done girls...

This is nice..dangerous but nice. It's left for the oyibo pple to steal the ideal & perfect it.

nnamani emerald said...

Great one girls very creative and innovative more grease to your elbows alway*bonario* make sense boo

Claywillz Entertainment said...

Gooddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

They did not invent the machine or process oh Linda! The scientific process information and research is online already please. All they did was DEMONSTRATE an already discovered process.

L.A.S.T.M.A KIlla said...

The headline should be "school girls VS Otedola and Mikano,invent household mini nuke"

Just kidding, its ingenious, it can work wtih minor safety adjustments but it wont because...

Good idea girls, pls start working on how cars will run with water........I know a bank datbwill support u, bravo

While their age mates were busy practicing to be video hoes, four young gals were using their brains to invent. THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

Ride on ladies. The sky is your starting point. We are proud of you.

So proud of these girls, students of Doregos Private Academy. My alma mater.

Still learning pidgin ma ass..

this lovely, but person urine wey get infection go blow uo the generator ooooo..... nice one, enough urine, so start storing ur urine bcos if FG finds about this, they will hoard fuel finally and ask everyone to use his/her urine to run his generator.... urine will be hot cake... u will see where someone goes about with a big drim asking everyone to urinate inside, even goats and gogs... lmaoooo

LOUIE says: said...

Love the invention...buh its rily funny tho. You guys should watch out for my invention-faeces powered generator:):)

BONARIO- ONYE ARA!!!!! did u say 'ingenuity?'... u are a fool..... a big fool... wonder the kinda remote village u come from... displaying ur coconut head pics just to seek for notice... i will aluu that finger u use type that 'ingenuity'... ewu kambia.... anuofia....

Deybabe said...

I laff in Spanish' but truly urine fit dey cost o n na d pregnant women go be d target for dem cos dey 'wee'more often than anybody else..Pregnant women beware of Kidnappers#Na Joke o#Lol

Well done girls,but let's be careful b4 we begin to de-populate nigeria.

Dr. Rukevwe said...

Nice one. Way to go, girls!!! Just a lil' more improvement and you would have done something remarkable for this generation.

Omo na pissing tins nau o!

What on earth is not chem pls?Gosh I adore dis course.our knowledge rules the world...BSc Pure and Industrial Chem,UNN.

Future process engineers. Good on them!

Naija no dey eva use der brains somtin important n serious is abt 2 hapn n here we r makin fun of it,no wonda we no dey progress if na oyibo der government 4 don tak am up bigtym,u na dey follow dat big fool taenia dey laugh c ha stupid name sef if na so oyibo laugh abt t.v invention u na 4 dey long eye dey watch.

shugar said...

Way to go girls;sooo proud of my feminine folks.

Maggie said...

lmao...na dis kind of invention oyibo dey like. but trust our govt..all they care about is peace talks with terrorist.

ewwwwwww....which kin innovation be dis one..imagine storing a drum of urine in ur backyard..smellimg tin!! when urine finish for gen..mummy will now spread her two legs across d tank and piss inside..Godforbid..who's job will be to refill the gen... galz pls think of sumthing better!! Jules

all u need is a drum whr every member of ur household can pee in & you're good to go!!! *whoop whoop*

I no fit laff ooo.

deczylet said...

Wow.. Lmao, dis is some serious invention o.. N quite hillarious too.. Am hopin dey wil b encouraged

bravo babes

no b smal tin ooo

Lawal Adekemi said...

Great initiative girls(applaud)but we would need urine stations where we can fill our urine tanks regularly#loll#

this is great
big ups

its funny but its a brilliant idea,i'm impressed...so what can we do with poop apart from fertilizer...lol

great minds....

princess sal jay said...

Before u no, Bonario go carry him nabor go police for stealing him piss. Lmao

Bonario, I always look forward to your comments.. U are fun!

Amaogechukwu said...

This is good innovation which can be improved upon. @Taenia, u are a comedian.

Kudos to the bright mind, someone should help these girls develop this idea. Bio waste won't be waste anymore.

nyc one gals keep it up

Pls urinate here urgently needed by banks to power their generators. Urine Agent.

Naijadude said...

While the igbos will be busy marketing d Generators, d hausas/Fulanis will use it to destroy lives and properties.

Yet,we remain as one Nigerian..

u pple will nt kill sumbody abeg hep me piss i wan on generator lmfao.............

Yomslaw said...

Approved Urine Pump Price Endorsed by UPPRA(Formerly PPPRA):

Pregnant Woman-N75 Per Ltr
Virgin Girl(Below 18)-N85 Per Ltr
Virgin Girl(Above 18)-N125 Per Ltr
Women(Below 40)-N70 Per Ltr
Women(Above 60)-N25 Per Ltr
Men(Below 40)-N65 Per Ltr
Men(Above 60)-N45 Per Ltr
Men(Between 40 and 50)-N55 Per Ltr
Diabetic Patients-N155 Per Ltr

well done sis

rayenter10ment.com said...

Nice One girls keep the spirit of naija burning.

The part I loved is 1 liter of urine gives us 6hours of generator. That means cars an other engine can be run on human waste. Petroluem stations will be replaced with urine stations lol. Also leading to a grenner world. And our own 9ja inventions. Pls take them to anamabra state nnewi so those igbo men can start producing the generators. I know govt will dissappoint.
Jojo

Nilla said...

Good Invention but.....
@ Teania, lol hahahah @ Bonario, you no go kill person oo. hahaha! LMAO

@anonymous 9:32 exactly wot i was tinkin!u r very correct...

Hahahahahahahahahahaha,abeg 1st anon no kill me dis rainy friday morning.

Modupsy said...

I'm so proud of these girls....@ least we now no Nigerians can invent something

Anon 9:11am u be better clown.I can't stop laughing.

Hahahaha
D minute I saw the headline,even before reading the full details,I new it would be dangerous!
Urine again!!!
D power of urine is notin more than deadly!!!!
For God's sake its a toxic waste!!!!
But its a nice one though.

Dr Jude said...

OMG, THIS IS GREAT, I MUST CONFESS..

Lmao!!!
Its even irritating am sorry.
But d girls try sha

Hahahahahhahahahaha!!
Its so funny!
D process is quite long anyway but its a good one.

SAY WHAT???????

hehehehe...very soon deem go dye sell urine in pure water sachet...

heheheheh....very soon deem go begin sell urine in pure water sachet...

Ha! Abeg make dem shift o! Before d thing explode for dem face!!!
Mere looking at that stuff,it smells danger!
I like their spirit but dis one is not it pls

CHIEFO said...

This is okay,nice one,lets send them to school of terrorism in Afghanistan.

Warri Girl said...

Great innovation. If it is perfected boys go dey carry jerry-cans go bars and drinking parlous to gather piss.

Good stuff!! This is the kind of things that we need to have coming out of our Nigeria. But with this it means urine would become a rare commodity o! You go fit pass and see notice that read 'We pay well for your urine, 100cl for N500' #Big grin

God Bless these gals. Wat an innovation. This is what we need. Not kids dreamin of singing champagne poppin nd booty shakin. We need SCIENCE innovations. And its tym multinationals support SCIENCE and not music.
Stevebond007

Michealkal said...

I just don't see how this is possible unless its generating AA or even AAA battery amounts of electricity... is that a combustion engine? running of piss? also hydrogen bonds arent that easily broken, this isn't a "biobomb" what are you al gores nephew? its a load of piss. using hydrogen as a fuel source is possible yes. but it requires a lot of different technologies to harness and doesn't just plain out create power. you need to use energy to make the hydrogen usable, and then add it with the fuel your using to make hydrogen enriched fuel and you can get a boost by using more out of the initial fuel. but only a 20% increase is reasonably achievable.. and hydrogen fuel cells are to be thought of as eco friendly forms of batteries. for an electric motor.Although Hydrogen bonds are quite easily broken when compared to other bonds such as ionic or covalent (donation, acceptance or sharing of electrons) bonds. In fact hydrogen bonds are not even true chemical bonds, they are attractions between an H atom and another electronegative atom. H bonds, are very common in nature as contributors to molecular structure more than anything else, along other interactions such as sulphur bonds and Van deer Waals forces.

But the project these girls did is not new technology, nor amazing source of energy and I don´t think the article was pointing to such, it was merely showing that they were able to do it with somewhat limited resources. That is the point of science in developing countries. Be able to do something with limited resources..but still takes energy to do so. I highly doubt it's more efficient to power generator by using hydrogen than using whatever energy source they used to break apart the hydrogen in the first place.

Also, if it's power by hydrogen, what didn't they just use water. There's nothing innovative in the way they filter urine.

So while it's nice to see developing countries showing what they could do with limited resources, without further info, I highly doubt this machine is doing anything useful.

prould nigeria ooooo.....

tamuno said...

una dey worry oohhh.na every body go get gen,con add gas,n dose dere container?

Let them run for thier life because Nja govt will kill them Via stoping fuel subsidy

Nosey said...

Innovative but gross...but innovative.

These young girls have great minds they should be encouraged.

If this girls are in yanke harvard,yale and mit will be knocking their doors with scholaships, Nigeria we might never hear from them again. God help our country.

highspeedrabbit said...

Nice one girls, however the same concept is used to extract methane gass from animal dung. Safety is key, pressure is vital and at least you can't have pee scarcity. Lmao, just collect canal water near dolphin. That is some lagos premium pee righ there....... infact, the estate across the high way was built on a lot of that pee. It would just be like drilling for oil. Good luck!

Maryjane Blogazine said...

Thats great girls! Visit/Follow my blog-Maryjanedavidson.blogspot.com

@ Michealkal or whateva u call urself.... u are so lost.... invent urs naaaa.... with all these grammar na for wetin... u no go school, na common apprentice u be for a generator repair shop. u dey speak grammar.... go write book naaa... talk rubbish.. arrant nonsensical nosense....

steph said...

Lmaooo...i swear LIB Commenters are the best.... the first comment killed me...lmaooooo seiously..

@ Michealkal it is a wa just appreciate these gals n stop nagging about limited and unlimited energy haba even the post linda did no long reach ur own u for kukuma write 100pages na #wakapassbiko#

@ Michealkal u r the biggest senseless dumb hopeless unappreciative person in nig its pple like u that kill spirits haba mana imagine ur dirty statement "But the project these girls did is not new technology" when u were @dat age what did u do bloody hausa goat like u...... in fact who asked u if it is new technology or not oversabi ewu

The next time my baby says "Daddy I want to wee wee" na to go carry jerry can for am o!....lol. Good one gurls. We can improve on it. Great things can come out of this nation.

The Traveller said...

Wow! I'm blown away. The casual comment by many here suggests why these young ones won't be celebrated. Few months from now, they will probably be forgotten.

If all dis oil cabal catch una ehh...una wan spoil bizness for dem.....

Money Talks said...

so the 4th guy on the right is who? i presume is the project supervisor..or famzer

Oya make una start dey donate urine

Sadey

Great minds, brave minds. No matter how substandard, dangerous ineffective, costly or whatever any critic may tag this technology, these young minds are channeling their energy in the right direction and they need encouragement. Well done girls!

i heard of a man researchin on urine with a view to replacing fertilizer with it, the result was greater than dat of fertilizers and less harmful to the soil,moreso urine is cheaper than fertilizer, all you need do is store ur urine in a gas tight can so that it doesnt oxidizes i.e becomes smelly. And some directions and you are good to go. Welcome to a urine subsidized world, instead of petrol we use urine, instead of fertlzer we use urine maybe even inplace of salt we can use urine.
A.i.m

spy said...

So with all your Bsc what have u invented?

@ Michaelkal...You just dey blab, dey form science student and you no know jack. Go use shit produce your own now. Instead of you to appreciate these young gurls u dey yan okpata. Abeg commot there joor. I know say u be old man. Where d one wey u fit do mr lecturer.

Haba! See how u insulted Bonario's life cos ur stupid dumbass don't understand d meaning of a simple word like ingenuity. I'm sure u confused it with d opposite of "genuine". Well, I'll make it clear to u and put u and ur uncle, satan to shame. Ingenuity is the quality of being clever, original, and inventive, often in the process of applying ideas to solve problems ...
All d things u said to Bonario goes right back at u. Bloody stupid illiterate! I can't wait for everybody to put u in ur place better dan d way I just did. Foolish ignorant scum!

"PLEASE KINDLY URINATE HERE" - BY ORDER

Mac9thRaida said...

Finally piss can now be put to some really good use.

People will soon also be able to sell their PISS ...."Piss now comes in a sachet"... LOL!!!!!

Michaelkal theyve done well at least its a start engr fola am do your own taenia yomslaw nice one i wan laugh tire mehn

Mac9thRaida said...

@Michealkal, otondo, ode, mumu, I-am-a-joke-please-ignore-me!!! See ya mouth!!! You are kukuma at home browsing internet to have had time to google all dem big big grammar wey you write... Because i no say u no know book, as you would like us to believe.
Oloshi, which wan you don do, see small gelz they invent. It is why it is called an invention or an experiment, this means 'trial and error' then all the big and better scientists (like the once you are trying to pretend to be one of) can develop it and make it better and actually usable.
Oloshi, my-father-has-a-house-so-i-can-sit-at-home idiot!!! Shiooooooo!!!!!

Omo gelz weldone jare, ignore jobless foolish Uncles like @MichealRubbish and keeep on rocking. Please find a way to inform Bill Gates about your invention because the guy has been welcoming inventions for an alternative for the 'WC toilet', He may have come across something that will perfect this your invention. Kudos Girls and Linda for posting this!!!!

@Taenia: Hilarious screen play.... ROTFLMAO

cooool!!!!! we need gurls lyk ds in SIFE now ENACTUS

i am impressed for the invention of these girls, all need to do is to finetune what they have done to make it better. this is the first stage of thier invention governement should take up the responsibility of ensuring that these girls idea do go to waste, o do we want to wait until when america see this and take them up ofr better.This is one of the reason we never develop as a nation. I remember the Dr. Abalaka story, we used our stupidity to run the man down. Remember in the 80's when a nigerian was said to have developed an aeroplane, what did nigeria government did to imrove his invention then? here we go again.
"Abo oro laso foluabi" meaning "a word is enough for a wise" how i wish we are wise. What a pitiable county with self-centered, myopic leaders.

Awesome
now what school do they go to?
thats a school after my heart
Innovation keeps changing our world
It simply needs some refining and they are good to go

i want 2go urinate rite nw but i feel m wastin it. Pls ho wants 2 buyyyyyy my urine #holdslaugh..... Nice one girls

cOOL

Lmao.@all d comments

Ok so one of the girls is ur pastor's daughter..Una go soon dey give piss offering..
Jaykaduru

Steph said...

@ Linda Ikeji, what school do these amazing girls attend? I might know of funding for innovative brains, so I can contact their school heads and possibly see what happens?

Stay blessed.

Steph

Chop Chop said...

Awesome. I will start saving my urine from next month.

so impressed. They have made urine valuable.

Chop Chop said...

Awesome. I will start saving my urine from next month.

i saw this on africapublic.com yesterday, we are so proud of these nigerian kids.. and good job linda, keep it up

Paz said...

Hahahahahahahahaha...you are a clown! Lmaooooo

Stargal said...

yeah yeah GO DOREGOS PRIVATE ACADEMY.... ,Kip it uo gals but URINE...oooo, i hope nobody will go nd try it out....i no won hear bad news oooo, IT IS DANGEROUS

They must be taking the piss.

this is just weird!!lmao...

Majority of those commenting have just been shelling. Your critique won't make u appear smarter than these 15 yr olds. If only a few of u could think outside the box n be creative. U r even hating on teenagers. So low.

Mr engineer oys show us ur own invention

Good one girls. The security in place can be increased. Even regular gas or petrol generators have risk factors. Every invention is always improved upon. Way to go girls. You are unto something

Professor X said...

My goodness! Illiteracy is so painful. Goodness. Please get a dictionary you hear? Look up words before you come on here to type nonsense and disgrace your folks. Spend time studying and stay off blogs please.

@Yomslaw, is dis suppose 2 be a joke? Cos its not funny!

well in this case i guess telling them to PISS OFF would be apt!!!

Good job... petrol smells when is being used on generators.. This one go smell too.

Thumbs up to the girls for the ingenuity, to y'all abusing @michaelkal, if you were science students you'd understand his point, Using Urine is just to be sentimental, I bet Europeans wouldnt be tripped cos this is a well known technology, hydrogen fuel are quite common, you all must have heard of hydrogen bombs, why use Urine where water is very available and would give same result, 9ja and sentiments, they knew the thought of powering your Generators with your urine would get Nigerians hyper sentimental with the costly price and scarcity of petrol, even water can be split into its components(oxygen and hydrogen) and the hydrogen can also be purified and dried to power the Generator..
Nevertheless, thumbs up girls,I know your teacher actually brought up this idea and used you girls as fronts to get your school good rating..

PISS: oh mehn, I don tire ooº°˚ ˚°ºoo. I wan scatter 4 hia naw.
GEN : hian. No try am oh... U no c say pple dey hia. Dem go jus hate yew 4eva. Paparazzi tins don end b dah! C as u fyn insyd container. Babe!
#Jade Said#

Rev. Toni said...

Fola,u sound like a discouraging element from d pits of hell. Only in Nigeria would u think of impossibility in a thing like dat. As young as five year old can come up with things like dat in America and no one will ever think it's impossible.

Fola u sound like a discouraging element from d pits of hell. America will Jump on a thing like dat and encourage them and there u are talking about it's impossible. U need to quit and do smthng better with ur mind and life.

This is a good beginning but its not an efficient way of producing energy.
Does anyone know what became of Dr Abraka, the guy who said he cured HIV in the 90s? But hedied of AIDS.

veeon said...

Micheakal thanks for the essay. Now move along hanlele.. This is impressive for teens, however this is really how boko haram dey start sha

Its called hard work,dey didn't jst sit @ home n watch knowing d technology s in d book!u fools sit n read it n smile while ds small girls read n made use of it!assholes...duchess

kemsugar said...

As in enh***oso ndu**** de tryd sha. Not easy.

bennygee said...

Nigerians are shallow minded people by the responses here.instead of thinking of how to improve on this technology 95% are criticising.the crude oil were killin ourselves over is it not from dead organic matter of ages ago that formed it?thats why were still in the dark wen weve purposedly blinded ourselves to light.

Haba, Brkfast with d Master dat watz a hash 1 frm u. Fola wz only stating d obvious & he did nt in anyway discourage or disparage d girls. Double check ur tongue, nay fingers b4 u comment!

- Dox

Ur a big fool

reading these comments just mad my day. i don laugh piss for body, wey i for put for gen. lol

@michaelkal abi wetin u call ur or let me call it short Monkey.

Mac9thRaida said...

@Forbes: Teens create a way to use urine as fuel http://t.co/oJ56dDR3

Linda I tried sending this to your email address:

See our girls o!!! Forbes is calling them revolutionary. Nigerians are here yabbing.

If these comes out the consumption rate of beer will so increase....

Nice invention. Would like to know whether it works on any kind of urine. Some people's urine are more acidic than others?

Wonderful invention. The sad truth is that this invention will just make the news, and nothing after. If it does not help to steal money, u no go get encouragement at all.

I wish them all the best. Hope a venture capitalist will fund this project.

Well done, girls!

www.splaaro.com