6 Ph.D, 704 Masters Holders among applicants for drivers at Dangote | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 November 2012

6 Ph.D, 704 Masters Holders among applicants for drivers at Dangote

In June 2012, the Dangote Transport company said they were looking to employ 2, 000 graduate drivers. A few of us thought it was NOT RIGHT for the company to insist on university graduates for that kind of job, but guess what? It wasn't just graduates that applied for the Graduate Executive Truck Driver position o. Of the 13, 000 applications received, 6 were Ph.D holders, 704 were Masters Holders, while 8, 460 were Bachelor degree holders.

The Chairman of the company, Aliko Dangote revealed this while speaking during the mentor-ship meeting of the World Bank Youth Forum. Na wao! FG should do something about unemployment in this country.

180 comments:

lizzy said...

God help us ooo. Chei.

SHAME! ds is wat Nigeria has turned us to!We probably shouldnt av wasted time going to sch,we shd av learnt a trade! Most of us would av been successful biz men and women by now.USELESS country!

SOULJACHIC said...

Imagine! I'm too shocked! Ph.D! That's too sad. Wayyy to sad. After spending millions on education? This unemployment issue sef, that's why many of us here don't wanna come back...

emperor said...

What more do U̶̲̥̅̊ expect in a country were unemployment has risen above 40percent. May God help us

Blogtoto said...

The master capitalist has finally education in the trash can.

Blogtoto said...

*finally put education

@ Souljachic, who wants u back? Abeg remain 4 there they wash toilet.. Can't u make comments without referring to location? Park well abeg...

slimzyose said...

dis is pathetic,after al d time n money spent on education,only to end up as a truck driver,dis is rili sad

Wow! Dats terrible.

Dang....it's like that?

THE NATIONAL ANTHEM

Arise, O compatriots,
Nigeria's call obey
To serve our fatherland
With love and strength and faith
The labor of our heroes past
Shall never be in vain
To serve with heart and might
One nation bound in freedom,
Peace and unity.

Oh God of creation,
Direct our noble cause
Guide our leaders right
Help our youths the truth to know
In love and honesty to grow
And living just and true
Great lofty heights attain
To build a nation where peace
And justice shall reign.

THE NATIONAL PLEDGE

I pledge to Nigeria my country
To be faithful, loyal and honest
To serve Nigeria with all my strength
To defend her unity and uphold her honor and glory
So help me God.

Arise, O! Compatriots is one word that struck my heart lately and going through the Nigerian pledge, it reminds me of so many things including current issues in the Nigerian nation and I'm wondering if our leaders today have ever taken time to look at the pledge they made everyday for many years through their primary and secondary school days.

May God Help Nigeria!

Waow! So disheartening. Yet the FG is busy planning how to ban Postinor 2 when dey should be creating jobs. Dey want more youths to be roaming the streets, right? Asks St.Nomski

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

hmmmm. e go beta.
comment signed, sealed and delivered by DatshapIboBoy

Gist Arena said...

What do u expect since the Govt cant make jobs available let someone who can, make it. most of the nigerian graduates are outside the country doing all sorts of odds jobs that is not worth their certficate. So i love what Dangote is doing

And u still find people supporting politician and govt officials after embezzling all our money. Mentality needs to change, let's fight for our rights. The suffering is too much.

Weeping still......this is real scary.......one child is enof for me....until I get into politics......

seriously speaking, it is not my reading all the books to phd level, girrafing to pass, if u dnt av common brain to face one on one interview or strict aptitude test, that were u will land urself, forgetting ur level and dropping cv as drivers.if u know your worth and you are proud of your grade and can defend it anywhere, there are places you will not drop cv abeg.......... every minutes, Governor government Jonathan..... some youths are not trying as well, having said that........The federal Government should take this as a shame to their effort in eradicating unemployment, goes to show that they are not working good enough........... just my opinion sha

Vking said...

This is great only if the salaries should be aplicable to that of same class of drivers here in europe.They earn between 700,000 to 1,000,000 naira equivalent here in western world.is not a bad thing but it should be only when their salary is being compromised.

Vking said...

From the aboved comments,i can see that we Nigerians still have a long way to go in terms of nation building.Mind every one that no job is greater than the other just like no part of the body is greater than the other.That makes a great and prosperous nation.May God bless Nigeria

Na wa O! Will they take me? I'm female with a B.A

Oh jesus take the wheel! When i say Nigeria is already a 'Failed state', people wonder why...b.sc degree holders,masters degree holders and p.hD degree holders applying to be drivers? No matter how much they're being paid,the job itself is degrading.smfh!

I Am T'GIRL

If d money he spent at d Ivory tower to acquire dis Ph.D,was used to open a spare parts shop,by now he'll be employing people to drive his own trucks. Trust Igbo man not to do such mistake. Anyway nomore hit and run drivers,now its hit and speak big English.

I dont see why this is a bad thing - How much are they offering? People are automatically attaching this position to a 'low' cadre of job. Having educated and enlightened people in this kind of industry can only make it better. Nowadays - you dont necessarily have to practice what you studied for. How many engineers are now bankers ? How many lawyers now work in HR. Look at the music industry, the likes of elDee (architect), Banky W (engineer), MI (not finished his yet), Clarence Peters (ok he did study production) have brought a lot of class to the Naija music scene. Now it is international. Having educated people in the transport sector will make the industry a lot better. How many of the people making noise now will not jump if the offer is a mill per month ??

I said it then. And pple were making noise abt the job. Oyaaa........ Pls Dangote give the Phd and MSc holders joor-Na condition make crayfish bend. If na London nah, they will drive buses and cabs without remorse.

Warri Girl said...

Chai! See what unemployment is causing people o, phd holder applying for post of a driver, na wa.

Aren't Surprised though

I suggest you have a reply link below to each comment. some idiots chat the most shit and they need to be addressed

This is a desecration of the ivory towers! We need to learn a simple lesson from this shoking and shameful revelation: Whatever we want to study in school must be such that we can practice on our own if the worst comes to worst.Gone are the days of 'go to school get a good grade, get higher degrees, get a good job etc...' The world is changing fast, no job anywhere, self employment is it! By the way I'm curious to know the academic qualification(s) of Dangote sef! It's not by book!

kxl said...

What matters is d money involve...who cares abt the job when money is rolling in

Campus Ng said...

Is this really serious? 6 Ph.D holders to become truck driver?! UNBELIEVABLE!!!

Dr. Rukevwe said...

How I wish this kind of report challenges our leaders to positive action! Most of the times it all ends in more empty talk and promises.

tax collector said...

Hehehehahaha!dis is serious.

Kay said...

its truly sad and pathetic! So, did he employ d phd and masters holders? Am just wondering.

SORRY TO NIGERIA !!!

Jide said...

What should federal govt do about unemployment? We the youths need to rise up and become enterpreneurs. Instead of being a driver go and start a farm. Don't say anything about capital being the problem. Any person willing to make it will make it. Nigerian youths are lazy and not focused. So many things to do but we not willing to do it. I can't believe some people still work to earn a paltry sum like 15k every month. I was born with a silver spoon. I have never lived in a rented apartment before but I still have the urge to make it on my own. My parents are not so rich but I can be comfortable. I bought an okada at a time and I learnt how to ride it. I knew I could make at least 3k profit a day from it. I tried it but I knew people would recognise me during the day. I worked from 7-9pm and believe me I was making 1500 every day for just working 2 hours. If I had worked about 10hours a day I am sure to make at least 5k everyday. From that I can save and start a business. Please no one should talk about unemployment. If you have the will you would make it.

Looks like Nigeria is d worst Country affected by dis Unemployement wahala!am actually downcasted when I saw Ph.d n Masters.d holders in dis Dangote recriutment process!dis shows dat our leaders lack d focus 2 lead us 2 eldorado!God help us solve dis cancaworm called unmpolyment.

This country its only God dat can save it. You struggle to do everytin go to school come out still no job but only the connected ones do get. Nigeria is a place where if Æ”☺ΰ don't know anyone in position one can't get a job or D̶̲̥̅̊عƔ use age limit to retrench doesn't dat haven't even worked yet, you can imagine most organisation are recruiting btw 23 to 24yrs so does above can't work. Since I finished from school 3yrs ago no job so I have to do wat I know how to do best and dats business. I pray the lord prosper me more and more. For its so sad concerning the rate of unemployment even phd and masters holder one can imagine I am going for my masters soonest nt becos of a job but to have the certificate for keeps.God help this country and its entire citizens

in my own opinion some1 with a PHD applying for a drivers jobb is an act of laziness. The person cant tell me that he has no ideas in his head to have started something while waiting for a job. if he/she did they wont be applying for a drivers position now. Its a shame to them!!!! unemployment unemployment but people are getting employed everyday, people are inventing things everyday, people are starting new businesses everyday..... so what are we talking about?

...lol 0 gaa!

I respect these candidates. We complain of unemployment yet, fail to recognise opportunity when it presents itself. Logistics is the medium for economic propagation so these guys have a major role to play. Besides, it is not a life sentence, they can do the job for a few years and move on to private business or rise through the ranks by leveraging their academic qualifications. Keyword is opportunity.

its a shame..... this is an insult on academic qualification except those with phd and masters acquired their certificates in driving but its funy though... unemployment... On CNN i the % given for unemployment was 7.9% and economist say its alarming, just imagine, just 7.9%... unemploment in nigeria increases daily like refuse dumps increases on the roads in nigeria.... imagine employ phd and masters holder as truck driver... will u call this one 'amplified truck drivers with class'.... 'covers my face'... nigeria ntoooooo. soon they will employ cleaners with phd and masters.... tufiakwa... but do i blame dangote, he;'s trying by being the highest individual employer of labour... and wat is govt doing, wasting our money on campus girls waists.... o di egwu oooo

When old men won't retire I wonder how new graduates would get jobs!

God! Phd??? Now that's something to look into..i hope he gives them a proper job sha oo..

Education is actually overrated and misunderstood. Even in developed countries there are many jobless educated people. People graduate and feel society owes them a livelihood instead of putting to action what they learned or what they are passionate about

kinzo said...

There is no shame anywhere. thats the problem we have in Nigeria...no one wants to do the odd jobs, we all want to wear gucci suits and seat on a comfortable leather chair with Mac Book in front of you...hell no..not everyone is going to get the white collar job. if we hae sain people driving this trucks the better. have you asked about the renumeration? its 100k plus risk allowance and medicals..that you wont get in most of the small scale offices as an entry level staff including some Banks...lets chill out and see it more as putting food on the table of 2000 families...This same mentality is the reason we import almost all the food we eat cos no one would live on a farm settlement on lagos - ibadan expressway yet we crucify government..same as myself cos if i tell my wife i want to resign and start farming on a virgin land somewhere in ondo state and tell her to move down with me, she would probably send me divorce papers. Afterall Train operator, Bus Driver working for Transport for London have a high percentage of Graduates who find dignity in what they do..We all have pride issues over what we are not..Deftones CEO

Therese I. said...

This is so sound!
You hear things like this and remember again and again just how messed up things are in this country!

Bunny said...

THAT'S REALLY BAD..PHD& MASTERS holders that is just the height.I'm speechless.. FG should pls do something about this un-employment issues in Nigeria...

I blame the nigerian govt that cannot help its citizens but all they do is fight to get into power and steal all the money they could possible steal before their tenure runs out. The next govt does the same and the next and the next and it goes on. It's a cycle our country Nigerian need to break away from.. People like dangote are creating jobs but wouldn't ask graduates to apply for such menial jobs if those in power did something about it all.

This is sad, PHD holder, I am so so unhappy.

Its a pity, I wonder wat Nigeria is turning into.

Omas992 said...

Professor Wole Soyinka said his generation was wasted. My generation was betrayed.

i saw ds stuff ds mornin and tout it was a joke for the week!!!!i c its a real story, buh ds unemployment is becumin sumfin else in ds country,if its not I.M den for the ladies u sale ur sef out wch @ d end chances of getting the job is 45%....

May God help us

Please I want to import 200 heavy duty trucks and 100 kerosine tankers. I am in dare need of academic Professors in any field of study / learning for immediate employment. Please apply in person, with 4x4 passport photograph, a chalk to learn how to sketch your route and locations in case you miss road during the one week trainee course.

na wa phd as driver soon llm go b tomato seller smh

high.qualyti.jobs

I think it'very degrading and definitely a reflection of a high level De Humanisation goin on in this country.
How on earth can one expect a GRADUATE to be doing a skilled Labour occupation. It's only in Nigeria. I see the state of the trucks owned by this Dangote bloke(am sorry he does not impress any longer). and i think it's a reflection of an irresponsible management. Secondly the state of the roads. I wonder how a graduate could change all that. Lets fact; bi like say na our rich people (govt incl) dey very dumb. Now the prick is happy that he has Graduates as his employees. Hmm! what the guy has is THE STATE OF THE NATION.

This is a terrible, my heart bleeds for this nation.

Sorry state

This is a terrible, my heart bleeds for this nation.

I no blame them. I heard the pay is between 2.4M & 3.6M per annum.

Baba God show us way na wa oooooo were are we going 2

where is the pride in education!

Chukwuebuka said...

Linda have you seen this...http://aswelive.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/it-has-been-a-year/

rikudo mode said...

Those with masters and PHD are bunch of disgrace to the academic world and i believe they didn't work or study so hard to get their Degrees. They bought the certificate i guess. I don't still believe that PHD and masters can't get Jobs in Nigeria. Wetin do teaching jobs, what about civil service, lecturing jobs or must it be a white collar job? Can't people seat down and think of a strategy to get jobs?
People think their certificate can get them what they want in life. They have failed to develop them selves to compete with their equals. Shame on them.

where is the pride in education!

Shadow said...

Blame our kolo mentality where only blue and white collar jobs are deemed worthy. Truck drivers (we call them trailer drivers here) are regarded as low life.

In Yankee people own their own trucks, hitch a trailer to it and become gainfully self-employed.

The transition being witnessed where the capacity of truck drivers would be increased should usher in sanity on our roads and create wealth for many jobless graduates.

Dang, never thought I would be saying 'Well done' to a plutocrat like Dangote but more power to you.

being a graduate does not mean we should not do certian jobs.those driving trucks for the likes of coca cola are they not graduates.we should thank dangote rather than make noise about it.they will do their research better being employed than rom the street for years wit nothing to do.

Sad Sad Sad!!!!! Nothing more 2 say*smh*

Useless country

everything federal govt or govt this and govt that. where else do govt provide all the jobs?
and most of the people saying it are graduates. dont you see why you are unemployable?

Deybabe said...

Am sure dats dsame thing d Americans too might be complaining about too but we can never know until we go live there or even any other civilised country for dat matter.#My point is dat" d rate of Unemployment is been experienced in a lot of other parts of d world,so stop saying Nigeria is dis or dat. Just try to get a sincere person in America to tell u how some ppl are suffering without jobs n still have to pay bills.Some ppl with jobs quit now n then to go start up a business.So maybe Business is d best Way to go now!Get an Expert to councell u'

wat a sad news...d problem is dat we're lukn 4ward 2 wat d govt will do 4us(citizens) not wat we'll do 4 d country. If ur vision is inclined 2wat u can achieve,d lives u can better wt ur own private firm(eg. Dangote),dn working under sm1 or govt wont be a priority no matter d situation,ur life vision is ur major purpose...

<>

Apexflora said...

Pathetic..May God help Us.

BIBI SAYS said...

why is it so easy to blame Nigeria or FG for every misfortune? why cant people try to learn a skill? do some contract jobs like ushering and use the money to do smfin better for urself dan waiting for a 350k job... i dont recall dangote or Akande having all that money cuz they sat at home blaming gov. Don’t ask what your country can do for you. Ask instead what you can do for your country” – John F. Kennedy... dats how successful people think... pls think about what u ve passion in and engage in it

It's quiet unfortunate, after all they cannot eat their certificate. But all the same it's really shameful

PhD holder reduced to tanker driver.... kai smh4Nigeria

Apart from unemployment Linda! I perceive greed too. You know how we can be in Naija now

goodluck jonathan said...

imagine phd holder applying for a lorry driver. is a disgrace to my country

U ∂a(•͡ employed ur self nko..and making money from blogging..Must it be govt...Linda na wa oo

Government must not ddo it all naw..D earlier we start being creative, d better for us..∂a(•͡ face book dude..no b Govt employ am º°°ÂºÂº°°Âº‎​Ħ...

BRIGHTINO said...

The nigerian youth has to eliminate this myopic mindset of looking for jobs( most of which they are over qualifies for) and start inculcating the spirit of enterpreneauship. Lets stop thinking of how we can earn salaries but also how we can create jobs and pay salaries.

success said...

imagine Phd holder is applying for lorry driver. shame to this country

I an American married to a beautiful Nigerian doctor here in Californiia. Nigeria has some of the most talented and Brilliant people on the face of the planet,but corruption and mismanagement of your resources have left a vast majority of your population in poverty.
Unfortunately the culture of living above ur means is unintentionally enshrined in your culture. I attended a wedding in Lagos with my wife Bimbo last month. I was amazed at d opulence and Extravagance thrown into that ocassion! It was a bit over the top and intimidating, especially for the have nots who will now do everything possible to match such social competion,thus enabling the culture of corruption. Derek.

Pls is dencia and d nigerian chealsea player an item.

mscheewww..angry ex Nigerian said...

I always say it, I HATE NIGERIA..... Nobody can ever change that opinion, Thank God I am amongst the lucky ones that have escaped that useless dead failed "community"

How is it the government's fault that a PHD holder cannot think at the level of his/her degree? At that level of exposure and reasoning one should be thinking of consulting for dangote and not driving his trucks. It boils down to what is for offer anyway, guess that's what they believe their degree can offer the company.

I wonder what the point Dangote was trying to make by making it public! That the drivers academy is elite or that Nigerian education system is so useless that you can be a glorified driver even though you went to Uni. Or is planning to pay them like pilots or is it that he is doing a noble thing by making rubbish of the five or four year spent specializing in school or what?....I don't gerrit at all #confusedmuch

Modupsy said...

God help us. Unemployment is everywhere oin the world

its well..........

just for linda:

West Brom striker Peter Odemwingie insists he has not retired from international football with Nigeria, despite national team coach Stephen Keshi claiming the 31-year-old no longer wants to play for his country.

"If the coach decides to call me, I am still available to play for my country," Odemwingie tells the Wolverhampton Express and Star. "When I decide that I want to stop playing, I will come out and say so myself."

check bbc website

DOES HE PAY IN POUNDS???? PHD HOLDERS AS DRIVERS?????????????? I DONT WANNA BELIEVE THAT BIKO HMMMMMMM.

It's sad but at the end of the day a job is a job. Most graduate from Nigerian university don't have good work ethics anyway to be honest as most of them have bought their way to get qualified. Like said its sad but other graduates in western country do odd jobs before landing into career path they studied for

keep watching your head of states spend all your money on mansion, cars and young girl, seat on your ass and complain and see if anything will change. until we stand up protest if we have to, nothing will ever change, cause the next guy running for office is only running to be a billionaire.. stop hailing people who steal from you.

asu said...

oboy phd sef dey apply, wetin ma vc(vice chancellor) & lecturers dey wait 4 make dem go apply abeg loooooolz, GOD no go allow me waste lyk dis neva, drive truck ontop naija suicide roads

Constitution said...

Wen people sey naija go beta I dey laugh. We get everything u can think of. Maybe we should sell de country to ghana and see wat ghana will do wit, or beta still sell it to china.

OMa Ga o (OMG) said...

so sad...tears in my eyes, which WAY Nigeria?

OMa Ga o (OMG) said...

so sad...tears in my eyes, which WAY Nigeria?

Dead news as always by Linda. I am not even a blogger but have all this info at instant. Since you make money doing this and as your primary source of income, you should be on top of your game always. This news is stale and it has been out there for over 10 days.

kcee said...

That is Nigeria for you. On the other hand, Nigerian masters and ph.ds are worthless. How i wish i knew the fields they got their masters and ph.ds from.

half bread is better than none.so far they are able to put food on there families table instead of bein jobless and peniless.

its a scheme where you own the truck after a certain period of time its not just ordinary driver as we know it

@i_am_sherilyn said...

Errrmmm u wud be surprised that these drivers would be paid much more than a banker.... Buh it still ain right dou that after all d assignment, presetations, test and exams one would end up being a driver.... Smh

So so sad .am speechless.and y wd dangote insist on graduate drivers.its hardly his fault anyways

Chop Chop said...

Fed. gov't need to step up. Make the environment dey conducive cos naija is too risky 2 start business nd very discouraging to potential investors. No light, water, good roads and security. Who wants to be awaken or confronted by armed robbers or kidnappers?

Some are in denial of the state of our economy, cos you have made some millions and things seemingly looking up, we naturally lose sense of the reality.
This is a quick check Gbam !

You guys need to get a grip. Instead of finding out more info as to the role typical 9ja's, it is all about the title as opposed to the content of the role itself.

many graduates ar even driven kekenapep around d citys & u ppl ar here talkn abt d mor lucky 1s 2 evn apply 4 d post of high motor seats dt may evn hav ACs inside, nonsense, my pains s dt school fees s nw always on d increments, inshot let me not stat pouring away my grievances nw b4 I go refuse 2 train d rest of my kids in doz dia exploitative skuls & institutions, sighs..

Dead country!!!

oma ga o,P.hd keh?even non graduates in america hav good jobs,academicians are suposed to b in scl impacting knowledge,not driving trucks around.hmmmmGod pls help ma country

@ soulj achic 11, 34am;
many of u where?
we are not where you are now,
kindly tell us where u are,

This is the sign of a country heading for doom

EZENTA said...

no no no in ma life I nver dream 2 work 4 government go 4bid I ll nve work 4 government am sufemploy buy ma suf I mak moni more den people dat sta 6year in skul I Jxt av ma o level

God help us in this country

am sorry Linda but I disagree with you. Education is very important when it comes to transportation. In order to be an effective driver you need a certain level of comprehension of road saftey rules and defensive driving. How do you expect a stark illiterate to comprehend? This is why we have so many accidents involving truck, bus, taxi and okada drivers. Their illiteracy makes them impatient and unpredictable on the road. I think dangote is only trying to protect his company by asking for graduates. You can't blame him.

Very soon they (the employers) will tell me that the Msc am stressing my self to get will not be enough to gain employment!!! Na wa !! I guess Ph.D is my next target!!! Kwaaaaaaa

Naija companies need to stop using age as a criteria in getting jobs. There is nothing like age discrimination in overseas. This is where equality and diversity comes in. It is your skills, experience, ability, education level that is needed in getting a very good candidate for any job, not age or restricting education level to degree. Naija companies need training in relating to job criterials.

Nigerian University Ranking said...

Only God can help Nigeria. PHP holders driving trucks?

That is the sign of a country heading to nowhere

I applied too...when I got to d interview venue by 8.45 d first day, d queue was crazy n I went d next day by 7am n d queue was badt...left cos I was d only female

Jess said...

My advice to these people is take the opportunity as a stepping stone to greater things. For instance, use the certificate to apply for Canadian permanent residency, you'll be granted the resident visa in less than a year!

People are suffering in this nation believe me.i cry wen i see the living condition of sm people. http://iearn123.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=38793.open

I respect these candidates. We complain of unemployment yet, fail to recognise opportunity when it presents itself. Logistics is the medium for economic propagation so these guys have a major role to play. Besides, it is not a life sentence, they can do the job for a few years and move on to private business or rise through the ranks by leveraging their academic qualifications. Keyword is opportunity.

It remains Java holders!

Blunt Queen said...

So on point.

Its a pity Nigerians still don't get it...There are no jobs out there, Nigeria is a country in need of dreamers.. entrepreneurs and to you don't get study/learn that in school.

Of what value is the education you have if you can't use it to create a change or affect the lives of people around you.

Ask what you can do for your country. The problems you can solve and not what your country can do for you.

Cecilia said...

=)) =))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚ you this guy don kolo sha choi! But it is sad sha. S

people in niaja gladly accept such jobs in diaspora why not here???..well done dangote you are helping keep people here

This is what the 'Femi fana-whatever his last name is' should be talking about, not some stupid ignorant rantings about America. This is a real problem (with real consequences) that needs urgent attention cos unemployment affects all sectors of the economy. So Sad!

I'm 100% sure not one Hausaman with a Masters or PHd would stoop that low to drive a truck for Dangote..bet he feels good..all these over-educated Southerners..look@what I reduced u to..he can go eat his frigging jobs!!..This was the plan of the Hausas from time..have a dumbed dowm population like theirs ruled by demonic clueless morons!!

It's better to wash toilet in another man's land and earn money on time at the end of every month than to wash toilet in my own motherland
It's very shameful e for a graduate (PHD and Master degree holders at that) to turn to truck drivers after spending time and millions if naira on education
When will FG introduce vocational education (training) in Nigeria where one can chose his or her career destiny on time just like every other western country rather than waste min of 4 years in empty Nigerian higher education where yet only produce half baked graduates

Do you know whey we are been denied of white collar jobs? It's because our host countries care more about their own citizen first they keep the jobs for their own folks and those from their neighboring countries first. Why blame us on what we do here? When FG can't creat any job back home? All they know how to do it to employ Chinese, Lebanese, all kind if fake oyibos and uneducated Europeans

Janekemmy said...

The P.hd holders are #questionable# cause if one university did not employ dem, anoda wil do. Haba P.hd? Somehing is wrong somewhr. Believe me pls

Simply bellz said...

And y are u so salty ? Souljachick is right! Even tho Pple wash toilets overseas SO bloody what? At least bills are getting paid. The Nigerian govt needs to fix this unemployment issue that is all.

@12:21, are those monthly or annual figures?

Kogi Media said...

I perceived that many commentators are in a customised state of self delusion, how do you thrive in a state of outpost of tyranny? The cabals and their menions always try to can all the cannables. All said, I think something is rotten in the state of Nigeria and that thing smell funny.

Lovely comment!

People like to blame others here in Nigeria job is job as long as you no kill nobody make ur money

No se u talk! I have actually seen a 1st first graduate apply for the post of 'gateman' *floetry in motion*

This is so disheartening. Too bad for this country. The numbers keeps increasing every year. This only brings about frustration which invariably means high crime rate. It's such a pity. When is there gonna be a better tomorrow? I'll advised we continually seek God in all our endeavors so as not to toil in vain

For all your artworks and image painting add me up 292C140B interested ppl dt love artworks should add me up...

Alexander the Great said...

A lot of Nigerian PHD's, MSC's and BSC's and BA's a worth nothing as some of these degree holders can't even string a basic sentence together. Also, a PHD holder should normally be in academia or independently working in research and development. Creativity is the key to unlocking the potential of the Nigerian economy, people should stop complaining or applying to become drivers and start thinking of ways to develop our society; making money in the process...Linda is a clear example of creativity and filling a gap, we have too many opportunities, open your eyes and take advantage of them.

Things like this will continue to happen here in nig because pple like Dangote employ more Indians than nigerians here in Gboko,causuals are paid 12,000 a month after inhaling cement dust n Indians sits in air conditioned offices.until the govt put nigerians first in all they do,all these half baked Indians n others, that come to nigeria to make money n want pple to call them master will continue n things will not change.

SUE JORDAN said...

TRULY A PHATHETIC SITUATION...YET A LOT OF "AIR HEADS" EARN GOOD MONEY WHERE I WORK!!

I am reading the comments and many people are blaming the Govt. for not doing something about the economy. To be able to do something, money is required most of which is acquired through taxation. How many people in Nigeria pay taxes but yet, expect miracles when it comes to public services. Ignorance on the part of many makes them assume that because you have a Phd you should be fit for anything including your typical nigerian style business (buy & sell). I respect these applicants as they are not subscribing to the Nigerian philosophy of doing things but actually, getting off their behinds and doing something with their lives.

People can live fulfilling lives without their legs but pls try and live without your heart? Shhh saying no part of the body is greater than the other

What's the big deal with graduate driver?

A graduate degree should not be a prerequisite for a truck driver role, it's degrading. I really don't care what the idea behind it is, it's absolute nonsense and for those of you saying that a high percentage of graduates are drivers and train operators for transport for London are obviously misinformed, never been out of Nigeria or choose to say whatever flows out of your mouth. Did they tell you when they applied for the roles at tfl, the qualifications required was to be a graduate? Never. Its most likely a gcse needed not a degree because they have high regards for qualifications in these countries unlike Nigeria where most politicians want to embezzle public funds. If you are very current with international news you would know earlier this year there was an outcry against the government in the UK forcing graduates and others on benefits indirectly and I say indirectly through threats to stop their benefits to take up jobs at supermarkets not even drivers. Graduates that choose to do these jobs are either living in the country illegally and settle for any job or have lived illegally for a long time, by the time they receive their settlement status they've been out of their line of qualification for a while they settle for those jobs or they are doing such jobs while acquiring higher or other qualifications so please get your facts right before commenting that graduates abroad do menial jobs. Stop making those in government think they do not owe their citizens much and watch them embezzle public funds. In order for Nigeria to be in the forefront they need to raise and resolve these issues.

Shame and you wonder why this group of people won't want to check out for greener pastures.

Jay O said...

PhD from what school, and what major? Sorry back door education never "profiteth" a man jare.

Nigerians that buy degrees like water again, I bet you none of the masters and PhDs are from credible institions abroad...yeah I said it! Bite me

Dr Gee said...

LWKMD @ Bonario. What a human being

U r a very bad liar,smh

Well said. The only thing that would make a P.hd/masters degree holder apply for a driving position is not knowing your sh*t. If you have a degree that you can defend, even though we all agree their are limited job opportunities in Nigeria,a doc and a masters degree holder would do better than apply to be a truck driver

They needed d job dats y dey applied. U may not know wat ppl re suffering until u find ursef in their shoes. The worst thing is dat Dangote did not tell us whether he even employed any of them n we re shouting "stooping so low". Guy job is job in Naija now ooo cos daily bread na im matter pass, unless u go go thief.

Slow your role son. Na people like you dey create more problems for this country. Just to post a blog comment you dey speak grammar,eldorado,cancaworm called unmployment(unemployment). Trust me the smartest people don't go about using fancy words to show off when they can communicate in simple words

You people should be careful of what you publish on your newspapers and blog. If you check 6 Ph.d holders, plus 704 Masters Holders,8, 460 first degrees you get a total number of 9,170. You gave a figure of 13, 000 where are the remaining 3,830? Are they Presidents and Governors? Don't unnecessary hype. How old is a PHD holder to drive or manage trailers.

I think Dangote's HR should recruit the Phd and Masters holders in strategic management positions. They shouldn't waste their talent being drivers. But Naija which way??

So na P.hd degree holders understand road signs pass,or what is your point exactly? Pls take several seats. Shame on those applicants, they are a disgrace to the Nigerian education system that churn out half-baked graduates most of the times. After doing many researchs to be awarded a doctorate degree,then you now go and apply to be driver then something is fundamentally wrong with you and that your degree

May God heal our land. I see a great Nigeria!

This just goes a long way to say all the degrees in the world won't put food on the table. Dangote himself has only bsc. It's so sad that in our country your qualifications don't matter if you don't have the right connection. America is complaining of unemployment rate that is less than 10%. Unemployment rate in Nigeria is up to 40% and we are acting like all is well. God save our nation. It's even harder on educated women, let the ladies in the banking and oil sector tell you how they are constantly sexually harassed, and compelled to sleep their way to the top that their male contemporaries get to with ease. Its a hard life we are living in Nigeria. But as they say, if you can make I here, you can make it anywhere, just like Linda Ikeji :D God bless Nigeria

You are a dumb.

Serves us right ,since we think going to the university is the only way to make money and now you can really make money by driving a trailer ,you are all welcome to a third world country like Nigeria that wants to run before she can crawl ,you all better be applying for visas now and change your nationality ,graduates with crammed theories ..hehehehehe

Slow your role son. Na people like you dey create more problems for this country. Just to post a blog comment you dey speak grammar,eldorado,cancaworm called unmployment(unemployment). Trust me the smartest people don't go about using fancy words to show off when they can communicate in simple words

Its so shocking that someone like Dangote will come out publicly to disclose the number of people that applied for a diving job in his company, how many serious minded employers do that. Instead of making a public announcement of the number of people that applied he should look for how to reduce the number minimally with all the companies under jis control. he should be able to employ a quarter or more of the number that applied. Dangote's family has a lot of co panies that can employ quiet a number of this people.

i kn blames girls wey don employ deir selves in RUINS GIRLS NIG. PLC. Atleast dey get steady daily income with high risk ( body part chopped off for ritual purpose.) and dey no need degree for d chop.

why blamming Dangote for his effort to reduce unemployment in the nation, whats the fuss about! what about those educated Nigerians in diaspora that are cabs and truck drivers?....is it cos they come home with dollars, pounds and euro with flashy cars and build houses in GRA's?.....If he can pay as much as 300k a month, i dont see anything wrong or if he can give then the trucks as hired purchase( he did it for his old drivers)....pls Appreciate this man. thanks

Me here said...

Because you have a PHD doesn't mean you can perform in a job. Book knowledge does not translate into natural intelligence and problem solving skills.

UK employers realise this, in Nigeria you just like to collect paper you can't cash.

lis said...

More nigerian youths need to think like you. Y'all should sit there and keep waiting for airconditioned jobs that will pay u 80k when when you can use ur car and hit the streets as taxi man and raise capital for a business if you wish..
Do you know how much the average taxi man makes?? Def more than you will as a bankbteller

Ur sense correct well well. Good tinkin!

lis said...

True words! Society owes you nothing...make your way. Same corruption that nigeria struggles with enables young entrepreneurs to start off without the rigorous business registration needed and taxes..

Dera said...

You're so on point o! My husband is a fish farmer and i love him die. Sure, we both have our fancy degrees but nothing beats raw passion mixed with checked ego and business sense..

shawn adeola said...

he shouldn't be proud to say such things!he should be sad to utter such and keep such statistics to himself!this is the country of his children and our children!why should he stipulate fear and sadness in our young people!Nigeria lets light a candle instead of cursing the darkness!

what an audacity, what a pomposity, what an impudence!

HOw would u get a job when u can't even write down good english?

Pray you don't ever get to that level of desperation as these Ph.D and Masters degree holders. Until then, please, do not judge.

It's definitely annual..

Aby said...

jisosssssss, May God help us in Nigeria

jay said...

Nigeria, I hail thee

gfive said...

Thanks for sharing, I will bookmark and be back again
Phd Ship Building