African Footballer of the Year: Mikel makes Top-10 shortlist | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 November 2012

African Footballer of the Year: Mikel makes Top-10 shortlist

John Mikel Obi has emerged as the only Nigerian shortlisted for the top ten of the 2012 African Footballer of the Year. Full list below...

Alexander Song ( Barcelona and Cameroon)
Andre Ayew (Marseille and Ghana)
Christopher Katongo (Henan Construction and Zambia)
Demba Ba (Newcastle United and Senegal)
Didier Drogba (Shanghai Shenhua and Ivory Coast)
Gervinho (Arsenal and Ivory Coast)
John Mikel Obi (Chelsea and Nigeria)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Saint Etienne and Gabon)
Yaya Toure (Manchester City and Ivory Coast)
Younes Belhanda (Montpellier and Morocco)

42 comments:

Yaya Toure is my man.

Omas992 said...

Didier Drogba is a good striker but a diver. Yaya Toure is awesome, a midfield general.

NecFix said...

We know he won't win. He's just there to make up the numbers

George_O said...

Osaze should have made the list; though it is between Yaya Toure and Demba Ba - confirmed!

@i_am_sherilyn said...

My son must be a footballer -_-#moneymustbemade

If d award is 2 b given only on merit,zambia's Christopher Katongo shld b d riteful winner

Gervinho & Song? ha! ha! ha!! What a joke. Yaya, Didier or Mikel. I know people say Mikel contributes nothing but he was part of a team who luckily won the Champions League.

Christopher Katongo; good shout. African Cup of Nations winner.

Too bad Zambian midfielder Rainford Kalaba wasn't on d list cos of african's over-dose of european football

i would lve mikel b d winner coz atlst he our son,a nigerian nd ds wil gve us a kndof honour so plz guz stop d critise nd lets suport our own obi mikel okay i dey beg unah,wetin mikel evn do unah slf al u enemies of progres ,o ga fun eyin.

these people are mad. e be like say dem no get other players to shortlist. mikel obi ko, mikel obi ni. the boy is a liability to chelsea and nigeria.

Who cares? *yawn! Boys n dis useless sport called football! Only in Nigeria ll u see youths wasting there constructive time dabbling in dis sport that hardly pays! Mtscheew! Evry morning u ll see em out jogging goin fr 1 yeye training or what not! Dedicating their time n energy... Mikel is d only Nigerian on dt list, if dt doesn't tell u guys something i don't know what will! Wake up!

Valerie

KOFOSHY said...

Drogba,Yaya,Demba ba.

KOFOSHY said...

Cool Story

KOFOSHY said...

Katongo ko, Kangaroo ni ode

Ndidi said...

C Mikel oh....Hian

Congrats to Mikel,I see Yaya Toure or Drogba clinching d much coveted award.

Warri Girl said...

Good for mikel

1st drogba nd last mikel.

Franklyn said...

hmmmmmmmmmmmm

consolation, thats wat i will call it. Mikel Obi was just consoled by being on that list. osaze is far more better than him.... well his name is just there to make up the list and at the same time, decorate the list....

My dear,someday it ll pay n dey ll hammer then u ll be the one looking for their faace cos the money s too much!

We always fail to appreciate what we have that's why its hard to move forward in this Naija. Mikel! I vote for, he is our last man standing. Up Mikel

y ppl dont value wat dey hv? Enemy of progress u will be talking talking while ur mate ar out der gadering dere gold,some of u ar older dan mikel but still u ar not as populer as him.now i no y jesus say dat a prophet is not valued in his own town...pls dnt die 4 some one progress ok just try 2 more popular.

Mikel naija brightest star. haterz get a life. That's y some of ‎​u remain poor and stagnant. Jealousy and greed msctewwwww ntoooo

kxl said...

Drogba is the man, check his game at d champions league final.. Drogba all the way

U fool.....na back of tv u dey watch rite...yaya toure deserves the crown den mikel obi comes 2nd

Chinedu said...

it's Drogba all the way

I think mikel deserves it

Even if Mikel doesn't win, am still happy he made d list. Its time we start appreciating wats ours. D guy dey try.

Its a three horse race between Belhanda, Yaya Toure and Drogba- Mikel's name was added to the list just for the fun of it

@Valerie, November 6, 2012 4:12 AM- you are wrong- football plays the bills for those who make it to the very top of the game in Nigeria(barring corruption, of course- even had a footballer who came to me to beg me to talk to his coach on his behalf) but I wish that our footballers could at least acquire an education along the way. Have you heard the way Mikel speaks? weird accent really.

You must be a fag,what do u know abt football?he's a liability yet plays all matches?what's d duty of a defensive midfielder? Makalele as e.g? Idiot.

Tams B said...

football has a lot of money. from the players themselves, the betting money we make online and the in joints. whoever thinks its a waste of time is just plain ignorant and should try and get information before exposing their ignorance. you think a big man will just cry after a loss because he so loves his team? he is crying because of the money he lost and vice versa.

At anon 11:28AM u r a big fowl do u knw dat? We r talking abt achvmnt,trophy, award, u r sitn ur stinking ass der talking abt Mikel's accent. Is by accent? U be real mumu/ode cos I did nt knw huw achvmt got to do with Accent. Who which accent u get? Vry sure is 1 idiot fake accent wanabe ode. Accent my foot. Go mikel at u r in d top 10 any 1 dat is so hating much shuld shuld go ride okada 4 BRT lane.

either haters love shit or not,mikel has pretty much won everything football has to offer, league,2carlings,4fas,1champions,2nd behind messi at the world youth championship in 2005, and the guy makes 25mil a week,100 a month,do the math haters, the guy makes muhc more than ur regular naija celebs unless of course for politcians and those babas...oyinbos sef dey salute am,sportmen get the best girls,so what more do haters want.A.I.M talks

Mikel will win the african footballer of the year. If e dey pain you go climb third mainland bridge jump enta the water ... RIP 2 YHA STUPID MIND

KOFOSHY leave your comment without resorting to abuse. You are so uncouth. We all have opinions.

@November 6, 2012 2:41 PM- well, you can abuse all you like but you need to go back to school and learn to spell correctly! You are the real mumu/ode, seeing as you have disgraced yourself on the site! I wish you could spend your energy confronting your country's leaders for ensuring that you cannot spell instead of sitting in front of your keyboard raining abuse on others. We all know that Nigeria has the highest number of poorly educated graduates in the world (that includes you too) and we know too that Nigerian accent is the worst in the world too.

*in asa's voice* Mikel would Uuuuuuu be ma man?? Nd i wud be ur woman everydaaayyyyy!!! Goodluck mikel i hope u win! Anyone who tinks hz nt good enof,let's see u on d field na? U tink its easy? #getalifehaters!#teammikel!!

KOFOSHY said...