Department store collapse in Ghana turns deadly | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 8 November 2012

Department store collapse in Ghana turns deadly

5 people have been confirmed dead and 68 people pulled out alive from the multi-storey department store that collapsed in Ghana yesterday

A spokeswoman for Ghana's National Disaster Management Organization, said structural weakness had caused the collapse of the Melcom store in Accra's Achimota neighbourhood which was opened early this year and collapsed shortly before the store was due to open for business yesterday morning. Over a 100 people were in the 5-storey complex when it collapsed suddenly.

Rescue efforts is still going on at the site as workers say that they can hear noises from under the rubble and can see hands of people trapped. Sad!

42 comments:

Na so we see Å̶̷̩̥͡•̸Ϟ my sister.. Poor Archi work!

AFRICA!!!! when will u stop killing your people through your neglect, greed and no respect for humanity?....
One day the blood of the innocent will retaliate....BE WARNED

BLOGLORD said...

Oh dear! God help us not to be at the right place at the wrong time.
a sad occurence!

slimzyose said...

yea very sad,saw dis on bella naija, i jst pray dat God kip dos trapped save

So sad!!

who owns the departmental store? Important question o

i'm surprised they r saying upto 100 people were trapped.reports has it at 50-60 persons as it occurred 15mins after they opened for business and they were having their morning devotion.it was a nightmare.saw lagos traffic in accra for once.

That departmental store was built eithere by a nigerian or a Ghanian that rolls with Nigerians because Ghanian were generally honest n hardworking pple until Nigerians started trooping to their country, using their country as romance rendervous for their illicit affairs (aristo runs). I pray that God's mercy will keep the pple under the rubble alive till help gets to them IJN.

Brightt said...

its a melcom mall.. Was watching it on TV live ystday and the rescue effort was pathetically slow...AFRICA sha.. They even had time to be interviewing the president & co when he came to the venue.

Check: a Nigerian contractor built that place...

more sad news...Melkom is owned by Syrians and Lebanese. Its a family enterprise and we all know these people like to cut corners for a buck. This occurence is sad and unusual in Ghana cos they adhere to standards normally. The silver lining here is the efficiency of the emergency services and rescue effort. Our Naija counterparts pls take note.

RIP the departed...L.A.S.T.M.A Killa

You are so stupid!ignorant animal!

Dr. Rukevwe said...

The Architect and the entire building team should be held responsible.

Thank God say dem neva open the place for business - it may have been a worse tragedy.

Sakara said...

How can somebody come here and spew rubbish that Nigerians built d shopping centre, when d building is/was owned by Indians

May God give u d grace to respect and speak well of your country, as u lay ur bed so u sleep on it, if u disrespect ur father, no one wl have a single regard for him again, even if u got a million bucks to buy that respect back for him

Very sad.

Stupid Indians who live in our country and DO NOT RESPECT Ghanaians. Ghana Government need to deport all indians. As long as i have known Indians in Ghana - they do not respect Ghanaians.

Melcom is own by indians, the building structure was done by them and to add insult to injury, today they opened all their shops in ghana and have warned their employees if they have a silent moment or do not come to work cos they are mourning then they should consider themselves unemployed.

I dont like indians in ghana and never will.

They think they are better than us.

Even labanese treat ghanaians better they assumulate into our culture more learn our language etc etc. Indians do not.

Apparently employees complained about the pillars in the store was shaky but they ignored them and kept hoarding goods in there. Greedy bastards.

This tragedy is the fault of INDIANS in Ghana.

No wonder Idi Amin drove them the fuck out from UGANDA back in the day.

As a ghanaian i think we are too soft and too lenient on too many things.

i am so mad i cant wait to get to ghana during christmas. India fuor NKWASSIAFOUR!!

Warri Girl said...

Bad construction work, I hope they are able to rescue those trapped.

Ghanaians affected take heart.

@ANnon 2:29pm how you take know my mind. A Nigerian must have something to do with that building or the contractor must have spent part of his live in Naija

to the stupid idiots with no facts talking nonsense, Melcom is NOT owned my Labenese or Syrians or whatever the fck you said - Melcom is owned by INDIANS - Here is the website

http://www.melcomgroup.com/board_of_directors.html

ghana government needs to drive all indians out. THEY DO NOT RESPECT GHANAIANS. I WILL MAKE SURE I GIVE THEM HELL WHEN I GO BACK HOME DECEMBER.

The store is owned by Indians! The safety manager says he saw a crack and reported it to management, who asked him to take pictures to be sent to their head office. On Monday he reported another crack and the manager said God will not allow anything bad to happen to his children without doing anything about, today here we are,9 people confirmed dead with several others trapped. Such negligence! Thankfully Israeli rescue workers are here to help our ill equipped rescuers

U have fish brain from ur comment,,wat brings naija into ds,,yeye fool

People are so quick to start tongue-wagging and naming Nigerians. GET A FUCKING LIFE. It happened in Ghana, why be so quick to assume Nigerians had something to do with it? You folks are fucking sick! PLEASE STFU

kemsugar said...

RIP to them..its a pity tho.

Melcom is owned by Indians. I know the Family that owns it and Indians love cheap things. However i can categorically say that the building was definitely not fully constructed by Ghanians because if you live in Ghana you will know that Ghanians are very thorough when it comes to construction work and very detailed. Must have been constructed by Chinese and supervised by Indians. Its their way.

Bloody GREEDY Indians of course!!!

Gist-me.com said...

Yeye People...after some stupid Nigerians wey never go Ghana go come dey shout say Ghana better pass Naija. Ghana better pass naija

According to the song "Hmmmm thank God I am not a ghanaian o"

Its quite unfortunate. If this happened in Nigeria we would have gotten the tongue lashing from our neighbours the Ghanaians.

Abeg shut up

Gerrout!!!

Some uninformed idiots have already blamed it on 9ja. Nonsense

Stfu!!!

INDIANS living in Africa DO NOT RESPECt AFRICANS, and there are lot of them in Ghana. They need to be driven out. GREEDY CURRRY SMELLING BASTARDS

now its 18 dead 74 saved

Every time am on a blog Nigerians n Ghanaians r always fighting over who is better than who? N this shit is getting annoying now. As a nigerian myself, that's an idiotic n senseless thing to say at this time. Just shows how much of an inhumane person u r. When theDana tragedy struck Nigeria did u see anybody from another African country tongue lash or talk trash abt it. These is a fucking tragedy that has happened to ur fellow Africans n instead of sympathizing with them ur here talking jibbrish abt some stupid stuff. As Africans we just need to stop trying to feel superior than the other African country n learn to be n act like brothers after all we are all on the same continent. The only thing that separates us is a Border. This kind of attitude towards each other is the reason why we are still at the same spot n don't seem like we are moving. With this kind of mentality we won't Get anywhere. I have said my mind . N yes we need to take over things n not let these Indians n other people in our countries disrespect us cos they r not better than us. RIP to the departed souls n I hope those still trapped will all be saved

Well said anon

Kai,so na so many Ghanian dey for Linda Blog, I'm glad u have all spoken (silent readers),but sorry under thes circumstances,

Its a sad occurrence but the TRUTH must be said.-_- I have no doubts in my mind that Nigerians might be in some way involved in d contracting of this store. And for those telling people who are in my school of thought to shut the fuck up, you SHUT D FUCK UP! You're all ignorant and stupid too if you don't know half of the things that go on around you. Idiots like you don't know that a lot of d "Indian or Lebanese" companies are actually owned by Nigerians. And even if d Chinese, Indians and Lebanese like cheap stuff, they are very thorough. Get you're facts right before you're are quick to diss people with honest, realistic opinions!

May the souls of the daed RIP ooo chai!its so sad.

Those smelly Indians insured their goods but not the employees, none of them.I for one will never ever in my life walk into a melcom store.

all of una just dey run una mouth.That build was constructed/owned by a ghanaian.the building was rented to Melocm.its a 5-storey building of which Melcom rented from the ground floor to the second floor.the man has a bad track records from recent investigations.
If only Nigerians knew advantaged we are over ghana,you would understand that Nigeria-Present Govt=Good People,Great Nation.most of the architectural edifice in that country were handled by Nigerians.we dont fall hands anyhow.there cuisine is nothing compared to ours neither is their lifestyle ,which is too relaxed for my liking.abeg,appreciate what u've got.

U re an IDIOT.